By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD on di-Higgs search in ATLAS at LHC

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR6533-DJABOU-001
Workplace : AUBIERE
Date of publication : Saturday, March 14, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Djamel Boumediene
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

1. Scientific motivation

The Standard Model (SM), the theory that describes forces and matter, predicts the existence of the Higgs boson and six quarks, the heaviest being the Top quark. This particle plays a key role in the Standard Model. Its coupling with the Higgs boson is the most important. Its value has a significant impact on the functioning of the Higgs self coupling and on the stability of the Electroweak vacuum.
The discovery of the Higgs boson in 2012 opened the way to the study of its properties. The observation of its production and decay modes allows us to test the Higgs sector in the MS.
The observation of the associated production of a Top quark pair with a Higgs boson (ttH) was published in October 2018 by the ATLAS collaboration and in which our team played a significant role. This observation has been interpreted as an evidence for the Top Yukawa at the tree level. Today, we are moving towards another test in the Higgs sector: the test for the Higgs self-coupling. This coupling gives direct access to the Higgs potential itself and is considered a key measure of the HL-LHC (High Luminosity Large Hadron Collider) program.

2. Research project.

The thesis project focuses on the search for the production of Higgs boson pairs.
The first objective is to determine the experimental signatures that maximizes the sensitivity of the Higgs boson search. Data analysis will include optimization, background processes studies and statistical interpretation.

3. Bibliography.

- Searches for Higgs boson pair production in the hh → bbττ, γγWW ∗, γγbb, bbbb channels with the ATLAS detector (arXiv: 1509.04670)
- Why should we care about the top quark Yukawa coupling? Fedor Bezrukov, Mikhail Shaposhnikov J.Exp.Theor.Phys. 120 (2015) 3, 335-343; ZhETF 147 (2015) 3, 389 (arXiv: 1411.1923)

4. Qualification task.

During the first year, approximately 50% of the time will be spent on an activity related to the operation of the detector. This allows any new member of the ATLAS collaboration to be author. This qualification task is expected to be related to the High Granular Timing Detector (HGTD), a new ATLAS sub-detector for the HL-LHC phase.

Work Context

The Atlas@Clermont team is part of the Laboratoire de Physique de Clermont (LPC) which includes LHCb, ALICE, LSST and theoretical physics teams, as well as research teams in physics applied to health, environment and energy. The LPC is hosted by the University of Clermont Auvergne (UCA) and is part of the National Institute for Nuclear and Particle Physics (IN2P3), a division of the National Research Center (CNRS). About half of the 160 members of the LPC work in one of the technical departments (IT, mechanics, electronics and microelectronics) or in the administrative department.

The LPC is located in the suburbs of Clermont-Ferrand, a medium sized but dynamic city east of the Auvergne-Rhônes-Alpes region, 3:30 from CERN. The city is on the edge of the Auvergne Volcanoes Regional Park, recently registered on the UNESCO World Heritage List. Many cultural activities are offered and culminate each year in February with the International Short Film Festival (the largest festival in the world in this area). Clermont-Ferrand is also the heart of the Michelin company. The public transport network is efficient, the LPC in particular benefits from a tram stop in the immediate vicinity. The cost of living in Clermont-Ferrand is low compared to big cities like Lyon or Paris. Renting an apartment between 20 and 30 m2 in the city center near the tram costs around 400 euros per month.

The Atlas@Clermont team receives significant financial support each year from the CNRS / IN2P3, mainly covering travel costs (at CERN, workshops and conferences) and local IT costs. It offers the team a pleasant working environment (desktops and laptops), including a dedicated local batch cluster with 200 TB of disk storage.

