By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD in Behavioral and Experimental Economics

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5313-SABTEY-001
Workplace : GRENOBLE
Date of publication : Thursday, July 16, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Sabrina Teyssier
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The PhD is in Economics and focuses on: "Changes in norms and inequalities in the face of climate change".

Context: Climate change has disruptive effects for Society as a whole, affecting all regions of the planet, all sectors and the population of today and tomorrow. Beyond the environmental consequences, global warming is a source of tension around access to essential resources such as water and food. It also enhances public health problems, the risk of climate conflicts and tensions between social groups. In this context, the decision-making context evolves and the interactions between agents change. These evolutions must be taken into account in order to better understand individual behaviors so as to better define more effective public policy programs ex ante.

Aim: The aim of the PhD program is to study how changes in the decision context and interactions between agents induced by global warming can make social norms changing and limit individuals' participation to global warming. A particular attention will be paid to the role of inequalities on the evolution of norms.

Scientific areas and themes: Limiting global warming is beneficial for Society as a whole, but each individual must bear an additional cost if she chooses to change her behavior to reduce her participation to climate change. This is a social dilemma and then, it inevitably involves free-riding behaviors. Therefore, voluntary cooperation between individuals is essential to limit global warming. Advances in behavioral economics and experimental economics have improved knowledge about individual behavior in social dilemma games and the PhD research program lies in this area of research.
It has been found that of voluntary cooperation is observed and depends on the institution in place and also on the behavior of other individuals. The role of social interactions underlines the importance of considering the dynamics of behaviors to study voluntary cooperation. An emerging approach in economics to explain the dynamics of behaviors with social interactions, which the thesis will rely on, is based on social norms (Bicchieri, Cambridge Univ. Press, 2006). Social norms are defined as shared collective rules that define which behaviors are seen as socially appropriate and acceptable within a group. Individual behaviors may fall within the norm in place because of an individual's desire to be approved by others and to conform to the norm. Social norms are seen as solutions to foster cooperation between individuals (Nyborg et al., Science, 2016) but their effectiveness depends on individuals' perceptions of the norm.
The perception of the norm of cooperation is widely shared when the group is homogeneous but different perceptions of the norm emerge when there are inequalities of wealth between individuals (Reuben and Riedl, Games Econ. Behav., 2013). Changes in social norms may help limiting global warming but inequalities between individuals need to be taken into account. Indeed, the existence of inequalities implies questions regarding the reference point, which is not necessarily the same for each individual and therefore reduces the development of the norm. The aim of the PhD thesis will be to determine the role of these inequalities on the evolution of social norms.

Method: Experiments will be conducted to test the theoretical mechanisms underlying the changes of norms. Some of the experiments will be conducted in the laboratory with a high level of control in order to have the highest internal validity. In a second stage, field experiments will be conducted to study behaviors in real situations. The probable field of application is water consumption and management: the objective will be to investigate how individuals vary their water consumption according to an external intervention (tariff, information, consumption of neighbors, etc). The intervention that will be tested will depend on the results obtained from laboratory experiments. Real inequalities in wealth will be measured and controlled for.

Objectives for the valorization of the doctoral student's research work: The doctoral student will have to produce three original research papers. He/she will present them at international conferences and submit them for publication in scientific journals in Economics. A publication in an interdisciplinary journal may be considered for the field experiment.

References:
Bicchieri, C. (2006). The grammar of society: The nature and dynamics of social norms. Cambridge University Press, Cambridge, MA.
Nyborg, K. et al. (2016). « Social norms as solutions ». Science, 354(6308) : 42–43.
Reuben, E. and A. Riedl (2013). « Enforcement of contribution norms in public good games with heterogeneous populations ». Games and Economic Behavior, 77(1) : 122–137.

Work Context

The PhD starts on 0ctober 1, 2020, and lasts for 36 months : 18 months at GAEL Laboratory (Grenoble Applied Economics Lab) at Université Grenoble Alpes (Grenoble, France) and 18 months at iGLOBES Laboratory (Interdisciplinary and Global Environmental Studies) at University of Arizona (Tucson, Arizona, USA).

The person recruited will be attached to the Doctoral School of Economics at Université of Grenoble Alpes (UGA) under the supervision of Sabrina Teyssier (INRAE Research Fellow in Economics at GAEL, https://gael.univ-grenoble-alpes.fr/people/sabrina-teyssier?language=en).

This position is a doctoral contract with international mobility funded by the InSHS of the CNRS.

The first part of the PhD will take place at the GAEL laboratory (Grenoble Applied Economics Laboratory) associated with CNRS, INRAE and Université Grenoble Alpes. He/she will carry out economic experiments at the GAEL experimental economics laboratory. This laboratory organizes experiments with students and also with consumers from the general population and respects the rules of experimental economics such as the implementation of financial incentives and the non-use of disappointment. The doctoral student will benefit from the expertise of GAEL researchers in behavioral and experimental economics, particularly within the "Consumption and Product Supply" group. The PhD supervisor's research is included in this axis. She is currently coordinating a research project funded by the French Research Founding Agency (ANR) on "Social interactions, social norms and sustainable food consumption".

