By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

(H/F) PhD position at both CNRS and Université Grenoble Alpes 'Adaptation and flexibility of human speech to geolinguistic variations: the case of Spanish whistled speech in a learning context'

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5216-CHRROM-012
Workplace : ST MARTIN D HERES
Date of publication : Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Julien MEYER / Elisabetta CARPITELLI / Fanny MEUNIER
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 December 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Offer of a 3-year CNRS doctoral contract as part of the CNRS 80 Prime 'GeoTeleLing' project on the production and perception of whistled speech in several languages. It is a project involving the collaboration of research teams from the Gipsa-lab laboratory (Grenoble, France), the BCL laboratory (Nice, France) and several associative and university partners in the Canary Islands (Spain)
The thesis should provide a detailed analysis of the Spanish whistled speech of the Canaries with a new angle by combining several of the following themes: learning, geolinguistic variations, adaptations in production and perception.
The subject of the thesis will be adapted to the profile of the successful candidate.

In general, the framework project in which the thesis is written studies how a rare natural telecommunication system which is also one of the multiple modes of expression of human speech called 'whistled speech' adapts finely to dialectal variations several languages (including Spanish spoken in different Canary Islands). A comparative study between speech modalities (mainly modal and whistled) will be conducted at the production level; this will be crossed with perceptual behavioral experiences. These analyzes will be carried out with participants in the context of revitalization in different dialectal varieties of Spanish. This will help to elucidate the respective influence of linguistic and perceptual factors on the development of whistled speech and how it can be transmitted from one language to another (there are historical links between Canarian whistled Spanish and Berber once spoken in this region, as well as plans to adapt this modality of speech to other languages, such as French).

Scientific area and themes:
Phonetics, phonology, geolinguistics, dialectology, psycholinguistics, acoustics, didactics

Work Context

The project is based on University, CNRS and international collaborations established over the past 15 years by the project leader Julien Meyer (CR CNRS, Gipsa-lab, UMR 5216, Linguistic Systems Dialectology and Orality team - SYLDO, Grenoble) who will co-supervise the thesis with Elisabetta Carpitelli (PR Université Grenoble Alpes, Gipsa-lab, Equipe SYLDO) and Fanny Meunier (DR CNRS, Laboratoire Bases Corpus Langage, UMR 7320, Nice).

The thesis will be attached to the doctoral school Languages Literature and Human Sciences (LLSH) of the University of Grenoble Alpes (with the possibility of setting up a joint supervision with Spain in the event of a Spanish candidate). This doctoral school represents research in the field of literature, languages, language, didactics and communication.

Constraints and risks

The data collection work will be carried out in the field, coordinated by Julien Meyer and the associative partners engaged in the revitalization of the Spanish whistled speech on several Canary Islands. One or more field missions to the Canaries are expected, ranging from a few weeks to several months (depending on the needs of the subject selected and the profile of the doctoral student).
Travel to Nice will be expected because the thesis will be co-supervised by Fanny Meunier, psycholinguist from the BCL laboratory in Nice.


SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:
Expected skills:
Training: Master level (language sciences, education sciences, cognitive sciences, psycholinguistics, acoustics, ...)

The candidate must hold an equivalent to master's degree in language sciences, cognitive sciences (linguistic option), and possibly educational sciences combined with in-depth experience related to research on language. The position requires solid knowledge of linguistics (phonetics, phonology). Experience in audio and video documentation would be a plus. Experience in field research too. A good knowledge of acoustics and / or psycholinguistics also (multidisciplinary training).
A good knowledge in statistics is required (in particular R language), knowledge in computer programming tools such as Python or Matlab would be a plus.
Good oral and written communication skills for presentations at congresses or seminars are required, as well as for writing articles in scientific journals. Fluent in English would be a plus, a good knowledge of Spanish is highly recommended.

We are looking for a researcher who will be able to get involved this his project, curious, with a certain autonomy and a strong motivation to develop skills in geolinguistics and psycholinguistics. In addition, the candidate must be able to work in a team on multidisciplinary projects.

Applications must include a detailed CV (including list of publications); at least two references (people likely to be contacted); a one page cover letter; a letter of recommendation from a training supervisor; a one-page summary of the master's thesis; the notes of Master 1 or 2 or other training.
The deadline for sending applications is 07/30/2020.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

(H/F) offre de thèse - Doctorat double tutelle CNRS et Université Grenoble Alpes 'Adaptation et flexibilité de la parole humaine aux variations géolinguistiques : le cas de la parole sifflée espagnole en contexte d'apprentissage'

