By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD position at the chemistry/biochemistry interface: New selective inhibitors for deciphering lipid metabolism and virulence in M. tuberculosis

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7255-JEACAV-001
Workplace : MARSEILLE 09
Date of publication : Saturday, June 20, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : JF Cavalier
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Tuberculosis, which affects one third of the world's population and is still responsible for nearly 1.5 million deaths per year, remains a major public health problem. Therefore, it is important to study the physiology of Mycobacterium tuberculosis (M. tb), the agent responsible for this disease, in order to develop new and effective tools to combat its spreading.

During the infection, M. tb is able to induce the differentiation of certain macrophages into foamy macrophages (FM) which are cells loaded with Lipid Bodies (LB). M. tb is then able to use these host lipids for its own: renewal of the lipids of the envelope, formation of lipid reserves for its entry into dormancy and their consumption upon reactivation.

These different stages imply the existence of extra- and intracellular lipolytic enzymes, but above all this suggests that the use of these lipids is one of the characteristics of the life cycle of M. tb. It is indeed recognized that mycobacterial lipolytic enzymes are involved in the host-pathogen cross-talk and play a major role in the physiopathology of the disease during the active and persistent phases of infection, making these enzymes attractive therapeutic targets. Therefore, finding ways to block the action of these lipolytic enzymes would pave the way for the discovery of new treatments against tuberculosis.

We have recently synthesized series of Cyclipostins/Cyclophostins (CyC) analogues [1-4] and Oxadiazolone (OX) [5-7] derivatives that are non-toxic to host cells, and which target various mycobacterial enzymes involved in lipid metabolism with very promising antituberculosis activities.

This thesis project is part of the ANR LipInTB project (2019-2023), involving 5 partners, which aims to use these two families of inhibitors as probes to decipher the lipid metabolism of M. tb during its growth and virulence.

The main objectives of this ambitious project at the interface between chemistry, biochemistry, biology and antibiotic therapy are: 1) to study the penetration and distribution of our inhibitors in the bacterium as well as in host cells; 2) to use our inhibitors as probes to study the lipid metabolism in M. tb by identifying the enzymes impacted by our compounds during the active replication, latency and reactivation phases in infected macrophages; 3) to biochemically and structurally characterize the identified target enzymes, and 4) to validate them in vitro and ex vivo by building deletion/complementation/overexpression mutant strains and studying their susceptibility and viability in infected macrophages.

References: [1] Nguyen, P.C., et al., Scientific Reports 2017, 7, 11751. [2] Nguyen, P.C., et al., Int J Antimicrob Agents 2018, 51, 651-654. [3] Point, V., et al., J Med Chem. 2012, 55, 10204-10219. [4] Spilling, C.D., et al., "Fluorescent Labeled Inhibitors", US10047112B2. [5] Delorme, V., et al., PLoS ONE 2012, 7, e46493. [6] Nguyen, P.C., et al., Bioorg Chem. 2018, 81, 414-424. [7] Point, V., et al., Eur J Med Chem. 2016, 123, 834-848.

Work Context

The PhD research work will be carried out at the Laboratoire d'Ingénierie des Systèmes Macromoléculaires (LISM UMR7255) in the "Lipolysis and Bacterial Pathogenicity" (LBP) team (https://tuberculosis-lbp.wixsite.com/tuberculosis-lbpteam).

Our team specializes in the study of lipolytic enzymes in mycobacteria, is expert in medicinal chemistry in the design and biochemical study of inhibitors; in the production, purification and characterization of recombinant proteins; in lipid analysis (quantitative TLC) and electron and confocal microscopy (for the visualization of bacteria).

The student will have access to numerous techniques and will be able to interact with the 4 other partners of this multidisciplinary project, which will allow him/her to improve his/her knowledge to different fields, such as chemistry/biochemistry (in particular with the optimization of the click chemistry reaction), fluorescence imaging, microbiology, biomolecular biology, proteomics and crystallography.

