By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD position in spectroscopy of luminescent hybrid materials (M/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR6252-JULCAR-001
Workplace : CAEN
Date of publication : Monday, April 27, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Julien Cardin
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The criticality of rare earth elements, which is due to a combination of vulnerabilities related to their quantity, environmental issues and their supply, is a major strategic issue due to their unique properties. Rare earths indeed have properties which leads to their use in various fields such as chemistry (cracking of petroleum, catalytic converters), mechanics (increase in hardness), magnetism (of very powerful permanent magnets), optics (coloring, fluorescent lighting, laser, optical amplifier). In the field of optics in particular, the search for stable materials without rare earth, with efficient luminescence and which can be shaped is therefore a major challenge.
The objective of this thesis is to investigate the optical properties of a new class of rare earth free crystalline organic-inorganic hybrid luminescent materials, the metallophosphonate family synthesized from original phosphonic acids. This family of hybrid materials is studied because it offers the possibility to modulate the nature and the properties of each sub-element constituting it and thus obtaining a combination of these properties. The targeted luminescent hybrid materials must contain no rare earths and exhibit high thermal, chemical and photophysical stability, high quantum efficiency and specific spectral emission. To achieve this objective, we will study in particular hybrid materials of the metallophosphonate family which have induced emission (AIE: Aggregation-Induced Emission) [1] or exacerbated emission (AEE: Aggregation-Enhanced Emission) [2] properties by a phenomenon of physical aggregation.
These phenomena concern the appearance or the increase of the intrinsic light emission of a luminescent sub-element by the reduction of its number of degrees of freedom by the confinement of the molecule within the superstructure [3]. It is in this perspective that we propose to develop this research project selected and funded by the Labex EMC3 (Energy Materials and Clean Combustion Center).
[1] Luo, Xie, Lam, Cheng, Chen, Qiu, Kwok, Zhan, Liu, Zhu, Tang, Chem. Commun., 2001, 1740-1741
[2] Chang, Jiang, He, Chen, Yang, Lu, Kwok, Zhao, Qiua, Tang, Chem. Commun., 2013, 49, 594-596
[3] Bloyet, Rueff, Cardin, Caignaert, Doualan, Lohier, Jaffres, Raveau, Eurjic, 2018, 3095-3103.

We are looking for a motivated candidate to carry out this multidisciplinary subject in collaboration with researchers from laboratories involved in this project. The candidate must hold a Research Master in Solid State Physics or Materials Science or hold an engineering degree in these fields. Experience in optical spectroscopy of materials would be a significant asset as well as a skills in written and spoken English.

Work Context

This thesis project is part of a research project between several research laboratories supported by the Labex EMC3 which, in addition to the CIMAP laboratory, includes two other partner laboratories. This project is articulated in several tasks: the preparation of organic precursors, the hydrothermal synthesis of luminescent hybrid materials, the structural resolution of the compounds, the study of the optical properties of the selected materials. This last task will be the main activity of this thesis. It will consist of carrying out the study of the optical properties of post hydrothermal synthesis materials and that of the shaped materials. The materials obtained in the form of single-phase powders will be the subject of a conventional optical spectroscopy study comprising a spectral characterization of the refractive index, absorption, excitation and emission. Luminescence decay and quantum yield measurements will allow the selection of hybrid compounds with high quantum yield. Once formed, these materials will again be characterized optically. In addition, this work will be based on the strong collaboration with the doctoral student recruited by one of the partner laboratories who will mainly carry out hydrothermal synthesis, physico-chemical and structural characterizations. Thus the thermal and chemical stability and the luminescent properties will be compared with the results of the physico-chemical and structural study and the results of the theoretical study of the electronic structure of materials by ab initio methods. This will allow a better understanding of the phenomena involved in exalted luminescence; and possibly to carry out future optimizations.

The hired candidate will also participate in the drafting of Labex interim reports, presentation in the framework of conferences and scientific articles.

The candidate will carry out his thesis at the Research Center on Ions, Materials and Photonics (CIMAP CNRS UMR6252 ENSICAEN UNICAEN CEA) which is internationally recognized and which brings together physicists of solid and diluted matter. This project is part of a scientific collaboration existing for 5 years between the laboratories of the consortium with the CIMAP, which concerns the study of the luminescence properties of metallophosphonates.

Constraints and risks

Short stay in France and abroad are planned within the framework of congresses or thematic schools.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorant(e) en spectroscopie de matériaux hybrides luminescents (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR6252-JULCAR-001
Lieu de travail : CAEN
Date de publication : lundi 27 avril 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Julien Cardin
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

