En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre USR3224-WITNOW-001 - Emploi contractuel post-doctoral (H/F) : Etude de la déformation et restauration de peintures murales sur enduits en plâtre

Post-doctoral contract position (M/F): Study of the deformation and restoration of wall paintings on plaster

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Date Limite Candidature : vendredi 22 octobre 2021

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : USR3224-WITNOW-001
Workplace : PARIS 05
Date of publication : Friday, October 1, 2021
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 18 months
Expected date of employment : 1 January 2022
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : between 2743 € and 3896 € gross per month depending on experience
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : 1 to 4 years

Missions

The person recruited will finely characterise the composition of painted plaster from wall paintings on a site intended for restoration, will be responsible for setting up and carrying out a study of the microscopic structure, mass transfer and mechanical properties of thin layers of plaster samples, and will propose a levelling methodology that can be adapted on site. For this, it will test and refine the protocol on the basis of in situ application experiments.
The plaster layers used as a support for the paint are often laid on a thin (a few millimetres) levelling layer of the masonry. In such systems, the preservation of the wall paintings is highly dependent on the natural sensitivity of the plaster, which then suffers damage that must be detected as soon as possible or treated with suitable procedures. The damage is in the form of detachment and lifting of fragments of painted plaster. The deformations of these plasters are not elastic and the current methods of consolidating the plasters are not well adapted, often leading to breakage.
The aim of the project is to develop and make reliable a methodology based on mechanical softening by controlled mass transfer (hydric and/or hygric) within solid mixtures based on calcium sulphate and to exploit the reversibility of the deformation process. Controlling the wetting of the plaster, while securing the paint layers, should allow the plaster to be smoothed and consolidated without causing breakage and avoiding structural changes in the plaster layer as much as possible.
The plaster layers used as a support for the paint are often laid on a thin (a few millimetres) levelling layer of the masonry. In such systems, the preservation of the wall paintings is highly dependent on the natural sensitivity of the plaster, which then suffers damage that must be detected as soon as possible or treated with suitable methods. The damage is in the form of detachment and lifting of fragments of painted plaster. The deformations of these plasters are not elastic and the current methods of consolidating the plasters are not well adapted, often leading to breakage.
The aim of the project is to develop and make reliable a methodology based on mechanical softening by controlled mass transfer (hydric and/or hygric) within solid mixtures based on calcium sulphate and to exploit the reversibility of the deformation process. Controlling the wetting of the plaster, while securing the paint layers, should allow the plaster to be smoothed and consolidated without causing breakage and avoiding structural changes in the plaster layer as much as possible.

Activities

1. Material identification. In-depth compositional analysis (SEM-EDS, TEM, μ-Raman, FTIR, XRD) of existing paint coatings on a real site
2. Deformation analysis.
- 2.1. Deformation tests under uniform absorption condition in controlled environment (temperature and relative humidity).
- 2.2. Wetting deformation tests to simulate the effect of controlled capillary rise.
- 2.3 Wetting deformation tests under steam field.
For the three variants, it will be necessary to establish the deformation kinetics of the test bodies, to compare the efficiency of the methods with each other, to test the influence of variations in the pore distribution and to test the influence of mechanical loads for different characteristic dimensions of the test bodies.
The kinetics of ad-/absorption will be followed by imaging techniques such as THz. The nucleation/recrystallisation processes will be followed by SEM, TEM, μ-Raman, FTIR, XRD and mechanical strength measurements.
3. Analysis and characterisation of the reversibility of the deformed objects in the laboratory. In particular, the development of a re-flattening process will be studied with the objective of in situ transfer.
4. In situ transfer.
- 4.1. The extent of the deformations before and after the intervention will be monitored physically (3D scan) and the composition identified by prior physico-chemical analyses (see point 1 above).
- 4.2. The deployment of the method in situ (application by a wall painting restorer).

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Skills

PhD. thesis in materials science, focusing on the micro-, meso- and macroscopic properties of solid mineral materials. In particular, the candidate should be familiar with material behaviour, stress deformation, crystallography and mineral chemistry. Knowledge of spectroscopic characterisation methods of mineral and crystalline materials, mechanical characterisation, or at least some of these methods, will be essential.
The person recruited should be interested in the subject, versatile (design, performance of experiments and interpretation of results at the crossroads of different scientific fields), open (easy to learn new techniques), inventive (proposals for variations on generic protocols) and autonomous. She/he should also have a taste for experimental work and a facility for contact.
A regular practice of English will be an important asset.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Work Context

