By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

[M/W] Bio-inspired Hierarchical Metamaterials for the control of acousto-elastic waves

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8520-MARMIN-001
Workplace : LILLE
Date of publication : Thursday, March 12, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Marco Miniaci
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 June 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Elastic waves are omnipresent in our lives, from the simple propagation of sound in the air (which allows us to communicate) to micro-electromechanical systems (MEMS) for the detection of physical phenomena or large-scale catastrophic events such as earthquakes and tsunamis.

Although a full control of wave propagation is not yet possible, recent developments in Condensed Matter of Physics have allowed the emergence of a new class of composite materials (generally called metamaterials) capable of exhibiting extraordinary dynamic characteristics, such as negative refraction, collimation, wave focusing, extraordinary transmission, acoustic masking, etc.

Metamaterials are (quasi) periodic composites made up of building blocks, also said unit cells, which allow spatial and spectral control of waves often due to band gap effects. Band gaps are frequency ranges in which no wave propagation is allowed.

The basic idea of this thesis is the hypothesis that the working principle of metamaterials is already exploited in nature, where it gave rise to optimized designs oriented towards specific objectives, due to the evolutionary development process, such as for example in the case of the Stomatopod dactyl club, which turned out to be a formidable biological hammer resistant to damage, or in the case of the wing Bunaea alcinoe, presenting an extraordinary vibro-dynamics capable of creating an acoustic camouflage against the echolocation of bats.

The main objective of the thesis is therefore to design, manufacture and experimentally characterize innovative metamaterials inspired by biological systems in order to create a light and compact device (operating in a sub-wavelength regime) valid for the control of wave propagation in noise reduction applications. Due to the scalability of the wave equations, other areas of application at different scales can be investigated.

The thesis will begin with a bibliographic analysis on the state of the art of the subject. Next, particular attention will be devoted to the development of design tools, exploring and potentially integrating analytical and numerical approaches, with the aim of achieving specific computing means capable of predicting the dynamic behaviour of bio-inspired metamaterials. The final phase of the thesis will include the fabrication of the samples and its experimental characterization. As the final stage, a comparison between the experimental and numerical results is expected, possibly leading to a demonstrator.

Work Context

The project is funded by the EU in the framework of a H2020 FET Open project on elastic metamaterials entitled "BOHEME: Bio-inspired Hierarchical Metamaterials".
The project partners are the University of Trento (Italy), CNRS (France), Imperial College London (United Kingdom), EMPA and ETH Zurich (CH) and IMP-PAN ( Poland). As a consequence, beyond the periodic monitoring at the ISEN provided by the project supervisors, scientific exchanges with the other partners of the project may be foreseen.
The project will require periods of work in office (bibliography revision, coding, etc.) as well as experimental measurements in the laboratory.

Constraints and risks

The project does not involve any particular constraint or risk since it is mainly based on numerical analyses and wave propagation experiments. Being aware of the normal security protocols for attending a laboratory of acoustics (the candidate will be trained for it) and the precautions necessary for workers at the video terminal will be sufficient to guarantee the proper execution of the thesis.

Additional Information

GENERAL PROFILE
Young engineer or holder of a Master in physics, engineering or similar disciplines.

REQUIRED SKILLS
Fluency in English (strict requirement because the project provides for international exchanges with non-French speaking partners), general knowledge in acoustics and mechanics, familiarity with coding (for example MATLAB) and finite elements. Strong motivation towards the experimental aspects of the project.

IMPORTANT
Applicants interested in the offer are invited to submit their CV and cover letter through the site https://emploi.cnrs.fr/ .

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

[H/F] Métamatériaux Hiérarchiques Bio-inspirés pour le contrôle des ondes acousto-élastiques

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8520-MARMIN-001
Lieu de travail : LILLE
Date de publication : jeudi 12 mars 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Dr Marco Miniacci
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 juin 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Les ondes élastiques sont omniprésentes dans notre vie, de la simple propagation du son dans l'air (qui nous permet de communiquer) aux systèmes micro-électromécaniques (MEMS) pour la détection des phénomènes physiques ou aux événements catastrophiques à grande échelle tels que les tremblements de terre et les tsunamis.