The team is a founding member of the ATLAS collaboration and has always made a significant contribution to the hadronic calorimeter with scintillating tiles (TileCal), as well as to physics analyses, in particular in relation with the top quark (first thesis on this subject defended in 2002 ). The Atlas@Clermont team is also active in the upgrade phase 2 of the HL-LHC. It was involved for many years on TileCal and since 2018 on HGTD (High Granularity Timing Detector). For several years, the team has specialised in the search for a new physics with final state containing one or more top quarks (ttbar resonances, tbbar resonances) and in particular initiated in ATLAS in 2011 the search for events containing four quarks tops. Since 2013, the team has also contributed significantly to the search for the associated production of a Higgs boson with a pair of top quarks (ttH), finally observed in 2018.

It is not mandatory to speak French and free French lessons will be proposed. Good knowledge of English is required

Constraints and risks

Short stays at CERN and possibly abroad are expected.

Additional Information

Candidates must have:
- obtained a master's degree in particle physics before July 2019;
- a first research experience in particle physics of at least three months;
- a good knowledge of C ++ and if possible of the ROOT analysis software;
- a good level of spoken and written English;
- shown the ability to work in a team.

Applications must be submitted on this website (see "Apply" button at the top) with a curriculum vitae (2 pages maximum) and a cover letter.

In addition, two letters of recommendation must be sent directly to AtlasClermont.job@cern.ch

The offer will be closed as soon as an application has been accepted.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorat sur le di-Higgs dans ATLAS au LHC (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR6533-DJABOU-001
Lieu de travail : AUBIERE
Date de publication : samedi 14 mars 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Djamel Boumediene
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Description :

1. Motivation scientifique

Le Modèle Standard (MS), la théorie qui décrit les forces et la matière, prédit l'existence du boson de Higgs et de six quarks, le plus lourd étant le quark Top. Cette particule joue un rôle clé dans le Modèle Standard. Son couplage avec le boson de Higgs est le plus important. Sa valeur a un impact significatif sur le fonctionnement de l'auto-couplage de Higgs et sur la stabilité du vide Electro-Faible.
La découverte du boson de Higgs en 2012 a ouvert la voie à l'étude de ses propriétés. L'observation de ses modes de production et de désintégration nous permet de tester le secteur Higgs dans le MS.
L'observation de la production associée d'une paire de Top quarks avec un boson de Higgs (ttH) a été publiée en octobre 2018 par la collaboration ATLAS et dans laquelle notre équipe a joué un rôle significatif. Cette observation a été interprétée comme une mise en évidence du couplage de Yukawa du Top au niveau de l'arbre. Aujourd'hui, nous nous orientons vers un autre test du secteur de Higgs : la mise en évidence de l'auto-couplage du boson de Higgs. Ce couplage donne un accès direct au potentiel de Higgs lui-même et est considéré comme une mesure clé du programme du HL-LHC (High Luminosity Large Hadron Collider).

2. Présentation détaillée du projet de recherche.

Le projet de thèse se concentre sur la recherche de production de paires de bosons de Higgs.
Le premier objectif est de déterminer les signatures expérimentales afin de maximiser la sensibilité de l'analyse à la production de paires de bosons de Higgs. L'analyse de données comprendra l'optimisation, l'étude des bruits de fond et l'interprétation statistique.

3. Bibliographie.

- Searches for Higgs boson pair production in the hh→bbττ, γγWW∗, γγbb, bbbb channels with the ATLAS detector (arXiv:1509.04670)
- Why should we care about the top quark Yukawa coupling? Fedor Bezrukov, Mikhail Shaposhnikov J.Exp.Theor.Phys. 120 (2015) 3, 335-343; ZhETF 147 (2015) 3, 389 (arXiv:1411.1923)

4. Tâche de qualification.

Au cours de la première année, environ 50% du temps sera consacré à une activité liée au fonctionnement du détecteur. Cela permet à tout nouveau membre de la collaboration ATLAS d'être auteur des futures publications. Cette activité pourra porter sur le High Granular Timing Detector (HGTD), un nouveau sous-détecteur destiné à équiper ATLAS pendant le HL-LHC.

