En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Thesis position on molecular dynamics (M/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Date Limite Candidature : lundi 30 mai 2022

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

General information

Reference : UMR7504-CHRLEF-003
Workplace : STRASBOURG
Date of publication : Monday, May 9, 2022
Scientific Responsible name : Mauro BOERO
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2022
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Since their discovery more than twenty years ago [1], carbon nanotubes (CNT) have attracted a growing interest because of potential applications in a wide range of next-generation electronic devices. Their acknowledged efficiency in terms of electronic and thermal transport, the relatively low production cost, and their controllable environmental impact [2] at least to some extents are counterbalanced by the intrinsic difficulty in growing a specific nanotube in situ. The physical properties of a CNT can be tuned by adding heteroatoms or clusters at the surface or by substitution of C sites directly on the CNT network. This can lead to new optical, electronic or magnetic properties according to the chemical nature of these heteroatoms [3-6]. Specifically, in the hyper-frequency domain, Sui and coworkers [7] have shown that Co atoms deposited on CNTs allow to modulate the frequency response of composite polymer/CNT systems resulting in a shift of the adsorption peak. Despite the intensive experimental activity of the last ten years, a detailed atomic-level knowledge of the mechanisms regulating the interaction of heteroatoms and clusters with CNTs is still lacking. Nonetheless, this fundamental knowledge is instrumental to design and tune the resulting macroscopic properties, and in particular the dielectric response, of these composite materials. This calls for advanced simulations tools and methods suitable to realize reliable virtual experiments able to reproduce the behavior of CNT/Metal systems at finite temperature which, ultimately, determines the sought macroscopic properties. To date,, such a tool is represented by first principles molecular dynamics (FPMD) and related enhanced methods [8,9], which have already shown their maturity in predicting and quantifying the complex dielectric response of realistic materials [10]. In this context, preliminary studies have been realized at the IPCMS in the context of a M2 Master project, in collaboration with Dassault-Aviation. These FPMD studies have shown how it is possible to extract
permittivity spectra in the case of a (10,10) CNT either pristine or carrying Co nanoclusters at the surface.

The present Ph.D project, scheduled for the academic years October 2022 - September 2025, will exploit FPMD methodologies for applications to CNT and carbon-based systems (mainly graphene) interacting with atoms, clusters and nanoparticles of ferromagnetic metals, such as Co, to tune and modulate the dielectric response in strict synergy with experiments. An accurate survey of the system size required, location and/or mobility of the metallic nano-objects at finite temperature and stability of the substrate will be the prerequisite to enable and extend the study toward the desired properties. The case of two dimensional carbon-based systems such as graphene will be also targeted in view of their promising features as forefront materials for micro-wave adsorption [11]. The scope of this project is to unravel the underlying electronic structure in the temperature range where these systems are expected to be operational and to sort out the resulting complex dielectric function [10], directly obtained by dynamical simulations as a Fourier transform of the dipole autocorrelation function. Quantitative comparisons with experimental results will provide a solid background to test ad benchmark the computational results. Massive parallel resources on high-performance computing (HPC) architectures are available for this study at the local HPC center (https://hpc.pages.unistra.fr/) of the Strasbourg university (Tier-2 level) and on national centers (Tier-1 level) under the GENCI (www.genci.fr) call for grants.


References:
[1] S. Ijima, Nature 354, 56 (1991).
[2] R. Girardello et al. PLoS One. 10, e0144361 (2015)
[3] K.C. Chin, et al., Chem. Phys. Lett. 383, 72 (2004)
[4] P.C.P Watts et al., Chem. Mater. 14, 4505 (2002).
[5] Y.H. Wu et al., Nano Lett..2, 161 (2002)
[6] Z. Dong et al., Mater. Lett. 62,4059 (2008)
[7] J. Sui et al. Mater. Lett. 75, 158 (2012)
[8] R. Car and M. Parrinello, Phys. Rev. Lett. 55, 2471 (1985).
[9] M. Boero and A. Oshiyama, Car-Parrinello Molecular Dynamics in Encyclopedia of Nanotechnology, pag. 1-10, Springer, Berlin Heidelberg 2015. ISBN 978-94-007-6178-0
[10] M. Micoulaut, A. Kachmar, M. Bauchy, S. Le Roux, C. Massobrio, M. Boero, Phys. Rev. B 88, 054203 (2013)
[11] C. Wang. et al., Appl. Phys. Lett. 98, 072906 (2011)

Work Context

The Doctoral College of Physics and Chemistry-Physics is co-accredited between Unistra and UHA. It aims to provide research training in the areas of interest of its 8 laboratories. The spectrum of research themes is broad, in connection with the major orientations that make up the strength of the Strasbourg scientific cluster, ranging from subatomic physics to astrophysics, through the physics of condensed matter with its ramifications in the nanosciences ( properties of unique objects), functional materials (optics, magnetism and spintronics) and mesoscopic physics. The doctoral school is highly multidisciplinary as shown by the different priority themes that are redefined each year, combining the contributions of physics and chemistry to the interface with life sciences, for example in biomedical imaging but also in biomaterials and polymeric materials.