Bien qu'un contrôle totale de la propagation des ondes ne soit pas encore possible, les récents développements de la Matière Condensé de la Physique ont permis l'émergence d'une nouvelle classe de matériaux composites (généralement appelés métamatériaux) capables de présenter des caractéristiques dynamiques extraordinaires telles que la réfraction négative, la collimation des ondes et la focalisation, transmission extraordinaire, masquage acoustique, etc.

Les métamatériaux sont des composites (quasi) périodiques constitués de blocs de construction, c'est-à-dire des cellules unitaires, qui permettent un contrôle spatial et spectral des ondes en raison de la directivité dépendante de la fréquence ou effets de bande interdite. Les bandes interdites sont des gammes de fréquence dans lesquelles aucune propagation d'ondes est permise.

L'idée de base de cette thèse est l'hypothèse que le principe de fonctionnement des métamatériaux est déjà exploité dans la nature, où il a donné lieu à des conceptions optimisées orientées vers des objectifs spécifiques, en raison du processus de développement évolutif, comme par exemple dans le cas du Stomatopod dactyl club, qui s'est avéré être un formidable marteau biologique résistant aux dommages, ou dans le cas de l'aile Bunaea alcinoe, présentant une vibro-dynamique extraordinaire capable de créer un camouflage acoustique contre l'écholocation des chauves-souris.

L'objectif principal de la thèse est donc de concevoir, fabriquer et caractériser expérimentalement des métamatériaux innovants inspirés par des systèmes biologiques afin de créer un dispositif léger et compact (fonctionnant en régime de sous-longueur d'onde) valable pour le contrôle de la propagation des ondes dans les applications de réduction du bruit. En raison de l'évolutivité des équations des ondes, d'autres domaines d'applications à différentes échelles peuvent être envisagés.

La thèse débutera par une analyse bibliographique sur l'état de l'art du sujet. Ensuite, l'attention sera consacrée au développement des outils de conception, explorant et intégrant potentiellement des approches analytiques et numériques, dans le but de réaliser des moyens de calcul spécifiques capables de prédire le comportement dynamique des métamatériaux bio-inspirés. La phase finale de la thèse comprendra la fabrication des échantillons et sa caractérisation expérimentale. Une comparaison entre les résultats expérimentaux et numériques sera effectuée.

Contexte de travail

Le projet est financé dans le cadre d'un projet H2020 FET Open financé par l'UE sur les métamatériaux élastiques intitulé "BOHEME: Bio-inspired Hierarchical Metamaterials". Les partenaires du projet sont l'Université de Trente (Italie), le CNRS (France), l'Imperial College de Londres (Royaume-Uni), l'EMPA et l'ETH Zurich (CH) et l'IMP-PAN (Pologne).

Contraintes et risques

Le projet ne comporte pas de contraintes ou risques particuliers puisqu'il repose principalement sur des analyses numériques et des expériences de propagation d'ondes. Connaître les protocoles normaux de sécurité pour assister à un laboratoire et les précautions nécessaires pour les travailleurs du terminal vidéo seront suffisants pour garantir la bonne exécution de la thèse.

Informations complémentaires

PROFIL GENERAL
Jeune ingénieur ou titulaire d'un Master en physique, génie ou disciplines similaires.

COMPETENCES REQUISES
Maîtrise de l'anglais (exigence stricte car le projet prévoit des échanges internationaux avec des partenaires non francophones), connaissances générales en acoustique et mécanique, familiarité avec le codage (par exemple MATLAB) et les éléments finis.
Intéressé(e) par la partie expérimentale du projet.

IMPORTANT
On invite les candidat(e)s intéressé(e)s à l'offre à déposer les CV et lettre de motivation sur le site https://emploi.cnrs.fr/ .

On en parle sur Twitter !