By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD thesis: Synthesis of robust controllers using symbolic models

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8506-ANTGIR-002
Workplace : GIF SUR YVETTE
Date of publication : Monday, November 25, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Antoine Girard
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 March 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Scientific context:

Autonomous vehicles, intelligent buildings or robots promise to transform the everyday life of our society in all its dimensions (transport, housing, industry, health, assistance to the elderly...). These systems are examples of cyber-physical systems (CPS) resulting from the integration of computer components and physical processes. The main objective of the PROCSYS project is to provide a framework for CPS programming that enables fast and safe development of their functionality through a high-level programming language. Synthesis algorithms will automatically generate low-level controllers that perform the specified behavior. Correctness of the controllers will be guaranteed by following the correct by construction synthesis paradigm through the use of symbolic control techniques: the continuous physical dynamics is abstracted by a symbolic model, which is a purely discrete dynamical system; an interface consisting of low-level controllers is designed such that the physical system and the symbolic model behaves identically; a high-level symbolic controller is then synthesized automatically from the high-level program and the symbolic model.

========================
Objectives and work description:

The main objective of the thesis is to develop algorithms for the synthesis of robust symbolic controllers. We will build upon our preliminary work on quantitative synthesis of symbolic controllers [4,5]. Using an optimal control formulation, one can synthesize a controller maximizing some robustness margin for safety and reachability specifications. However, this approach does not necessarily guarantee robustness with respect to unmodelled disturbances. In that case, robustness can be achieved through the satisfaction of two main conditions formulated in [3]. Firstly, in the presence of disturbances, the robustness must degrade smoothly with respect to the amplitude of the disturbance. This condition is typically satisfied if the robustness function satisfies some Lipschitz condition. Secondly, in the absence of disturbance, the correct behavior of the system should be restored. This condition will be satisfied if the robustness function satisfies some growth condition with respect to transitions of the symbolic model. To synthesize controllers, which are robust with respect to disturbances, it is thus necessary to include the two types of constraints (Lipschitz and growth conditions) in the optimal control problem to be solved. It will then be necessary to develop algorithms for solving such constrained optimal control problems. The doctoral work will start with simple safety and reachability properties and then extend the approach to more complex specifications defined in the high-level language developed within the PROCSYS project. An evaluation of the proposed algorithms will be done using numerical case studies, e.g. in the field of autonomous driving.

=====================
Background of the candidate:

The candidate must hold a Master in control theory or computer science with a strong mathematical background. A prior experience in the area of hybrid systems is recommended. Programming skills are also needed.

=========
References:

[1] Belta, C., Yordanov, B., & Gol, E. A. (2017). Formal Methods for Discrete-Time Dynamical Systems (Vol. 89). Springer.
[2] Tabuada, P. (2009). Verification and control of hybrid systems: a symbolic approach. Springer Science & Business Media.
[3] Rungger, M., & Tabuada, P. (2016). A notion of robustness for cyber-physical systems. IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control, 61(8), 2108-2123.
[4] Eqtami A. and Girard A., Safety control, a quantitative approach. IFAC Conference on Analysis and Design of Hybrid Systems, 2018.
[5] Eqtami A. and Girard A., A quantitative framework for transition systems under reachability specifications. Preprint, 2019.

Work Context

The L2S - Laboratory of Signals and Systems (UMR8506) is a joint research unit CNRS, CentraleSupélec and University Paris Sud, located in Gif-sur-Yvette. The L2S has about 260 people including 108 permanent members, 118 doctoral students and 33 postdocs. It is organized into 3 research divisions (Signal and Statistics Center, Automation and Systems Division and Telecom and Networks Pole). The 3 scientific centers rely on 3 research support divisions: a Human Resources and Communication Management division, a Financial Management division, placed under the responsibility of the director and an IT division. The structure of the unit is completed by a Scientific Computing pole. The budget executed by the laboratory is approximately € 3 million per year.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Thèse (H/F): Synthèse de contrôleurs robustes par approches symboliques

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8506-ANTGIR-002
Lieu de travail : GIF SUR YVETTE
Date de publication : lundi 25 novembre 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Antoine Girard
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 mars 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Problématique:

