By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Synthesis of polymers for the formation and study of polyionic complexes useful in medical imaging M/F

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5623-JEAMAR-005
Workplace : TOULOUSE
Date of publication : Monday, June 29, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Jean-Daniel Marty
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 September 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Interest in the use of nanostructured materials in medicine and diagnostics has grown rapidly in recent years. The dimension of so-called nanomedicine results in new medical effects and requires novel, scientifically demanding chemistry. Thus, drug delivery systems with controllable size and shape in the nm range are needed to deliver bioactive agents and drugs for specific pathological and pharmacological purposes with improved bioavailability and pharmacokinetics. Among them organic-inorganic nanoparticles, which show great potential for imaging and diagnosis as well as for clinical therapeutics, have started to gain large interest. In order to develop new high sensitivity contrast agents while minimizing synthetic complexity, we plan to use hybrid polyion complexes obtained from complexation between metal ions and anionic block copolymers. Their formation is mainly driven by electrostatic interactions and entropy gain from the release of counter-ions. Moreover, coordination bonds confer an additional factor of stability towards salt addition or dilution, thus avoiding the need for prior encapsulation of metal ions in a specific complex structure. Relaxivity properties and high stability in biological medium obtained from preliminary experiments have shown the great potential of these systems. Hence the main objective of this project is to develop new versatile medical imaging nano-objects easily generated by the non-specific complexation of double hydrophilic block copolymers in presence of metal ions. Incorporation of different family of ions or polymers within these objects will enable to extent the proposed strategy to multimodal imaging (PET, MRI…) and will also enable to target specific probe.
Task 1: Design of original phosphonic acid-functional copolymers of controlled architecture and microstructure for the stabilization of bio-relevant inorganic interfaces.
- design of the hydrophilic block (nature of monomer, block length)
- design of the anionic block (nature of the phosphonate monomer, block length).
- strategies for the incorporation of a bio-probe at the end of the polymer chain.
Characterization techniques: NMR (1H, 13C NMR, 31P NMR), aqueous SEC, titration, DLS and many others.

Task 2: The second objective will be to associate the synthesized polymers with different ions of interest to design efficient contrast agents. We will fully explore the potential of such new HPICs formed with Gd3+ ions for MRI applications and to optimize their chemical, colloidal and in vivo stabilities. Preliminary experiments have demonstrated that cold Ga3+ ions also form HPICs when dispersed in a solution of copolymers. Therefore, the association of Ga3+ ions and copolymers could give rise to a new family of radiotracers for PET imaging. Moreover, combining Ga and Gd into a common HPIC nano-object may induce opportunities to combine PET and MRI imaging. This combination would allow the simultaneous measurement of perfusion and vascularization (via MRI) and metabolic processes (via PET). The nanooobjects will be studied through electronic microscopy, scattering experiments, UV-vis or fluorescence spectroscopy….
Task 3: The final task will be to develop functional contrast agents capable of being used in molecular imaging. For this purpose, polymers functionalized with a probe appropriate to the targeted application will be synthesized. The biological properties of these contrast agents will be evaluated in vitro and in vivo in collaboration with teams of biologists.

Work Context

The thesis contract will take place in the IMRCP laboratory. The IMRCP laboratory is dedicated to the chemistry and physico-chemistry of soft matter and self-assembled systems. Based on synthetic compounds (such as surfactants or polymers), these systems offer a very wide range of technological and industrial applications. The thesis student will be assigned to the IDeAS team (about 30 people including 17 permanent staff) under the responsibility of Jean-Daniel Marty and to the P3R team (about 10 people including 5 permanent staff) under the responsibility of Mathias Destarac.

