By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

M/F - Interdisciplinary PhD - Biology/social sciences thesis on memory

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7220-ALEMIK0-003
Workplace : NANTERRE
Date of publication : Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Guillaume ISABEL et Sarah GENSBURGER
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Memory is a complex entity that is of interest for a wide range of disciplines. So far, this complexity has been examined from different disciplinary angles, which has sometimes led to conflicting conclusions about the nature of the memory and its functioning. While the social sciences emphasize the relational and "interactional" dimension of memory, biology and neuroscience focus on its neural and molecular bases and how it is stored and retrieved.Recently, social scientists, psychologists and neuroscientists have come together to bridge these different approaches. The interdisciplinary team responsable for this project are interested in the social influences of memory. The originality of this project is the co-construction of research experiences by researchers in the social sciences, psychology and neuroscience as a means of introducing a social dimension in the understanding of biology but also, in return, to open up new avenues for understanding the social dynamics of human memory. To do this, scientists in the humanities and neuroscientists will establish an experimental project in Drosophila - a famous insect model used in biology, to better understand the genetics and neuroscience pf the social aspects of memory.

Work Context

This thesis is part of an interdisciplinary collaboration between the Research Center on Animal Cognition of Toulouse (CRCA UMR 5169 CNRS, http://crca.cbi-toulouse.fr), the Institute of Social Sciences of Policy Nanterre (ISP, UMR 7220 CNRS, http://isp.cnrs.fr/), the Laboratory of Neuropsychology and Neurocognition (LPNC, UMR 5105 CNRS, https://lpnc.univ-grenoble-alpes.fr/Presentation General, 258). This post will focus on how social behavior can be involved in the storage and transmission of memory from different perspectives of analysis, both human and neurobiological. The doctoral scholarship is funded by the CNRS as part of its mission of transversal and interdisciplinary initiatives (MITI) "Prime | 80" project, which encourages and supports interdisciplinary projects between CNRS institutions.

This project offers a multidisciplinary academic background in neuroscience and sociology, with some elements of neurobiology as well as exposure to the social sciences. Collaboration with designated project partners is subject to contract.

Additional Information
The main researchers of the project are Sarah Gensburger - ISP, Guillaume Isabel - CRCA,Audrey Dussutour- CRCA , Céline Souchay-LPNC et Christopher Moulin, LPNC

Additional Information

Applicants must submit their CV, a copy of their graduation and master's degree (including final grades) and two letters of recommendation.
Training and skills needed:

- Master 2 in neurobiology or behavioral biology or a related field.
- Great interest in the humanities and social sciences.
- Willingness to work in an interdisciplinary environment and to interact regularly with sociologists, neurobiologists and neuropsychologists. This is a central requirement of this project.
- Good problem-solving skills, ability to work independently, team spirit,
- Experience in planning and conducting behavioral experiments.
- Willingness to participate in the daily maintenance of fly stocks.
- Be creative, well organized, patient, motivated, open-minded.


Beneficial but not essential skills:

- A training in human and social sciences
- Good knowledge of statistics.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

H/F - Contrat doctoral interdisciplinaire Mémoire biologie/sciences sociales

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7220-ALEMIK0-003
Lieu de travail : NANTERRE
Date de publication : mardi 16 juillet 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Guillaume ISABEL et Sarah GENSBURGER
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

La mémoire est une entité complexe qui intéresse un large éventail de disciplines. Jusqu'à présent, cette complexité a été examinée sous différents angles disciplinaires, ce qui a parfois conduit à des conclusions contradictoires quant à l'emplacement de la mémoire et à son mode de fonctionnement. Alors que les sciences sociales insistent sur la dimension relationnelle et « interactionniste » de la mémoire, la biologie et les neurosciences se focalisent sur ses bases neurales et moléculaires et sur la manière dont elle est stockée et gravée. Basé sur ce constat, des chercheurs en sciences sociales, en psychologie et en neurosciences se réunissent pour établir un pont entre ces différentes approches. Ainsi cette équipe interdisciplinaire étudiera les influences sociales de la mémoire. L'originalité de ce projet est la co-construction d'expériences de recherche par des chercheurs en sciences sociales, en psychologie et en neurosciences comme moyen d'introduire une dimension sociale dans la compréhension de la biologie mais aussi, en retour, d'ouvrir de nouvelles perspectives pour la compréhension des dynamiques sociales de la mémoire humaine. Pour ce faire, nous établirons un projet expérimental sur l'insecte drosophile - un modèle fameux utilisé en biologie, y compris en génétique et en neurosciences - construit conjointement par des scientifiques en sciences humaines et des neuroscientifiques.

Contexte de travail

Cette thèse s'inscrit dans le cadre d'une collaboration interdisciplinaire entre le Centre de Recherches sur la Cognition Animale de Toulouse (CRCA UMR 5169 CNRS, http://crca.cbi-toulouse.fr), l'Institut des Sciences Sociales du Politique de Nanterre (ISP, UMR 7220 CNRS, http://isp.cnrs.fr/), le Laboratoire de Neuropsychologie et Neurocognition (LPNC, UMR 5105 CNRS, https://lpnc.univ-grenoble-alpes.fr/Presentation-generale,258 ) . Ce poste portera sur la façon dont le comportement social peut être impliqué dans le stockage et la transmission de la mémoire sous différentes perspectives d'analyse, tant sur le plan humain que neurobiologique. La bourse de doctorat est financée par le CNRS dans le cadre de sa mission d'initiatives transversales et interdisciplinaires (MITI) « projet Prime|80 », qui encourage et soutient des projets interdisciplinaires entre établissements du CNRS.

Ce projet offre une formation universitaire multidisciplinaire en neurosciences et en sociologie, avec quelques éléments de neurobiologie ainsi qu'une exposition aux sciences sociales. La collaboration avec les partenaires du projet désignés est soumise à contrat. Le poste est basé à Nanterre et un terrain prolongé sera réalisé à Toulouse.
Renseignements supplémentaires
Les chercheurs principaux du projet sont Sarah Gensburger - ISP, Guillaume Isabel - CRCA,Audrey Dussutour- CRCA , Céline Souchay-LPNC et Christopher Moulin, LPNC

Informations complémentaires

Les candidat.e.s doivent déposer leur CV, une copie de leur diplôme de fin d'études et de master (y compris les notes finales) et deux lettres de recommandation.


Formation et compétences nécessaires :

- Master 2 en neurobiologie ou en biologie comportementale ou dans un domaine connexe.
- Grand intérêt pour les sciences humaines et sociales.
- Volonté de travailler dans un environnement interdisciplinaire et d'interagir régulièrement avec des sociologues, des neurobiologistes et des neuropsychologues. Il s'agit là d'une exigence centrale de ce projet.
- Bonne aptitude à la résolution de problèmes, capacité à travailler de façon autonome, esprit d'équipe,
- Expérience dans la planification et la réalisation d'expériences comportementales.
- Volonté de participer à l'entretien quotidien des stocks de mouches.
- Être créatif, bien organisé, patient, motivé, ouvert d'esprit.


Compétences bénéfiques mais non essentielles :

- Une formation en sciences humaines et sociales
- Bonne connaissance des statistiques.

On en parle sur Twitter !