By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Advanced mass transport control of the PEM electrolyser used in infrared thermal imaging

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5295-CHRPRA-001
Workplace : TALENCE
Date of publication : Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Pradere
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 September 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Dn the framework of the IMAGING project between the University of Toronto (with Prof. A. Bazylak) and the CNRS (Prof. S. Chevalier and Dr. C. Pradère) at the I2M laboratory in Bordeaux, a PhD thesis on the advanced control of mass transport of PEM electrolysers using the Neutron & Infrared operand is proposed. Polymer Electrolyte Membrane Electrolyzers (PEM) are one of the most promising green technologies for the storage of energy from renewable but intermittent sources such as hydrogen. Efficiency and reliability still need to be improved in order to achieve the affordability and lifetime required for large-scale commercialization. Control of the mass transport behaviour of reagents and products at the microscopic scale in electrolysis channels and transport layers are key elements to achieve these objectives. For the first time, this issue will be addressed through a tryptic of advanced experimental techniques that include neutron imaging, thermospectroscopic imaging and thermal imaging. This new work will provide advanced knowledge on the physics of micro-scale mass transport under non-isothermal conditions, which will serve as new guidelines for the industry in the design of the next generation of PEM electrolysers.
Solving the problem of mass transport in a reactive flow, where electrochemical reactions take place, where multiphase fluids circulate in microporous media and where heat transfer affects most of the physical properties of the system, is an important scientific question that the research community has been trying to solve for several years [1]. In this thesis work, this issue will be addressed by a combination of innovative imaging methods and image-based modeling for inverse methods. The main application of this work will improve the performance of the PEM electrolyser. The PhD thesis will be divided into three main steps. First, the candidate will design a microfluidic PEM electrolyser for IR thermospectroscopy measurements. The IR imaging platform already developed in the I2M laboratory will be used [2] to measure 4D images (x, y, λ and T). In a second step, the PEM electrolyser measurements performed at I2M will be compared with the data collected by the A group. Bazylak's group at the University of Toronto (UofT) using neutron imaging [3] to validate the design of microfluidic PEM electrolysers. Finally, in the last step, a multiphysical electrolyser model will be developed by the candidate to be used for inverse image-based methods to estimate fluid properties and electrolyser performance. Specific operating regimes for deriving analytical solutions will be specifically targeted [4]. At the end, the PhD candidate will develop both multiphysical characterization and modeling of the PEM electrolyser during this thesis work in order to inform industrialists and manufacturers. Several round trips to Toronto (Canada) will be made during the thesis, and close collaboration with researchers at the University of Toronto will be required.

[1] A.Z. Weber, R.L. Borup, R.M. Darling, P.K. Das, T.J. Dursch, W. Gu, et al., A Critical Review of Modeling Transport Phenomena in Polymer-Electrolyte Fuel Cells, J. Electrochem. Soc. 161 (2014) F1254–F1299.
[2] M. Romano, C. Ndiaye, A. Duphil, A. Sommier, J. Morikawa, J. Mascetti, J.C. Batsale, L. Servant, C. Pradere, Fast infrared imaging spectroscopy technique (FIIST), Infrared Phys. Technol. 68 (2015) 152–158.
[3] C. Lee, J.K. Lee, B. Zhao, K.F. Fahy, J.M. LaManna, E. Baltic, D.S. Hussey, D.L. Jacobson, V.P. Schulz, A. Bazylak, Temperature-dependent gas accumulation in polymer electrolyte membrane electrolyzer porous transport layers, J. Power Sources. 446 (2020) 227312.
[4] S. Chevalier, J. Olivier, C. Josset, B. Auvity, Polymer electrolyte membrane fuel cell operating in stoichiometric regime, J. Power Sources. 440 (2019) 227100.

