By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Title: PhD fellowship in High Resolution Mass Spectrometry applied to Cultural Heritage Tenure

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5248-CARTOK-002
Workplace : BORDEAUX
Date of publication : Thursday, September 26, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Pr Caroline Tokarski
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 December 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

-Title: PhD fellowship in High Resolution Mass Spectrometry applied to Cultural Heritage
Tenure: Three years
Project running title: Methodological developments based on high resolution mass spectrometry for the analysis of intact proteins, their crosslinking and breakdown in cultural heritage samples

Keywords of the project: high resolution mass spectrometry, intact protein analysis and top-down proteomics, protein crosslinking, cultural heritage, museum collections – i.e. artworks, archeological objects.

Objectives:
The analysis of Cultural Heritage samples is crucial for the understanding of artists' technique, the conservation and the preservation of artworks. The studied artworks are priceless and the sample size available for analysis is extremely low, thus requiring the development of the most efficient, informative and robust analytical methodologies.
The PhD project proposes to decipher the complexity of Cultural Heritage organic materials using unexplored developments in both chemistry and high resolution mass spectrometry (e.g. top down proteomics) to achieve structural information on the biological compounds (i.e. proteins) in their environments and to map their degradation state. One of the challenges is linked to the chemical decoding of the organic molecular network. Applied to the study of artworks, this information will have a major impact on the understanding of artworks' construction, composition and degradation, and will aid in determining preservation conditions (conservation treatment and storage).
This proposed research will exploit the latest technical developments in high-resolution mass spectrometry as well as alternative fragmentation modes (ETD, UVPD) for the study of intact or transformed biomolecules found in cultural heritage material.
The major objectives of this PhD project are the development and optimization of: (i) fully-adapted and original sample preparations tailored to the study of very small sample amounts (trace analysis), to circumvent the complex inorganic/organic nature of the formulated materials of interest and (ii) top down methods to study proteins modifications, breakdowns, cross-linkings and their relationship to the surrounding matrix made of mixtures of organic and inorganic compounds. To help in this complex task, development of customized software solutions will be proposed in collaboration with bioinformatics experts (local and European collaborations).
This PhD project will address specific questions about material manufacture or origin (i.e. to gain knowledge on the formulations of the master artists or societal information) and its degradation state (i.e. effect of particular conservation treatments).
The candidate will have to interact with art conservators, historians and archaeologists from the partners' museums within an interdiciplinary research environment.
The project will require careful development of activities for public engagement as well as writing scientific articles, papers, reports or books, as appropriate.

Work Context

Place of employment: The Institute of Chemistry and Biology of Membrane and NanoObjects (CBMN), UMR CNR 5248 (Director: S. Lecomte) and the Proteome Platform of Bordeaux (Director: C. Tokarski).
Environment: The project will benefit from the exceptional environment of the CNRS International Associated Laboratory ARCHE with The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, U.S.A. (Co-Directors: J. Arslanoglu, C. Tokarski, open in 2019).
Expertise of the laboratory team and platform: “Omics” developments based on high-end technologies applied to various fields (biology, chemistry, medicine, pharmaceutical science, plant science, environment, cultural heritage) from sample preparation (in-gel/ off-gel separation) to (bio)macromolecular identification, targeted/non-targeted quantitative analysis and intact protein characterization using top-down analysis. Website: https://proteome.cgfb.u-bordeaux.fr/en/proteome. Considering Cultural Heritage: head of cross-disciplinary projects (e.g. European JPI-JHEP LeadART 2014-2018), partner of European networks (ETN TEMPERA 2017-2021, ETN PUSHH 2020-2024, IPERION HS 2020-2023), organization of the 1st School and Symposium on Advanced Mass Spectrometry Applied to Cultural Heritage (17-21 June 2019, Palais de la Bourse, Bordeaux) involving a consortium of pioneer researchers in the field (https://www.hrms-heritage2019.org/; http://bss-appliedchemistry.u-bordeaux.fr/en/Bordeaux-Summer-Schools/r969.html).
Equipment available: For analysis: 2 x NanoLC-U3000 RSLC (peptides and proteins)-nanoESI-Orbitrap Fusion Lumos (1 million FWHM; FAIMS; UVPD, ETD, HCD, CID); NanoLC-U3000 RSLC nanoESI-Orbitrap Fusion Lumos (ETD, HCD, CID); MALDI (TRANSMIT AP SMALDI10)-Orbitrap QExactive; MALDI-TOF-TOF Ultraflex III equiped with high mass detector. For method optimization: NanoLC nanoESI-Orbitrap XL (HCD, CID); NanoLC Q-TOF Premier; NanoLC Q-TRAP 5500; Bioinformatic platform: Proteome Discoverer, PEAKS, ProSight PC, MaxQuant, ProteinScape, Byonics and home-made software developed with the Bioinformatic Platform; Equipments for dedicated sample preparation (extraction, purification, quantification).
e « home-made » développés avec l'équipe bioinformatique; Equipement pour la préparation d'échantillon (extraction, purification, quantification).