Additional Information

Funding within the framework of an ANR project

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Synthèse de polymères pour la formation et l'étude de complexes polyioniques utilisables en imagerie médicale H/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5623-JEAMAR-005
Lieu de travail : TOULOUSE
Date de publication : lundi 29 juin 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Jean-Daniel Marty
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 septembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Ce projet vise à développer de nouvelles familles d'agents de contraste, obtenues par une voie de synthèse/formulation simple et reproductible à une échelle industrielle, utilisables en imagerie médical (IRM, PET …). Les agents de contrastes sont obtenus par complexation d'ions utiles en imagerie médicale, comme par exemple des ions Gd, Ga… avec des polymères blocs comprenant une première partie hydrophile et une seconde partie ionisée (ou ionisable qui sera ionisée durant le procédé de préparation). La première partie du polymère permet de stabiliser le complexe en solution afin d'obtenir des solutions colloïdales stables de ces complexes tout en améliorant la furtivité du système. Elle permet également de diminuer considérablement la toxicité des systèmes. La seconde partie du polymère, quant à elle, génère des interactions non-spécifiques avec les ions, ceux-ci jouant le rôle de ponts structuraux entre copolymères. Ainsi, les ions, en plus de leur rôle d'agent de contraste, sont acteur de leur propre formulation par complexation avec les polymères blocs. L'approche utilisée évite ainsi, comme cela a été le cas par le passé, le développement de ligands spécifiques des ions en questions. Des résultats préliminaires (in vitro et in vivo) ont montré le grand potentiel de cette stratégie. Ainsi l'objectif principal de ce projet est de démontrer la versatilité de l'approche proposé permettant d'avoir accès, par un choix judicieux des composants de la formulation (polymères ou ions), à des agents de contraste possédant des fonctionnalités variées permettant par exemple des propriétés de reconnaissance et utilisables dans différentes techniques d'imageries (IRM, PET…).
Tâche 1 : Conception de copolymères originaux à fonction acide phosphonique d'architecture et de microstructure contrôlées pour la stabilisation d'interfaces inorganiques pertinentes sur le plan biologique.
- conception du bloc hydrophile (nature du monomère, longueur du bloc)
-conception du bloc anionique (nature du monomère phosphonate, longueur du bloc .
- stratégies pour l'incorporation d'une biosonde à l'extrémité de la chaîne polymère .
Techniques de caractérisation : RMN (RMN 1H, 13C, RMN 31P), SEC aqueux, titrage, DLS et bien d'autres.

Tâche 2 : le deuxième objectif sera d'associer le polymère synthétisé à différents ions d'intérêt pour concevoir des agents de contraste efficaces. Nous explorerons pleinement le potentiel de ces nouveaux HPIC formés avec des ions Gd3+ pour des applications IRM et pour optimiser leur stabilité chimique, colloïdale et in vivo. Des expériences préliminaires ont démontré que les ions Ga3+ froids forment également des HPIC lorsqu'ils sont dispersés dans une solution de copolymères. L'association d'ions Ga3+ et des copolymères pourrait donc donner naissance à une nouvelle famille de radiotraceurs pour l'imagerie TEP. En outre, la combinaison de Ga et de Gd dans un nano-objet HPIC commun pourrait permettre de combiner l'imagerie TEP et IRM. Cette combinaison permettrait de mesurer simultanément la perfusion et la vascularisation (par IRM) et les processus métaboliques (par TEP). Les nano-objets seront étudiés par microscopie électronique, expériences de diffusion, spectroscopie UV-vis ou fluorescence....
Tâche 3 : La dernière tâche aura pour objectif de réaliser des agents de contraste fonctionnels capable d'être utilisés dans le cadre de l'imagerie moléculaire. Pour cela des polymères fonctionnalisés avec une sonde appropriée à l'application visée seront synthétisés. Les propriétés biologiques de ces agents de contrastes seront évaluées in vitro et in vivo en collaboration avec des équipes de biologistes.

Contexte de travail

Le contrat de thèse se déroulera au sein du laboratoire IMRCP. Le laboratoire des IMRCP se consacre à la chimie et la physico-chimie de la matière molle et des systèmes auto-assemblés. Fondés sur des composés de synthèse (tels que des tensioactifs ou des polymères), ces systèmes offrent un très large panel d'applications technologiques et industrielles. L'étudiant en thèse sera affecté à l'équipe IDeAS (une trentaine de personnes dont 17 permanents) sous la responsabilité de Jean-Daniel Marty et à l'équipe P3R (une dizaine de personnes dont 5 permanents) sous la responsabilité de Mathias Destarac

Informations complémentaires

Financement dans le cadre d'un projet ANR

On en parle sur Twitter !