By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR8630-REMGEI-001 - Postdoctorat en interférométrie atomique au laboratoire SYRTE (H/F)

Postdoc position in cold-atom interferometry at the SYRTE laoratory (H/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8630-REMGEI-001
Workplace : PARIS 14
Date of publication : Monday, May 18, 2020
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 18 months
Expected date of employment : 1 August 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : gross annual salary between 37 and 46 k€ based on experience
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : Indifferent

Missions

Context and objectives of the project. Cold atom interferometers have reached levels of sensitivity and precision competing with or surpassing inertial sensors based on different technologies. These sensors have several applications in geophysics, inertial detection, metrology and fundamental physics. The widening of their field of application requires to push constantly further their performances in terms of sensitivity, stability, precision, dynamic range, compactness or robustness, ease of use and cost. More than 40 research groups around the world are actively developing inertial cold atom sensors for different applications, and are studying techniques to improve their performance.

Activities

The project will be carried out on the experiment of the cold atom gyroscope-accelerometer of the IACI group, which has repeatedly demonstrated record performances. The first stage of this project will consist in using the experiment to carry out a special relativity test (Sagnac effect for matter waves) in a range of precision still unexplored, in collaboration with the theoretical team of the laboratory. The postdoctoral researcher will then work progressively on the development of a new experiment of gyroscope with ultra-cold atoms with two axes which reaches a stability of 1 prad / s for the rotation measurements, which represents an improvement of two orders of magnitude compared at the current level. This level of exquisite sensitivity will make it possible to carry out rotation rate measurements of great interest for the rapidly expanding field of rotational seismology. The researcher will also participate in the use of this instrument for a test of gravitational decoherence models by atomic interferometry.

Skills

Profile of the applicant. We are looking for exceptional candidates strongly motivated by stimulating experimental physics projects, preferably with a PhD experience in atomic physics (ideally in atomic interferometry) and instrumentation skills. The postdoctoral researcher is expected to work in a team and will gradually be responsible for daily management (for example, providing advice to students), while being involved in scientific and strategic decisions concerning the project. The researcher will also be invited to write research proposals in order to gain autonomy and improve his career (for example, Marie Curie applications).
Future career development. The IACI team has a good track record in the employment of postdoctoral researchers, whether in the university or industrial sector. Applications for permanent positions in the laboratory will be encouraged.

Conditions. The position is based on a full-time job at the SYRTE laboratory, with a salary according to experience. It is funded for at least 18 months as part of the "Inertial Precision Measures by Atomic Interferometry" project of the National Research Agency (ANR). The position is associated with the normal social security system provided for in France (for example, health insurance). Assistance in finding accommodation and settling in Paris will be provided.

Work Context

The laboratory and the team. The SYRTE laboratory, located on the Paris Observatory campus, is a joint research unit of the CNRS, the University of the Sorbonne and the National Metrology Laboratory (LNE). It is an interdisciplinary laboratory specializing in time and frequency metrology, atomic interferometry, astronomy for the definition of celestial reference frames and the history of science, which enjoys an international reputation in these fields. The Atomic Interferometry and Inertial Sensors group (IACI) (twenty researchers) has been developing the field of cold atom inertial sensors for 20 years and is recognized worldwide for its expertise in this field, both in fundamental applications and in the field of interferometers atomic. In addition to the pioneering fundamental studies, the team is ready to create links with the industry, a striking example being the creation in 2011 of the spin-off company muQuans. The team has solid international collaborations and is integrated into the SIRTEQ network of quantum technology in the Paris region.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR8630-REMGEI-001 - Postdoctorat en interférométrie atomique au laboratoire SYRTE (H/F)

Postdoctorat en interférométrie atomique au laboratoire SYRTE (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8630-REMGEI-001
Lieu de travail : PARIS 14
Date de publication : lundi 18 mai 2020
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 18 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 août 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : salaire brut de 37 à 46 k€ annuel selon l'expérience
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : Indifférent