La criticité des éléments terre rares, qui est due à une combinaison de vulnérabilités liées à leur quantité, à des enjeux environnementaux et à leur approvisionnement est un enjeu stratégique majeur en raison de leurs propriétés uniques. Les terres rares possèdent en effet des propriétés qui conduit à leur emploi dans différents domaines tels que la chimie (cracking du pétrole, pots catalytiques), la mécanique (augmentation de dureté), le magnétisme (d'aimants permanant très performants), l'optique (coloration, éclairage fluorescent, laser, amplificateur optique). Dans le domaine de l'optique en particulier, la recherche de matériaux stable sans terre rare, avec une luminescence efficace et pouvant être mis en forme est donc un défi majeur.
L'objectif de cette thèse est d'étudier les propriétés optique d'une nouvelle classe de matériaux luminescents hybrides organiques-inorganiques cristallins de la famille des métallophosphonates dépourvus de terres rares synthétisé à partir d'acides phosphoniques originaux. Cette famille de matériaux hybrides est étudiée car elle offre la possibilité de moduler la nature et les propriétés de chaque sous-élément le constituant et ainsi d'obtenir une combinaison de ces propriétés. Les matériaux hybrides luminescents visés devront contenir aucune terre rare et présenter une stabilité thermique, chimique et photophysique élevée, un rendement quantique élevé et une émission spectrale spécifique. Pour atteindre cet objectif, nous étudierons tout particulièrement les matériaux hybrides de la famille des métallophosphonates qui présentent des propriétés d'émission induites (AIE : Aggregation-Induced Emission) [1] ou exacerbées (AEE : Aggregation-Enhanced Emission)[2] par un phénomène d'agrégation physique.
Ces phénomènes concernent l'apparition ou l'augmentation de l'émission lumineuse intrinsèque d'un sous élément luminescent par la réduction de son nombre de degrés de liberté par le confinement de la molécule au sein de la superstructure [3]. C'est dans cette perspective que nous proposons de développer ce projet de recherche sélectionné et financé par le Labex EMC3 (Energy Materials and Clean Combustion Center).
[1] Luo, Xie, Lam, Cheng, Chen, Qiu, Kwok, Zhan, Liu, Zhu, Tang, Chem. Commun., 2001, 1740-1741
[2] Chang, Jiang, He, Chen, Yang, Lu, Kwok, Zhao, Qiua, Tang, Chem. Commun., 2013, 49, 594-596
[3] Bloyet, Rueff, Cardin, Caignaert, Doualan, Lohier, Jaffres, Raveau, Eurjic, 2018, 3095-3103.

Nous recherchons un(e) candidat(e) motivé(e) pour mener à bien ce sujet multidisciplinaire en collaboration avec les différents chercheurs des laboratoires impliqués dans ce projet. Le(a) candidat(e) devra être titulaire d'un Master Recherche en Physique du solide ou Science des matériaux ou être titulaire d'un titre d'ingénieur dans ces domaines. Une expérience en spectroscopie optique de matériaux serait un atout non négligeable ainsi qu'une maîtrise (écrite et parlée) de l'anglais.

Contexte de travail

Ce projet de thèse s'inscrit dans le cadre d'un projet de recherche entre plusieurs laboratoires de recherche soutenue par le Labex EMC3 qui comprends outre le laboratoire CIMAP deux autres partenaires. Ce projet s'articule en plusieurs taches : la préparation des précurseurs organiques, la synthèse hydrothermale de matériaux hybrides luminescents, la résolution structurale des composés, l'étude des propriétés optiques des matériaux sélectionnés. Cette dernière tâche sera l'activité principale de cette thèse. Elle consistera à réaliser l'étude des propriétés optiques des matériaux post synthèse hydrothermale et celle des matériaux mise en forme. Les matériaux obtenus sous forme de poudres monophasées, feront l'objet d'une étude de spectroscopie optique classique comprenant une caractérisation spectrale de l'indice de réfraction, d'absorption, d'excitation et d'émission. Les déclins de luminescence et les mesures de rendement quantique permettront de sélectionner les composés hybrides à rendement quantique les plus élevés. Ces matériaux une fois mis en forme seront à nouveau caractérisées optiquement. De plus, ces travaux s'appuierons sur la forte collaboration avec le(a) doctorant(e) recruté(e) par un des laboratoires partenaires qui réalisera principalement la synthèse hydrothermale, les caractérisations physico chimique et structurales. Ainsi, la stabilité thermique et chimique et les propriétés luminescentes seront comparées aux résultats de l'étude physico-chimique et structurale et aux résultats de l'étude théorique de la structure électronique des matériaux par des méthodes ab initio. Cela permettra une meilleure compréhension des phénomènes impliqués dans l'exaltation de la luminescence; et éventuellement de réaliser de futures optimisations.
Le(a) candidat(a) recruté(e) participera également à la rédaction des rapports intermédiaires du Labex, présentation dans le cadre de congrès et articles scientifiques.

Le(a) candidat(e) effectuera sa thèse au Centre de recherche sur les ions, les matériaux et la photonique (CIMAP CNRS UMR6252 ENSICAEN UNICAEN CEA) qui est reconnu internationalement et qui réunit des physiciens du solide et de la matière diluée. Ce projet s'inscrit dans une collaboration scientifique existante depuis 5 ans entre les laboratoires du consortium avec le CIMAP qui concerne l'étude des propriétés de luminescence de métallophosphonates.
Financement : Labex EMC3

Contraintes et risques

Des déplacements de courte durée en France et à l'étranger sont à prévoir dans le cadre de congrès ou écoles thématiques.

On en parle sur Twitter !