By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Chemical technologies for the valorization of industrial wastes

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5069-MONGOM-001
Workplace : TOULOUSE
Date of publication : Monday, April 06, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Prof. Montserrat GOMEZ
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 September 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

To illustrate how innovative methodologies can be applied in synthesis, this doctoral thesis project aims at the recovery of industrial wastes derived from the food industry and pesticides thanks to the design of new catalytic materials based on metals with high active surfaces, including abundant metals (e.g. Cu, Fe, Ni, Co) (Figure 1).
This project aims at the design and development of nanomaterials for applications in catalysis through the optimization of different parameters (nature of metal precursors, concentration, temperature, additives) with a particular interest in both the nature of the stabilizer (polymer, ligand) and support, towards enabling sustainable processes. In particular, the liquid phase-immobilized nanocatalysts will be prepared in solvents with negligible vapor pressures and low environmental impact (such as glycerol and derivatives, and choline-based ionic liquids) in order to immobilize the metallic species and thus avoid leaching, allowing their stabilization without deactivation.[1] Furthermore, we envisage strategies for catalyst heterogenization on solid supports in order to increase the efficiency of the catalytic materials by means of studying the synergies between catalyst and support, as well as their recyclability properties.[2] The new composite materials will be characterized both in solution and solid state by standard characterization techniques (TEM, HR-TEM, XPS, XRD, IR, ICP, elementary analysis, etc.).
These nanocatalysts will be applied for the transformation of raw materials arising from industrial wastes, in particular fats from the food industry, as well as lindane, a highly toxic organochlorine insecticide stored in large quantities in the Pyrenees area, towards products of interest. Thus, this PhD thesis will focus on the design of sustainable catalytic processes in terms of high atom economy and energy efficiency by means of boosting reaction kinetics and thus permitting to work at moderate temperatures. Moreover, the as-prepared catalytic systems will be used in multi-step cascade processes, comprising the activation of C-Cl bonds (coupling reactions) and hydrogenations[3],[4] for the production of products with high-added value, such as fatty amines and alcohols. Standard analytical techniques will be used for the evaluation of the catalytic reactions (GC, HPLC, MS, NMR).
This PhD project is part of the TRIPyr network funded by the Interreg-POCTEFA program, a European network gathering other students (doctoral students and post-docs) from different laboratories (ICIQ, Tarragona), as well as companies (SAPOVAL, Toulouse) and technology centers in France (MEPI, Toulouse) and Spain (AIN, Navarre). This framework will offer the candidate a multidisciplinary environment, both academic and industrial, with the possibility of making short stays in other laboratories of the network and actively participating in the meetings and activities planned during the three year PhD thesis, including science divulgation in collaboration with ECOCENE (Pau), the partner of the project in charge of communication and public engagement aspects of TRIPyr.
References
[1] a) I. Favier, D. Pla, M. Gómez, Chem. Rev. 2020, 120, 1146; b) T. Dang-Bao, D. Pla, I. Favier, M. Gómez, Catalysts 2017, 7, 207.
[2] T. A. G. Duarte, I. Favier, C. Pradel, L. M. D. R. S. Martins, A. P. Carvalho, D. Pla, M. Gómez, ChemCatChem, doi: 10.1002/cctc.201902305.
[3] A. Reina, I. Favier, C. Pradel, M. Gómez, Adv. Synth. Catal. 2018, 360, 3544.
[4] a) T. Dang-Bao, C. Pradel, I. Favier, M. Gómez, ACS Appl. Nano Mater. 2019, 2, 1033; b) T. Dang-Bao, C. Pradel, I. Favier, M. Gómez, Adv. Synth. Catal. 2017, 359, 2832.

