By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD in Statistics Applied to Chronological Modeling (M/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5060-PHILAN-001
Workplace : PESSAC
Date of publication : Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Philippe Lanos
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Context
The ChronoCurve project follows on from the Chronomodel ANR-11-MONU-007 (November 2011 - January 2015), which produced time series modeling software based on Bayesian statistics. It is free, open-source and multi-platform (https://chronomodel.com/). This statistical processing and modelling software is the basis for the construction of chronological scenarios by archaeologists, historians, paleo-ecologists and geologists in possession of a large number of dating data linked according to more or less complex models. The stratigraphic constraints, phasing and correlations that link the data together, as well as the different sources of uncertainty involved at the different levels of dating methods are thus taken into account within a single tool.

Science-based approach
The ChronoCurve thesis project aims to address the issue of the construction of reference frames (called "calibration curves"). These reference frames are essential to convert any laboratory (dating) measurement into a calendar date: this is for example the case for radiocarbon and archaeomagnetism.
The project is clearly interdisciplinary and exploratory. Within the framework of a Bayesian approach, it proposes to provide new tools for the construction of reference curves (geomagnetic secular variation curves, age-depth curves) and for the calculation of dates in archaeomagnetism (vectorial calculation) and dendrochronology (Bayesian synchronization of dendrological sequences).

Scientific locks
We suggest a change of paradigm in the field of date computation: Bayesian statistical modeling allows to consider simultaneously the calculation of dates and the construction of reference curves. This is a novelty that requires statistical modeling work with simulations.
On the other hand, the development of Plugins for dendrochronology and for archaeomagnetism will require new numerical calculation modes associating MCMC (Markov Chain Monte Carlo) and particle filtering.

Methodologies to be set up
The mathematical tools implemented are based on matrix computation, reproducing kernels, spline functions, Bayesian statistics, MCMC computation and particle filtering. The various algorithmic developments will be done in C++ under Qt. The ChronoCurve software will be integrated in ChronoModel and will be cross-platform and open-source on GitHub.
The PhD student's role in the project will be to set up and test the algorithms for calculating reference curves. The aim will be to optimise the numerical calculation procedures (matrix calculation, calculation by reproducing kernels, MCMC calculation). The development of the "dendrochronology" and "archaeomagnetism" plugins to be implemented in ChronoModel will also require specific research on Bayesian modelling and numerical calculation.

Work Context

This doctoral contract is part of the CNRS 80 Prime 2020 program.
The doctoral school of reference will be Montaigne-Humanité at Bordeaux-Montaigne University.
The PhD student will be assigned to the UMR 5060 IRAMAT (Institut de Recherche sur les Archéomatériaux), in the CRP2A laboratory (Centre de Recherche en Physique Appliquée à l'Archéologie) based at the Bordeaux-Montaigne University.
Location of the thesis: in Rennes, at Géosciences-Rennes, Beaulieu campus, Université Rennes 1, within the framework of a partnership between IRAMAT and Géosciences-Rennes.
The thesis will be carried out in interaction with the "Chronology and Reference Frameworks" team at CRP2A in Bordeaux, with the "Chronological Modelling and Dating by Archaeomagnetism" team at Géosciences-Rennes and with the "Landscapes, Climate Change, Biodiversity" team (in collaboration with D. Marguerie, co-director of the thesis) of UMR 6553 ECOBIO in Rennes.

Constraints and risks

Round trips between Rennes and Bordeaux are to be expected for team meetings and for the follow-up of the doctoral school courses during the thesis to validate the PhD.

Additional Information

The desired candidate will have a profile in applied mathematics specializing in statistics with skills in the field of stochastic numerical simulation. In addition, the candidate should have a strong interest in applications to archaeology and natural sciences involving chronological issues (Paleoenvironments).
Skills and Qualifications :
- Engineer / Master 2 in Applied Mathematics, Statistics and Probability
- Skills in computer programming and numerical computation
- Strong interest in the human sciences, particularly in archaeology and dating methods in archaeometry
- Autonomy, open-mindedness, capacity for teamworking
- Good oral and written communication skills (French and English)

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorat en statistiques appliquées à la modélisation chronologique H/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5060-PHILAN-001
Lieu de travail : PESSAC
Date de publication : mercredi 17 juin 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Philippe Lanos
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Contexte
Le projet ChronoCurve vient à la suite du projet Chronomodel ANR-11-MONU-007 (novembre 2011 - janvier 2015) qui a permis la réalisation d'un logiciel de modélisation chronologique reposant sur la statistique bayésienne. Il est gratuit, open-source et multiplateforme (https://chronomodel.com/). Ce logiciel de traitement et de modélisation statistique est à la base de la construction de scénarios chronologiques par les archéologues, historiens, paléo-écologues et géologues en possession d'un grand nombre de données de datation mises en relation selon des modèles plus ou moins complexes. Sont ainsi prises en compte au sein d'un seul outil les contraintes stratigraphiques, les phasages et les corrélations qui lient les données entre elles, mais aussi les différentes sources d'incertitudes intervenant aux différents niveaux des méthodes de datation.