Keywords: drug susceptibility; intracellular activity; activity based-protein profiling; mycobacteria; Tuberculosis, lipolytic enzyme, biochemistry

Constraints and risks

Nothing to declare

Additional Information

We are seeking highly motivated candidates (master or equivalent with honors) and with a solid background in therapeutic chemistry, biochemistry, microbiology and/or biological chemistry (chemistry-biology interface).

Experiences in biochemistry and/or molecular biology would be an asset.
Regarding this multidisciplinary project, knowledge or affinity for these different fields of expertise will be a plus.

The candidate must also be motivated to train in various area complementary to his or her initial training, be organized, dynamic and communicative, and open-minded.

This thesis financed by the ANR on the LipInTB project will start in October 2020.

Depending on the profile of the selected candidate, he/she will be recruited either at the Doctoral School of Chemical Sciences (ED250) or at the Doctoral School of Life and Health Sciences (ED62) from Aix-Marseille University.

Please note that no application by email will be considered.
All applications must be submitted exclusively via the CNRS job portal and must include a detailed CV with the contact details of at least two referees (teachers or internship supervisors), a motivation letter, and transcripts of Master 1 and 2 as well as corresponding rankings.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Thèse à l'interface chimie-biologie (H/F) : Nouveaux inhibiteurs sélectifs pour décrypter le métabolisme des lipides chez M. tuberculosis - M/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7255-JEACAV-001
Lieu de travail : MARSEILLE 09
Date de publication : samedi 20 juin 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : JF Cavalier
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

La tuberculose qui touche un tiers de la population mondiale et qui est toujours responsable de près de 1,5 millions de mort par an, reste un problème de santé publique majeur. Par conséquent, il est important de continuer à étudier la physiologie de Mycobacterium tuberculosis (M. tb) l'agent responsable de cette maladie afin de développer de nouveaux outils suffisamment performant capable de lutter contre sa propagation.

Au cours de l'infection, M. tb est capable d'induire la différentiation de certains macrophages en macrophages « foamy » (FM) qui sont des cellules chargées en granules lipidiques ou « Lipid Bodies » (LB). M. tb est alors capable d'utiliser les lipides de l'hôte pour son propre compte : renouvellement des lipides de l'enveloppe, formation de réserves lipidiques pour son entrée en dormance puis leur consommation lors de la réactivation.

Ces différentes étapes, impliquent l'existence d'enzymes lipolytiques extra- et intracellulaires, mais surtout cela suggère que l'utilisation de ces lipides est l'une des caractéristiques du cycle de vie de M. tb. Il est effectivement reconnu que les enzymes lipolytiques mycobactériennes sont impliquées dans la relation hôte-pathogène et jouent un rôle majeur dans la physiopathologie de la maladie lors des phases active et persistante de l'infection, faisant de ces enzymes de véritables cibles thérapeutiques. Par conséquent, trouver des moyens pour bloquer l'action de ces enzymes ouvrirait la voie vers la découverte de nouveaux traitements contre la tuberculose.

C'est ce que nous avons démontré récemment en synthétisant des analogues de Cyclipostins/Cyclophostines (CyC) [1-4] et des dérivés d'Oxadiazolones (OX) [5-7] non toxiques pour les cellules hôtes, et qui ciblent diverses enzymes mycobactériennes impliquées dans le métabolisme des lipides avec des activités antituberculeuses très prometteuses.

Ce financement de thèse s'inscrit dans le cadre d'un projet ANR LipInTB (2019-2023), impliquant 5 partenaires, et vise à utiliser ces deux familles d'inhibiteurs comme sondes pour décrypter le métabolisme lipidique de M. tb au cours de sa croissance et de sa virulence.

