By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Ph.D fellow in theoretical nuclear physics M/F

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5797-ISAGRI-001
Workplace : GRADIGNAN
Date of publication : Thursday, June 25, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : SMIRNOVA Nadya
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The goal of the thesis is to provide a deep theoretical study of the nuclear reactions rates important for astrophysics. The method of choice is the configuration-interaction approach. A specific attention will be paid on the isospin-symmetry breaking effects and the so-called Thomas-Ehrman shift. The results will be of importance for astrophysical simulations.
Analytical and numerical theoretical developments, calculations of nuclear properties in the framework of the nuclear shell model, creation of new effective interactions which break of the isospin symmetry, calculations of nuclear reaction rates, participation in the astrophysical simulations of the X-ray bursts and/or novae outbursts (depending on the candidate's interests).
Radiative proton capture reactions in stars play an important role in the hydrogen burning in type I X-ray bursts (rp process) or novae outbursts. Numerous reactions have not been measured yet experimentally and thus theoretical estimations are required. Previous calculations were often based on various approximations.
Compétences attendues :
M.Sc. diploma in physics, basic and advanced courses in theoretical physics, nuclear physics, particle physics, nuclear astrophysics, as well as numerical skills and experience with one of the programming languages such as Fortran, C/C++, Python.

Work Context

Standard CENBG working conditions and hours of access of the laboratory.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorant en physique nucléaire théorique H/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5797-ISAGRI-001
Lieu de travail : GRADIGNAN
Date de publication : jeudi 25 juin 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : SMIRNOVA Nadya
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

L'objectif de cette thèse est de fournir une étude théorique approfondie des taux des réactions importantes pour l'astrophysique dans le cadre du modèle en couches nucléaire. Une attention spécifique sera accordée à l'effet de la brisure de la symétrie d'isospin et à l'effet de Thomas-Ehrman. Les résultats seront d'importance pour les simulations astrophysiques.
Travail théorique analytique et numérique, calcul des propriétés des noyaux à partir du code de modèle en couches, élaborations des interactions effectives qui brisent la symétrie d'isospin, mise en œuvre numérique du calcul de taux de réaction, participation aux simulations des sursauts X et/ou novæ (en fonction de l'intérêt du candidat).
Les réactions de capture de protons radiatives dans un milieu stellaire jouent un rôle important dans la combustion d'hydrogène explosive dans les sursauts-X du type I (processus rp) ou novæ. De nombreuses réactions n'ont pas encore été mesurées expérimentalement et une estimation théorique est requise. Les calculs précédents ont été menés dans certaines approximations.
Compétences attendues :
Diplôme de Master 2 en physique, cours de base en physique théorique, physique nucléaire, physique des particules, astrophysique nucléaire, maîtrise d'un langage de programmation (Fortran, C/C++, Python ou autre).

Contexte de travail

Horaires réglementaires du CENBG sauf cas exceptionnel

On en parle sur Twitter !