By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

thesis proposal on the development and characterization of nanostructured electrode materials for urea electrolysis at ICMPE (Thiais, 94) (M/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7182-CHRCAC-001
Workplace : THIAIS
Date of publication : Monday, May 11, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Christine Cachet-Vivier / Stéphane Bastide
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

1. Presentation of the subject
The operators of wastewater treatment plants are thinking about innovative treatment concepts that are less costly in terms of energy and allow the valorization of materials (Nitrogen, Phosphorus, etc.) [1]. As far as nitrogen is concerned, it mainly comes from the urea present in large quantities in urine. Its treatment is not totally effective which leads to discharges into rivers and the atmosphere (nitrate, ammonia, nitrogen oxides). One solution would be to collect the urine separately and treat it at source. Among the methods proposed for urea recovery, previous works have shown that it is possible to use an electrochemical treatment based on the oxidation of urea at the anode and the reduction of water at the cathode [2], the overall process being:
CO(NH2)2 + H2O  CO2 + N2 + 3 H2
This reaction has several advantages: (i) the removal of urea is coupled with the production of dihydrogen (energy recovery), (ii) the dihydrogen is safely storable and transportable and can be used in fuel cells, (iii) urea is available in large quantities in wastewater, (iv) the oxidation products are non-toxic (nitrogen and carbonates) [2].
Within this framework, the first part of the thesis will be to develop new electrode materials (anode/cathode) for urea conversion that are highly efficient, selective and stable. A second part will be dedicated to the implementation of urea solution electrolysis and then synthetic or real urine electrolysis. The aim will be to identify the reaction products by different analytical means, to establish material and faradaic balances for different configurations and material compositions.

2. Thesis program
The first part of the thesis will consist in developing new anode materials based on MxNi1-x (M being a noble metal) for urea oxidation and cathode materials based on MoxNi1-x for water reduction. These materials, of different compositions, will be prepared in order to obtain alloys or bi-metallics [3]. The parameters to be controlled are crystallinity and nanostructuration, which will be determined by X ray diffraction and Scanning Electron Microscopy, respectively. The electrochemical properties with respect to urea oxidation will be evaluated by voltammetry and chronoamperometry in order to select the best performing materials in terms of efficiency and stability.
The second part of the thesis will be devoted to the implementation of preparatory electrolysis of alkaline solutions of urea in test cells at laboratory level, working under controlled potential or intensity. The reaction products will be identified by different analytical means (gas chromatography, UV-visible spectrometry, HPLC), in order to determine the material and faradaic efficiencies. The results will be related to the different configurations and compositions of the materials. After use, the electrode materials will be characterized by SEM, XPS and Complex Impedance Spectroscopy to study the evolution of their properties and to consider reactivation procedures, if necessary. Electrolysis will then be carried out on synthetic and real urine solutions to highlight the role of ions or molecules present in urine (chlorides, creatine, etc.), both on the products formed and the activity of the electrodes.

3. Références
[1] http://www.mocopee.com/
[2] Investigation of multi-metal catalysts for stable hydrogen production via urea electrolysis, R.L. King, G.G. Botte, J. Power Sources 196 (2011) 2773.
[3] Electrochemical oxidation of urea on nickel-rhodium nanoparticles/carbon composites, P. Mirzaei, S. Bastide, A. Dassy, R. Bensimon, J. Bourgon, A. Aghajani, C. Zlotea, D. Muller-Bouvet, C. Cachet-Vivier, Electrochimica Acta 297 (2019) 715.

Work Context

The thesis will take place at the Institut de Chimie et des Matériaux Paris-Est (ICMPE), located in Thiais (94). ICMPE (UMR 7182) is under the supervision of the CNRS and the University Paris Est Créteil. It hosts about 100 permanent staff members. The research areas cover three major cross-cutting themes: (i) materials for structures and energy, (ii) molecules, materials and processes for the environment and sustainable development, (iii) chemistry for health at the interface with life.
The PhD thesis will be developed more particularly in the group of Photo/Electrocatalysis for Energy and the Environment and will benefit from the technical support of two ICMPE technological platforms (Elaboration and Characterization of materials). It is part of the ANR HYUREA project (N° 19-CE04-0009-01) and will also be carried out in collaboration with LISE (Laboratoire Interfaces et Systèmes Électrochimiques, CNRS - Sorbonne University) for the characterization by Complex Impedance Spectroscopy.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Proposition de thèse sur l'élaboration et la caractérisation de matériaux d'électrodes nanostructurés pour l'électrolyse de l'urée à l'ICMPE (Thiais, 94) (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7182-CHRCAC-001
Lieu de travail : THIAIS
Date de publication : lundi 11 mai 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Christine Cachet-Vivier / Stéphane Bastide
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Sujet: Élaboration et caractérisation de matériaux d'électrode nanostructurés pour l'électrolyse de l'urée

