By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD in theoretical physics: “New ideas in the search for dark matter” (H/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5108-PASSER-003
Workplace : ANNECY LE VIEUX
Date of publication : Thursday, April 02, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Pasquale Dario Serpico
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Despite overwhelming evidence for dark matter (DM) from gravitational probes, its nature remains a mystery. Direct, indirect and collider searches of the most popular candidates (so-called WIMPs) have come empty-handed till now. This can be 'simply' due to the fact that the WIMP particles have been kinematically out of reach, or to the fact that the main paradigm has to be deeply changed. The goals of the thesis are twofold: i) Scrutinizing the space left for WIMP DM matter with current telescopes and provide accurate predictions for the sensitivity of future instruments to DM signals. ii) Developing the reach for constraints on or detection possibilities of exotic signals, notably with multi-wavelength and multi-messenger observations (including the newly opened gravitational wave window).

Work Context

We are looking for candidates to a 3-years PhD position at LAPTh (Annecy, France), starting in Fall 2020, within an international collaboration program between CNRS and the University of Chicago. The chosen candidate will join the LAPTh astroparticle and cosmology group (F. Calore, P. Salati, P. Serpico, R. Taillet, plus postdocs and students), but will develop part of his/her research in collaboration with Prof. D. Hooper and his group at the University of Chicago (USA), which the candidate is expected to visit regularly. Interactions with the particle physics group at LAPTh, the LSST cosmology groups at LAPP (Annecy) and LPSC (Grenoble), LUPM (Montpellier) and the Virgo gravitational wave group at LAPP (Annecy) are also foreseen.

Constraints and risks

None

Additional Information

Candidates must submit the following documents exclusively through this website

1. CV, copy of study certificates (Bachelor, Master, if available, otherwise to be obtained before the starting date) and list of exams/grades.


2. Motivation Letter (describing the applicant's interest in the project and previous research experience/internships). Max 3 pages


One to two reference letters can be sent directly by the experts chosen by the candidate to the address: phd_astrocosmo@lapth.cnrs.fr


Please adopt the following header for the e-mails : "Letter for Surname, Name" (of the applicant).

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Thèse en physique théorique : “Nouvelles pistes dans la recherche de la matière noire” (H/F) - M/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5108-PASSER-003
Lieu de travail : ANNECY LE VIEUX
Date de publication : jeudi 2 avril 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Pasquale Dario Serpico
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Malgré les nombreuses preuves de l'existence de la matière noire (MN) provenant de sondes gravitationnelles, sa nature reste un mystère. Les recherches des candidats les plus populaires (appelés WIMP) sont restées les mains vides jusqu'à présent. Cela peut être «simplement» dû au fait que les particules WIMP ont été cinématiquement hors de portée ou au fait que le paradigme courant doit être changé en profondeur. Le sujet de thèse porte sur les deux volets suivants : i) Examiner l'espace restant pour la matière noire type WIMP avec les télescopes actuels et fournir des prévisions précises pour la sensibilité des futurs instruments à des signaux de MN. ii) Développer la portée des contraintes ou des possibilités de détection des signaux exotiques, notamment avec des observations multi-longueurs d'onde et multi-messagers.

Contexte de travail

Dans le cadre d'un programme de collaboration entre le CNRS et l'Université de Chicago, nous recherchons des candidats pour un contrat doctoral de trois ans au LAPTh (Annecy, France) à partir de l'automne 2020. Le candidat retenu rejoindra le groupe LAPTh astroparticule et cosmologie (F. Calore, P. Salati, P. Serpico, R. Taillet, ainsi que des post-doctorants et des étudiants) mais elle/il développera au moins en partie sa recherche en collaboration avec le groupe du Prof. D. Hooper à l'Univ. de Chicago (USA), où elle/il effectuera des visites régulières. Des interactions avec le groupe de physique des particules du LAPTh, les groupes de cosmologie du LSST au LAPP d'Annecy, du LPSC de Grenoble, du LUPM de Montpellier et le groupe d'ondes gravitationnelles Virgo au LAPP d'Annecy sont également envisagées.

Contraintes et risques

Aucune/aucun

Informations complémentaires

Le candidat doit soumettre les documents suivants que à travers ce site :


1. CV, copies des diplômes (Licence, Master) et examens/notes.


2. Lettre de motivation décrivant l'intérêt dans le poste et les experiences/stages de recherche du candidat (3 pages maximum)


Une à deux lettres de recommandation peuvent être envoyées directement par les experts choisis par le candidat à l'adresse : phd_astrocosmo@lapth.cnrs.fr


En-tête de courrier électronique pour les lettres : "Lettre du nom du demandeur, prénom du demandeur".

On en parle sur Twitter !