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5216-CHRROM-012
Lieu de travail : ST MARTIN D HERES
Date de publication : mardi 23 juin 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Julien MEYER / Elisabetta CARPITELLI / Fanny MEUNIER
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 décembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Offre de contrat doctoral CNRS de 3 ans dans le cadre du projet CNRS 80 Prime 'GeoTeleLing' portant sur la production et la perception de la parole sifflée dans plusieurs langues. Il s'agit d'un projet impliquant la collaboration d'équipes de recherche du laboratoire Gipsa-lab (Grenoble, France), du laboratoire BCL (Nice, France) et de plusieurs partenaires associatifs et universitaires aux Canaries (Espagne)
La thèse devra fournir une analyse détaillée de la parole sifflée espagnole des Canaries avec un angle nouveau en combinant plusieurs des thématiques suivantes : apprentissage, variations géolinguistiques, adaptations en production et perception.
Le sujet de la thèse sera adapté au profil du/de la candidat(e) retenu(e))
D'une manière générale, le projet cadre dans lequel la thèse s'inscrit étudie comment un rare système de télécommunication naturel qui est aussi un des multiples modes d'expression de la parole humaine appelé 'parole sifflée' s'adapte finement aux variations dialectales de plusieurs langues (dont l'espagnol parlé dans différentes îles des Canaries). Une étude comparative entre modalités de la parole ( modale et sifflée principalement) sera menée au niveau de la production ; celle-ci sera croisée avec des expériences perceptives comportementales. Ces analyses seront menées auprès de participants ayant en contexte de revitalisation dans différentes variétés dialectales de l'espagnol. Ceci permettra d'élucider l'influence respective des facteurs linguistiques et perceptifs sur l'évolution de la parole sifflée t comment il peut se transmettre d'une langue à une autre (il existe des liens historiques entre l'espagnol sifflé des Canaries et le berbère parlé autrefois dans cette région, ainsi que des projets d'adaptation de cette modalité de la parole à d'autres langues, comme le français).

Domaine et thématiques scientifiques :
Phonétique, phonologie, géolinguistique, dialectologie, psycholinguistique, acoustique, didactique

Contexte de travail

Le projet s'appuie sur des collaborations Universitaires, CNRS et internationales établies ces 15 dernières années par le porteur Julien Meyer (CR CNRS, Gipsa-lab, UMR 5216, équipe Systèmes Linguistiques Dialectologie et Oralité –SYLDO, Grenoble) qui co-encadrera la thèse avec Elisabetta Carpitelli (PR Université Grenoble Alpes, Gipsa-lab, Equipe SYLDO) et Fanny Meunier (DR CNRS, Laboratoire Bases Corpus Langage, UMR 7320, Nice).

La thèse sera rattachée à l'école doctorale Langues Littérature et Sciences Humaines (LLSH) de l'Université Grenoble Alpes (avec la possibilité de montage d'une cotutelle avec l'Espagne en cas de candidat espagnol). Cette école doctorale représente la recherche dans le domaine des lettres, des langues, du langage, de la didactique et de la communication.

Contraintes et risques

Le travail de collecte de données sera réalisé sur le terrain, coordonné par Julien Meyer et les partenaires associatifs engagés dans la revitalisation de la parole sifflée espagnole sur plusieurs îles des Canaries. Une ou plusieurs missions de terrain aux Canaries sont à prévoir, allant de quelques semaines à plusieurs mois (en fonction des besoins du sujet retenu et du profil du doctorant).
Des déplacements à Nice seront à prévoir car la thèse sera codirigée par Fanny Meunier, psycholinguiste du laboratoire BCL de Nice.


INFORMATIONS COMPLéMENTAIRES:

Compétences attendues :
Formation : Niveau master (sciences du langage, sciences de l'éducation, sciences cognitives, psycholinguistique, acoustique,…)

Le candidat devra être titulaire d'un diplôme équivalent master en sciences du langage, sciences cognitives (option linguistique), et éventuellement sciences de l'éducation doublée d'une expérience approfondie liée à la recherche sur le langage. Le poste nécessite de solides connaissances en linguistique (phonétique, phonologie). Une expérience en documentation audio et vidéo serait un plus. Une expérience en recherche de terrain aussi. Une bonne connaissance de l'acoustique et/ou la psycholinguistique aussi (formation pluridisciplinaire).
Une bonne maitrise des statistiques est demandée (en particulier langage R), la maitrise d'outils informatiques de programmation tels que Python ou Matlab serait un plus.
De bonnes aptitudes de communication orale et écrite pour des présentations à des congrès ou à des séminaires sont demandées, ainsi que pour rédiger des articles dans des revues scientifiques. Anglais courant serait un plus, une bonne maitrise de l'espagnol est vivement recommandée.

Nous recherchons un(e) chercheu(r)(se) qui saura s'impliquer dans son projet, curieu(x)(se), ayant une certaine autonomie et une forte motivation pour développer des compétences en géolinguistique et psycholinguistique. De plus, le/la candidat(e) devra être apte à travailler en équipe sur des projets pluridisciplinaires.

Les candidatures devront inclure un CV détaillé (y compris liste de publications) ; au moins deux références (personnes susceptibles d'être contactées) ; une lettre de motivation d'une page ; une lettre de recommandation d'un encadrant de stage; un résumé d'une page du mémoire de master ; les notes de Master 1 ou 2 ou autre formation).
La date limite pour l'envoi des candidatures est le 30/07/2020.

On en parle sur Twitter !