By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

ERC-funded PhD position in solid-state NMR and DNP of molecular materials

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7273-GIUMOL-014
Workplace : MARSEILLE 13
Date of publication : Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Giulia Mollica
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 July 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

A three-year doctoral contract funded by the European Research Council (ERC) is available at CNRS / Aix-Marseille University for the development of new methods for the characterization of functional materials via Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) in solid phase coupled with Dynamic Nuclear Polarization (DNP). This doctoral thesis will be carried out in an international environment and will benefit from privileged access to advanced equipment for hyperpolarized nuclear magnetic resonance.

Context: To obtain new functional materials for targeted applications, the real challenge is to establish a clear relationship between the structure and the properties of the material. Although crystalline, many molecular materials exist as powders in their end-use form, preventing their accurate structural analysis. Moreover, these materials are often polymorphic, i.e. they can form distinct crystal structures. Since the different polymorphs of a compound are chemically identical but have different macroscopic properties, polymorphism could be an opportunity to achieve ad hoc tuning of the material properties, hence designing new materials. However, the mechanisms behind crystal formation (i.e. crystallization), which influence polymorphism, are still not understood because of the lack of suitable structural characterization methods.

Description: The research work carried out within the framework of this thesis contract concerns the design of new analytical approaches based on nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) coupled with nuclear dynamic polarization (DNP) to i) access the atomic structure of molecular materials, and ii) studying the crystallization process of these materials. Between chemistry and physics, the work will combine the design of new NMR experiments with the use of calculation methods. To carry out this ambitious project, the candidate will benefit from a stimulating scientific framework, as well as access to advanced MAS DNP equipment, recently installed in our laboratory. More specifically, the candidate will:

• develop new approaches for the study of polymorphic materials by hyperpolarized NMR (DNP NMR)
• use ab-initio methods to calculate the NMR properties (for example, CASTEP)
• perform analytical (Mathematica, MatLab) or numerical (SIMPSON) simulations to facilitate the interpretation of experimental data
• design new experimental ways to study the crystallization process of such materials

Work Context

The candidate will join the Institute of Radical Chemistry (ICR UMR7273), a joint research unit between the University of Aix-Marseille and the CNRS. Located in the south of France in Marseille, ICR is internationally recognized as a leader in the field of Nuclear Dynamic Polarization (DNP) NMR both for the development of new analytical methods for the characterization of organic solids via DNP-NMR, and for the ideation of the most efficient polarization agents for DNP existing today. Our laboratory also has access to several data centers as well as numerous instruments for the analysis of materials (X-ray diffraction, mass spectrometry, IR, elementary analysis, etc.) as well as several NMR spectrometers for liquids with magnetic fields between 300 and 600 MHz. The candidate will have access to a new DNP Bruker NMR spectrometer for solid analysis, recently installed in the laboratory, as well as to a second solid state NMR spectrometer equipped with a console and several probes for a speed of rotation up to 60 kHz.
The thesis will be funded by the European Research Council (ERC) via the CNRS for a period of 3 years from July 2020, and will be supervised by Dr G. Mollica. As part of ongoing collaborations, the candidate will be in contact with researchers from other European groups. He / she will integrate the doctoral school in Chemical Sciences ED 250 of the University Aix-Marseille. Net salary: ~ 1,700 € / month. The CNRS is labeled HR Excellence for Research (HRS4R) and promotes transparency in the recruitment process and equal opportunities.

Profile of the candidate: The candidate must have a background in chemistry or physics. Previous experience in NMR spectroscopy and / or calculation methods is an advantage. Knowledge of crystallization procedures will also be an important asset. Applicants must demonstrate motivation, imagination and independence, with an interest in understanding the fundamental aspects of NMR and polymorphism. He / she will have excellent communication skills in English to disseminate the results of their work in international journals and conferences.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

(H/F) Offre de thèse en RMN DNP financée par ERC

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7273-GIUMOL-014
Lieu de travail : MARSEILLE 13
Date de publication : mercredi 20 mai 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Giulia Mollica
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 juillet 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Un contrat doctoral de trois ans financé par le European Research Council (ERC) est disponible au CNRS/Aix-Marseille Université pour le développement de nouvelles méthodes de caractérisation de matériaux fonctionnels via la Résonance Magnétique Nucléaire (RMN) en phase solide couplée avec la Polarisation Dynamique Nucléaire (DNP). Cette thèse de doctorat sera réalisée dans un environnement international et bénéficiera d'un accès privilégié à des équipements de pointe pour la résonance magnétique nucléaire hyperpolarisée.

