By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD position in social and economic anthropology. Topic: "Inflation of ceremonial expenditures in Ce

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8083-ISAOHA-002
Workplace : PARIS 06
Date of publication : Friday, September 27, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Isabelle Ohayon (co-supervisor)
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 December 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Expenditure dedicated to life-cycle ceremonies and festive sociability is a growing phenomenon among Central Asian populations (in Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan and Tajikistan) that has taken ostentatious dimensions between the end of the 1960s and this day. These practices have taken on such proportion that they drove the States to legislate to mitigate their nefarious effect on the national economic development and the individual household budgets.
The thesis prepared in the framework of the ANR project "Shaping inequalities or building social bonds? Ceremonial economy under and after socialism in central Asia (1960s-2020s)" will aim to capture this phenomenon in a double dimension. It will address the ceremonial economy and its inflationary character as a driving force behind the reconfiguration of social bonds in Central Asian societies as it generates groups cohesion. But it will also seek to analyze how the escalation and social injunction to expenditure contribute to the making of social differentiation and ultimately to the actualization of hierarchies and solidarities, which reinforce statutory as well as economic and political inequalities.
The PhD student will carry out this survey on a field preferably located in Uzbekistan or Kazakhstan, including the observation of urban societies and cultures, which are rarely investigated by the academic literature. Their project will be able to focus on issues of their choice but will have to take into account the role and influence of the market in increasing ceremonial spending and question changes in consumption patterns and the relationship to the market economy and its institutions (competition from economic actors, money, bank). His project should also make it possible to understand how the ceremonial economy participates in the fabrication of micro-powers on the scale of the field observed.

Work Context

The PhD student will be affiliated with the Doctoral School of Social Anthropology and Ethnology at EHESS. He will be based in the CERCEC research laboratory in Paris. Their research project will be co-supervised by Florence Weber and Isabelle Ohayon. It will also receive the support of the multidisciplinary team of the ANR CREMONIAC project. At CERCEC, their work will be part of the research axis "Actions and Norms. Social and economic practices from the 17th century to the present day". The PhD student will be integrated into a multidisciplinary environment and will be invited to participate in the CERCEC activities (seminars, conferences, etc., including the seminar dedicated to the "Ceremoniac" project).
The human and technical resources necessary to carry out the thesis are planned and included in the budget (equipment, transport fees).

Constraints and risks

The PhD student will work under a three-year doctoral contract and must complete their doctoral thesis within this time period. The research schedule will be discussed with the thesis supervisors.
The PhD student may consider changing fields of study if political or administrative conditions so require. It will be assisted by the ANR project team in case of such difficulties. But the research will probably require at least 12 months of field work.
In the field, whatever the country or region chosen, the PhD student will work in collaboration with local colleagues, who can facilitate some procedures and access to resources.

Additional Information

The candidate must hold a master's degree in anthropology or sociology and have already conducted research on a Central Asian society. They must have recent field experience of approximately 5 months in a Central Asian region. The proposed research requires knowledge of one of the vernacular languages of Central Asia and Russian. Either of these languages may be in the process of being learned, but the candidate must be able to master at least one local language very well. The young researcher will have to show great motivation and an appetite for the field. They will conduct its own surveys but will contribute to multidisciplinary collective investigations with sociologists and socio-economists, and participate in a variety of research techniques (oral history, quantitative techniques). The thesis may be written in French or English, but the PhD student will have to work in a French-speaking environment. Applications should include a detailed CV; a one-page cover letter; a one-page summary of the master's thesis; the scores obtained in Master 2, a thesis project of 7 to 10 pages. The candidate has the possibility to attach a letter of recommendation but it is not mandatory. Recruiters may request a copy of the master's thesis.
The deadline for sending applications is 01/11/2019. Interviews with candidates will take place between 13 and 20 November 2019.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Contrat doctoral H/F en anthropologie sociale et économique. Thème : « L'inflation des dépenses cérémonielles dans les sociétés d'Asie centrale »

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8083-ISAOHA-002
Lieu de travail : PARIS 06
Date de publication : vendredi 27 septembre 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Isabelle Ohayon (co-direction)
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 décembre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Les dépenses consacrées aux cérémonies du cycle de vie et à la sociabilité festive ont progressé chez les populations d'Asie centrale (Kazakhstan, Kirghizstan, Ouzbékistan, Tadjikistan) jusqu'à devenir ostentatoires entre la fin des années 1960 et aujourd'hui. Leur caractère disproportionné a conduit les Etats à légiférer pour limiter leurs effets sur le développement économique et le budget des familles.
La thèse préparée dans le cadre du projet ANR « Shaping inequalities or building social bonds? Ceremonial economy under and after socialism in central asia (1960s-2020s)” aura pour ambition de saisir ce phénomène dans une double dimension. Elle abordera l'économie cérémonielle et son caractère inflationniste comme moteur des reconfigurations du lien social dans les sociétés d'Asie centrale en tant qu'il construit les cohésions de groupe. Mais aussi, elle cherchera à analyser comment la surenchère et l'injonction sociale à la dépense contribuent à fabriquer de la différentiation sociale et in fine à affirmer des hiérarchies et des solidarités, qui renforcent les inégalités statutaires autant qu'économiques et politiques.

