By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Study of engagement and its impact on embodiment in collaborative serious games (M/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5205-AUDSER-001
Workplace : VILLEURBANNE
Date of publication : Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Audrey Serna
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 September 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Keywords : behavioral analysis, engagement, collaborative serious game, embodiment, reflexivity, learning analytics.

Scientific context of the thesis:
Serious games are often designed without a deep reflection on the impact of the modalities proposed to participants to exchange, either on the perception of others or on communication skills. The BODEGA project, funded by ASLAN labex (https://aslan.universite-lyon.fr), aims to study the influence of embodiment on participants' social behaviours and engagement in a collaborative game designed to measure and/or develop soft skills. By comparing four interaction situations that vary the modalities through which participants can interact (chat, voice only, webcam) as well as the face-to-face / at distance aspect, we will observe the effects on the participants' engagement and on the interactional alignment processes in the interactions produced. The project is strongly interdisciplinary, between social sciences and computer sciences, and involves the SKILDER company, designer of the collaborative game, closely associated with the project in all its stages.

Scientific objectives of the project :

Engaged behaviours analysis. The first objective will be to model engaged behaviours for situations requiring many collaborative interactions, through various modalities (chat, video, etc.) based on understanding learner behaviours at both the individual and collaborative levels, and by considering the multiple dimensions of engagement (cognitive, behavioural, emotional). To this end, we will adopt a theory-grounded approach, relying on existing models in Psychology on learner engagement, motivation and learning strategies, to guide the collection and the analysis of appropriate data. We will have to combine the learning analytics approach with other methods issued from the conversational analysis domain to overcome the lack of information on collaborative processes from logs and thus to inform on learner engagement. 
Degrees of embodiment. The third objective is the main goal of BODEGA project. Once a diversity of situations has been closely analysed and described, we aim to cross our results under the question of embodiment, to eventually relate the enhancement/decrease of engagement, or of the interactional organisation to the modification of the modalities by which bodies can communicate with each other. Although the three partners each have their own research goal, the question of embodiment, its potentiality, its efficiency is a common matter that needs to be thought and discussed as a transdisciplinary object.
Design recommendations for situations improving soft skills development. The fourth objective of the BODEGA project deals with providing recommendations on the degree of embodiment and modalities to be implemented based on the interactional situation (face-to-face or at distance), the degree of users engagement required and the soft skills targeted for training. Design recommendations also include specifications of multimodal data gathering and aggregation (according to the modalities offered by the serious game) to provide reflexive indicators for the improvement of learners' reflexivity on their behaviour in the game and in fine the development of soft skills.


Objectives of the thesis:

● Material and questionnaires preparation and observation sessions.

● Multimodal data collection and synchronization (interaction traces, audio, vidéo) on players interaction during the game.

● behaviours and interaction analysis, specification of engagement models and markers of engaged behaviour for learning analytics techniques.

● Transdisciplinar analysis of embodiment in collaboration with ICAR laboratory (analysis of the way players perceive engagement as well as the multimodal co-construction of engagement in interaction and the experience of embodiment from the perception that others will have of players).

● Design recommendations on the thoughtful implementation of embodiment in serious games according to the socio-relational skills to be developed or the type of social interaction to be favoured.


Required skills :
● Data analysis, learning analytics
● Users behaviors modeling
● Skills or desire to undertake behavioural studies
● Strong interest in multi-disciplinary work, the game and gamification fields
• Good level in English

Applications should include:
• CV
• Motivation letter for the research topic
• Grades for Master 1 and 2 or equivalent
• 2 letter of recommendation

Work Context

The thesis will take place in the LIRIS laboratory, SICAL team composed of 9 permanent associate professors located in the Blaise Pascal building of the INSA of Lyon. The SICAL team proposes generic approaches, models and tools to improve the human capacity to interact, learn and adapt in context. To do so, it proposes iterative user-centred design methods. This research is mainly focused on Human-Computer Interaction.
The project (BODEGA) is funded by ASLAN labex (https://aslan.universite-lyon.fr). The project is strongly interdisciplinary, between social sciences (ICAR laboratory) and computer sciences (LIRIS laboratory), and involves the SKILDER company, designer of the collaborative game, closely associated with the project.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Analyse de l'engagement et impact sur l'embodiment dans un jeu sérieux collaboratif (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5205-AUDSER-001
Lieu de travail : VILLEURBANNE
Date de publication : mardi 23 juin 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Audrey Serna
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 septembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Mots-clés : analyse de comportements, engagement, jeu sérieux collaboratif, incarnation (embodiment), réflexivité, learning analytics.