Work Context

The LHFA (http://lhfa.cnrs.fr/index.php/en/), belonging to the Doctoral School of Sciences of Matter (http://www.edsdm.ups-tlse.fr/), is a joint laboratory of the National Center for Scientific Research and the University Toulouse 3 - Paul Sabatier (UMR 5069) in Toulouse (France), constituted by 5 research teams (16 researchers and professors, 9 technical engineers and administrative staff; ca.40 doctoral students, post-docts and master students per year). Research activities are centered on molecular chemistry of the elements of p-block, with transversal actions in the fields of organometallic chemistry, metallic nanoparticles, catalysis and polymers, including mechanistic studies. The SYMAC research team, led by M. Gómez and working on the design of metal-based (nano) catalysts for innovative processes, is interested in the application of catalytic materials in synthesis, involving a wide range of transformations, in particular one-pot multi-step processes (sequential/tandem processes). In teh last years, we have been interested in alternative solvents, with the concern of working under "homogeneous" conditions in an environment which can allow the stabilization of metallic species and their immobilization (ionic liquids, glycerol) and consequently promoting an easy recycling of the catalytic phase. We also develop original functionalized supports capable of immobilizing metallic nanoparticles. Understanding the observed reactivity is at the heart of our researches, leading us to in-depth mechanistic studies through reaction monitoring using different techniques (ReactIR, NMR, EPR, SAXS).
The LHFA offers a very dynamic and international framework (ca. 40% of foreign students), with cutting-edge research. The different teams have (inter)national collaborations, both academic and with industrial partners. The LHFA takes part in the organization of (inter)national conferences as well as Summer Schools, and it is involved in various dissemination activities.

Constraints and risks

For the realization of this thesis work, there are no particular risks or constraints, other than the standard ones corresponding to an experimental laboratory of synthesis and catalysis. General and specific safety trainings (related to the work to be developed) are implemented.

Additional Information

This doctoral program is aimed at highly qualified students with an enthusiastic interest in the design and development of sustainable processes, including fundamental studies and going as far as applications. Students must have solid knowledge in organic and inorganic chemistry, with a knowledge of spectroscopic techniques; acquaintance of materials chemistry will be appreciated.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Technologies chimiques pour la valorisation des résidus industriels (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5069-MONGOM-001
Lieu de travail : TOULOUSE
Date de publication : lundi 6 avril 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Prof. Montserrat GOMEZ
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 septembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Pour illustrer comment des méthodologies innovantes peuvent être appliqués en synthèse, ce projet de thèse doctorale vise la valorisation des déchets industriels liés à l'industrie agroalimentaire et aux pesticides grâce à la conception de nouveaux matériaux catalytiques à base de métaux avec de surfaces actives importantes, incluant des métaux abondants (e.g. Cu, Fe, Ni, Co).
Le développement de ce projet comporte l'élaboration de nanomatériaux pour des applications en catalyse dans un cadre de développement de processus durables via l'optimisation des différents paramètres (nature des précurseurs métalliques, concentration, température, additifs) avec un intérêt particulier sur la nature du stabilisant (polymère, ligand) et également du support. Notamment, les nano-catalyseurs immobilisés en phase liquide seront préparés dans des solvants présentant pressions de vapeur négligeables et à faible impact environnemental (tels que le glycérol et dérivés ou les liquides ioniques à base de choline), afin d'immobiliser les espèces métalliques et d'éviter ainsi leur lixiviation, permettant de les stabiliser sans désactivation.[1] En plus, des stratégies d'hétérogénéisation des catalyseurs sur des supports solides sont aussi envisagées avec l'objectif d'augmenter leur réutilisation de manière efficace et également étudier la synergie catalyseur-support.[2] Les nouveaux matériaux catalytiques seront caractérisés en solution et à l'état solide par un large éventail de techniques de caractérisation structurale (TEM, HR-TEM, XPS, XRD, IR, ICP, analyse élémentaire…).
Ces nano-catalyseurs seront appliqués dans des processus où les matières premières proviendront des déchets industriels, en particulier matières grasses issues du secteur agroalimentaire et le lindane, un insecticide organochloré hautement toxique stocké en grandes quantités, nécessitant d'une valorisation vers des produits à valeur ajoutée. Dans la cadre de cette thèse, le but est de concevoir des processus à haute économie d'atomes et d'énergie par voie catalytique, augmentant la cinétique des réactions et permettant ainsi de travailler à des températures modérées. Pour ce faire, les systèmes catalytiques préparés seront utilisés dans des processus multi-étapes en cascade, comportant l'activation des liaisons C-Cl (réactions de couplage) et hydrogénations[3],[4] pour la production des produits à valeur ajoutée, comme les amines et alcools gras. Des techniques analytiques seront employées pour l'évaluation des réactions catalytiques (GC, HPLC, MS, NMR).
Ce projet fait partie du réseau européen TRIPyr (financé par le programme Interreg-POCTEFA), où des autres étudiants (doctorants et post-docs) des différents laboratoires y seront impliqués (ICIQ, Tarragone), ainsi que d'entreprises (SAPOVAL, Toulouse) et centres technologiques de France (MEPI, Toulouse) et Espagne (AIN, Navarre). Ce cadre offrira au/à la candidat/e un environnement multidisciplinaire, à la fois académique et industriel, avec la possibilité de réaliser des séjours courts dans des autres laboratoires du réseau et participer activement aux différentes réunions et activités planifiées au long de ces trois ans de thèse, incluant la vulgarisation grâce au partenaire du réseau (ECOCENE, Pau) qui sera en charge des aspects de communication.
Références
[1] a) I. Favier, D. Pla, M. Gómez, Chem. Rev. 2020, 120, 1146; b) T. Dang-Bao, D. Pla, I. Favier, M. Gómez, Catalysts 2017, 7, 207.
[2] T. A. G. Duarte, I. Favier, C. Pradel, L. M. D. R. S. Martins, A. P. Carvalho, D. Pla, M. Gómez, ChemCatChem, doi: 10.1002/cctc.201902305.
[3] A. Reina, I. Favier, C. Pradel, M. Gómez, Adv. Synth. Catal. 2018, 360, 3544.
[4] a) T. Dang-Bao, C. Pradel, I. Favier, M. Gómez, ACS Appl. Nano Mater. 2019, 2, 1033; b) T. Dang-Bao, C. Pradel, I. Favier, M. Gómez, Adv. Synth. Catal. 2017, 359, 2832.

