En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Grammars and tools for sketch-driven visualization design (M/W)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Date Limite Candidature : jeudi 1 juillet 2021

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR9015-THETSA-001
Workplace : ST AUBIN
Date of publication : Thursday, June 10, 2021
Scientific Responsible name : Theophanis Tsandilas
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2021
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Infographics are widely used to summarize complex data, illustrate problems and solutions, and tell stories over data. Our goal in this project is to investigate interactive tools and techniques that can help data journalists, infographic artists, and, by extension, data scientists and everyday people produce creative visualizations for communication purposes, e.g., to inform the public about the evolution of a pandemic and help novices interpret global-warming predictions or reflect on personal data [Lupi and Pocavec, 2018].

The goal of this Ph.D. thesis is to bring infographics design and visualization tools closer together [Cairo, 2012]. We want to address the more ambitious goal of computer-aided design that treats infographic creation as a visual-thinking process [Ware, 2008]. This process starts from sketches and progressively moves to data and generative parametric instructions, which can then re-feed the designer's sketches. We are also interested in how such tools can benefit users with no design expertise in different contexts, such as educators who want to instill data science and visualization knowledge through their own informal infographics, or common people who want to track and visually express their personal data [Lupi and Pocavec, 2018].

Expected results include: (i) a better understanding of how infographic artists iterate on their design sketches, (ii) techniques for semi-automatically extracting the relevant graphical proper-ties of visualization sketches and structuring their constraints, (iii) techniques for reshaping sketch-driven visualizations, and (iv) and interactive tools that allow users to design creative infographics.

References
A. Bigelow, S. Drucker, D. Fisher, and M. Meyer. Reflections on how designers design with data. ACM AVI, pp. 17–24, 2014.
A. Cairo. The Functional Art: An Introduction to Information Graphics and Visualization, New Riders, Aug 2012.
F. Chevalier, M. Tory, B. Lee, M. Dörk, J. Van Wijk, and J. Hullman. From Analysis to Communication: Supporting the Lifecycle of a Story. N. Henry Riche, C. Hurter, N. Diakopoulos, S. Carpendale (Eds.) Data-Driven Storytelling. A K Peters / CRC Press, 2018.
R. Kosara. Presentation-oriented visualization techniques. IEEE Computer Graphics and Applications, 36(1):80–85, Jan 2016.
R. Landers and S. Heller. Infographics Designers' Sketchbooks. Adams Media, October. 2014.
G. Lupi. Sketching with data opens the mind's eye. National Geographic, July 2015. https://www.nationalgeographic.com/news/2015/07/2015704-datapoints-sketching-data/
G. Lupi and S. Posavec. Observe, Collect, Draw!: A Visual Journal Diary, Princeton Architectural Press. Sep. 2018.
T. Tsandilas. StructGraphics: Flexible Visualization Design through Data-Agnostic and Reusable Graphical Struc-tures. IEEE Transactions on Visualization and Computer Graphics, pp. 315-325, 2020.
H. Xia, N. Henry Riche, F. Chevalier, B. De Araujo, and D. Wigdor. DataInk: Direct and creative data-oriented drawing. ACM Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems (CHI), pp. 223:1–223:13, 2018.
J. E. Zhang, N. Sultanum, A. Bezerianos, and F. Chevalier. DataQuilt: Extracting Visual Elements from Images to Craft Pictorial Visualizations. ACM Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems (CHI), pp. 1-13, 2020.

Work Context

The Ph.D. thesis is fully funded by a collaboration research program between CNRS and the University of Toronto. It will be co-supervised by Theophanis Tsandilas and Fanny Chevalier (U of T). The thesis will primarily take place in France at the Université Paris-Saclay. However, we plan regular visits to Toronto for a total length of nine months, where travel expenses and accommodation will be fully funded.

South of Paris, the Université Paris-Saclay is one of the largest clusters of research in Europe. Its department “Interaction avec l'Humain” gathers six research teams (three of which are joint Inria teams) specialized in HCI, Information Visualization, and Cognitive Psychology.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Grammaires et outils pour la conception de visualisation basée sur les esquisses H/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Date Limite Candidature : jeudi 1 juillet 2021

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR9015-THETSA-001
Lieu de travail : ST AUBIN
Date de publication : jeudi 10 juin 2021
Nom du responsable scientifique : Theophanis Tsandilas
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2021
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Les infographies sont largement utilisées pour résumer des données complexes, illustrer des problèmes et des solutions et raconter des histoires sur des données. Notre objectif dans ce projet est d'étudier des outils et des techniques interactifs qui peuvent aider les journalistes de données, les infographistes et, par extension, les scientifiques des données et les gens ordinaires à produire des visualisations créatives à des fins de communication, par exemple, pour informer le public sur l'évolution d'une pandémie. et aider les novices à interpréter les prédictions du réchauffement climatique ou à réfléchir sur les données personnelles [Lupi et Pocavec, 2018].

