By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD - Aging and transformations of sociabilities in Europe M/F

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7363-MARDEL-001
Workplace : STRASBOURG
Date of publication : Friday, September 27, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Philippe Cordazzo (Professor of Demography, UDS/SAGE); Jean-Philippe Heurtin (Professor of Political Science, IEP de Strasbourg-UDS/SAGE)
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 November 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Aging and transformations of sociabilities in Europe

As many gerontologists have pointed out, isolation and inactivity are one of the main factors endangering the health of the elderly. However, the available data (Eurostat) clearly indicate a transformation of sociability after 75 years at European level: more than 40% live alone (censuses). Almost 10% of respondents have no one to discuss personal matters with (SILC survey) and 7% have had no contact with any family member in the past 12 months (SILC survey). With age, all indicators of social participation also decline: According to the European SILC survey (Statistics on Income and Living Conditions), in 2015, only 37.6% of people aged 75 or over participated in at least one cultural or sporting activity in the last 12 months. This proportion varies from 5% to 70.5% depending on the European countries, indicating significant territorial differences. It is also the indexes of political participation, as electoral sociology has long shown, that are declining. As a result, there is an overall decline in the social capital of senior citizens. This observation is part of a context of accelerated ageing of European populations [in 2017 the ageing index of the European Union countries is 29.9% compared to 25.8% in 2009 (Eurostat)] which has an impact on the social care of these populations, and which leads - at least the hypothesis can be made - to more general socio-political transformations that the thesis will have to explore.

The doctoral contract aims to analyse the shape of the transformation of sociability and, more broadly, of social participation in the wake of ageing. The proposed survey, at the crossroads of demography, sociology and political science, aims to explore this phenomenon in a comparative and European way (according to the traditions of differentiated sociability between the countries of southern and northern Europe). It will use a proven methodology in sociability surveys by contact book and biographical analysis. This survey methodology is particularly suitable for exploring the transformations of sociability and their variation according to age, the location of older persons and their economic and cultural capital over large and socio-demographically diversified cohorts. We wish to explore the biological, geographical and social determinants of these transformations, but also the tools put in place by the various stakeholders (entourages, social services, associations, etc.) to influence their trajectories. We also wish to measure the differences between generations, paying particular attention to the generations of baby boomers who have reached retirement age; generations that differ from the previous ones in terms of overall higher levels of education butthat have also had significant political experiences for many of them: it will thus be the political characteristics and experiences of the elderly that will be the focus of detailed exploration and their impact on sociabilities.

Work Context

The UMR 7363 SAGE (Societies, Actors, Government in Europe), created on January 1, 2013, is the result of the merger of 4 research units: the GSPE, European Political Sociology Group, team of the UMR PRISME, the CRESS, Centre de Recherche et d'Etude en Sciences Sociales, the LESVS, team of the Laboratory of Epistemology of Life and Health Sciences and the CDES, Centre du Droit de l'Environnement de Strasbourg, later joined by researchers from the Faculty of Geography.
At October 1, 2016, the UMR SAGE had 10 CNRS researchers, 54 full professors, 5 engineers and technicians and 68 doctoral students. Marine De Lassalle, PR of Sociology, is the Director and Philippe Cordazzo, PR of Demography, the Deputy Director.
This multidisciplinary unit brings together researchers and teacher-researchers who work on the processes of transnationalisation (and in particular European integration as a response to increasing globalisation) and on the transformations of structures and the social and political dynamics they are triggering. In this perspective, particular attention is paid to the sociology of the actors, the development and implementation of public standards and mechanisms and the genesis of societal issues (environment, health, ageing, social vulnerabilities, culture, cities) as well as their territorialisation dynamics at different scales.
The work of the UMR members is characterized by empirical work to test theoretically based hypotheses and by the cross-fertilization of both qualitative and quantitative methods in the social sciences (archives, ethnographic surveys, data analysis) allowing an integrated multidisciplinary approach around common questions.
SAGE is a social science and political research unit and positions itself in an original way on key themes such as health, environmental law and sustainable urban development, cultural and social policies, internationalisation and the circulation of elites, the political sociology of Europe and collective mobilisations. The research is structured in 6 closely linked axes within which the members of the UMR circulate.

Additional Information

Candidates must have a minimum of skills in qualitative and quantitative methods in the social sciences.

Documents to be provided:

- Curriculum vitae
- Letter of motivation
- Research project, i.e. how the candidate intends to approach the research topic (max. 2 pages).

Deadline for application: 31 Octobre.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

« Doctorat - Vieillissement et transformations des sociabilités en Europe H/F »

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7363-MARDEL-001
Lieu de travail : STRASBOURG
Date de publication : vendredi 27 septembre 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Philippe Cordazzo (professeur de démographie, UDS/SAGE) ; Jean-Philippe Heurtin (professeur de science politique, IEP de Strasbourg-UDS/SAGE)
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 novembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Vieillissement et transformations des sociabilités en Europe