Les principaux objectifs de ce projet ambitieux situé à l'interface entre la chimie, la biochimie, la biologie et l'antibiothérapie sont : 1) d'étudier la pénétration et la répartition de nos inhibiteurs dans la bactérie ainsi que dans les cellules hôtes ; 2) d'utiliser nos inhibiteurs comme sondes pour étudier le métabolisme des lipides chez M. tb en identifiant les enzymes impactées par nos composés lors des phases de réplication active, de latence et de réactivation dans les macrophages infectés ; 3) de caractériser biochimiquement et structuralement les enzymes cibles identifiées, et 4) de les valider in vitro et ex vivo par la construction de souches mutantes de délétion/complémentation/surexpression et l'étude de leur susceptibilité et leur viabilité dans les macrophages infectés.

Références: [1] Nguyen, P.C., et al., Scientific Reports 2017, 7, 11751. [2] Nguyen, P.C., et al., Int J Antimicrob Agents 2018, 51, 651-654. [3] Point, V., et al., J Med Chem. 2012, 55, 10204-10219. [4] Spilling, C.D., et al., "Fluorescent Labeled Inhibitors", US10047112B2. [5] Delorme, V., et al., PLoS ONE 2012, 7, e46493. [6] Nguyen, P.C., et al., Bioorg Chem. 2018, 81, 414-424. [7] Point, V., et al., Eur J Med Chem. 2016, 123, 834-848.

Contexte de travail

Les travaux de recherche seront effectués au Laboratoire d'Ingénierie des Systèmes Macromoléculaires (LISM UMR7255) au sein de l'équipe « Lipolyse et Pathogénie bactérienne » (LBP - https://tuberculosis-lbp.wixsite.com/tuberculosis-lbpteam).

Notre équipe spécialisée dans l'étude des enzymes lipolytiques chez les mycobactéries possède une expertise en chimie médicinale dans le design et l'étude biochimique d'inhibiteurs ; dans la production, purification et caractérisation de protéines recombinantes ; dans l'analyse des lipides (CCM quantitative) et la microscopie électronique et confocale (pour la visualisation des bactéries).

L'étudiant(e) aura accès à de nombreuses techniques et pourra interagir avec les 4 autres partenaires de ce projet pluridisciplinaire ce qui lui permettra d'élargir son champ de connaissance à différentes disciplines, comme de la chimie/biochimie (avec notamment toute la mise au point de la chimie-click), l'imagerie de fluorescence, la microbiologie, la biologie moléculaire, la protéomique et la cristallographie.

Mots clés : tests de susceptibilité, mycobactéries, tuberculose, activité intracellulaire, enzymes lipolytiques, biochimie

Contraintes et risques

Néant

Informations complémentaires

L'étudiant(e) devra avoir une formation universitaire niveau M2 ou école d'ingénieur avec une formation solide en chimie thérapeutique, biochimie, microbiologie et/ou chimie du vivant (interface chimie-biologie).
Une mention bien au minimum est également requise lors de l'obtention du Master 2.

Une expérience en biochimie et/ou en biologie moléculaire seraient un atout. Le sujet proposé étant pluridisciplinaire, des connaissances ou une affinité pour ces différents champs de compétences sera un plus.

Le (la) candidat(e) devra aussi être motivé(e) pour se former dans les domaines de compétences complémentaires à sa formation initiale, faire preuve d'organisation, de dynamisme et de communication, et être doté(e) d'une grande ouverture d'esprit.

Cette thèse financée par L'ANR sur le projet LipInTB débutera en Octobre 2020.

Suivant le profil de l'étudiant(e) recruté(e), il (elle) dépendra soit de l'école doctorale des sciences chimiques (ED250), soit de l'école doctorale sciences de la vie et de la santé (ED62) d'Aix-Marseille.

Attention, aucune candidature par email ne sera considérée.
Toute candidature doit être déposée uniquement via le portail emploi CNRS et devra inclure un CV détaillé avec les coordonnées d'au moins deux référents (enseignants ou encadrants de stage), une lettre de motivation, et les relevés de notes de Master 1 et 2 ainsi que les classements correspondants.

On en parle sur Twitter !