Constraints and risks

NA

Additional Information

Essential Experience and Skills
Essential skills and experience include:
- Chemistry or biochemistry background
- Demonstrated knowledge of analytical chemistry, in particular, mass spectrometry techniques (theoretical and experimental).
- Demonstrated knowledge of protein (bio)chemistry and understanding of processes of protein degradation, both spontaneous and enzymatic.
- Knowledge of, and demonstrated experience in designing, implementing, and optimizing: (i) analytical methods for protein characterisation, (ii) biochemical methodologies for sample preparation for protein analysis.
- Demonstrated experience in tandem MS-based proteomics data generation and analysis is a valued plus.
- Demonstrated experience in interpretation and analysis of MS/MS data, protein sequence reconstruction and statistical validation of the results is a valued plus.
- Ability to comfortably work in a highly interdisciplinary environment with colleagues with different scientific and non-scientific backgrounds

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Thèse de doctorat en spectrométrie de masse de très haute résolution appliquée à l'analyse des échantillons du patrimoine culturel (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5248-CARTOK-002
Lieu de travail : BORDEAUX
Date de publication : jeudi 26 septembre 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Pr Caroline Tokarski
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 décembre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Titre du projet : Développements méthodologiques pour la spectrométrie de masse de très haute résolution et l'analyse de protéines intactes d'échantillons du patrimoine culturel, de leurs produits d'interaction et de dégradation.

Objectifs:
L'analyse des échantillons du patrimoine culturel est indispensable à la compréhension des techniques de l'artiste, à la restauration des œuvres ainsi qu'à leur conservation et préservation. Les œuvres d'art étudiées sont d'une grande valeur, culturelle comme matérielle, et les quantités d'échantillon disponible pour analyse sont de fait extrêmement réduites. L'ensemble de ces limitations oblige au développement de méthodes analytiques efficaces, sensibles, robustes et pertinentes.
Ce projet de thèse de doctorat propose d'étudier et de résoudre la complexité du matériel organique présent dans des échantillons du patrimoine culturel par le développement et le recours de techniques novatrices en chimie et en spectrométrie de masse de très haute résolution (p. ex. la protéomique « top-down »). Le but final de l'approche sera d'obtenir des certitudes structurales sur des protéines présentes dans les échantillons étudiés et de comprendre les interactions de ces macromolécules avec leur environnement (matrice organique / inorganique) ainsi que leur réticulation et voie de dégradation.
Appliqué à l'étude d'œuvres d'art, un tel décodage chimique aura un impact majeur sur la compréhension de l'édifice moléculaire d'une telle matrice complexe, donnant ainsi accès à sa composition et à ses voies de dégradation, et aidera à déterminer les conditions de restauration, de conservation et de stockage des œuvres étudiées.
Le cadre d'étude proposé exploitera les derniers développements techniques disponibles en spectrométrie de masse de très haute résolution comme les modes de fragmentation alternatifs (ETD, UVPD) permettant l'étude de ces macromolécules biologiques natives comme transformées.
Les objectifs de ce projet de thèse de doctorat sont essentiellement techniques et exploratoires. Ils nécessitent (i) le développement et l'optimisation de méthodes de préparation d'échantillons complexes en très faibles quantités (analyse de traces), (ii) le déploiement et l'optimisation de méthode d'analyse « Top-Down » pour l'étude de protéines entières, modifiés, tronquées, interagissant avec la matrice organique/inorganique de l'échantillon. Pour assister cette mise au point analytique complexe, des solutions logicielles personnalisées seront développées en collaboration avec des experts en bioinformatique (collaborations locales et européennes).
Ce projet de doctorat abordera des questions spécifiques liées à la fabrication, la transformation ou à l'origine des matières utilisées ainsi qu'à leur état de dégradation. Cet aspect permettra d'accroître nos connaissances dans les méthodes de formulation des maîtres d'art (dans le cas d'œuvres picturales) ou de générer des informations d'ordre sociétal (dans le cas de matériaux archéologiques).
Le candidat sélectionné devra logiquement interagir avec des restaurateurs, des historiens de l'art et des archéologues des musées et autres partenaires, en évoluant dans un environnement de recherche interdisciplinaire.

