By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD on infrared antenna-coupled photodetectors based on colloidal nanocrystals

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8023-ANGVAS-003
Workplace : PARIS 05
Date of publication : Friday, June 19, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Angela Vasanelli
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 September 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Infrared detection is at the heart of several application domains, ranging from environment monitoring to night imaging for automotive, security and defense. For these applications, a major technological challenge is the realization of compact and low cost devices, operating at room temperature.

First used as light emitters for displays, colloidal nanocrystals have recently attracted considerable attention as active medium of photodetectors in the mid-infrared wavelength range [1], where technology is currently dominated by epitaxally grown III-V (InSb, InGaAs, GaAs) and II-VI (HgCdeTe) semiconductors. However, present mid-infrared detectors based on nanocrystals remain at a fairly basic level. In this project, we propose the use of metallic resonators to improve the performances of nanocrystal based photodetectors by increasing the light-matter interaction in a small effective volume. Metallic resonators are indeed well known to provide highly subwavelength electromagnetic confinement. Furthermore, they also inherently act as antennas, gathering photons from an area that can be much larger than the object itself. Both these properties have allowed a strong improvement in the performances of GaAs quantum well infrared photodetectors, in terms of detectivity and operation temperature [2].
The goal of this PhD project will be to conceive, fabricate and characterize such plasmonic nanocolloidal quantum detectors. The work will be performed jointly at LPENS, in the Quantum Physics and Devices group (QUAD) for the design and characterization of the devices, and at INSP, under the supervision of Emmanuel Lhuillier, for their fabrication.

References
[1] C. Livache et al., A colloidal quantum dot infrared photodetector and its use for intraband detection, Nature Comm. 10, 2125 (2019); A. Chu et al., Near Unity Absorption in Nanocrystal Based Short Wave Infrared Photodetectors using Guided Mode Resonators, ACS Photonics (2019)
[2] D. Palaferri et al., Room-temperature nine-µm-wavelength photodetectors and GHz-frequency heterodyne receivers, Nature 556, 85 (2018)

Work Context

Quantum physics and devices group
Physics Laboratory at the Ecole Normale Supérieure

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Thèse de doctorat sur les détecteurs infrarouges à nanocristaux en cavité (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8023-ANGVAS-003
Lieu de travail : PARIS 05
Date de publication : vendredi 19 juin 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Angela Vasanelli
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 septembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

La détection infrarouge est au cœur de plusieurs domaines d'application, de la surveillance environnementale jusqu'à l'imagerie nocturne pour la conduite assistée, la sécurité et la défense. Pour ces applications, l'un des défis technologiques les plus importants est la réalisation de dispositifs compacts, de faible coût et fonctionnant à température ambiante.
D'abord utilisés comme émetteurs pour les écrans, les nanocristaux colloidaux ont récemment été employés comme milieu actif pour les photodétecteurs dans le moyen infrarouge [1], où la technologie est actuellement dominée par les semiconducteurs III-V ou II-VI épitaxiés (InSb, InGaAs, GaAs, HgCdeTe). Toutefois, les détecteurs basés sur les nanocristaux et fonctionnant dans le moyen infrarouge emploient actuellement une architecture assez basique. Dans ce projet nous proposons d'utiliser des résonateurs métalliques pour améliorer les performances des photodétecteurs basés sur les nanocristaux en exaltant l'interaction lumière-matière dans un faible volume effectif. Les résonateurs métalliques permettent en effet un confinement électromagnétique très sub-longueur d'onde. De plus, ils fonctionnent comme des antennes, qui peuvent recueillir les photons d'une surface beaucoup plus grande que le dispositif. Ces deux propriétés ont permis une forte amélioration des performances des photodétecteurs à puits quantiques de semiconducteurs en termes de détectivité et de température de fonctionnement [2].
L'objectif de la thèse sera de concevoir, fabriquer et caractériser des détecteurs plasmoniques à nanocristaux. Le travail de thèse sera réalisé au laboratoire de physique de l'ENS, dans l'équipe Physique quantique et dispositifs, pour la conception et la caractérisation des dispositifs, et à l'INSP, dans l'équipe d'Emmanuel Lhuillier, pour leur fabrication.


Références
[1] C. Livache et al., A colloidal quantum dot infrared photodetector and its use for intraband detection, Nature Comm. 10, 2125 (2019); A. Chu et al., Near Unity Absorption in Nanocrystal Based Short Wave Infrared Photodetectors using Guided Mode Resonators, ACS Photonics (2019)
[2] D. Palaferri et al., Room-temperature nine-µm-wavelength photodetectors and GHz-frequency heterodyne receivers, Nature 556, 85 (2018)

Contexte de travail

Equipe Physique Quantique et Dispositifs, Laboratoire de physique de l'Ecole Normale Supérieure

On en parle sur Twitter !