By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD fellowship (H/F): Many-Scale Modeling of Lung Poromechanics

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7649-MARGEN-001
Workplace : PALAISEAU
Date of publication : Tuesday, December 03, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Martin Genet
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 September 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Context & Objectives
The lungs are the primary organs of the respiratory system in humans and many animals, responsible for molecular exchanges between external air and internal blood through mechanical ventilation. It has an extraordinary complex architecture, with the inherent fractal structure of the bronchial and blood vessel trees, as well as the hierarchical structure of the parenchyma. Lung biomechanics has been extensively studied by physiologists, experimentally as well as theoretically, from the air flow, blood flow and tissue stress points of view, laying the ground for our current fundamental understanding of the relationship between function and mechanical behavior. However, many questions remain, notably in the intricate coupling between the multiple constituents, between the many phenomena taking place at different spatial and temporal scales in health and disease. For example, even for healthy lungs, there is no quantitative model allowing to link tissue-level and organ-level experimental material responses.
These fundamental questions represent real clinical challenges, as pulmonary diseases are an important health burden. Interstitial lung diseases, for instance, affect several million people globally. Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis (IPF), notably, a progressive form of interstitial lung diseases where some alveolar septa get thicker and stiffer while others get completely damaged, remains poorly understood, poorly diagnosed, and poorly treated, with a current median survival rate inferior to 5 years. It has, however, been hypothesized that a mechanical vicious cycle is in place within the parenchyma of IPF patients, where fibrosis and damage induce large stresses, which in turn favor fibrosis.
The general goal of this project is twofold: (i) scientifically, to better understand pulmonary (solid) mechanics, from the alveolar scale to the organ in health and (IPF) disease; (ii) clinically, to improve diagnosis and prognosis of (IPF) patients through personalized computational modeling. More precisely, the student will develop a many-scale model of the parenchymal biomechanics, at all relevant spatial scales from the alveolus to the organ, and at the temporal scales of the breathing cycle and fibrosis process. Different representations at successive spatial scales will be linked by a computational nonlinear homogenization strategy with a priori model reduction based on a neural network. The model will integrate the rather unique experimental data produced by Drs. Bel-Brunon and Trunfio-Sfarghiu from LaMCoS (INSA-Lyon), i.e., microtomography images at alveolar scale and inflation tests of lobules: microstructures will be extracted from the images and systematically analyzed, and model parameters will be estimated from the mechanical tests. The model will also integrate clinical-radiological data provided by Profs. Nunes and Brillet from Avicenne APHP Hospital, i.e., standard pulmonary function tests and thoracic computed tomography imaging on IPF patients as well as normal lung controls: a pipeline to estimate observable model parameters from clinical data will be set up, and generic values will be defined for the remaining parameters. The model and estimation procedure will represent augmented diagnosis and prognosis tools for the clinicians.

Keywords
Pulmonary Biomechanics; Image-based Modeling; Finite Element Method; Computational Homogenization; Neural Networks; Data assimilation

Candidate profile
The candidate will have to master continuum mechanics, with if possible knowledge of finite strains, biomechanics, and numerical methods. He/She will also have an interest in the application in pneumology, especially for interacting with clinical collaborators.

Bibliography
[1] B. Hinz and B. Suki, “Does Breathing Amplify Fibrosis?,” Am. J. Respir. Crit. Care Med., 2016.
[2] D. Chapelle and P. Moireau, “General coupling of porous flows and hyperelastic formulations—From thermodynamics principles to energy balance and compatible time schemes,” Eur. J. Mech. Part B Fluids, 2014.
[3] C. Patte, M. Genet, C. Fetita, P.-Y. Brillet and D. Chapelle, “Mécanique pulmonaire personnalisée: modélisation et estimation—Application à la fibrose pulmonaire”, 14ème colloque national en calcul des structures (CSMA), Giens, France, 2019.

Contacts
martin.genet@polytechnique.edu, aline.bel-brunon@insa-lyon.fr, philippe.moireau@inria.fr, dominique.chapelle@inria.fr

Work Context

The thesis will take place within the M3DISIM team (joint between École Polytechnique & Inria and within the Solid Mechanics Laboratory), on the École Polytechnique campus. It will be in tight collaboration with the LaMCoS at INSA-Lyon. It will be co-directed by Martin Genet, Aline Bel-Brunon & Dominique Chapelle. It should start in 2020.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

