By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD student (M/W). Doctoral contract in Medical Humanities (French literature)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7172-ALASCH0-001
Workplace : PARIS 05
Date of publication : Monday, August 05, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Alain Schaffner, Professeur à la Sorbonne Nouvelle, with the help of Catriona Seth, Professeur à l'Université d'Oxford
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

While the field of medical humanities (ethics, history of science, sociology, psychology, linguistics, literary and artistic criticism, etc.) is now well established in Anglo-Saxon universities, it is still at the dawn of its development in France. The THALIM unit wishes to host a doctoral student in medical humanities working in an interdisciplinary manner on the following theme: the literary and possibly cinematographic representation of care and illness. The corpus of work will be composed of stories of patients and medical fiction (books, films, series) taken in the French domain, with dives in the Anglo-Saxon world for comparison. From the famous "Mars" by Fritz Zorn (1976) and the heartbreaking testimonies of Hervé Guibert, writer and photographer sick of AIDS in the 1990s, to which today echo the great book of Philippe Artières and Janine Pierret on the Memoirs of AIDS (1981-2012), the stories of patients in French have multiplied - testimonies or fictions - and have evolved both the image of the disease (whether acute or chronic) and the practices of care . Beyond the therapeutic dimension of contemporary literature evoked by Alexander Gefen in his recent book "Repairing the world" (Corti, 2018), it would be a question of looking at the way in which the point of view of patients or their relatives invests literature - and possibly cinema - as an echo of that of medical writers or caregivers - and often paints a portrait of the medical world. The series can also be called, especially those such as "The Knick" by Steven Soderbergh or "Hippocrates", a series from the film of the same title Thomas Litli, himself a general practitioner, focus on the relationship between caregivers and cared for. The contemporary period (XXIst century) offers a major interest from this point of view, in the light of the clashes or complementarities which are outlined between "evidence based medicine", "personalized medicine" and "narrative medicine" (Rita Charon, "Honoring the stories of illness "), but a more diachronic approach to phenomena since the 1970s or 1990s is not excluded when it comes to studying the evolution of a particular pathology.

Work Context

This doctoral contract falls under the INSHS (National Institute of Humanities and Social Sciences) CNRS (National Center for Scientific Research)
The doctorate will be enrolled in French literature in the ED 120 of the Sorbonne Nouvelle (French and Comparative Literature).
UMR THALIM (Theory and History of Arts and Literatures of Modernity - 19th-21st centuries) is a mixed research unit under the triple supervision of the CNRS, the Sorbonne Nouvelle and the ENS. It seeks to develop from the arts and literatures, a plural and transnational history of modernity.
The UMR currently runs an IRN (International Research Network) for the INSHS entitled "Humanités médicales / Medical Humanities" which brings together a dozen international partners, including two British partners (King's College and Durham University).
The link with La Maison Française d'Oxford, whose several lines of research are concerned by this doctoral contract project as well as with the University of Oxford (TORCH Medical Humanities) is of obvious interest on such a subject. The recruited doctoral student will be able to benefit from the expertise of Ms. Catriona Seth, Medical Humanities Specialist (All Souls College, Oxford University), involved in the programs of the MFO.
Sites of the UMR THALIM: Room 430, 13 rue de Santeuil 75005 Paris (metro Censier-Daubenton); INHA, 2 rue Vivienne, 75002 Paris.
MFO website: 2-10 Norham Road, Oxford Ox26SE, United Kingdom

Constraints and risks

The doctoral student will enroll in the Doctoral School 120 (ED 120) in autumn 2019 and will respect the obligations related to a doctorate of French literature at the Sorbonne Nouvelle.
A one-year stay in Oxford (maximum 10 months at La Maison Française) is to be expected during the three years of the thesis for the purpose of documentation and coordination with our interlocutors of the Maison Française.

Additional Information

Provide a motivation letter and attach to the CV (in the same file) a five-pages thesis project with a bibliography.
The original training expected for this doctorate is rather a master of French or comparative literature, but an opening to other disciplines (history, philosophy, film studies) would be very appreciated. A good command of English, written and oral, is important for this doctorate in connection with La Maison Française d'Oxford.
Thanks for not sending you candidatures directly by mail, use the website Portail Emploi CNRS.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