Contexte scientifique de la thèse :

Les jeux sérieux sont souvent conçus sans véritable réflexion sur l'impact des modalités proposées aux participants pour échanger, que ce soit sur la perception des autres ou les capacités de communication. Le projet BODEGA, financé par le labex ASLAN (https://aslan.universite-lyon.fr), se donne pour objectif d'étudier l'influence de l'incarnation (embodiment) sur les comportements sociaux et l'engagement des participants dans un jeu collaboratif conçu pour mesurer et/ou développer les capacités socio-relationnelles (soft skills). En comparant quatre situations d'interaction faisant varier les modalités par lesquelles les participants peuvent échanger (chat, voix seule, webcam) ainsi que l'aspect présentiel/distanciel, nous observerons dans les interactions produites les effets sur l'engagement des participants. Le projet est fortement interdisciplinaire, entre SHS (Laboratoire ICAR) et informatique (laboratoire LIRIS), et associe l'entreprise SKILDER, conceptrice du jeu collaboratif, étroitement associée au projet dans toutes ses étapes.

Objectifs scientifiques du projet :

Analyse des comportements engagés. Le premier objectif est de modéliser les comportements engagés pour des situations nécessitant de nombreuses interactions collaboratives, à travers différentes modalités (chat, vidéo, etc.) en se basant sur la compréhension des comportements des apprenants aux niveaux individuel et collaboratif, et en considérant les multiples dimensions de l'engagement (cognitif, comportemental et émotionnel). Nous nous appuierons sur les modèles existants en psychologie cognitive sur l'engagement, la motivation et les stratégies d'apprentissage des apprenants, pour guider la collecte et l'analyse des données. Nous combinerons également les approches de learning analytics avec d'autres méthodes issues du domaine de l'analyse conversationnelle en collaboration avec le laboratoire ICAR.

Degrés d'incarnation. Le principal objectif du projet BODEGA est d'analyser l'impact de l'embodiment sur l'engagement et l'alignement conversationnel. Une fois les diverses situations analysées, nous croiserons les résultats pour étudier l'incarnation et son impact sur l'amélioration ou la diminution de l'engagement, de l'organisation interactionnelle et la modification des modalités par lesquelles les corps peuvent communiquer les uns avec les autres. Recommandations pour la conception d'environnements pour développer les soft skills. Le

dernier objectif du projet BODEGA consiste à fournir des recommandations sur le degré d'embodiment et les modalités à mettre en œuvre en fonction de la situation interactionnelle (face à face ou à distance), le degré d'engagement des utilisateurs requis et les compétences générales ciblées pour la formation. Les recommandations de conception incluent également des spécifications de collecte et d'agrégation de données multimodales (selon les modalités offertes par le serious game) pour fournir des indicateurs réflexifs pour l'amélioration de la réflexivité des apprenants sur leur comportement dans le jeu et in fine le développement des soft skills.

Objectifs de la thèse :

● Elaboration de questionnaires et passation d'expérimentation.

● Collecte et agrégation de données multimodales (traces d'interaction, audio, vidéo) sur les interactions des joueurs dans le jeu.

● Analyse des comportements engagés des joueurs à partir de ces données agrégées et construction d'un modèle d'engagement.

● Analyse transdisciplinaire de l'embodiment en collaboration avec le laboratoire ICAR (analyse de la façon dont les joueurs perçoivent l'engagement ainsi que la co-construction multimodale de l'engagement dans l'interaction et l'expérience de l'incarnation à partir de la perception que les autres auront des joueurs).

● Proposition de recommandations pour le design de jeu sérieux et la construction d'indicateurs réflexifs.

Compétences attendues :

● Analyse de données, learning analytics

● Modélisation de comportements utilisateurs

● Compétences ou intérêt pour la conduite d'expérimentations

● Intérêt fort pour la psychologie cognitive, le travail pluridisciplinaire, et le domaine du jeu

● Bon niveau en Anglais

Les candidatures devront comporter :

● Un CV

● Une lettre de motivation pour le sujet de recherche concerné

● Les relevés de notes de Master 1 et 2

● Deux recommandations

Contexte de travail

La thèse se déroulera au sein du laboratoire LIRIS, équipe SICAL qui regroupe 9 enseignants-chercheurs permanents et se situe au bâtiment Blaise Pascal de l'INSA de Lyon. L'équipe SICAL propose des approches, modèles et outils génériques pour améliorer la capacité de l'humain à interagir, apprendre et s'adapter en contexte. Pour cela, elle propose des méthodes de conception itératives centrées utilisateurs. Ces travaux se situent principalement en Interaction Homme Machine.
Le projet (BODEGA) dans lequel s'inscrit la thèse est financé par le labex ASLAN (https://aslan.universite-lyon.fr). Le projet est fortement interdisciplinaire, entre SHS (Laboratoire ICAR) et informatique (laboratoire LIRIS), et associe l'entreprise SKILDER, conceptrice du jeu collaboratif, étroitement associée au projet.

On en parle sur Twitter !