The second part of the PhD will be completed at the interdisciplinary laboratory iGLOBES in Tucson, Arizona. During this period, the doctoral student will directly interact with the COOCLIMATH project team, whose objective is the development and analysis of a general mathematical model of individual behavior in response to climate change. Such interactions will enable the PhD student to better understand the global issues related to global warming, in particular the issue of access to water resources. This research program will be conducted in collaboration with the teams already partnering with IRL iGLOBES at the University of Arizona (notably the Udall Center for Public Policy and the Water Resources Research Center). Interactions will also be possible with researchers from the Department of Economics at the Eller College of Management at the University of Arizona who are world-renowned specialists in the field of behavioral and experimental economics.

Constraints and risks

The PhD position is a doctoral contract with international mobility. The PhD student will have to spend part of his/her time at the GAEL laboratory in Grenoble and the other part at the iGLOBES laboratory in Tucson. The time in Tucson will last approximately 18 months.

Additional Information

The candidate must hold a Master in Economics.

Required skills: solid foundations in microeconomics, game theory and econometrics and knowledge of behavioral and experimental economics. A good level of English is required.

Applications include a detailed CV, a cover letter, Master 1 and Master 2 grades, Master 2 thesis and two references (who may be contacted).

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorant.e en Economie comportementale et expérimentale (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5313-SABTEY-001
Lieu de travail : GRENOBLE
Date de publication : jeudi 16 juillet 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Sabrina Teyssier
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

La thèse s'inscrit en Sciences Economiques et porte sur : « Changements de norme et inégalités face au changement climatique ».

Contexte : Le changement climatique a des effets disruptifs pour la société dans son ensemble, touchant toutes les régions de la planète, tous les secteurs et la population d'aujourd'hui et de demain. Au delà des conséquences environnementales, le réchauffement climatique est source de tensions autour de l'accès aux ressources essentielles comme l'eau ou la nourriture. Elle accentue aussi les problèmes de santé publique, les risques de conflits climatiques, les tensions entre groupe sociaux. Dans ce cadre, le contexte de décision évolue et les interactions entre agents se modifient. Ces évolutions doivent être prises en compte pour appréhender au mieux les comportements individuels afin de mieux définir des programmes de politique publique plus efficaces ex ante.

Objectif : Cette thèse a pour objectif d'étudier comment les changements de contexte et d'interactions entre agents induits par le réchauffement climatique peuvent faire évoluer les normes sociales et limiter la participation de chacun au réchauffement climatique. Une attention particulière sera portée au rôle des inégalités sur les changements de normes.

Domaine et thématiques scientifiques : Limiter le réchauffement climatique est bénéfique pour la Société dans son ensemble mais chaque individu doit supporter un coût additionnel s'il choisit de modifier son comportement visant à réduire sa participation au changement climatique. Cette situation est un dilemme social et implique inévitablement le problème de passager clandestin. Aussi, une coopération volontaire entre individus est essentielle pour limiter le réchauffement climatique. Les avancées en économie comportementale et en économie expérimentale ont permis d'améliorer les connaissances sur les comportements individuels dans des jeux de dilemme social et la thèse s'inscrit dans ce domaine de recherche.
Il a été trouvé que des comportements de coopération volontaire sont observés et dépendent de l'institution en place et aussi du comportement des autres. Le rôle des interactions sociales mis en évidence souligne l'importance de considérer la dynamique des comportements pour étudier la coopération volontaire. Une approche émergente en économie pour expliquer les dynamiques de comportements avec interactions sociales, sur laquelle la thèse va s 'appuyer, repose sur les normes sociales (Bicchieri, Cambridge Univ. Press, 2006). Les normes sociales sont définies comme des règles collectives partagées qui définissent quels comportements sont vus comme socialement appropriés et acceptables au sein d'un groupe. Les comportements individuels peuvent relever de la norme en place de par le désir de chacun d'être approuvé par les autres et de se conformer à la norme. Les normes sociales sont vues comme des solutions pour favoriser la coopération entre individus (Nyborg et al., Science, 2016) mais leur efficacité dépend des perceptions des individus de la norme.
La perception de la norme de coopération est largement partagée quand le groupe est homogène mais différentes perceptions de la norme émergent quand il existe des inégalités de richesse entre individus (Reuben and Riedl, Games Econ. Behav., 2013). Si les changements de normes sociales peuvent aider à limiter le réchauffement climatique, les inégalités entre individus doivent être prises en compte. En effet, la présence d'inégalités pose la question du point de référence qui n'est pas forcément le même pour chaque individu et donc réduit le développement de la norme. Il s'agira, dans la thèse, de déterminer le rôle de ces inégalités dans l'évolution des normes sociales.