Approche scientifique
Le projet de thèse ChronoCurve a pour but d'aborder la question de la construction des référentiels (appelés « courbes de calibration »). Ces référentiels sont indispensables pour convertir toute mesure de laboratoire (de datation) en date calendaire : c'est par exemple le cas du radiocarbone et de l'archéomagnétisme.
Le projet est à caractère nettement interdisciplinaire et exploratoire. Dans le cadre d'une approche bayésienne, il se propose de fournir de nouveaux outils pour la construction des courbes de référence (courbes de variation séculaire géomagnétiques, courbes âge-profondeur) et pour le calcul des dates en archéomagnétisme (calcul vectoriel) et en dendrochronologie (synchronisation bayésienne des séquences dendrologiques).

Verrous scientifiques
Nous proposons un changement de paradigme dans le domaine du calcul des dates : la modélisation statistique bayésienne permet en effet de considérer simultanément le calcul des dates et la construction des courbes de référence. Ceci constitue une nouveauté qui nécessite un travail de modélisation statistique avec simulations.
D'autre part, le développement des Plugins (Plugiciels) pour la dendrochronologie et pour l'archéomagnétisme va nécessiter de nouveaux modes de calcul numérique associant MCMC (Monte Carlo par Chaines de Markov) et filtrage particulaire.

Méthodologies à mettre en place
Les outils mathématiques qui seront mis en œuvre reposent sur le calcul matriciel, les noyaux reproduisants, les fonctions spline, la statistique bayésienne, le calcul MCMC et le filtrage particulaire. Les différents développements algorithmiques se feront en C++ sous Qt. Le logiciel ChronoCurve sera intégré dans ChronoModel et sera multi-plateforme et open-source sur GitHub.
Le rôle du doctorant dans le projet sera de mettre en place et de tester les algorithmes de calcul des courbes de référence. Il s'agira d'optimiser les procédures de calcul numérique (calcul matriciel, calcul par noyaux reproduisants, calcul MCMC). Le développement des plugins « dendrochronologie » et « archéomagnétisme » à implémenter dans ChronoModel nécessiteront eux aussi une recherche spécifique au niveau modélisation bayésienne et calcul numérique.

Contexte de travail

Ce contrat doctoral s'inscrit dans le cadre du programme 80 Prime 2020 du CNRS.
Le doctorant sera rattaché à l'école doctorale Montaigne-Humanité à Bordeaux-Montaigne.
Le doctorant sera affecté à l'UMR 5060 IRAMAT (Institut de Recherche sur les Archéomatériaux), dans le centre CRP2A (Centre de Recherche en Physique Appliquée à l'Archéologie) basé à l'Université Bordeaux-Montaigne.
Lieu d'exercice de la thèse : à Rennes, au sein de l'UMR 6118 Géosciences-Rennes, campus de Beaulieu, Université Rennes 1, dans le cadre d'un partenariat entre IRAMAT et Géosciences-Rennes.
La thèse sera réalisée en interaction avec l'équipe « Chronologie et référentiels » du CRP2A à Bordeaux, avec l'équipe « Modélisation Chronologique et datation par archéomagnétisme » à Géosciences-Rennes et avec l'équipe « Paysages, Changements Climatiques, Biodiversité » (en collaboration avec D. Marguerie, co-directeur de la thèse) de l'UMR 6553 ECOBIO à Rennes.

Contraintes et risques

Des déplacements entre Rennes et Bordeaux sont à prévoir pour les réunions d'équipe et pour le suivi des cours de l'école doctorale durant la thèse pour valider le doctorat.

Informations complémentaires

Le (la) candidat(e) recherché(e) devra avoir un profil de mathématiques appliquées spécialisées en statistique avec des compétences dans le domaine de la simulation numérique stochastique. De plus, le (la) candidat(e) devra présenter un réel intérêt pour les applications à l'archéologie et aux sciences naturelles impliquant les questions de chronologie (Paléoenvironnements).
Compétences et qualités requises :
- Ingénieur / Master 2 en mathématiques appliquées, statistiques et probabilités
- Compétences en programmation informatique et calcul numérique
- Intérêt marqué pour les sciences humaines, et en particulier pour l'archéologie et les méthodes de datation en archéométrie
- Autonomie, ouverture d'esprit, capacité de travail en équipe
- Bonne aptitude de communication orale et écrite (français et anglais)

On en parle sur Twitter !