By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD on Study of the nucleation of the L'Aquila earthquake (M/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5275-FABCAR-026
Workplace : GRENOBLE
Date of publication : Tuesday, November 05, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : POLI Piero
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 January 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The scope of this research is the development and application of new methodologies for the analysis for seismic and geodtic data aimed at study the preparation of the L'Aquila earthquake in Italy. This multidiciplinaty effort will permit to better understand the physics byond the nucelation of earthquakes in continental fault settings, which are posing significant seismic hazard.

-Detection and classification of seismic signals (including unsupervised machine learning) produced before significant earthquakes.
-Development and application of new methods to perform ambient noise cross correlation for monitoring the temporal variations of physical properties of the fault zone.
-Application of high-resolution geodesy to resolve aseismic slip and/or other forcing on faults.

Knowledge of Linux like system.
Programming skill for analysis of large geophysical dataset in Python.

Work Context

The MONIFAULT ERC Project focus on “Monitoring real faults towards their critical state”
The aim of this project is to develop novel techniques to analyze and classify seismological data to study the evolution of stress in real faults. Furthermore, we are planning to include independent geophysical observations as GPS and velocity variation from ambient noise correlation to better understand the dynamics of faults during the earthquake cycle, with particular interest to the preparation phase of big earthquakes.
The project includes researchers from the ISTERRE laboratory of the University of Grenoble, (www.isterre.fr) Los Alamos National Laboratory, University of Southern California and University of La Sapienza (ROME).

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorant sur l'Etude de la nucleation du seisme de L'Aquila (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5275-FABCAR-026
Lieu de travail : GRENOBLE
Date de publication : mardi 5 novembre 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : POLI Piero
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 janvier 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

L'objectif de cette recherche est le développement et l'application de nouvelles méthodologies pour l'analyse de données sismiques et géodésiques visant à étudier la préparation du tremblement de terre de L'Aquila en Italie. Cet effort multidisciplinaire permettra de mieux comprendre la physique de la nucleation des tremblements de terre dans les failles continentales, qui présentent un risque sismique important.

Les activités seront les suivantes :
Détection et classification des signaux sismiques (y compris l'apprentissage machine non supervisé) produits avant des séismes importants.
- Développement et application de nouvelles méthodes de corrélation croisée du bruit ambiant pour la surveillance des variations temporelles des propriétés physiques de la zone de faille.
- Application de la géodésie à haute résolution pour résoudre les glissements sismiques et/ou autres forçages sur les failles.

Connaissance du système de type Linux.
Compétence en programmation pour l'analyse de grands ensembles de données géophysiques en python.

Contexte de travail

Le projet MONIFAULT ERC se concentre sur le "Suivi des défauts réels vers leur état critique".
Le but de ce projet est de développer de nouvelles techniques d'analyse et de classification des données sismologiques pour étudier l'évolution des contraintes dans les failles réelles. De plus, nous prévoyons d'inclure des observations géophysiques indépendantes comme le GPS et la variation de vitesse à partir de la corrélation du bruit ambiant pour mieux comprendre la dynamique des failles pendant le cycle sismique, avec un intérêt particulier pour la phase de préparation des grands tremblements de terre.
Le projet inclut des chercheurs du laboratoire ISTERRE de l'Université de Grenoble (www.isterre.fr), du Los Alamos National Laboratory, de l'Université de Californie du Sud et de l'Université de La Sapienza (ROME).

On en parle sur Twitter !