By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Ph.D. thesis at the Chemistry/Biology interface

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5247-FRELAM-001
Workplace : MONTPELLIER
Date of publication : Friday, June 19, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Frédéric Lamaty/Séverine Chaumont-Dubel
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The objective of the EcoSero6TSA project, at the chemistry-biology interface, is to adapt an innovative sustainable tool in synthetic chemistry, mechanochemistry, for an application in medicinal chemistry. The goal is to allow the synthesis of molecules usable for the treatment of symptoms associated with autism spectrum disorders (ASD). Mechanochemistry allows chemical reactions to be carried out in the absence of an organic solvent by using mechanical forces. This approach, innovative in medicinal chemistry, will allow the rapid preparation of a library targeting the 5-HT6 receptor of serotonin, a promising therapeutic target for the treatment of ASD, currently insufficiently supported. Once the pharmacological properties of the newly synthesized molecules and their impact on the different receptor signaling pathways characterized in vitro and in vivo by cell biology, biochemistry and immunohistochemistry approaches, the most promising will be tested for their ability to treat the main and co-morbid symptoms in two preclinical mouse models of ASD with high translational value, the mice not expressing the opioid Mu receptor (Oprm1 - / -) or expressing a mutated form of the synaptic protein Shank-3 (Shank3 ∆ex13-16 - / -).

Work Context

The EcoSero6TSA project is funded by the iSITE MUSE (Montpellier University of Excellence) and is the subject of a collaboration between the Max Mousseron Institute of Biomolecules (IBMM), the Institute of Functional Genomics (IGF) and the Medical College of the Jagiellonian University in Krakow.
The research activities of the Max Mousseron Institute of Biomolecules (IBMM, https: //ibmm.umontpellier.fr) are located at the interface of chemistry and biology, focused on essential biomolecules and concern their design, their synthesis and their pharmacology. These biomolecules and their families of compounds are used as basic molecules in pharmacology for the study of the physiological and pathological mechanisms associated with them, they are also the essential precursor molecules of future drugs. At the same time, the applications of biomolecules cover vast fields such as cosmetology, food, veterinary industry and agro-chemistry which respect the environment and which are part of a framework of sustainable development (green chemistry). In this context, the Green Chemistry and Innovative Technologies team at IBMM (https://greenchem.cnrs.fr/) is dedicated to the realization and development of more environmentally friendly chemistry by calling on modern synthetic technologies such as mechanochemistry, continuous flow and microwaves. These approaches allow us the efficient and eco-responsible preparation of organic molecules, organometallic complexes and materials, using solvent-free approaches, alternative solvents and catalysis. The team notably acquired unique and pioneering expertise in organic and organometallic mechanosynthesis, at regional, national and international levels.
The Institute of Functional Genomics (IGF) of Montpellier (https://www.igf.cnrs.fr) is a fundamental research center whose research work focuses on cellular communication processes and cellular signaling, more particularly in the fields of neurobiology, cardiology, endocrinology and oncology. IGF is recognized worldwide for its past achievements in the field of G protein coupled receptors (GPCRs), in particular the glutamate and serotonin receptors.
The IGF is an institute offering all the technologies and infrastructure necessary for biochemistry, cell biology, and pharmacology experiments, as well as for physiological and behavioral studies. The IGF hosts and manages technological platforms open to the Montpellier scientific community, including a platform dedicated to virus production, a genomics platform, a small animal imaging platform, a proteomics platform and a pharmacological screening platform. and interactomics (Arpege platform). These platforms organize training sessions dedicated to users every year, thus offering a unique opportunity for training and knowledge transfer to students and researchers recruited at the start of their careers.
The thesis carried out in two internationally renowned institutes, the IBMM for the chemistry part (Frédéric Lamaty, Xavier Bantreil) and the IGF for biology (Séverine Chaumont-Dubel, Philippe Marin), will allow the candidate to '' acquire a solid multidisciplinary training, at the chemistry-biology interface and combining molecular and behavioral studies, which will be an important asset for his future career.

