By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Evolutionary adaptation of plants through the lens of ecological theories: an experimental test in

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5175-CYRVIO-003
Workplace : MONTPELLIER
Date of publication : Friday, August 23, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Cyrille Violle et François Vasseur
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Experimental evolution combined with modern genomic tools provides a great opportunity to examine the dynamics and strength of selection in real time as well as to test the validity of prominent ecological hypotheses. For instance, a paradigm in functional ecology is that plants cannot simultaneously be efficient at certain tasks, such as acquiring and conserving resources, or be both competitive and stress tolerant. These constraints are reflected by functional trade-offs between traits observed across large taxonomic scales. However, the role of these trade-offs on the rapid adaptation and differentiation of populations within species remains to be elucidated. The 'AraBreed' project, led by Cyrille Violle and funded by ANR and DFG, aims at exploring the evolution of functional trade-offs under contrasted environments. As part of the AraBreed project, the PhD candidate will monitor the evolution of the model plant Arabidopsis thaliana over several generations in four environments, which differ in resource availability (nutrient and water), and herbivores abundance. Each experimental population consists of 17,500 recombinant lines, previously generated from 350 random crosses between 400 natural and fully sequenced natural accessions. This has the advantage of breaking up ancestral gene complexes and recreating phenotypes thought to be purged by natural selection. Experimental populations are replicated seven times per environment (28 populations for 500,000 genotypes in total). The project begun in 2017, so the candidate will start at the third generation of evolution. Each year (generation), multiple samples will be collected to perform population genetic analysis with pool-seq, and plant traits involved in major functional trade-offs will be phenotyped. During his/her PhD, the candidate will assess the evolution of functional traits and trade-offs, and he/she will study the underlying allelic changes by genomic analysis.

Work Context

A three-year PhD position at the interface of functional ecology and evolutionary genomics is available at the Centre for Functional and Evolutionary Ecology (CEFE, CNRS, Montpellier, France; https://www.cefe.cnrs.fr/fr/). The CEFE is currently the largest French research center in ecology and evolution. The PhD position is co-funded by the French Research Agency (ANR) and the German Research Foundation (DFG). It will be co-supervised by Cyrille Violle and Francois Vasseur (CEFE), in close collaboration with Denis Vile (INRA Montpellier, France) and Niek Scheepens (University of Tübingen, Germany). Stays in Tübingen are planned for direct interactions, as well as to perform experiments and analyses.

Constraints and risks

NA

Additional Information

PhD position funded by the French Research Agency (ANR)

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Thèse en écologie fonctionnelle et évolutive (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5175-CYRVIO-003
Lieu de travail : MONTPELLIER
Date de publication : vendredi 23 août 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Cyrille Violle et François Vasseur
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Contraintes fonctionnelles sur l'adaptation des plantes : évaluation expérimentale chez Arabidopsis thaliana

L'évolution expérimentale combinée aux outils modernes de la génomique offre une excellente opportunité pour examiner les dynamiques évolutives en temps réel, ainsi que pour tester la validité de certaines hypothèses majeures de l'écologie. Par exemple, un paradigme de l'écologie fonctionnelle est que les plantes ne peuvent pas simultanément être efficaces dans différentes tâches, comme acquérir et conserver les ressources, ou être à la fois compétitives et tolérantes au stress. Ces contraintes sont reflétées par des compromis fonctionnels observés à de grandes échelles taxonomiques. Cependant, le rôle de ces compromis sur l'adaptation rapide et la différenciation des populations au sein des espèces reste à élucider. Le projet "AraBreed", mené par Cyrille Violle vise à explorer l'évolution des compromis fonctionnels dans des environnements contrastés. Dans le cadre du projet AraBreed, le doctorant suivra l'évolution de la plante modèle Arabidopsis thaliana sur plusieurs générations dans quatre milieux, qui diffèrent par la disponibilité des ressources (nutriments et eau) et l'abondance des herbivores. Chaque population expérimentale se compose de 17 500 lignées recombinantes, précédemment générées à partir de 350 croisements aléatoires entre 400 accessions naturelles et entièrement séquencées. Ceci a l'avantage de briser les complexes génétiques ancestraux et de recréer des phénotypes que l'on croit éliminés par la sélection naturelle. Les populations expérimentales sont reproduites sept fois par environnement (28 populations pour 500 000 génotypes au total). Le projet a commencé en 2017. Par conséquent, le/la candidat(e) commencera à la troisième génération d'évolution. Chaque année (génération), de multiples échantillons seront prélevés pour effectuer une analyse génétique des populations en cours d'évolution, et les caractères phénotypiques impliqués dans les principaux compromis fonctionnels seront mesurés. Au cours de son doctorat, le/la candidat(e) évaluera l'évolution des traits fonctionnels et des compromis et étudiera les changements alléliques sous-jacents par analyse génomique.

Contexte de travail

Une thèse de trois ans à l'interface de l'écologie fonctionnelle et évolutive est disponible au Centre d'Ecologie Fonctionnelle et Evolutive (CEFE, CNRS, Montpellier, France; https://www.cefe.cnrs.fr/fr/). Le CEFE est actuellement le plus grand centre de recherche français en écologie et évolution. La thèse sera encadrée par Cyrille Violle et Francois Vasseur (CEFE), en étroite collaboration avec Denis Vile (INRA Montpellier, France) et Niek Scheepens (Université de Tübingen, Germany). Des séjours à Tübingen sont prévus pour réaliser une partie des expérimentations et des analyses.

Contraintes et risques

NA

Informations complémentaires

Thèse financé par le projet ANR ARABREED

On en parle sur Twitter !