IPCMS (“Institute of Physics and Chemistry of Materials of Strasbourg (IPCMS), UMR 7504 CNRS – University of Strasbourg”), is an internationally well-established research and training center in the field of materials and nanoscience. The staff is affiliated to CNRS (INP, INC) and to Unistra (Physics & Engineering, Chemistry, ECPM, Télécom Physique Strasbourg). The laboratory is organized in 3 departments of physics and 2 departments of chemistry with strong interactions:

Department of Magnetism of nanostructured objects (DMONS)
Department of Ultrafast Optics and Nanophotonics (DON)
Department of Surfaces and Interfaces (DSI)
Department of Chemistry of Inorganic Materials (DCMI)
Department of Organic Materials (DMO)

Our research and transfer activity is highly multidisciplinary, at the frontiers of physics and chemistry, focused on five major transverse axes: Quantum Sciences and Materials, Biomaterials, Bio photonics and Health, Advanced Molecular Systems, Nano, and Femtomagnetism, and Advanced Materials and Devices for Energy and the Environment.
The research carried out at the IPCMS is based on strong expertise in experimental science, theory and modeling.

The phD program is in the framework of the Joint Research Laboratory "MOLIERE" between IPCMS, IJL and Dassault-Aviation. A joint research laboratory is a means of establishing a long-term research partnership between CNRS, its academic partners and a company in a given area based on a jointly defined roadmap. The MOLIERE laboratory aims to create high value-added materials for aviation, marking a break with current materials (new properties and functionalities or improvements of existing properties, material savings, for example), through a multi-scale approach combining theoretical, digital and experimental aspects. The durability of anti-icing materials will also be a focus of research at MOLIERE, as they are of great importance for future commercial aircraft in terms of reducing the energy needed for in-flight de-icing.
The MOLIERE joint laboratory will use the simulation, manufacturing and multi-scale characterization resources of two research laboratories: the Strasbourg Institute of Materials Physics and Chemistry (IPCMS, CNRS/University of Strasbourg) and Jean Lamour Institute (IJL, CNRS/University of Lorraine). IPCMS has recognized skills in nanomaterials and nanoscience with leading activities in electromagnetism. IJL is reputed for its expertise and outreach in nanomaterials and metamaterials, particularly for acoustics.

Additional Information

To be admitted in the first year, the following conditions must be met:
– Hold a master's degree conferred by a French university. The average grade of the master – calculated from the averages of the 4 semesters – must be at least 12/20. – Have obtained the agreement of a thesis director (DT) authorized to direct research.
– Exceptionally, the ED may admit candidates who have obtained the research master with an average of 2 years (M1 or equivalent + M2) between 11 and 11.99 on prior examination of the file by the ED pedagogical committee which gives an opinion on registration.
– Applicants whose M2 equivalent degree is awarded by a foreign university, must apply for an exemption from the French MASTER. To save time, it is advisable to file the corresponding file as soon as possible.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Contrat doctoral (H/F) sur la modélisation par dynamique moléculaire de la permittivité de systèmes carbonés

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Date Limite Candidature : lundi 30 mai 2022

