By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

International PhD on quantum information networks H/F

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7606-FREGRO-001
Workplace : PARIS 05
Date of publication : Monday, June 29, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Damian Markham
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

We are currently looking for excellent candidates for a theoretical PhD on quantum information networks. The development of quantum information networks promises incredible benefits over conventional classical networks. The possibility of connecting quantum devices (from full blown quantum computers to small sensing or communication devices) is already understood to offer many advantages including enhanced network security, distributed quantum sensing, delegated quantum computing, and exponential advantages in communication complexity. Yet there are many open questions about what more these networks might offer, how they will be different from classical networks, and what these differences will mean in terms of how we run these quantum networks.
The candidate will explore these questions, for example looking at routing, complex quantum networks, emergent behaviours and the role of quantumness in quantum network advantage.

Work Context

The position will be hosted in the Quantum Information team in LIP6-Sorbonne Université, Paris, France and be carried out in close collaboration with the Japanese-French Laboratory for Informatics, Tokyo, Japan. There will be opportunities for travel to Japan.

The environment in the QI team is vibrant and interdisciplinary, and the candidate will have the opportunity to work with theoretical physicists, computer scientists, experimentalists and experts on classical networks. They will also benefit from two quantum information institutes we are part of, the Quantum Information Centre Sorbonne, Paris Centre for Quantum Computation (pcqc.fr). We are also involved in several national, european and international collaborative projects on quantum information networks. The LIP6 QI team has gender parity for permanent research staff.

The JFLI is computer science CNRS international research laboratory based in Tokyo across three sites, the NII, University of Tokyo and Keio University, which has quantum computing as one of its focused topics.

We are an equal opportunity employer.

Interested candidates should contact Damian Markham with a CV:
Damian Markham: markham@lip6.fr

QI team website: http://www.quantuminfolip6.fr/
JFLI website: https://jfli.cnrs.fr/index.html

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorat international sur l'information quantique sur réseau H/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7606-FREGRO-001
Lieu de travail : PARIS 05
Date de publication : lundi 29 juin 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Damian Markham
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Nous cherchons un⋅e excellents candidat⋅e pour un doctorat théorique sur l'information quantique en réseaux. Le développement de réseaux quantiques laisse envisager des avantages considérables par rapport aux réseaux classiques habituels. Il est déjà connu que la possibilité d'interconnecter des dispositifs quantiques (des véritables ordinateurs quantiques universels jusqu'aux petits senseurs et appareils de communication) offre de nombreux avantages, incluant un sécurité améliorée du réseau, de l'acquisition quantique distribuée, du calcul quantique délégué, et des avanteges exponentiels en complexité de la communication. Cependant, de nombreuses questions restent ouvertes sur les avantages de ces réseaux encore à découvrir, leurs différences avec les réseaux classiques, et les conséquences de ces différences sue a manière d'exploiter ces réseaux quantiques.
Le⋅a candidat⋅e explorera ces questions, par exemple en étudiant le routage, des réseaux quantiques complexes, l'émergence de propriétés et le rôle des effets quantiques dans les avantages quantiques sur réseau.

Contexte de travail

Le doctorat sera hébergé par l'équipe Information Quantique (QI) du LIP6 à Sorbonne Université (Paris, France) et sera effectué en collaboration étroite avec le Japanese-French Laboratory for Informatics (JFLI, Tokyo, Japon). Des séjours au Japon sont prévus.
L'équipe QI est dynamique et interdisciplinaire, et le⋅a candidat⋅e aura l'opportunité de travaillé avec des physiciens théoriques, des informaticiens, des expérimentateurs et des experts en des réseaux classiques. Il⋅elle bénificiera également des deux instituts dont nous sommes membres, le Quantum Information Centre Sorbonne, et le Paris Centre for Quantum Computation (pcqc.fr). Nous sommes également impliqués dans plusieurs projets collaboratifs nationaux, européens et internationaux sur l'information quantique sur réseaux.

L'équipe QI du LIP6 est à parité de genre en terme de chercheurs permanents.

Le JFLI est in laboratoire d'informatique international du CNRS basé à Tokyo sur trois sites, le NII, l'Université de Tokyo et l'Université Keio. Le calcul quantique et l'un des sujets de recherche principaux du JFLI
Nous sommes un employeur garantissant l'égalité des chances.
Site web de l'équipe QI: http://www.quantuminfolip6.fr/
Site web du JFLI: https://jfli.cnrs.fr/index.html

On en parle sur Twitter !