Contexte de travail

L'équipe Atlas@Clermont fait partie du Laboratoire de Physique de Clermont (LPC) qui regroupe également les équipes LHCb, ALICE, LSST et de physique théorique, ainsi que les équipes de recherche en physique appliquée à la santé, l'environnement et l'énergie. Le LPC est hébergé par l'Université de Clermont Auvergne (UCA) et fait partie de l'Institut national de physique nucléaire et des particules (IN2P3), une division du Centre national de recherche (CNRS). Environ la moitié des 160 membres du LPC travaillent dans l'un des départements techniques (informatique, mécanique, électronique et microélectronique) ou dans le département administratif.

Le LPC est situé dans la banlieue de Clermont-Ferrand, ville moyenne mais dynamique à l'est de la région Auvergne-Rhônes-Alpes, à 3h30 du CERN. La ville est en bordure du Parc Régional des Volcans d'Auvergne, récemment inscrit sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO. De nombreuses activités culturelles sont proposées et culminent chaque année en février avec le Festival international du court métrage (le plus grand festival du monde dans ce domaine). Clermont-Ferrand est aussi le cœur de l'entreprise Michelin. Le réseau de transport public est performant, le LPC en particulier bénéficie d'un arrêt de tramway à proximité immédiate. Le coût de la vie à Clermont-Ferrand est faible par rapport aux grandes villes comme Lyon ou Paris. La location d'un appartement entre 20 et 30 m2 en centre ville à proximité du tramway coûte environ 400 euros par mois.

L'équipe Atlas@Clermont bénéficie chaque année d'un soutien financier important de la part du CNRS/IN2P3, couvrant principalement les frais de déplacement (au CERN, ateliers et conférences) et les frais informatiques locaux. Il offre à l'équipe un environnement de travail agréable (bureaux et ordinateurs portables), y compris un cluster de batch local dédié avec 200 To de stockage sur disque.

L'équipe est membre fondateur de la collaboration ATLAS et a toujours apporté une contribution significative au calorimètre hadronique à tuiles scintillantes (TileCal), ainsi qu'aux analyses physiques, notamment en rapport avec le quark top (première thèse sur ce sujet soutenue en 2002). L'équipe Atlas@Clermont est également active dans la mise à niveau de la phase 2 du HL-LHC, depuis de nombreuses années sur TileCal et depuis 2018 sur HGTD (High Granularity Timing Detector). Depuis plusieurs années, l'équipe s'est spécialisée dans la recherche d'une nouvelle physique avec état final contenant un ou plusieurs quarks tops (résonances ttbar, résonances tbbar) et a notamment initié dans ATLAS en 2011 la recherche des événements contenant quatre quarks tops. Depuis 2013, l'équipe a également contribué de manière significative à la recherche de la production associée d'un boson de Higgs et d'une paire de quarks tops (tth), finalement observée en 2018.

Il n'est pas obligatoire de parler français (il y a actuellement sept nationalités différentes dans l'équipe) et des cours de français gratuits seront disponibles. Une bonne connaissance de l'anglais est nécessaire.

Contraintes et risques

Il faut s'attendre à de courts séjours au CERN et éventuellement à l'étranger.

Informations complémentaires

Les candidats éligibles doivent avoir :
- obtenu un master en physique des particules avant juillet 2019;
- une première expérience de recherche en physique des particules d'au moins trois mois;
- une bonne connaissance du C++ et si possible du logiciel d'analyse ROOT;
- un bon niveau d'anglais parlé et écrit;
- la capacité à travailler en équipe.

Les candidatures doivent être soumises sur ce site web (voir bouton "Postuler" en haut) avec un curriculum vitae (2 pages maximum) et une lettre de motivation.

De plus, deux lettres de recommandation doivent être envoyées directement à AtlasClermont.job@cern.ch.

L'offre sera clôturée dès qu'une candidature aura été retenue.

On en parle sur Twitter !