Mots-clés du projet : spectrométrie de masse de très haute résolution, analyse des protéines intactes et analyse protéomique « top-down », interaction et réticulation, patrimoine culturel, œuvres d'art, collections, objets archéologiques.

Contexte de travail

Situation du poste et environnement:

Lieu: Institut de chimie et de biologie des membranes et des nanoobjets(CBMN), UMR CNR 5248 (Directrice : S. Lecomte) et Plateforme Protéome de l'Université de Bordeaux (Directrice: C. Tokarski).

Environnement: Ce projet de thèse bénéficie de l'environnement exceptionnel du Laboratoire International Associé CNRS LIA ARCHE ouvert en 2019 avec The Metropolitan Museum of Art de New York, U.S.A. (Co-Direction: J. Arslanoglu et C. Tokarski).

Expertise du laboratoire et de la plateforme : Développements "Omics" basés sur des technologies de dernière génération appliquées à divers domaines (biologie, chimie, médecine, science pharmaceutique, sciences végétales, environnement, patrimoine culturel) de la préparation de l'échantillon (séparation in-gel/hors gel) à l'identification macromoléculaire, l'analyse quantitative ciblée/non ciblée et la caractérisation des protéines intactes par analyse « Top-Down ». Site Web : https://proteome.cgfb.u-bordeaux.fr/en/proteome.
Concernant le patrimoine culturel : responsable de projets transdisciplinaires (par exemple Européen JPI-JHEP LeadART 2014-2018), partenaire des réseaux européens (ETN TEMPERA 2017-2021, ETN PUSHH 2020-2024, IPERION HS 2020-2023), organisateur des premières École et Symposium sur la spectrométrie de masse avancée appliquée au patrimoine culturel (17-21 juin 2019, Palais de la Bourse, Bordeaux) engageant un consortium de chercheurs pionniers dans le domaine (https://www.hrms-heritage2019.org/; http://bss-appliedchemistry.u-bordeaux.fr/en/Bordeaux-Summer-Schools/r969.html)

Plateforme technique et équipement :
Pour l'analyse : 2 x NanoLC-U3000 RSLC - nanoESI-Orbitrap Fusion Lumos (1 million FWHM; FAIMS; UVPD, ETD, HCD, CID); NanoLC-U3000 RSLC nanoESI-Orbitrap Fusion Lumos (ETD, HCD, CID); MALDI (TRANSMIT AP SMALDI10) - Orbitrap QExactive; MALDI-TOF-TOF Ultraflex III +détecteur de haute masse.
Pour l'optimisation de méthodes : NanoLC nanoESI-Orbitrap XL (HCD, CID); NanoLC Q-TOF Premier; NanoLC Q-TRAP 5500; Plateforme bioinformatique: Proteome Discoverer, PEAKS, ProSight PC, MaxQuant, ProteinScape, Byonics et software « home-made » développés avec l'équipe bioinformatique; Equipement pour la préparation d'échantillon (extraction, purification, quantification).

Contraintes et risques

N/A

Informations complémentaires

Qualifications:

Expérience et compétences essentielles
- Cursus/Formation en chimie ou en biochimie
- Connaissance démontrée en chimie analytique, en particulier en spectrométrie de masse (théoriques et expérimentales).
- Connaissance démontrée en analyse de protéine (bio)chimie et compréhension des processus de dégradation des protéines, enzymatiques comme non-enzymatiques.
- Connaissance et expérience démontrées dans la conception, la mise en œuvre et l'optimisation : (i) de méthodes analytiques pour la caractérisation des protéines, (ii) de méthodologies pour la préparation et l'analyse d'échantillons protéiques.
- Connaissance des mécanismes de fragmentation des protéines et des peptides dans des expériences de spectrométrie de masse en tandem.
- Connaissance dans l'interprétation de spectres MS-MS, l'élucidation de séquence et l'analyse statistique des résultats.

Expérience et compétences supplémentaires
- Connaissance en restauration et en conservation des œuvres du patrimoine.
- Capacité de travailler dans un environnement hautement interdisciplinaire avec des collègues d'horizons scientifiques et non scientifiques différents.
- Intérêt fort ou démontré pour l'art et la préservation des pièces du patrimoine culturel.

Autres compétences
- Bonnes capacités de communication, à l'oral comme à l'écrit, en français comme en anglais.
- Intégrité, motivation, organisation et travail collaboratif.
- Expérience en bioinformatique, analyse statistique de grands ensembles de données.

Eligibilité:
Processus de sélection:
• Pré-sélection sur CV.
• Entretien à distance (Skype) ou sur site.
• Critères utilisés pour la sélection du candidat : compétences détaillées ci-dessus.

On en parle sur Twitter !