La thèse est de rapprocher les outils de conception et de visualisation d'infographies [Cairo, 2012]. Nous voulons aborder l'objectif plus ambitieux de la conception assistée par ordinateur qui traite la création infographique comme un processus de pensée visuelle [Ware, 2008]. Ce processus part des croquis et passe progressivement aux données et instructions paramétriques génératives, qui peuvent ensuite réalimenter les croquis du concepteur. Nous sommes également intéressés par la façon dont ces outils peuvent profiter aux utilisateurs sans expertise en conception dans différents contextes, tels que les éducateurs qui souhaitent inculquer la science des données et les connaissances en visualisation à travers leurs propres infographies informelles, ou les personnes ordinaires qui souhaitent suivre et visuellement exprimer leurs données personnelles [Lupi et Pocavec, 2018].

Les résultats attendus incluent : (i) une meilleure compréhension de la façon dont les infographistes itèrent sur leurs croquis de conception, (ii) des techniques pour extraire semi-automatiquement les propriétés graphiques pertinentes des croquis de visualisation et structurer leurs contraintes, (iii) des techniques pour remodeler le croquis des visualisations pilotées, et (iv) et des outils interactifs qui permettent aux utilisateurs de concevoir des infographies créatives.

Références
A. Bigelow, S. Drucker, D. Fisher, and M. Meyer. Reflections on how designers design with data. ACM AVI, pp. 17–24, 2014.
A. Cairo. The Functional Art: An Introduction to Information Graphics and Visualization, New Riders, Aug 2012.
F. Chevalier, M. Tory, B. Lee, M. Dörk, J. Van Wijk, and J. Hullman. From Analysis to Communication: Supporting the Lifecycle of a Story. N. Henry Riche, C. Hurter, N. Diakopoulos, S. Carpendale (Eds.) Data-Driven Storytelling. A K Peters / CRC Press, 2018.
R. Kosara. Presentation-oriented visualization techniques. IEEE Computer Graphics and Applications, 36(1):80–85, Jan 2016.
R. Landers and S. Heller. Infographics Designers' Sketchbooks. Adams Media, October. 2014.
G. Lupi. Sketching with data opens the mind's eye. National Geographic, July 2015. https://www.nationalgeographic.com/news/2015/07/2015704-datapoints-sketching-data/
G. Lupi and S. Posavec. Observe, Collect, Draw!: A Visual Journal Diary, Princeton Architectural Press. Sep. 2018.
T. Tsandilas. StructGraphics: Flexible Visualization Design through Data-Agnostic and Reusable Graphical Struc-tures. IEEE Transactions on Visualization and Computer Graphics, pp. 315-325, 2020.
H. Xia, N. Henry Riche, F. Chevalier, B. De Araujo, and D. Wigdor. DataInk: Direct and creative data-oriented drawing. ACM Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems (CHI), pp. 223:1–223:13, 2018.
J. E. Zhang, N. Sultanum, A. Bezerianos, and F. Chevalier. DataQuilt: Extracting Visual Elements from Images to Craft Pictorial Visualizations. ACM Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems (CHI), pp. 1-13, 2020.

Contexte de travail

La thèse est entièrement financée par un programme de recherche en collaboration entre le CNRS et l'Université de Toronto. Il sera co-encadré par Theophanis Tsandilas et Fanny Chevalier. La thèse se déroulera principalement en France à l'Université Paris-Saclay. Cependant, nous prévoyons des visites régulières à Toronto pour une durée totale de neuf mois.

Au sud de Paris, l'Université Paris-Saclay est l'un des plus grands pôles de recherche en Europe. Son département « Interaction avec l'Humain » regroupe six équipes de recherche (dont trois communes à Inria) spécialisées en IHM, Visualisation de l'Information et Psychologie Cognitive.

On en parle sur Twitter !