Constraints and risks

The thesis work will be carried out in two different laboratories in Montpellier.
In chemistry: Work in a fume hood. Mandatory wearing of a cotton blouse, protective glasses and gloves to prevent chemical risks.
In biology: work in a culture room and on animals, in laboratory anumal houses. Animal treatments may require occasional visits to the laboratory for a short period on weekends.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Thèse de doctorat à l'interface Chimie/Biologie (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5247-FRELAM-001
Lieu de travail : MONTPELLIER
Date de publication : vendredi 19 juin 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Frédéric Lamaty/Séverine Chaumont-Dubel
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Objectifs :
L'objectif du projet EcoSero6TSA, à l'interface chimie-biologie, est d'adapter un outil éco-compatible innovant en chimie de synthèse, la mécanochimie, pour une application en chimie médicinale. Le but est de permettre la synthèse de molécules utilisables pour le traitement des symptômes associés aux troubles du spectre autistique (TSA). La mécanochimie permet d'effectuer des réactions chimiques en l'absence de solvant organique en faisant appel à des forces mécaniques. Cette approche, novatrice en chimie médicinale, permettra la préparation rapide d'une chimiothèque ciblant le récepteur 5-HT6 de la sérotonine, cible thérapeutique prometteuse pour le traitement des TSA, actuellement insuffisamment pris en charge. Une fois les propriétés pharmacologiques des molécules nouvellement synthétisées et leur impact sur les différentes de voies de signalisation du récepteur caractérisés in vitro et in vivo par des approches de biologie cellulaire, biochimie et d'immunohistochimie, les plus prometteuses seront testées pour leur capacité à traiter les symptômes principaux et co-morbides dans deux modèles murins précliniques de TSA à forte valeur translationnelle, les souris n'exprimant pas le récepteur Mu des opioïdes (Oprm1-/-) ou exprimant une forme mutée de la protéine synaptique Shank-3 (Shank3∆ex13-16-/-).

Références des équipes, liées au projet :
1. Meffre J, Chaumont-Dubel S, Mannoury la Cour C, Loiseau F, Watson DJ, Dekeyne A, Séveno M, Rivet JM, Gaven F, Déléris P, Hervé D, Fone KC, Bockaert J, Millan MJ, Marin P. 5-HT(6) receptor recruitment of mTOR as a mechanism for perturbed cognition in schizophrenia. EMBO Mol Med. 2012, 4, 1043-1056.
2. Duhr F, Déléris P, Raynaud F, Séveno M, Morisset-Lopez S, Mannoury la Cour C, Millan MJ, Bockaert J, Marin P, Chaumont-Dubel S. Cdk5 induces constitutive activation of 5-HT6 receptors to promote neurite growth. Nat Chem Biol. 2014, 10, 590-7.
3. Dual 5-HT6 and D3 Receptor Antagonists in a Group of 1H-Pyrrolo[3,2-c]quinolines with Neuroprotective and Pro-cognitive Activity. Grychowska, K.; Chaumont-Dubel, S.; Kurczab, R.; Koczurkiewicz, P.; Deville, C.; Krawczyk, M.; Pietrus;, W.; Satała, G.; Buda, S.; Piska, K.; Drop, M.; Bantreil, X.; Lamaty, F.; Pękala, E.; Bojarski, A.; Popik, P.; Marin, P.; Zajdel, P. ACS Chem. Neurosci. 2019, 10, 3183-3196.
4. mTOR activation by constitutively active serotonin6 receptors as new paradigm in neuropathic pain and its treatment. Martin, P.-Y.; Doly, S.; Hamieh, A. L.; Chapuy, E.; Canale, V.; Drop, M.; Chaumont-Dubel, S.; Bantreil, X.; Lamaty, F.; Bojarski, A.; Zajdel, P.; Eschalier, A.; Marin, P.; Courteix, C. Progress in Neurobiology 2020: DOI : 10.1016/j.pneurobio.2020.101846
5. Efficient and sustainable synthesis of a potent and selective 5-HT7 receptor antagonist employing a mechanochemical approach. Canale, V.; Frisi, V; Bantreil, X.; Lamaty, F.; Zajdel, P. ChemRxiv 2020 : DOI : 10.26434/chemrxiv.12129390.v1

Une lettre de motivation, un CV, les relevés de notes et classements de M1 et M2 et des lettres de recommandation seront demandés.