The job will take place mainly at LRMH in Champs sur Marne, with stays in the partner laboratories (IMPMC, Paris and LPPI, Neuville), as well as on the painting site in Haudiomont (Meuse).
The LRMH will bring to the project its knowledge of wall paintings, of plaster as a finishing material, of the hydric and thermal behaviour of materials, as well as diagnostic skills (3D scan, stimulated IR thermography, THz), analytical skills (SEM-EDS, analysis of soluble salts) and part of the experimental infrastructure (humidity-controlled chambers, laboratories for the preparation of test specimens, etc.)
The Institute of Mineralogy, Physics of Materials and Cosmochemistry (IMPMC) is composed of 11 teams, including the PALM team (Properties of Amorphous, Liquid and Minerals), which includes 11 permanent staff (CNRS, Sorbonne University, IRD and Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle) working on several themes in the field of heritage: stained glass, glazes and gems. The team has international expertise in the structure of amorphous materials, minerals and colour-property relationships. The IMPMC will bring to the project its expertise in mineralogy, necessary to understand the nucleation/recrystallization processes in plaster.
The Laboratoire de Physicochimie des Polymères et des Interfaces (LPPI) at CY Cergy Paris Université develops and characterises polymeric or hybrid materials for specific applications. One of these research areas concerns materials for heritage. The IMAT platform bringing together a multitude of characterisation techniques, particularly in microscopy (TEM (coupled Raman), AFM, confocal) will be accessible to the person recruited.
The study missions on the wall paintings in situ at Haudiomont (Meuse) will be co-supervised by the Meuse heritage and museum conservation and development department, which will provide its knowledge of the artist's work, administrative and logistical support, as well as by a wall painting restorer, a graduate of the INP, who will provide knowledge of the cases and optimise the selected protocols in the field, resulting from the laboratory experiments.

Constraints and risks

Travels
Some works to be carried out on scaffolding

Additional Information

Candidates with less than 2 years experience are encouraged to apply

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre USR3224-WITNOW-001 - Emploi contractuel post-doctoral (H/F) : Etude de la déformation et restauration de peintures murales sur enduits en plâtre

Emploi contractuel post-doctoral (H/F) : Etude de la déformation et restauration de peintures murales sur enduits en plâtre

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Date Limite Candidature : vendredi 22 octobre 2021

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : USR3224-WITNOW-001
Lieu de travail : PARIS 05
Date de publication : vendredi 1 octobre 2021
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 18 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 janvier 2022
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : entre 2743 € et 3896 € bruts mensuels selon expérience
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : 1 à 4 années

Missions

La personne recrutée, caractérisera finement la composition des enduits peints provenant de peintures murales d'un site destiné à la restauration, prendra en charge la mise en place et exécution d'une étude de la structure microscopique, du transfert de masse et mécaniques de couches fines d'éprouvettes de plâtre, proposera une méthodologie d'aplanissement adaptable sur site. Pour cela, elle testera et affinera le protocole sur la base d'expériences d'application in situ.
Les couches d'enduit au plâtre servant de support pour la peinture sont souvent posées sur une couche d'égalisation de la maçonnerie de faible épaisseur (quelques millimètres). Pour de tels systèmes, la conservation des peintures murales dépend fortement de la sensibilité naturelle du plâtre qui subit alors des dommages qu'il convient de détecter au plus vite ou de les traiter avec des procédés adaptés. Les dommages s'apparentent à des détachements et des soulèvements de fragments d'enduits peints. Les déformations de ces enduits ne sont pas élastiques et les méthodes actuelles de consolidation des enduits ne sont pas bien adaptées, conduisant souvent à des cassures.
Le projet a pour objectif de développer et fiabiliser une méthodologie qui s'appuierait sur un ramollissement mécanique par transfert de masse (hydrique et/ou hygrique) contrôlé au sein de mélanges solides à base de sulfate de calcium et exploiter la réversibilité du processus de déformation. Le contrôle du mouillage de l'enduit, tout en sécurisant les couches de peinture, devrait permettre d'aplanir et consolider l'enduit sans provoquer les cassures et en évitant au maximum les changements structurels de la couche de plâtre.