Méthode : Des expériences seront conduites afin de tester les mécanismes théoriques qui sous-tendent les changements de normes. Il est prévu qu'une partie des expériences soient menées en laboratoire avec un niveau de contrôle élevé afin d'avoir la plus haute validité interne. Il est également prévu dans un deuxième temps de mettre en place des expériences de terrain et investir un domaine d'application particulier et étudier les comportements en situation réelle. Le champs d'application probable est la consommation et la gestion de l'eau : il s'agira d'observer comment les individus varient leur consommation en eau en fonction d'une intervention extérieure (tarif, information, consommation des voisins, etc). L'intervention testée dépendra des résultats obtenus à l'issue des expériences en laboratoire. Les inégalités de richesse réelles pourront être mesurées et contrôlées.

Objectifs de valorisation des travaux de recherche du doctorant : le.la doctorant.e devra produire trois travaux de recherche originaux. Il.elle les présentera à des colloques internationaux et les soumettra pour publication dans des revues scientifiques en Sciences Economiques. Une publication dans une revue interdisciplinaire pourra être envisagée pour l'expérience de terrain prévue.

Références bibliographiques :
Bicchieri, C. (2006). The grammar of society: The nature and dynamics of social norms. Cambridge University Press, Cambridge, MA.
Nyborg, K. et al. (2016). « Social norms as solutions ». Science, 354(6308) : 42–43.
Reuben, E. et A. Riedl (2013). « Enforcement of contribution norms in public good games with heterogeneous populations ». Games and Economic Behavior, 77(1) : 122–137.

Contexte de travail

Le contrat doctoral, et donc la thèse, débute le 01.10.20 pour une durée de 36 mois. Il est prévu 18 mois au laboratoire GAEL (Laboratoire d'Economie Appliquée de Grenoble) de l'Université Grenoble Alpes (Grenoble, France) et 18 mois au laboratoire iGLOBES (Interdisciplinary and Global Environmental Studies) de l'Université d'Arizona (Tucson, Arizona, USA).

La personne recrutée sera rattachée à l'Ecole Doctorale de Sciences Économiques de l'Université Grenoble Alpes (UGA) sous la direction de Sabrina Teyssier (chargée de recherche en Sciences Economiques de l'INRAE à GAEL https://gael.univ-grenoble-alpes.fr/membres/sabrina-teyssier).

Ce poste est un contrat doctoral avec mobilité internationale financé par l'InSHS du CNRS.

Une partie du doctorat se déroulera au laboratoire GAEL (Laboratoire d'Economie Appliquée de Grenoble) associé au CNRS, INRAE et Université Grenoble Alpes. Il.elle pourra mener ses expériences au laboratoire d'économie expérimentale de GAEL. Ce laboratoire organise des expériences avec des étudiants mais aussi avec des consommateurs de la population active et respecte les règles de l'économie expérimentale comme la mise en place d'incitations financières et la non-utilisation de la déception. Le.la doctorante bénéficiera de l'expertise des chercheurs de GAEL en économie comportementale et expérimentale, notamment au sein de l'axe « Consommation et Offre de Produits ». Les travaux de l'encadrante de la thèse s'inscrivent dans cet axe. Elle coordonne actuellement un projet de recherche financé par l'ANR sur « Interactions sociales, norme sociale et consommation alimentaire durable ».

La deuxième partie du doctorat sera réalisée au laboratoire interdisciplinaire iGLOBES à Tucson (Arizona). Pendant cette période, il.elle interagira directement avec l'équipe du projet COOCLIMATH, dont l'objectif est le développement et l'analyse d'un modèle mathématique général des comportements individuels en réponse au changement climatique. Cette interaction permettra au.à la doctorant.e de mieux appréhender les enjeux globaux liés au réchauffement climatique, notamment la question de l'accès à la ressource eau. Ces travaux seront conduits en collaboration avec les équipes déjà partenaires de l'IRL iGLOBES à l'université d'Arizona (notamment le Udall Center for Public Policy et le Water Resources Research Center). Des interactions seront également possibles avec les chercheurs du Département d'Economie du Eller College of Management de l'Université d'Arizona spécialisés et réputés mondialement dans le domaine de l'économie comportementale et expérimentale.

Contraintes et risques

Le support du doctorat étant un contrat doctoral avec mobilité internationale, le.la doctorant.e devra passer une partie de son temps au laboratoire GAEL à Grenoble et l'autre partie au laboratoire iGLOBES à Tucson. La mission à Tucson durera approximativement 18 mois.

Informations complémentaires

Le.la candidate devra être titulaire d'un master 2 en Sciences Economiques.

Compétences requises : bases solides en microéconomie, théorie des jeux et économétrie et une connaissance de l'économie comportementale et expérimentale. Bon niveau d'anglais demandé : lu, écrit, parlé.

Les candidatures devront inclure un CV détaillé, une lettre de motivation, les notes de Master 1 et 2, le mémoire de Master 2 et deux références (personnes susceptibles d'être contactées).

On en parle sur Twitter !