Contexte de travail

Le projet EcoSero6TSA est financé par l'iSITE MUSE (Montpellier Université d'Excellence) et fait l'objet d'une collaboration entre l'Institut des Biomolécules Max Mousseron (IBMM), l'Institut de Génomique Fonctionnelle (IGF) et le Medical College de l'Université Jagellonne de Cracovie.
Les activités de recherche de l'Institut des Biomolécules Max Mousseron (IBMM, https ://ibmm.umontpellier.fr) se situent à l'interface de la chimie et de la biologie, centrées sur les biomolécules essentielles et concernent leur conception, leur synthèse et leur pharmacologie. Ces biomolécules et leurs familles de composés sont utilisées comme molécules de base en pharmacologie pour l'étude des mécanismes physiologiques et pathologiques qui leur sont associés, elles sont également les molécules essentielles précurseurs des futurs médicaments. Parallèlement, les applications des biomolécules couvrent de vastes domaines tels que la cosmétologie, l'agroalimentaire, l'industrie vétérinaire et l'agrochimie respectueuse de l'environnement et s'inscrivant dans un cadre de développement durable (chimie verte). Dans ce contexte, l'équipe Chimie Verte et Technologies Innovantes de l'IBMM (https://greenchem.cnrs.fr/) se consacre à la réalisation et au développement d'une chimie plus respectueuse de l'environnement en faisant appel à des technologies de synthèse modernes telles que la mécanochimie, le flux continu et les micro-ondes. Ces approches nous permettent la préparation efficace et éco-responsable de molécules organiques, de complexes organométalliques et de matériaux, en utilisant des approches sans solvant, des solvants alternatifs et la catalyse. L'équipe a notamment acquis une expertise unique et pionnière en mécanosynthèse organique et organométallique, aux niveaux régional, national et international.
L'Institut de Génomique Fonctionnelle (IGF) de Montpellier (https://www.igf.cnrs.fr) est un centre de recherche fondamentale dont les travaux de recherche portent sur les processus de communication cellulaire et la signalisation cellulaire, plus particulièrement dans les domaines de la neurobiologie, la cardiologie, l'endocrinologie et l'oncologie. L'IGF est reconnu dans le monde entier pour ses réalisations passées dans le domaine des récepteurs couplés aux protéines G (RCPG), en particulier les récepteurs du glutamate et de la sérotonine.
L'IGF est un institut offrant toutes les technologies et l'infrastructure nécessaires pour les expériences de biochimie, de biologie cellulaire, et de pharmacologie, ainsi que pour les études physiologiques et comportementales. L'IGF héberge et gère des plateformes technologiques ouvertes à la communauté scientifique montpelliéraine, incluant une plateforme dédiée à la production de virus, une plateforme de génomique, une plateforme d'imagerie du petit animal, une plateforme de protéomique et une plateforme de criblage pharmacologique et interactomique (plateforme Arpege). Ces plateformes organisent chaque année des formations dédiées aux utilisateurs, offrant ainsi une opportunité unique de formation et de transfert de connaissances aux étudiants et chercheurs recrutés en début de carrière.
La thèse réalisée dans deux instituts de renommée internationale, l'IBMM pour la partie chimie (Frédéric Lamaty, Xavier Bantreil) et l'IGF pour la biologie (Séverine Chaumont-Dubel, Philippe Marin), permettra au.à la candidat.e d'acquérir une solide formation pluridisciplinaire, à l'interface chimie-biologie et combinant des études moléculaires et comportementales, qui constituera un atout important pour sa future carrière.

Contraintes et risques

Les travaux de thèse seront réalisés dans deux laboratoires différents de Montpellier.
En chimie : Travail sous hotte aspirante. Port obligatoire d'une blouse en coton, de lunettes de protection et de gants pour prévenir des risques chimiques.
En biologie : travail en salle de culture et sur des animaux, en animalerie. Les traitements des animaux peuvent nécessiter de façon très occasionnelle la venue au laboratoire sur une courte période le week-end.

On en parle sur Twitter !