Véhicules autonomes, bâtiments intelligents ou robots promettent de transformer le quotidien de notre société dans toutes ses dimensions (transport, logement, industrie, santé, assistance aux personnes âgées ...). Ces systèmes sont des exemples de systèmes cyber-physiques résultant de l'intégration de composants informatiques et de processus physiques. Le principal objectif du projet PROCSYS est de fournir un cadre de programmation pour les CPS permettant un développement rapide et sûr de leurs fonctionnalités grâce à un langage de haut niveau. Des algorithmes de synthèse génèrent alors automatiquement des contrôleurs de bas niveau qui exécutent le comportement spécifié. La correction des contrôleurs est garantie en suivant le paradigme de la synthèse correcte par construction grâce à des techniques de contrôle symbolique: la dynamique physique continue est abstraite par un modèle symbolique, qui est un système dynamique purement discret; une interface composée de contrôleurs de bas niveau est conçue pour que le système physique et le modèle symbolique se comportent de manière identique; un contrôleur symbolique de haut niveau est ensuite synthétisé automatiquement à partir du programme de haut niveau et du modèle symbolique.

========================
Objectifs et description du travail:

L'objectif principal de la thèse est de développer des algorithmes pour la synthèse de contrôleurs symboliques robustes. Nous nous appuierons sur nos travaux préliminaires sur la synthèse quantitative de contrôleurs symboliques [4,5]. En utilisant une formulation de commande optimale, on peut synthétiser un contrôleur maximisant une marge de robustesse pour les spécifications de sûreté et d'atteignabilité. Cependant, cette approche ne garantit pas nécessairement la robustesse vis-à-vis des perturbations non modélisées. Dans ce cas, la robustesse peut être obtenue par la satisfaction de deux conditions principales formulées dans [3]. Premièrement, en présence de perturbations, la robustesse doit se dégrader progressivement par rapport à l'amplitude de la perturbation. Cette condition est généralement satisfaite si la fonction de robustesse satisfait à certaines conditions de Lipschitz. Deuxièmement, en l'absence de perturbation, le comportement correct du système doit être rétabli. Cette condition sera satisfaite si la fonction de robustesse satisfait certaines conditions de croissance par rapport aux transitions du modèle symbolique. Pour synthétiser des contrôleurs robustes vis-à-vis des perturbations, il est donc nécessaire d'inclure les deux types de contraintes (Lipschitz et conditions de croissance) dans le problème de contrôle optimal à résoudre. Il sera alors nécessaire de développer des algorithmes pour résoudre ces problèmes de contrôle optimal sous contraintes.

Le travail de doctorat commencera par de simples propriétés de sûreté et d'atteignabilité, puis sera étendu à des spécifications plus complexes définies dans le langage de haut niveau développé dans le cadre du projet PROCSYS. Une évaluation des algorithmes proposés sera effectuée à l'aide d'études de cas numériques, par exemple dans le domaine de la conduite autonome.

============
Profil recherché:

La personne recrutée doit avoir un Master en automatique ou en informatique avec une solide formation en mathématiques. Une expérience préalable dans le domaine des systèmes hybrides est recommandée. Des compétences en programmation sont également nécessaires.

=========
Références:

[1] Belta, C., Yordanov, B., & Gol, E. A. (2017). Formal Methods for Discrete-Time Dynamical Systems (Vol. 89). Springer.
[2] Tabuada, P. (2009). Verification and control of hybrid systems: a symbolic approach. Springer Science & Business Media.
[3] Rungger, M., & Tabuada, P. (2016). A notion of robustness for cyber-physical systems. IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control, 61(8), 2108-2123.
[4] Eqtami A. and Girard A., Safety control, a quantitative approach. IFAC Conference on Analysis and Design of Hybrid Systems, 2018.
[5] Eqtami A. and Girard A., A quantitative framework for transition systems under reachability specifications. Preprint, 2019.

Contexte de travail

Le L2S - Laboratoire des Signaux et Systèmes (UMR8506) est une unité mixte de recherche CNRS, CentraleSupélec et Université Paris Sud, située à Gif-sur-Yvette. Le L2S compte environ 260 personnes dont 108 permanents, 118 doctorants et 33 post-doctorants. Il est organisé en 3 pôles de recherche (Pôle Signaux et Statistiques, Pôle Automatique et Systèmes et Pôle Télécoms et réseaux). Les 3 pôles scientifiques s'appuient sur 3 pôles support à la Recherche : un pôle Gestion des Ressources Humaines et Communication, un pôle Gestion Financière, placés sous la responsabilité de l'administrateur (trice) et un pôle informatique. La structure de l'unité est complétée par un pôle de Calcul scientifique. Le budget exécuté du laboratoire est d'environ 3 M€ par an.

Informations complémentaires

Projet ERC PROCSYS

On en parle sur Twitter !