By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD in theoretical Physical Chemistry (M/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8234-BENROT-003
Workplace : PARIS 05
Date of publication : Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Benjamin Rotenberg
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The PhD student will participate in the SENSES (making Sense of Electrical Noise by Simulating Electrolyte Solutions) research project, coordinated by Benjamin Rotenberg. The general objective is to provide an integrated understanding of electrical fluctuations in bulk, interfacial and confined ionic fluids.

In this context, the PhD student will investigate electric current fluctuations through single nanopores and nanotubes, in order to understand the microscopic origin of the "coloured noise" (generic behaviour with an algebraic frequency dependence at low frequency) observed in experiments. Particle-based simulations will clarify how this behaviour emerges from the combined interactions within the electrolyte and with the solid walls, to interpret the effect of salt concentration, geometry and nature of the confining wall, in collaboration with a leading experimental group.

Candidates should have at the beginning of the contract a Master's degree in Physical Chemistry or in Physics. Some experience in classical molecular or mesoscopic simulation will be appreciated, as well as a good knowledge of the associated theoretical and numerical tools (Statistical Mechanics of liquids...; programming skills e.g. in: Python, Fortran, C, C++, ...). Written/oral communication in English is necessary (knowledge of French is not).

Work Context

The PHENIX laboratory (Physical chemistry of electrolytes and interfacial nanosystems) is a joint research unit between CNRS and Sorbonne Université. It is located on the Pierre et Marie Curie Campus, in the center of Paris. It consists of ~90-100 people, including academic staff, PhD students and postdoctoral fellows, and conducts research in the fields of Energy (electrochemical storage, recycling...), Health (nanoparticles for imaging, ...) and Environment (waste disposal, water treatment, ...).

The PhD student will be part of the "multiscale modelling and experiments" group and conduct research in the framework of the ERC project SENSES. Access will be provided to computational resources at the lab and University levels.

Constraints and risks

N/A

Additional Information

Please include in your application the name and contact information of at least one reference, who could be contacted during the evaluation process.

This project has received funding from the European Research Council (ERC) under the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme (grant agreement No. 863473 SENSES).

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Thèse en physico-chimie théorique (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8234-BENROT-003
Lieu de travail : PARIS 05
Date de publication : mercredi 20 mai 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Benjamin Rotenberg
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Le/la doctorant·e participera au projet SENSES (making Sense of Electrical Noise by Simulating Electrolyte Solutions), coordonné par Benjamin Rotenberg, et dont l'objectif général est d'apporter une compréhension globale des fluctuations électriques dans les fluides ioniques bulk, aux interfaces et confinés.

Dans ce contexte, le/la doctorant·e étudiera les fluctuations de courant électriques dans des nanopores/nanotubes uniques, pour comprendre l'origine du "bruit coloré" (comportement générique avec une dépendance algébrique en fonction de la fréquence, à basse fréquence) observé expérimentalement. Des simulations particulaires (atomiques et gros-grains) permettront de clarifier l'émergence de ce comportement à partir des interactions au sein de l'électrolyte et avec les parois solides, et d'interpréter les effets de la concentration en sel, de la géométrie et de la nature des parois confinantes, en collaboration avec des expérimentateurs.

Les candidat·e·s doivent être titulaires au démarrage du projet d'un master en chimie physique ou en physique. Une expérience en simulation moléculaire et/ou mésoscopique sera appréciée, de même qu'une bonne connaissance des outils théoriques associés (physique statistique des liquides, …; programmation telle que: Python, Fortran, C, C++, ...).

Contexte de travail

Le laboratoire PHENIX (Physicochimie des électrolytes et nanosystèmes interfaciaux) est une Unité Mixte de Recherche entre le CNRS et Sorbonne Université. Il est situé sur le campus Pierre et Marie Curie, dans le centre de Paris. Il est constitué de ~90-100 chercheurs, enseignants-chercheurs, doctorants et post-doctorants, et conduit des recherches dans les domaines de l'énergie (stockage électrochimique, recyclage...) de la santé (nanoparticules pour l'imagerie...) et l'environnement (stockage des déchets, traitement de l'eau...).

Le/la doctorant.e fera partie de l'équipe Modélisation et Expériences Multiéchelles et effectura ses recherches dans le cadre du projet ERC SENSES. Il/elle bénéficiera d'un accès aux ressources de calcul du laboratoire et de l'université.

Contraintes et risques

N/A

Informations complémentaires

Merci d'inclure dans votre candidature le nom et les coordonnées d'au moins une référence susceptible d'être contactée.

Ce projet bénéficie du financement du Conseil Européen de la Recherche (European Research Council, ERC) du programme recherche et innovation Horizon 2020 de l'Union Européenne (contrat n° 863473 SENSES).

On en parle sur Twitter !