Work Context

The PhD candidate should have a strong background in heat and mass transfer, with a taste for non-linear electrochemical modeling. Knowledge of numerical methods for image processing will be an important asset for this PhD thesis. Most of the data processing will be performed in the MATLAB environment. The PhD candidate should have a strong interest in experimental work and data acquisition, and experience in microfluidic measurements will be an asset. The candidate may also be required to develop data acquisition programs using LabVIEW software.
Skills in microfabrication (micromachining, plasma deposition, lithography...) would be required for this PhD offer. A candidate holding an engineering degree from the best mechanical or chemical engineering schools or universities in France or Canada would be appreciated. Previous professional experience in a research environment (e.g. research internship) would also be appreciated. The candidate must speak and write English fluently in order to be able to exchange and collaborate with Canadian researchers. Knowledge of French would be appreciated.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Imagerie IR pour l'étude des transferts de masse d'électrolyseurs polymères (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5295-CHRPRA-001
Lieu de travail : TALENCE
Date de publication : mardi 19 mai 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Pradere
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 septembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Dans le cadre du projet IMAGING entre l'Université de Toronto (avec le Prof. A. Bazylak) et le CNRS (Prof. S. Chevalier et Dr. C. Pradère) au laboratoire I2M de Bordeaux, une thèse de doctorat sur le contrôle avancé du transport de masse des électrolyseurs PEM utilisant dans l'opérande Neutron & Infrared est proposée. Les électrolyseurs à membrane électrolytique polymère (PEM) sont l'une des technologies vertes les plus prometteuses pour le stockage de l'énergie provenant de sources renouvelables, mais intermittentes, comme l'hydrogène. L'efficacité et la fiabilité doivent encore être améliorées afin d'atteindre l'accessibilité financière et la durée de vie nécessaires à une commercialisation à grande échelle. Le contrôle des comportements de transport de masse des réactifs et des produits à l'échelle microscopique dans les canaux d'électrolyse et les couches de transport sont des éléments clés pour atteindre ces objectifs. Pour la première fois, cette question sera abordée à travers un tryptique de techniques expérimentales avancées qui inclut dans l'opération l'imagerie neutronique, l'imagerie thermospectroscopique et l'imagerie thermique. Ces nouveaux travaux permettront d'acquérir des connaissances avancées sur la physique du transport de masse à l'échelle micro dans des conditions non isothermes, qui serviront de nouvelles lignes directrices à l'industrie pour la conception de la prochaine génération d'électrolyseurs PEM.
La résolution du problème du transport de masse dans un flux réactif, où des réactions électrochimiques ont lieu, où des fluides multiphasiques circulent dans des milieux microporeux et où le transfert de chaleur affecte la plupart des propriétés physiques du système, est une question scientifique importante que la communauté des chercheurs tente de résoudre depuis plusieurs années [1]. Au cours de ce travail de thèse, cette question sera traitée par une combinaison de méthodes d'imagerie innovantes et de modélisation basée sur l'image pour les méthodes inverses. L'application principale de ce travail permettra d'améliorer les performances de l'électrolyseur PEM. La thèse de doctorat sera divisée en trois étapes principales. Tout d'abord, le candidat devra concevoir un électrolyseur PEM microfluidique pour les mesures de thermospectroscopie IR. La plateforme d'imagerie IR déjà développée dans le laboratoire I2M sera utilisée [2] pour mesurer les images 4D (x, y, λ et T). Dans un deuxième temps, les mesures de l'électrolyseur PEM effectuées à l'I2M seront comparées aux données recueillies par le groupe de A. Bazylak à l'Université de Toronto (UofT) à partir de la technique d'imagerie neutronique [3], afin de valider la conception des électrolyseurs PEM microfluidiques. Enfin, dans la dernière étape, un modèle multiphysique d'électrolyseur sera développé par le candidat afin de l'utiliser pour des méthodes inverses basées sur l'image pour estimer les propriétés des fluides et les performances de l'électrolyseur. Des régimes de fonctionnement spécifiques permettant de dériver des solutions analytiques seront spécifiquement ciblés [4]. À la fin, le candidat au doctorat développera à la fois la caractérisation multiphysique et la modélisation de l'électrolyseur PEM au cours de ce travail de thèse afin d'informer les industriels et les fabricants. Plusieurs allers-retours à Toronto (Canada) seront effectués au cours de la thèse, et une collaboration étroite avec les chercheurs de l'Université de Toronto devra être mise en place.

[1] A.Z. Weber, R.L. Borup, R.M. Darling, P.K. Das, T.J. Dursch, W. Gu, et al., A Critical Review of Modeling Transport Phenomena in Polymer-Electrolyte Fuel Cells, J. Electrochem. Soc. 161 (2014) F1254–F1299.
[2] M. Romano, C. Ndiaye, A. Duphil, A. Sommier, J. Morikawa, J. Mascetti, J.C. Batsale, L. Servant, C. Pradere, Fast infrared imaging spectroscopy technique (FIIST), Infrared Phys. Technol. 68 (2015) 152–158.
[3] C. Lee, J.K. Lee, B. Zhao, K.F. Fahy, J.M. LaManna, E. Baltic, D.S. Hussey, D.L. Jacobson, V.P. Schulz, A. Bazylak, Temperature-dependent gas accumulation in polymer electrolyte membrane electrolyzer porous transport layers, J. Power Sources. 446 (2020) 227312.
[4] S. Chevalier, J. Olivier, C. Josset, B. Auvity, Polymer electrolyte membrane fuel cell operating in stoichiometric regime, J. Power Sources. 440 (2019) 227100.

Contexte de travail

Le candidat au doctorat doit avoir une solide expérience en matière de transfert de chaleur et de masse, avec un goût pour la modélisation non linéaire de l'électrochimie. Des connaissances en méthodes numériques pour le traitement d'images seront un atout important pour cette thèse de doctorat. La plupart des traitements de données seront effectués dans l'environnement MATLAB. Le candidat au doctorat doit avoir un goût prononcé pour les travaux expérimentaux et l'acquisition de données, et une expérience dans les mesures microfluidiques sera un atout. Le candidat peut également avoir à développer des programmes d'acquisition de données à l'aide du logiciel LabVIEW.
Des compétences en microfabrication (micro-usinage, dépôt de plasma, lithographie...) seraient demandées pour cette offre de doctorat. Un candidat titulaire d'un diplôme d'ingénieur des meilleures écoles ou universités de génie mécanique ou chimique en France ou au Canada serait apprécié. Une expérience professionnelle antérieure dans un environnement de recherche (par exemple, un stage de recherche) serait également appréciée. Le candidat doit parler et écrire couramment l'anglais afin de pouvoir échanger et collaborer avec des chercheurs canadiens. Une connaissance du français serait appréciée.

On en parle sur Twitter !