By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

MRI at ultra low field H/F

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5536-SYLMIR1-002
Workplace : BORDEAUX
Date of publication : Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Jean-michel Franconi
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 December 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Context of the subject: Le Centre de Résonance Magnétique des Systèmes Biologiques is the driving force behind a European FET-open project (Future Emerging Technologies).
The aim of the PrimoGaia project (Pr: prepolarized; imo: molecular imaging; Gaia: earth field) is to open a new path in the field of Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) by initiating the concept of "enzymatic imaging" in vivo for a better understanding of human physiology, early detection and prognosis of diseases, monitoring of therapeutic treatments.
The main objective is to go beyond the current boundaries of MRI by mapping and quantifying the activity of an enzyme in a diseased tissue.
It will be carried out by building a new MRI instrumentation operating in Low and Earth's magnetic fields to allow the use of a frequencies in the Radio Frequency domain (1 to 200MHz) to saturate the transition of the Electronic Paramagnetic Resonance (EPR) of the Nitroxyl radicals. When the radical EPR resonance is saturated, the polarization is transferred to the protons of the water molecules (Overhauser MRI). The improvement factor can reach more than two orders of magnitude. The polarized water signal therefore indicates the local concentration of radicals that reflect enzymatic activity.
The overall methodology will be much less expensive than current clinical scanners and will allow distribution in developing countries. PrimoGaia brings together an interdisciplinary consortium of research teams from 4 universities: CNRS Bordeaux and Marseille (France), U Mons (Belgium), U Torino (Italy), Fraunhofer (Germany) and 2 companies: "Stelar" (Italy) and "Pure Device" an innovative SME (Germany).

Thesis subject: The precise objective of the thesis project is to develop the dynamic pre-polarization sub-unit that can be used in low or Earth's magnetic field. This sub-unit, consisting of an amplifier chain and an antenna(s), will provide polarization transfer between the free radical and the water proton.
The thesis project is part of an interdisciplinary project involving instrumentalist physicists and contrast agent chemists

Candidate's profile: We are looking for a motivated candidate with a background as a physicist / electronics engineer in the field of Engineering Sciences with an interest in the biological and medical applications of NMR. Knowledge in physics, electronics and Radio-Frequency domain is essential, an interest in the basic physics of NMR is desirable. An experience in software simulations (Physics/RF-domain) will be a positive point.
Given the European context of the project, knowledge of written and spoken English is essential. The candidate will have to interact with the various project partners and travel to the different sites and countries.

Additional information: The candidate will integrate a stimulating environment. He will be an integral part of the CRMSB's Instrumental and Methodological Development MRI team. He/she will have all the tools necessary for the smooth running of his/her project and will have access to a wide range of MRI instruments.

The thesis will be funded by FET Open Europe for a period of 3 years, starting in January and will be supervised by Pr JM Franconi (project PI). He / she will be recruited by the CNRS, and will be part of the ED doctoral school of Bordeaux University. CNRS has the label HR Excellence for research (HRS4R) and promotes transparency of the recruitment process and equal opportunities.

Work Context

The Centre de Résonance Magnétique des Systèmes Biologiques is a joint research unit (UMR5536) of the CNRS and the University of Bordeaux. The laboratory is specialized in the field of methodological development in MRI and in the applications of MRI in biology and medicine. The candidate will be integrated into the team in charge of the European FET PrimoGaia project.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

IRM à ultra bas champ H/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5536-SYLMIR1-002
Lieu de travail : BORDEAUX
Date de publication : mercredi 30 octobre 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Jean-michel Franconi
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 décembre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Contexte du sujet : Le Centre de Résonance Magnétique des Systèmes Biologiques est porteur d'un projet Européen FET-open (Future Emerging Technologies).
Le but du projet PrimoGaia (Pr: prepolarized; imo: molecular imaging; Gaia: earth field) est d'ouvrir une nouvelle voie dans le domaine de l'Imagerie par Résonance Magnétique (IRM) en initiant le concept d'"imagerie enzymatique" in vivo pour une meilleure compréhension de la physiologie humaine, la détection précoce et le pronostic des maladies, le suivi des traitements thérapeutiques.
L'objectif principal est de dépasser les frontières actuelles de l'IRM en permettant de cartographier et de quantifier l'activité d'une enzyme dans un tissu pathologique.
Il sera réalisé en construisant une nouvelle instrumentation d'IRM opérant à ultra-bas champ et au champ magnétique terrestre pour permettre l'utilisation de fréquence dans le domaine des 1 à 200 MHz pour saturer la transition de la Résonance Paramagnétique Electronique (EPR) des radicaux Nitroxyles. Lors de la saturation de la résonance EPR radicale, la polarisation est transférée aux protons des molécules d'eau (Overhauser MRI). Le facteur d'amélioration peut atteindre plus de deux ordres de grandeur. Le signal d'eau polarisée indique donc la concentration locale des radicaux qui reflètent l'activité enzymatique.
La méthodologie globale sera beaucoup moins coûteuse que les scanners cliniques actuels et permettra une distribution dans les pays en développement. PrimoGaia réunit un consortium interdisciplinaire d'équipes de recherche de 4 universités : CNRS Bordeaux et Marseille (France), U Mons (Belgique), U Torino (Italie); Fraunhofer (Allemagne) et 2 sociétés : "Stelar" (Italie) et "Pure Device" une PME innovante (Allemagne).

Sujet de thèse : L'objectif précis du projet de thèse est de développer la sous unité de pré polarisation dynamique utilisable à très bas champ ou dans le champ magnétique terrestre. Cette sous-unité constituée d'une chaine d'amplification et d'une antenne permettra de réaliser le transfert de polarisation entre le radical libre et le proton de l'eau.
Le projet de thèse se situe dans le cadre d'un projet interdisciplinaires associant des physiciens instrumentalistes et des chimistes des agents de contraste.

Profil du candidat : Nous sommes à la recherche d'un.e candidat.e motivé.e ayant une formation de physicien/electronicien dans le domaine des Sciences de l'Ingénieur avec un intérêt pour les applications biologiques et médicales de la RMN. Des connaissances en physique, en électronique et dans le domaine des radiofréquences sont essentielles, un intérêt pour la physique de base de la RMN est souhaitable.
Vu le contexte européen du projet, la connaissance de l'anglais écrit et parlé est indispensable. Le candidat sera amené a interagir avec les différents partenaires du projet et à se déplacer sur les différents sites et pays.

Informations Complémentaire : Le/La candidat.e intégrera un environnement stimulant. Il sera partie intégrante de l'équipe Développement Instrumentaux et Méthodologique IRM du CRMSB. Il/Elle disposera de tous les outils nécessaires au bon déroulement de son projet et aura accès a une large gamme d'instruments IRM.


La thèse sera financée par le FET open Europe via le CNRS pour une période de 3 ans à partir du mois de Janvier 2020, et sera supervisée par le Pr JM Franconi (porteur du projet). Le candidat intègrera l'école doctorale de l'Université de Bordeaux. Le CNRS est labellisé HR Excellence for Research (HRS4R) et promeut la transparence du processus de recrutement et l'égalité des chances.

Contexte de travail

Le Centre de Résonance Magnétique des Systèmes Biologiques est une unité mixte de recherche (UMR5536) du CNRS et de l'Université de Bordeaux. Le laboratoire est spécialisé dans le domaine du développement méthodologique en IRM et dans les applications de l'IRM en biologie et médecine. Le candidat sera intégrée à l'équipe ayant en charge le projet Européen FET PrimoGaia

On en parle sur Twitter !