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7504-CHRLEF-003
Lieu de travail : STRASBOURG
Date de publication : lundi 9 mai 2022
Nom du responsable scientifique : Mauro BOERO
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2022
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Depuis leur découverte il y a plus de vingt ans [1], les nanotubes de carbone (NTC) ont suscité un intérêt croissant en raison de leurs applications potentielles dans un large éventail de dispositifs électroniques de nouvelle génération. Leur efficacité reconnue en termes de transport électronique et thermique, leur coût de production relativement faible et leur impact environnemental contrôlable [2], du moins dans une certaine mesure, sont contrebalancés par la difficulté intrinsèque de faire croître un nanotube spécifique in situ. Les propriétés physiques d'un NTC peuvent être modifiées par l'ajout d'hétéroatomes ou de clusters à la surface ou par la substitution de sites C directement sur le réseau de NTC. Cela peut conduire à de nouvelles propriétés optiques, électroniques ou magnétiques en fonction de la nature chimique de ces hétéroatomes [3-6]. Plus précisément, dans le domaine de l'hyperfréquence, Sui et al. [7] ont montré que les atomes de Co déposés sur les NTC permettent de moduler la réponse en fréquence des systèmes composites polymère/NTC entraînant un déplacement du pic d'adsorption. Malgré l'intense activité expérimentale de ces dix dernières années, une connaissance détaillée au niveau atomique des mécanismes régulant l'interaction des hétéroatomes et des clusters avec les NTC fait toujours défaut. Néanmoins, cette connaissance fondamentale est essentielle pour concevoir et régler les propriétés macroscopiques résultantes, et en particulier la réponse diélectrique, de ces matériaux composites. Cela nécessite des outils de simulation avancés et des méthodes appropriées pour réaliser des expériences virtuelles fiables capables de reproduire le comportement des systèmes CNT/Métal à température finie qui, en fin de compte, détermine les propriétés macroscopiques recherchées. A ce jour, un tel outil est représenté par la dynamique moléculaire à partir des premiers principes (FPMD) et les méthodes améliorées associées [8,9], qui ont déjà montré leur maturité dans la prédiction et la quantification de la réponse diélectrique complexe de matériaux réalistes [10]. Dans ce contexte, des études préliminaires ont été réalisées à l'IPCMS dans le cadre d'un projet de Master M2, en collaboration avec Dassault-Aviation. Ces études FPMD ont montré comment il est possible d'extraire spectres de permittivité dans le cas d'un NTC (10,10) soit vierge, soit portant des nanoclusters de Co à sa surface.

Le présent projet de doctorat, prévu pour les années universitaires octobre 2022 - septembre 2025, exploitera les méthodologies FPMD pour des applications aux CNT et aux systèmes à base de carbone (principalement le graphène) interagissant avec des atomes, des clusters et des nanoparticules de métaux ferromagnétiques, tels que le Co, afin de régler et de moduler la réponse diélectrique en stricte synergie avec les expériences. Une étude précise de la taille requise du système, de l'emplacement et/ou de la mobilité des nano-objets métalliques à température finie et de la stabilité du substrat sera la condition préalable pour permettre et étendre l'étude vers les propriétés souhaitées. Le cas des systèmes bidimensionnels à base de carbone tels que le graphène sera également ciblé en raison de leurs caractéristiques prometteuses en tant que matériaux d'avant-garde pour l'adsorption des micro-ondes [11]. Le but de ce projet est de démêler la structure électronique sous-jacente dans la gamme de température où ces systèmes devraient être opérationnels et de trier la fonction diélectrique complexe qui en résulte [10], directement obtenue par des simulations dynamiques comme une transformée de Fourier de la fonction d'autocorrélation du dipôle. Les comparaisons quantitatives avec les résultats expérimentaux fourniront une base solide pour tester et évaluer les résultats de calcul. Des ressources parallèles massives sur des architectures de calcul haute performance (HPC) sont disponibles pour cette étude au centre HPC local (https://hpc.pages.unistra.fr/) de l'université de Strasbourg (niveau Tier-2) et sur des centres nationaux (niveau Tier-1) dans le cadre de l'appel à subventions GENCI (www.genci.fr).

References:
[1] S. Ijima, Nature 354, 56 (1991).
[2] R. Girardello et al. PLoS One. 10, e0144361 (2015)
[3] K.C. Chin, et al., Chem. Phys. Lett. 383, 72 (2004)
[4] P.C.P Watts et al., Chem. Mater. 14, 4505 (2002).
[5] Y.H. Wu et al., Nano Lett..2, 161 (2002)
[6] Z. Dong et al., Mater. Lett. 62,4059 (2008)
[7] J. Sui et al. Mater. Lett. 75, 158 (2012)
[8] R. Car and M. Parrinello, Phys. Rev. Lett. 55, 2471 (1985).
[9] M. Boero and A. Oshiyama, Car-Parrinello Molecular Dynamics in Encyclopedia of Nanotechnology, pag. 1-10, Springer, Berlin Heidelberg 2015. ISBN 978-94-007-6178-0
[10] M. Micoulaut, A. Kachmar, M. Bauchy, S. Le Roux, C. Massobrio, M. Boero, Phys. Rev. B 88, 054203 (2013)
[11] C. Wang. et al., Appl. Phys. Lett. 98, 072906 (2011)

