By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD - Guided Data Exploration : Formalization, Algorithms and Validation H/F

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5217-SIHAME-002
Workplace : GRENOBLE
Date of publication : Thursday, September 05, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Sihem Amer-Yahia
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 November 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

This PhD proposal is in the context of a European Project INODE – Intelligent Open Data Exploration.
The core principle of INODE is that users should interact with data in a more dialectic and intuitive way similar to a dialog with a human. To achieve this principle, INODE will offer a suite of agile, fit-for-purpose and sustainable services for exploration of data sets that help users (a) link and leverage multiple datasets, (b)access and search data using natural language, using examples and using analytics (c) get guidance from the system in understanding the data and formulating the right queries, and (d) explore data and discover new insights through visualizations.

The topic of this PhD is to develop a formalization, algorithms and a validation for guided exploration to help users reach their goal. Users differ from each other in their knowledge of the data and their technical level that determines the way they will explore data.

This work will be in collaboration with three use case providers: (a) Cancer Biomarker Research - SIB
Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics, Switzerland, (b) Research and Innovation Policy Making - SIRIS, Spain, and (c) Astrophysics - Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Germany. The candidate will develop a general framework consisting of the following tasks:
1. Formalization: Data Access and Exploration Operators, Exploration Framework.
2. Algorithms: Fully and partially-Guided Exploration
3. Validation: Use Cases with various goals

Work Context

The Laboratoire d'Informatique de Grenoble (www.liglab.fr) is a research unit in fundamental and applied computing. Organized into 24 research teams, it brings together nearly 500 users (researchers, doctoral students, support staff and trainees). It is under the supervision of the CNRS, Grenoble INP and the University of Grenoble Alpes.
It is located on the St Martin D'Hères campus in a building that houses three other mixed units. Nine teams are shared with INRIA, including five housed in Montbonnot and two on the scientific peninsula.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorant - Exploration de données guidée: formalisation, algorithmes et validation H/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5217-SIHAME-002
Lieu de travail : GRENOBLE
Date de publication : jeudi 5 septembre 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Sihem Amer-Yahia
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 novembre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Le principe fondamental d'INODE est que les utilisateurs doivent interagir avec les données de manière plus dialectique et intuitive.
Pour réaliser ce principe, INODE proposera une suite de solutions agiles, adaptées aux besoins et services durables pour l'exploration d'ensembles de données aidant les utilisateurs (a) à relier et à exploiter plusieurs ensembles de données, (b)accéder aux données et les rechercher en utilisant le langage naturel, en utilisant des exemples et en utilisant des outils d'analyse (c) se faire guider par le système pour comprendre les données et formuler les bonnes requêtes, et (d) explorer les données à travers des visualisations.

Le sujet de cette thèse est de développer une formalisation, des algorithmes et une validation pour une exploration guidée qui aide les utilisateurs à atteindre leur objectif. Les utilisateurs diffèrent les uns des autres par leur connaissance des données et leur niveau technique qui détermine la façon dont ils vont explorer les données.

Ce travail sera réalisé en collaboration avec trois fournisseurs de cas d'utilisation: (a) Recherche sur les biomarqueurs du cancer - SIB
Institut suisse de bioinformatique, Suisse, (b) Élaboration d'une politique de recherche et d'innovation - SIRIS, Espagne, et c) Astrophysique - Institut Max Planck de physique extraterrestre, Allemagne. Le candidat sera chargé de développer un cadre général comprenant les tâches suivantes:
1. Formalisation: Opérateurs d'exploration et d'accès aux données, cadre d'exploration.
2. Algorithmes: Exploration entièrement et partiellement guidée
3. Validation: Cas d'utilisation ayant différents objectifs

Contexte de travail

Le Laboratoire d'Informatique de Grenoble (www.liglab.fr) est une unité de recherche dans l'informatique fondamentale et appliquée. Organisée en 24 équipes de recherche, il rassemble près de 500 utilisateurs (chercheurs, doctorants, personnels supports et stagiaires). Il a comme tutelles le CNRS, Grenoble INP et l'Université Grenoble Alpes.
Il est situé sur le campus de St Martin D'Hères dans un bâtiment qui accueille trois autres unités mixtes. Neuf équipes sont communes avec INRIA, dont cinq hébergées à Montbonnot et deux sur la presqu'île scientifique.

On en parle sur Twitter !