CDD Doctorant (H/F). Contrat doctoral en Humanités médicales (littérature française)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7172-ALASCH0-001
Lieu de travail : PARIS 05
Date de publication : lundi 5 août 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Alain Schaffner, Professeur à la Sorbonne Nouvelle, avec le concours de Catriona Seth, Professeur à l'Université d'Oxford
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Alors que le champ des humanités médicales (éthique, histoire des sciences, sociologie, psychologie, linguistique, critique littéraire et artistique, etc.) est aujourd'hui bien établi dans les universités anglo-saxonnes, il est encore à l'aube de son développement en France. L'unité THALIM souhaite accueillir un.e doctorant.e en humanités médicales travaillant de manière interdisciplinaire sur la thématique suivante : la représentation littéraire et éventuellement cinématographique du soin et de la maladie. Le corpus de travail sera composé de récits de patients et de fictions médicales (livres, films, séries) pris dans le domaine français, avec des plongées dans le monde anglo-saxon à titre de comparaison. Depuis le célèbre "Mars" de Fritz Zorn (1976) et les témoignages bouleversants d'Hervé Guibert, écrivain et photographe malade du SIDA dans les années 1990, auxquels font écho aujourd'hui le grand livre de Philippe Artières et Janine Pierret sur les Mémoires du SIDA(1981-2012), les récits de patients en langue française se sont multipliés - témoignages ou fictions - et ont fait évoluer à la fois l'image de la maladie (qu'elle soit aiguë ou chronique) et les pratiques du soin. Par-delà la dimension thérapeutique de la littérature contemporaine évoquée par Alexandre Gefen dans son récent ouvrage "Réparer le monde" (Corti, 2018), il s'agirait de se pencher sur la manière dont le point de vue des patients ou de leurs proches investit la littérature - et éventuellement le cinéma - en écho à celui des écrivains-médecins ou des soignants - et fait un portrait souvent sans concessions de l'univers médical. Les séries pourront également être convoquées, en particulier celles qui comme "The Knick" de Steven Soderbergh ou "Hippocrate", série tirée du film du même titre de Thomas Litli, lui-même médecin généraliste, mettent l'accent sur la relation entre soignants et soignés. La période contemporaine (XXIe siècle) offre un intérêt majeur de ce point de vue, à la lumière des affrontements ou complémentarités qui s'esquissent entre "evidence based medicine", "personalized medicine" et "narrative medicine" (Rita Charon, "Honoring the stories of illness"), mais une approche plus diachronique des phénomènes depuis les années 1970 ou 1990 n'est pas exclue s'il s'agit d'étudier l'évolution d'une pathologie en particulier.

Contexte de travail

Ce contrat doctoral relève de l'INSHS (Institut National des Sciences Humaines et Sociales) du CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique)
Le doctorat sera inscrit en littérature française dans l'ED 120 de la Sorbonne Nouvelle (Littérature française et comparée).
L'UMR THALIM (Théorie et Histoire des Arts et Littératures de la Modernité- XIXe-XXIe siècles) est une unité mixte de recherche sous la triple tutelle du CNRS, de la Sorbonne Nouvelle et de l'ENS. Elle cherche à élaborer à partir des arts et des littératures, une histoire plurielle et transnationale de la modernité.
L'UMR porte actuellement pour l'INSHS un IRN (International Research Network) intitulé "Humanités médicales/Medical Humanities" qui associe une douzaine de partenaires internationaux, dont deux partenaires anglais (King's College et Durham University).
Le lien avec la Maison Française d'Oxford, dont plusieurs axes de recherche sont concernés par ce projet de contrat doctoral ainsi qu'avec l'université d'Oxford (TORCH Medical Humanities) présente un intérêt évident sur un tel sujet. Le ou la doctorant.e recruté.e pourra bénéficier pour son encadrement de l'expertise de Mme Catriona Seth, spécialiste des Humanités médicales (All Souls College, Université d'Oxford), impliquée dans les programmes de la MFO.
Sites de l'UMR THALIM : Salle 430, 13 rue de Santeuil 75005 Paris (métro Censier-Daubenton) ; INHA, 2 rue Vivienne, 75002 Paris.
Site de la MFO : 2-10 Norham Road, Oxford Ox26SE, Royaume-Uni

Contraintes et risques

Le doctorant s'inscrira à l'Ecole Doctorale 120 (ED120) à l'automne 2019 et respectera les obligations liées à un doctorat de littérature française à la Sorbonne Nouvelle.
Un séjour d'une année à Oxford ( 10 mois maximum à la Maison Française) est à prévoir pendant les trois années de la thèse à des fins de documentation et de coordination avec nos interlocuteurs de la MFO.

Informations complémentaires

Prévoir une lettre de motivation et joindre au CV (dans le même fichier) un projet de thèse de cinq pages avec bibliographie.
La formation d'origine attendue pour ce doctorat est plutôt un master de littérature française ou comparée, mais une ouverture à d'autres disciplines (histoire, philosophie, études cinématographiques) serait très appréciée. Une bonne maîtrise de l'anglais, écrit et oral, est importante pour ce doctorat en lien avec la Maison Française d'Oxford.
Merci de ne pas envoyer les candidatures directement par courriel, passer par le portail emploi CNRS.

On en parle sur Twitter !