By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

OPEN PhD POSITION – Development of robotic on-wafer probing station based on piezo-driven linear and rotation positioning stages for high frequency nanoelectronics metrology H/F

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8520-FRELEF-064
Workplace : VILLENEUVE D ASCQ
Date of publication : Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Kamel HADDADI
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 15 September 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

In the general context of the Europe's nanoelectronics industry, the project aims to develop innovative microwave characterization techniques and instrumentations for accurate and fine validation of electrical models dedicated to the design of circuits intended for high frequency applications (HF) up to sub-millimeter frequency ranges. The technologies investigated will be the CMOS 28FD SOI, PDSOI 65nm and sub 65nm, B55 and B55 + from STMicroelectronics®. The accurate high frequency (HF) small-signal characterization of nano-devices (transistors, capacitors, access pads, and connections) in coplanar waveguide (CPW) form are required for the establishment of electrical models used in computer-aided design (CAD) software. To drive the progress of the miniaturization of HF devices, new metrological issues related to the dimensional and electrical characterization must be addressed. A universal radio frequency (RF) device characterization set-up consists of a vector network analyzer (VNA), a probe station with a pair of microwave ground-signal-ground (GSG) probes aligned manually or automatically by means of a microscope or a camera system onto calibration substrates and device under test (DUT). Conventional RF test structures require probing pads to accommodate the probe tip geometry (down to a pitch of 25 µm). The positioning of the probe onto the CPW test structure generates misalignment measurement errors that affects the measurement reproducibility. In addition, nano-devices exhibit extreme impedances in contrast with the reference impedance 50 Ω of the VNA resulting in poor measurement sensitivity and accuracy.

To address this challenge, a novel and fully automated on-wafer probing will be designed and built from scratch. The sample stage and GSG probes will be mounted on XYZΘ piezo-driven nano-positionning stages. The vision of the probe – to – DUT contact will be ensured by high resolution camera. series USB VNA will be interfaced with the probing station to achieve compact solution and reduce non systematic errors inherent to the environment variations. A dedicated LabVIEW® software will be developed for sensing and control / automation by interfacing the probing station, VNA and camera.

The project is funded by the Nano 2022 Plan in the frame of the common lab IEMN / STMicroelectronics®, which is part of a structuring process carried out at European level through the IPCEI (Important Project of Common European Interest) on Microelectronics.

The project will be part of the European Project TEMMT (Traceability for electrical measurements at millimetre-wave and terahertz frequencies for communications and electronics technologies). EURAMET joint research project is receiving funding from the Horizon 2020 European Union Funding for Research & Innovation under the European Metrology Programme for Innovation and Research (EMPIR). This project running from May 2019 to April 2022 involves 16 European organisations and 3 international organisations.

Requirements
A MSc degree in electrical engineering or equivalent
Solid knowledge of microwave engineering
Experience in microwave instrumentation and measurements
Experience in using CAD ADS®
Experience in MATLAB® and Labview®

Work Context

The PhD thesis will be done at IEMN, a joint Research Unit (CNRS, Universities of Lille and Valenciennes, ISEN, Ecole Centrale Lille) with large expertise in RF characterization and nano-characterization.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Thèse de Doctorat – Développement d'une station de mesure hyperfréquence sous pointes basée une plate-forme de nano-positionnement piézo-électrique robotisée pour la métrologie hyperfréquence de composants et systèmes nanoélectroniques H/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8520-FRELEF-064
Lieu de travail : VILLENEUVE D ASCQ
Date de publication : mercredi 15 juillet 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Kamel HADDADI
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 15 septembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Dans le contexte général de l'industrie européenne de la nanoélectronique, le projet vise à développer des techniques et instrumentations innovantes de caractérisation hyperfréquence pour la validation précise et fine des modèles électriques dédiés à la conception de circuits dédiés aux applications haute fréquence (HF) en gamme de fréquences micro-ondes et millimétriques. Les technologies étudiées concerneront les filières CMOS 28FD SOI, PDSOI 65nm et sub 65nm, B55 et B55 + de STMicroelectronics®. La caractérisation précise à haute fréquence (HF) de nano-dispositifs (transistors, condensateurs, plots d'accès et connexions) en structure coplanaire (CPW) est requise pour l'établissement de modèles électriques pour notamment alimenter les plates-formes de conception assistée par ordinateur. De nouveaux enjeux métrologiques liés à la caractérisation dimensionnelle et électrique doivent être abordés. Un dispositif de caractérisation de dispositif universel de radiofréquence (RF) se compose d'un analyseur de réseau vectoriel (VNA), d'une station de mesure « on-wafer » instrumentée à l'aide de sondes de type GSG alignées manuellement ou automatiquement au moyen d'un microscope ou d'un système de caméra sur des substrats d'étalonnage et sur le dispositif sous test (DUT). Les structures de test RF conventionnelles nécessitent des plots d'accès adaptés à la géométrie de la pointe de la sonde (pitch minimum de 25 µm). Le positionnement de la sonde sur la structure de test CPW génère des erreurs de mesure liées au désalignement mécanique qui affectent la reproductibilité de la mesure. De plus, les nano-dispositifs présentent des impédances extrêmes contrairement à l'impédance de référence 50 Ω du VNA, se traduisant par sensibilité et précision de mesure limitées.

Pour relever ce défi, un équipement de test RF innovant et en rupture avec l'existant sera conçu et réalisé. Les sondes GSG seront montés sur des étages de nano-positionnement pilotés XYZΘ. La vision du contact sonde-DUT sera assurée par une caméra haute résolution. Le système de mesure vectoriel basé sur un analyseur de réseaux compact de la série Keysight streamline sera interfacé avec la station de mesure pour entrevoir une solution compacte et réduire les erreurs non systématiques inhérentes aux variations de l'environnement. Un logiciel de commande développé sous LabVIEW® permettra le pilotage de l'instrument.

Le projet est financé par le Plan Nano 2022 dans le cadre du laboratoire commun IEMN / STMicroelectronics®, qui s'inscrit dans un processus de structuration mené au niveau européen à travers l'IPCEI sur la Microélectronique.

Le projet fera intègre les objectifs du projet européen TEMMT (Traçabilité des mesures électriques aux fréquences millimétriques et térahertz pour les technologies des communications et de l'électronique). Le projet TEMMT réalisé dans le cadre EURAMET est financé par le programme Horizon 2020 de l'Union Européenne pour la Recherche et l'Innovation dans le cadre du programme européen de métrologie pour l'innovation et la recherche (EMPIR). Ce projet de mai 2019 à avril 2022 implique 16 organisations européennes et 3 organisations internationales.

Profil
Un diplôme de Master2 en génie Electrique / Automatique ou équivalent
Expérience en instrumentation et mesures électriques
Expérience dans MATLAB® et Labview®

Contexte de travail

La thèse sera réalisée à l'IEMN, Unité Mixte de Recherche (CNRS, Universités de Lille et Valenciennes, ISEN, Ecole Centrale Lille) avec une grande expertise en caractérisation RF et en nano-caractérisation.

On en parle sur Twitter !