Contexte de travail

Le LHFA (http://lhfa.cnrs.fr/index.php/en/), appartenant à l'Ecole Doctorale Sciences de la Matière (http://www.edsdm.ups-tlse.fr/), est un laboratoire mixte du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique et de l'Université Toulouse 3 - Paul Sabatier (UMR 5069) à Toulouse (France), constitué de 5 équipes de recherche (16 chercheurs et enseignants-chercheurs, 9 ingénieurs techniques et personnels administratifs; ca.40 doctorants, post-doctorants et étudiants en master par an). Les activités de recherche sont centrées sur la chimie moléculaire des éléments du bloc p, avec des actions transversales dans les domaines de la chimie organométallique, nanoparticules métalliques, catalyse et polymères, incluant des études mécanistiques. L'équipe de recherche SYMAC, dirigé par M. Gómez et travaillant sur le design de (nano)catalyseurs à base de métaux pour des procédés innovants, s'intéresse à l'application de matériaux catalytiques impliquant un large panel de transformations, en particulier procédés multi-étapes sous conditions one-pot (processus séquentiels, tandem). Ces dernières années, nous nous sommes intéressés aux solvants autres que les solvants organiques classiques, avec le souci de travailler sous des conditions « homogènes » dans un milieu qui puisse permettre la stabilisation des espèces métalliques et leur immobilisation (liquides ioniques, glycérol) et en conséquence un recyclage aisé de la phase catalytique. Egalement, nous développons des supports fonctionnalisés originaux, capables d'immobiliser des nanoaprticules métalliques. La compréhension de la réactivité observée est au coeur de nos recherches, nous conduisant à des études mécanistiques approfondies au travers de suivis réactionnels par différentes techniques (ReactIR, NMR, EPR, SAXS)
Le LHFA offre un cadre très dynamique et international (ca. 40% d'étudiants étrangers), avec des recherches de pointe. Les différentes équipes ont des collaborations académiques (inter)nationales et éagalement industrielles. Le LHFA participe à l'organisation des congrès (inter)nationaux ainsi que Ecoles d'Ete, ainsi qu' diverses activités de vulgarisation.

Contraintes et risques

Pour la réalisation de ce travail de thèse, il n'y a pas de risques ou contraintes particulières, autres que les classiques d'un laboratoire expérimental de synthèse et catalyse. Des formations de sécurité génerales et spécifiques au travail à développer sont mises en place.

Informations complémentaires

Ce programme de doctorat s'adresse à des étudiant(e)s hautement qualifié(e)s avec un intérêt enthousiaste pour la conception et développement de processus durables, comportant des études fondamentales et allant jusqu'aux applications. Les étudiant(e)s devront avoir des connaissances solides en chimie organique et chimie inorganique, avec une bonne maitrise des techniques spectroscopiques; des connaissances en chimie des matériaux seront appréciées.

On en parle sur Twitter !