1. Présentation du sujet
Les exploitants de stations d'épuration réfléchissent à des concepts innovants d'assainissement moins coûteux en énergie et permettant de valoriser de la matière (Azote, Phosphore…) [1]. Concernant l'azote, celui-ci provient essentiellement de l'urée présente en grande quantité dans les urines et son traitement n'est pas totalement efficace, ce qui conduit à des rejets dans les rivières et l'atmosphère (nitrate, ammoniac, oxydes d'azote). Une solution serait de collecter séparément les urines et de traiter ainsi l'urée à la source. Parmi les solutions permettant de valoriser l'urée, des travaux ont montré qu'il est possible d'utiliser un traitement électrochimique selon un principe consistant à oxyder l'urée à l'anode et à réduire l'eau en dihydrogène à la cathode [2], selon le processus global :
CO(NH2)2 + H2O --> CO2 + N2 + 3 H2
Cette réaction présente plusieurs avantages : (i) l'élimination de l'urée est couplée à la production de dihydrogène (valorisation énergétique), (ii) le dihydrogène est stockable et transportable en toute sécurité et utilisable dans les piles à combustibles, (iii) l'urée est disponible en grandes quantités dans les eaux usées, (iv) les produits d'oxydation sont non toxiques (azote et carbonates) [2].
Dans ce cadre, la première partie de la thèse sera de développer de nouveaux matériaux d'électrode (anode/cathode) pour la conversion de l'urée qui soient très efficaces, sélectifs et stables. Une seconde partie sera dédiée à la mise en œuvre d'électrolyses de solution d'urée puis d'urines synthétiques ou réelles. Il s'agira d'identifier les produits de réaction par différents moyens analytiques, d'établir des bilans matière et faradique pour différentes configurations et composition de matériaux.

2. Programme de la thèse
La première partie de la thèse consistera à développer de nouveaux matériaux d'anode MxNi1-x (M étant un métal noble) pour la conversion de l'urée et de cathode MoxNi1-x pour la réduction de l'eau. Des matériaux avec différentes compositions seront préparés de manière à obtenir des alliages ou des bi-métalliques [3]. Les paramètres à contrôler sont la cristallinité et la nanostructuration, qui seront déterminées par diffraction des Rayons X et Microscopie Électronique à Balayage, respectivement. Les propriétés électrochimiques vis-à-vis de l'oxydation de l'urée seront évaluées par voltampérométrie et chronoampérométrie afin de sélectionner les matériaux les plus performants en termes d'efficacité et de stabilité.
La deuxième partie de la thèse sera consacrée à la mise en œuvre d'électrolyses préparatives de solutions alcalines d'urée en cellule tests au niveau du laboratoire, en travaillant à potentiel ou intensité contrôlée. Les produits de réaction seront identifiés par différents moyens analytiques (Chromatographie gaz, spectrométrie UV-visible, HPLC), afin de déterminer les bilans matière et faradique. Les résultats seront reliés aux différentes configurations et compositions des matériaux. Après utilisation, les matériaux seront caractérisés par MEB, XPS et Spectroscopie d'Impédance Complexe pour connaître l'évolution de leurs propriétés et envisager des procédures de réactivation, si nécessaire. Les électrolyses seront ensuite réalisées sur des solutions d'urines synthétiques et réelles pour mettre en évidence le rôle d'ions ou molécules présents dans les urines (chlorures, créatine, etc.), à la fois sur les produits formés et l'activité des électrodes.

3. Références
[1] http://www.mocopee.com/
[2] Investigation of multi-metal catalysts for stable hydrogen production via urea electrolysis, R.L. King, G.G. Botte, J. Power Sources 196 (2011) 2773.
[3] Electrochemical oxidation of urea on nickel-rhodium nanoparticles/carbon composites, P. Mirzaei, S. Bastide, A. Dassy, R. Bensimon, J. Bourgon, A. Aghajani, C. Zlotea, D. Muller-Bouvet, C. Cachet-Vivier, Electrochimica Acta 297 (2019) 715.

Contexte de travail

La thèse se déroulera à l'Institut de Chimie et des Matériaux Paris-Est (ICMPE), localisé à Thiais (94). L'ICMPE (UMR 7182), dont les tutelles sont le CNRS et l'Université Paris-Est Créteil, accueille environ 100 permanents. Les domaines de recherche couvrent trois axes thématiques transversaux majeurs: (i) les matériaux pour les structures et l'énergie, (ii) les molécules, matériaux et procédés pour l'environnement et le développement durable, (iii) la chimie pour la santé à l'interface avec le Vivant.
L'étude sera développée plus particulièrement dans le groupe Photo/Electrocatalyse pour l'Energie et l'Environnement et bénéficiera du support technique de deux plateformes technologiques de l'ICMPE (Elaboration / caractérisation de matériaux). Elle s'inscrit dans le cadre du projet ANR HYUREA (N° 19-CE04-0009-01) et se fera également en collaboration avec le LISE (Laboratoire Interfaces et Systèmes Electrochimiques, CNRS – Sorbonne Université) pour la caractérisation par Spectroscopie d'Impédance Complexe.

On en parle sur Twitter !