Le doctorant déploiera ce questionnement sur un terrain situé de préférence en Ouzbékistan ou au Kazakhstan, incluant l'observation de sociétés et de cultures urbaines, lesquelles sont rarement investiguées par la littérature académique. Son projet pourra se focaliser sur des problématiques de son choix mais devra tenir compte du rôle et de l'emprise du marché dans l'augmentation des dépenses cérémonielles et interroger les évolutions des modes de consommation et de la relation à l'économie de marché et à ses institutions (compétition des acteurs économiques, monnaie, banques, etc.). Son projet devra également permettre d'appréhender comment l'économie cérémonielle participe à la fabrique de micro-pouvoirs à l'échelle du terrain observé.

Contexte de travail

Le doctorant sera rattaché à l'école doctorale d'anthropologie sociale et d'ethnologie de l'EHESS. Il sera affecté au laboratoire du CERCEC à Paris (UMR8083). Son travail de recherche sera co-encadré par Florence Weber et Isabelle Ohayon. Il recevra aussi le soutien de l'équipe pluridisciplinaire du projet ANR CEREMONIAC. Au CERCEC, ses travaux s'intègreront dans l'axe de recherche « Actions et normes. Pratiques sociales et économiques du 17e siècle à nos jours ». Il sera intégré à un environnement là aussi pluridisciplinaire et sera invité à participer aux activités du CERCEC (séminaires, conférences, etc. dont au séminaire dédié au projet « Ceremoniac »).
Les ressources humaines et techniques nécessaires à la réalisation de la thèse sont planifiées et budgétisées (matériel, frais de transport).

Contraintes et risques

Le ou la doctorante travaillera dans le cadre d'un contrat doctoral de trois ans et devra réaliser sa thèse de doctorat dans ce délai. Le calendrier de recherche sera discuté avec les directeurs de thèse. La recherche exigera un travail de terrain d'au moins 12 mois.
Le doctorant pourra envisager de changer de terrain si les conditions politiques ou règlementaires l'exigent. Il sera soutenu par l'équipe du projet ANR en cas de difficultés de cet ordre. Mais la recherche nécessitera probablement un travail de terrain d'au moins 12 mois.
Sur le terrain, quel que soit le pays ou la région choisis, le doctorat travaillera en lien avec des collègues sur place, qui pourront faciliter certaines démarches et l'accès à des ressources.

Informations complémentaires

Le candidat devra être titulaire d'un diplôme de master en anthropologie ou en sociologie et avoir déjà conduit une recherche sur une société d'Asie centrale. Il devra justifier d'une expérience de terrain récente et d'une durée d'environ 5 mois dans une région d'Asie centrale. La recherche proposée nécessite la connaissance d'une des langues vernaculaires d'Asie centrale et du russe. L'une ou l'autre de ces langues peut être en cours d'apprentissage mais le candidat doit pouvoir maîtriser très bien au moins une langue locale. Le jeune chercheur devra montrer une grande motivation et une appétence pour le terrain. Il mènera ses propres enquêtes mais sera amené à contribuer à des enquêtes collectives pluridisciplinaires avec des sociologues et des socioéconomistes, et à participer à des techniques de recherche variées (histoire orale, techniques quantitatives). La thèse pourra être rédigée en français ou anglais mais le doctorant sera amené à évoluer dans un environnement francophone. Les candidatures devront inclure un CV détaillé ; une lettre de motivation d'une page ; un résumé d'une page du mémoire de master ; les notes obtenues en Master 2, un projet de thèse de 7 à 10 pages. Le candidat a la possibilité de joindre une lettre de recommandation mais elle n'est pas obligatoire. Les recruteurs se réservent la possibilité de demander une copie du mémoire de master.
La date limite pour l'envoi des candidatures est le 01/11/2019. Les entretiens avec les candidats auront lieu entre le 13 et 20 novembre 2019.

On en parle sur Twitter !