Comme de nombreux gérontologues l'ont remarqué, l'isolement et l'inactivité constituent un des principaux facteurs mettant en danger la santé des personnes âgées. Or, les données disponibles (Eurostat) indiquent de manière claire une transformation des sociabilités après 75 ans à l'échelle européenne plus de 40 % vivent seuls (recensements). Près de 10 % des répondants n'ont personne avec qui discuter des sujets d'ordre personnel (enquête SILC) et 7 % n'ont eu aucun contact avec un membre de leur famille au cours des 12 derniers mois (enquête SILC). Avec l'âge, ce sont également tous les indicateurs de participation sociale qui déclinent : Selon l'enquête européenne SILC (Statistics on Income and Living Conditions), en 2015, seulement 37,6 % des personnes âgées de 75 ans ou plus ont participé à au moins une activité culturelle ou sportive au cours des 12 derniers mois. Cette proportion variant de 5 % à 70,5 % selon les pays européens signe de disparités territoriales importantes. Ce sont également les indices de participation politique, comme l'a montré depuis longtemps, la sociologie électorale qui déclinent. On assiste donc à un déclin global du capital social des personnes âgées. Ce constat s'inscrit dans un contexte de vieillissement accélérés des populations européennes [en 2017 l'indice de vieillissement des pays de l'Union Européenne est de 29,9 % contre 25,8 % en 2009 (Eurostat)] qui ne manque pas de peser sur la prise en charge sociale de ces populations, et qui entraîne – du moins l'hypothèse peut en être faite –, des transformations sociopolitiques plus générales que la thèse devra explorer.

Le contrat doctoral souhaite analyser les contours de la transformation des sociabilités et, plus largement de la participation sociale, consécutive au vieillissement. L'enquête proposée, au croisement de la démographie, de la sociologie et de la science politique souhaite explorer ce phénomène de manière comparative et européenne (selon les traditions différenciées de sociabilité entre les pays du sud et du nord de l'Europe). Il s'agira d'utiliser une méthodologie éprouvée dans les enquêtes de sociabilité par carnet de contact et analyse biographique. Ce dispositif d'enquête est particulièrement propice pour explorer sur des cohortes larges et socio-démographiquement diversifiées les transformations des sociabilités et leur variation en fonction de l'âge, de la localisation des personnes âgées et de leur capital économique et culturel. On souhaite ainsi explorer les déterminants biologiques, géographiques et sociaux de ces transformations, mais également les dispositifs mis en place par les différents intervenants (entourages, services sociaux, associations, etc.) pour en infléchir les trajectoires. On souhaite également mesurer les différences selon les générations, en portant une attention plus particulière aux générations des babyboomers arrivées à l'âge de la retraite ; générations se différenciant des précédentes générations par une scolarisation globalement plus élevée, mais ayant vécu également, pour nombre d'entre eux, des expériences politiques marquantes : ce seront ainsi les caractéristiques et les expériences politiques des personnes âgées qui pourront faire l'objet d'une exploration fine, et leur impact sur les sociabilités.

Contexte de travail

L'UMR 7363 SAGE (Sociétés, Acteurs, Gouvernement en Europe), créée au 1er janvier 2013, résulte de la fusion de 4 unités de recherche : le GSPE, Groupe de Sociologie Politique Européenne, équipe de l'UMR PRISME, le CRESS, Centre de Recherche et d'Etude en Sciences Sociales, le LESVS, équipe du Laboratoire d'Epistémologie des Sciences de la Vie et de la Santé et le CDES, Centre du Droit de l'Environnement de Strasbourg, auxquelles s'ajoutent des chercheurs de la Faculté de géographie.
Au 1er octobre 2016, l'UMR SAGE regroupe 10 chercheurs CNRS, 54 enseignants-chercheurs titulaires sur poste, 5 ingénieurs et technicien et 68 doctorants. Marine De Lassalle, PR de sociologie, en est la directrice et Philippe Cordazzo, PR de démographie, le directeur adjoint.
Cette unité pluridisciplinaire réunit des chercheurs et des enseignants-chercheurs qui travaillent sur les processus de transnationalisation (et tout particulièrement la construction européenne comme réponse à une mondialisation croissante) et sur les transformations des structures et des dynamiques sociales et politiques qu'ils induisent. Dans cette perspective, une attention particulière est portée à la sociologie des acteurs, à l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre de normes et de dispositifs publics et à la genèse d'enjeux sociétaux (environnement, santé, vieillissement, vulnérabilités sociales, culture, villes) ainsi qu'à leurs dynamiques de territorialisation à différentes échelles.
Les travaux des membres de l'UMR se caractérisent par le travail empirique permettant de tester des hypothèses théoriquement fondées et par le croisement de méthodes à la fois qualitatives et quantitatives en sciences sociales (archives, enquêtes ethnographiques, analyses de données) permettant une pluridisciplinarité intégrée autour de questionnements communs.
SAGE est une UMR de sciences sociales du politique et se positionne de manière originale sur des thèmes porteurs tels que la santé, le droit de l'environnement et le développement durable urbain, les politiques culturelles et sociales, l'internationalisation et la circulation des élites, la sociologie politique de l'Europe et les mobilisations collectives. Les recherches se structurent en 6 axes étroitement liés au sein desquels circulent les membres de l'UMR.

Informations complémentaires

Les candidats devront avoir une maitrise a minima des méthodes qualitatives et quantitatives en sciences sociales.

Documents à fournir :

- CV
- Lettre de motivation
- Projet de recherche, c'est-à-dire manière dont le candidat ou la candidate envisage d'aborder le sujet de recherche (2 pages maxi).
Date limite de candidature : 18 octobre.

On en parle sur Twitter !