Contexte de travail

L'Ecole Doctorale de Physique et Chimie Physique est co-accréditée entre l'Unistra et l'UHA. Elle a pour objectif d'offrir une formation par la recherche dans les domaines d'intérêt de ses 8 laboratoires. Le spectre des thé-matiques de recherche est large, en liaison avec les grandes orientations qui font la force du pôle scientifique stras-bourgeois, allant de la physique subatomique à l'astrophysique, en passant par la physique de la matière con-densée avec ses ramifications dans les nanosciences (propriétés d'objets uniques), les matériaux fonctionnels (optique, magnétisme et spintronique) et la physique mésoscopique. L'école doctorale est fortement pluridiscipli-naires ainsi que le montrent les différentes thématiques prioritaires qui sont redéfinies chaque année, alliant les apports de la physique et de la chimie à l'interface avec les sciences du vivant comme par exemple en imagerie biomédicale mais également dans les biomatériaux et les matériaux polymères.

L'IPCMS ("Institut de Physique et de Chimie des Matériaux de Strasbourg (IPCMS), UMR 7504 CNRS - Université de Strasbourg"), est un centre de recherche et de formation de renommée internationale dans le domaine des maté-riaux et des nanosciences. Le personnel est affilié au CNRS (INP, INC) et à l'Unistra (Physique & Ingénierie, Chimie, ECPM, Télécom Physique Strasbourg). Le laboratoire est organisé en 3 départements de physique et 2 départe-ments de chimie à fortes interactions :

Département de magnétisme des objets nanostructurés (DMONS)
Département d'Optique Ultra-rapide et de Nanophotonique (DON)
Département des Surfaces et Interfaces (DSI)
Département de chimie des matériaux inorganiques (DCMI)
Département des matériaux organiques (DMO)

Notre activité de recherche et de transfert est hautement multidisciplinaire, aux frontières de la physique et de la chimie, et se concentre sur cinq grands axes transversaux : Sciences quantiques et matériaux, Biomatériaux, Bio photonique et santé, Systèmes moléculaires avancés, Nano, et Femtomagnétisme, et Matériaux et dispositifs avancés pour l'énergie et l'environnement. Les recherches menées à l'IPCMS s'appuient sur une forte expertise en sciences expérimentales, en théorie et en modélisation.

Le programme de doctorat s'inscrit dans le cadre du Laboratoire Commun de Recherche "MOLIERE" entre l'IPCMS, l'IJL et Dassault-Aviation. Un laboratoire commun de recherche est un moyen d'établir un partenariat de recherche à long terme entre le CNRS, ses partenaires académiques et une entreprise dans un domaine donné, sur la base d'une feuille de route définie conjointement. Le laboratoire MOLIERE vise à créer des matériaux à haute valeur ajoutée pour l'aviation, marquant une rupture avec les matériaux actuels (nouvelles propriétés et fonctionnalités ou amélioration des propriétés existantes, économie de matière, par exemple), par une approche multi-échelle combinant les aspects théoriques, numériques et expérimentaux. La durabilité des matériaux antigivrage sera également un axe de recherche de MOLIERE, car ils sont d'une grande importance pour les futurs avions commerciaux en termes de réduction de l'énergie nécessaire au dégivrage en vol.
Le laboratoire commun MOLIERE utilisera les ressources de simulation, de fabrication et de caractérisation multi-échelle de deux laboratoires de recherche : l'Institut de Physique et Chimie des Matériaux de Strasbourg (IPCMS, CNRS/Université de Strasbourg) et l'Institut Jean Lamour (IJL, CNRS/Université de Lorraine). L'IPCMS dispose de compétences reconnues dans le domaine des nanomatériaux et des nanosciences avec des activités de pointe en électromagnétisme. L'IJL est réputé pour son expertise et son rayonnement dans les nanomatériaux et les métamatériaux, notamment pour l'acoustique.

Informations complémentaires

Pour être admis en première année, les conditions suivantes doivent être remplies :
- Être titulaire d'un master conféré par une université française. La moyenne du master - calculée à partir des moyennes des 4 semestres - doit être au moins égale à 12/20. - Avoir obtenu l'accord d'un directeur de thèse (DT) habilité à diriger des recherches.
- A titre exceptionnel, l'ED peut admettre des candidats ayant obtenu le master recherche avec une moyenne sur 2 ans (M1 ou équivalent + M2) comprise entre 11 et 11,99 sur examen préalable du dossier par la commission péda-gogique de l'ED qui donne un avis sur l'inscription.
- Les candidats dont le diplôme équivalent M2 est délivré par une université étrangère, doivent demander une dispense du MASTER français. Pour gagner du temps, il est conseillé de déposer le dossier correspondant le plus tôt possible.

On en parle sur Twitter !