Contexte : Afin d'obtenir de nouveaux matériaux fonctionnels pour des applications ciblées, le véritable défi consiste à établir une relation claire entre la structure et les propriétés du matériau. Bien que cristallins, beaucoup de matériaux moléculaires existent sous forme de poudre dans leur état d'application finale, ce qui limite fortement leur analyse structurale. De plus, ces matériaux sont souvent polymorphes, i.e. ils peuvent former des structures cristallines distinctes. Puisque les différents polymorphes d'un composé sont chimiquement identiques mais ont des propriétés macroscopiques différentes, le polymorphisme pourrait constituer une opportunité pour calibrer les propriétés de ces matériaux et concevoir ainsi de nouveaux matériaux. Cependant, le mécanismes réglant la formation d'un cristal, qui influencent le polymorphisme, ne sont toujours pas compris par manque de méthodes d'analyse adéquates.

Description : Les travaux de recherche réalisés dans le cadre de ce contrat de thèse portent sur la conception de nouvelles approches analytiques basées sur la résonance magnétique nucléaire (RMN) couplée à la polarisation dynamique nucléaire (DNP) pour i) accéder à la structure atomique de matériaux moléculaires, et ii) étudier le processus de cristallisation de ces matériaux. Entre chimie et physique, le travail combinera la conception de nouvelles expériences de RMN avec l'utilisation de méthodes de calcul. Pour mener à bien ce projet ambitieux, le candidat bénéficiera d'un cadre scientifique stimulant, ainsi que de l'accès à un équipement MAS DNP de pointe, récemment installé dans notre laboratoire. Plus précisément, le candidat devra:

• développer de nouvelles approches pour l'étude de matériaux moléculaires par RMN hyperpolarisée (RMN DNP)
• utiliser des méthodes ab-initio pour calculer les propriétés de RMN (par exemple, CASTEP)
• effectuer des simulations analytiques (Mathematica, MatLab) ou numériques (SIMPSON) pour faciliter l'interprétation des données expérimentales
• concevoir des nouvelles voies expérimentales pour l'étude du processus de cristallisation

Contexte de travail

Le projet de thèse sera réalisé au sein de l'Institut de Chimie Radicale (ICR UMR7273), unité mixte de recherche entre l'Université d'Aix-Marseille et le CNRS. Situé dans le sud de la France à Marseille, l'ICR est reconnu internationalement comme leader dans le domaine de la Polarisation Dynamique Nucléaire (PDN)-RMN à la fois pour le développement de nouvelles méthodes analytiques pour la caractérisation des solides organiques via la PDN-RMN, et pour l'idéation des agents de polarisation pour PDN les plus performants existants aujourd'hui. Notre laboratoire a également accès à plusieurs centres de calcul ainsi qu'à nombreux instruments pour l'analyse de matériaux (diffraction des rayons X, spectrométrie de masse, IR, analyse élémentaire, etc) ainsi que plusieurs spectromètres RMN pour liquides avec des champs magnétiques compris entre 300 et 600 MHz. Le candidat aura accès à un nouveau spectromètre RMN DNP Bruker pour l'analyse de solides, récemment installé dans le laboratoire, ainsi qu'à un deuxième spectromètre à RMN à l'état solide équipé d'une console et plusieurs sondes pour une vitesse de rotation jusqu'à 60 kHz.

La thèse sera financée par le European Research Council (ERC) via le CNRS pour une période de 3 ans à partir du mois de Juillet 2020, et sera supervisée par le Dr G. Mollica. Dans le cadre de collaborations en cours, le candidat sera en contact avec des chercheurs d'autres groupes européens. Il / elle intègrera l'école doctorale en Sciences Chimiques ED 250 de l'Université Aix-Marseille. Salaire net : ~ 1700 € / mois. Le CNRS est labellisé HR Excellence for Research (HRS4R) et promeut la transparence du processus de recrutement et l'égalité des chances.

Profil du candidat : Le candidat doit avoir une formation en chimie ou en physique. Une expérience préalable en spectroscopie RMN et / ou méthodes de calcul est un avantage. La connaissance des procédures de cristallisation sera également un atout important. Les candidats devront faire preuve de motivation, d'imagination et d'indépendance, avec un intérêt pour la compréhension des aspects fondamentaux de la RMN et du polymorphisme. Il / elle aura d'excellentes compétences en communication en anglais pour diffuser les résultats de ses travaux dans des revues et conférences internationales.

On en parle sur Twitter !