PhD fellowship (H/F): Many-Scale Modeling of Lung Poromechanics

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7649-MARGEN-001
Lieu de travail : PALAISEAU
Date de publication : mardi 3 décembre 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Martin Genet
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 septembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Contexte et objectifs
Les poumons sont les principaux organes du système respiratoire chez l'homme et chez de nombreux animaux. Ils sont responsables des échanges moléculaires entre l'air extérieur et le sang interne par le biais de la ventilation mécanique. Il possède une architecture extraordinairement complexe, avec la structure fractale inhérente des arbres des bronches et des vaisseaux sanguins, ainsi que la structure hiérarchique du parenchyme. Les physiologistes ont étudié de manière approfondie la biomécanique pulmonaire, tant du point de vue théorique qu'expérimental, du flux d'air au flux sanguin en passant par la mécanique tissulaire, jetant ainsi les bases de notre compréhension fondamentale actuelle de la relation entre la fonction et le comportement mécanique. Cependant, de nombreuses questions subsistent, notamment dans le couplage complexe entre les multiples constituants, entre les nombreux phénomènes se produisant à différentes échelles spatiales et temporelles, dans la santé et la maladie. Par exemple, même pour les poumons sains, il n'existe pas de modèle quantitatif permettant de relier les réponses mécaniques expérimentales au niveau des tissus et des organes.
Ces questions fondamentales représentent de véritables défis cliniques, car les maladies pulmonaires représentent un lourd fardeau pour la santé. Les maladies pulmonaires interstitielles, par exemple, touchent plusieurs millions de personnes dans le monde. La Fibrose Pulmonaire Idiopathique (FPI), notamment, une forme progressive de pneumopathie interstitielle dans laquelle certains septa alvéolaires deviennent plus épais et plus raides alors que d'autres sont complètement endommagés, restent mal comprise, mal diagnostiquée et mal traitée, avec un taux de survie médian actuel inférieur à 5 ans. Une hypothèse a toutefois été émise qu'un cercle vicieux mécanique était en place dans le parenchyme des patients atteints de FPI, où la fibrose et les lésions induisent des contraintes importantes, qui à leur tour favorisent la fibrose.
L'objectif général de ce projet est double: (i) scientifiquement, mieux comprendre la mécanique pulmonaire (solide), de l'échelle alvéolaire à l'organe, dans la santé et la maladie (FPI); (ii) cliniquement, améliorer le diagnostic et le pronostic des patients (FPI) au moyen d'une modélisation personnalisée. Plus précisément, le ou la doctorante développera un modèle multi-échelle de la biomécanique du parenchyme, à toutes les échelles spatiales pertinentes, de l'alvéole à l'organe, et aux échelles temporelles du cycle respiratoire et du processus de fibrose. Différentes représentations à des échelles spatiales successives seront reliées par une stratégie d'homogénéisation non linéaire numeérique avec une réduction de modèle a priori basée sur un réseau de neurones. Le modèle intégrera les données expérimentales plutôt uniques produites par les Drs. Bel-Brunon et Trunfio-Sfarghiu du LaMCoS (INSA-Lyon), c'est-à-dire des images de microtomographie à l'échelle alvéolaire et des tests de gonflage de lobules: des microstructures seront extraites et analysées systématiquement, et les paramètres du modèle seront estimés à partir des tests mécaniques. Le modèle intégrera également les données cliniques radiologiques fournies par les Profs. Nunes et Brillet de l'Hôpital APHP Avicenne, c'est-à-dire des tests de la fonction pulmonaire standard et tomodensitométrie thoracique chez des patients atteints de FPI ainsi que des contrôles pulmonaires normaux: un pipeline pour estimer les paramètres de modèle observables à partir de données cliniques sera mise en place et des valeurs génériques définies pour les paramètres restants. Le modèle et la procédure d'estimation représenteront des outils de diagnostic et de pronostic augmentés pour les cliniciens.

Mots clés
Biomécanique pulmonaire; Modélisation basée sur l'image; Méthode des éléments finis; Homogénéisation numérique; Réseaux de neurones; Assimilation de données

Profil du candidat
Le candidat devra maîtriser la mécanique des milieux continus, avec si possible une connaissance des déformations finies, de la biomécanique et des méthodes numériques. Il / Elle s'intéressera également à l'application en pneumologie, notamment pour interagir avec des collaborateurs cliniques.

Bibliographie
[1] B. Hinz and B. Suki, “Does Breathing Amplify Fibrosis?,” Am. J. Respir. Crit. Care Med., 2016.
[2] D. Chapelle and P. Moireau, “General coupling of porous flows and hyperelastic formulations—From thermodynamics principles to energy balance and compatible time schemes,” Eur. J. Mech. Part B Fluids, 2014.
[3] C. Patte, M. Genet, C. Fetita, P.-Y. Brillet and D. Chapelle, “Mécanique pulmonaire personnalisée: modélisation et estimation—Application à la fibrose pulmonaire”, 14ème colloque national en calcul des structures (CSMA), Giens, France, 2019.

Contacts
martin.genet@polytechnique.edu, aline.bel-brunon@insa-lyon.fr, philippe.moireau@inria.fr, dominique.chapelle@inria.fr

Contexte de travail

La thèse se déroulera au sein de l'équipe M3DISIM (conjointe à l'École Polytechnique, au sein du Laboratoire de Mécanique des Solides (LMS), et à l'Inria), sur le campus de l'École Polytechnique, en étroite collaboration avec le LaMCoS de l'INSA de Lyon. Elle sera co-dirigée par Martin Genet, Aline Bel-Brunon et Dominique Chapelle. Elle devra commencer en 2020.

On en parle sur Twitter !