Activités

1. Identification des matériaux. Analyse approfondie de la composition (MEB-EDS, MET, μ-Raman, IRTF, DRX) des enduits des peintures existantes sur un site réel
2. Analyse de la déformation.
- 2.1. Essais de déformation en condition d'absorption uniforme en environnement contrôlé (température et humidité relative).
- 2.2. Essais de déformation par mouillage pour simuler l'effet d'une remontée capillaire contrôlée.
- 2.3. Essais de déformation par imbibition sous champ de vapeur.
Pour les trois variantes, il conviendra d'établir les cinétiques de déformation des corps d'épreuve, de comparer l'efficacité des méthodes entre elles, de tester l'influence de variation de la distribution porale et de tester l'influence de chargements mécaniques pour différentes dimensions caractéristiques des corps d'épreuve.
La cinétique d'ad-/absorption sera suivie par techniques d'imageries telles que THz. Les processus de nucléation/recristallisation seront suivis par MEB, MET, μ-Raman, IRTF, DRX et mesures de résistance mécanique.
3. Analyse et caractérisation au laboratoire du caractère réversible des objets déformés. La mise au point d'un procédé de remise à plat sera particulièrement étudié avec l'objectif d'un transfert in situ.
4. Transfert in situ.
- 4.1. L'ampleur des déformations avant et après intervention sera suivi de manière physique (scan 3D) et identification de la composition par analyses physico-chimiques préalables (voir point 1 ci-dessus).
- 4.2. Le déploiement de la méthode in situ (application par un restaurateur de peintures murales).

Compétences

Thèse de doctorat en sciences des matériaux, portant sur les propriétés micro-, méso- et macroscopiques de matériaux minéraux solides. La personne recrutée devrait notamment être familiere avec le comportement de matériaux, déformation sous contrainte, cristallographie et chimie minérale. La maitrise de méthodes de caractérisation spectroscopique des matières minérales et cristallines, de caractérisation mécanique, ou au moins d'une partie de ces méthodes, sera indispensable.
La personne recrutée devra présenter l'intérêt pour le sujet, être polyvalente (conception, réalisation d'expériences et interprétation de résultats à la croisée de différentes domaines scientifiques), ouverte (facilité d'apprentissage de nouvelles techniques), inventive (propositions de variantes par rapport aux protocoles génériques) et autonome. Elle devrait également avoir le goût pour les travaux expérimentaux et une facilité de contact.
Une pratique régulière de l'anglais sera un atout important.

Contexte de travail

Le contrat se déroulera principalement au LRMH à Champs sur-Marne, avec des séjours dans les laboratoires partenaires (IMPMC, Paris et LPPI, Neuville), ainsi que sur le chantier de peintures à Haudiomont (Meuse).
Le LRMH apportera dans le projet les connaissances de peintures murales, du plâtre comme matériau de finition, des comportements hydriques et thermiques de matériaux ainsi que les compétences diagnostiques (scan 3D, thermographie IR stimulée, THz), analytiques (MEB-EDS, analyse de sels solubles) et une partie d'infrastructure expérimentale (chambres à humidité contrôlée, laboratoires de préparation des éprouvettes, etc.).
L'Institut de Minéralogie, de Physique des Matériaux et de Cosmochimie (IMPMC) est composé de 11 équipes dont l'équipe PALM (Propriétés des Amorphe, Liquide et Minéraux) qui comprend 11 permanents (CNRS, Sorbonne Université, IRD et Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle) travaillant sur plusieurs thématiques dans le domaine du patrimoine : vitraux, glaçures, gemmes. L'équipe a une expertise internationale sur la structure des matériaux amorphes, des minéraux et les relations couleurs-propriétés. L'IMPMC apportera dans le projet son expertise en minéralogie, nécessaire pour comprendre les processus de nucléation/recristallisation dans le plâtre.
Le Laboratoire de Physicochimie des Polymères et des Interfaces (LPPI) à CY Cergy Paris Université élabore et caractérise des matériaux polymères ou hybrides pour des applications données. Un de ces axes de recherche concerne les matériaux pour le patrimoine. La plateforme IMAT rassemblant une multitude de techniques de caractérisation notamment en microscopie (TEM (couplée Raman), AFM, confocale) sera accessible à la personne recrutée.
Les missions d'étude sur les peintures murales in situ à Haudiomont (Meuse) seront co-encadrées par le service conservation et valorisation du patrimoine et des musées de la Meuse qui apportera ses connaissances sur le travail de l'artiste, un soutien administratif et logistique, ainsi que par une restauratrice de peintures murales, diplômée de l'INP, qui apportera la connaissance des cas et optimisera sur le terrain les protocoles sélectionnés, issus des expériences au laboratoire.

Contraintes et risques

Déplacements
Travaux en hauteur

Informations complémentaires

Les candidats-es débutants ou disposant de moins de 2 ans d'expérience sont encouragés à présenter leur dossier.

On en parle sur Twitter !