Missions

Contexte et objectifs du projet. Les interféromètres à atomes froids ont atteint des niveaux de sensibilité et de précision concurrençant ou surpassant les capteurs inertiels basés sur différentes technologies. Ces capteurs ont plusieurs applications en géophysique, en détection inertielle, en métrologie et en physique fondamentale. L'élargissement de leur champ d'application exige de pousser sans cesse plus loin leurs performances en termes de sensibilité, de stabilité, de précision, de gamme dynamique, de compacité ou de robustesse, de facilité d'utilisation et de coût. Plus de 40 groupes de recherche dans le monde entier développent activement des capteurs inertiels d'atomes froids pour différentes applications, et étudient des techniques pour améliorer leurs performances.

Activités

Le projet sera mené sur l'expérience du gyroscope-accéléromètre à atomes froids du groupe IACI, qui a démontré à plusieurs reprises des performances record. La première étape de ce projet consistera à utiliser l'expérience pour effectuer un test de relativité spéciale (effet Sagnac pour les ondes de matière) dans une gamme de précision encore inexplorée, en collaboration avec l'équipe théorique du laboratoire. Le chercheur postdoctoral travaillera ensuite progressivement au développement d'une nouvelle expérience de gyroscope à atomes ultra-froids à deux axes qui atteint une stabilité de 1 prad/s pour les mesures de rotation, ce qui représente une amélioration de deux ordres de grandeur par rapport au niveau actuel. Ce niveau de sensibilité exquis permettra d'effectuer des mesures de taux de rotation d'un grand intérêt pour le domaine en pleine expansion de la sismologie rotationnelle. Le chercheur participera également à l'utilisation de cet instrument pour un test des modèles de décohérence gravitationnelle par interférométrie atomique.

Compétences

Profil du demandeur. Nous recherchons des candidats exceptionnels fortement motivés par des projets de physique expérimentale stimulants, de préférence avec une expérience de doctorat en physique atomique (idéalement en interférométrie atomique) et des compétences en instrumentation. Le chercheur postdoctoral est censé travailler en équipe et sera progressivement chargé de la gestion quotidienne (par exemple, fournir des conseils aux étudiants), tout en étant impliqué dans les décisions scientifiques et stratégiques concernant le projet. Le chercheur sera également invité à rédiger des propositions de recherche afin de gagner en autonomie et d'améliorer son parcours (par exemple, les candidatures Marie Curie).
Évolution future de la carrière. L'équipe de l'IACI a de bons antécédents en matière d'emploi de chercheurs postdoctoraux, que ce soit dans le secteur universitaire ou industriel. Les candidatures pour des postes permanents au sein du laboratoire seront encouragées.

Conditions. Le poste est basé sur un emploi à temps plein au laboratoire SYRTE, avec un salaire suivant l'expérience. Il est financé pour au moins 18 mois dans le cadre du projet "Mesures Inertielles de Précision par Interférométrie Atomique" de l'Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR). Le poste est associé au régime social normal prévu en France (par exemple, l'assurance maladie). Une aide pour trouver un logement et s'installer à Paris sera fournie.

Contexte de travail

Le laboratoire et l'équipe. Le laboratoire SYRTE, situé sur le campus de l'Observatoire de Paris, est une unité de recherche commune du CNRS, de l'Université de la Sorbonne et du Laboratoire national de métrologie (LNE). C'est un laboratoire interdisciplinaire spécialisé dans la métrologie du temps et des fréquences, l'interférométrie atomique, l'astronomie pour la définition des cadres de référence célestes et l'histoire des sciences, qui jouit d'une réputation internationale dans ces domaines. Le groupe Interférométrie atomique et capteurs inertiels (IACI) (une vingtaine de chercheurs) développe depuis 20 ans le domaine des capteurs inertiels à atomes froids et est reconnu mondialement pour son expertise dans ce domaine, tant sur les applications fondamentales que sur le terrain des interféromètres atomiques. Outre les études fondamentales pionnières, l'équipe est prête à créer des liens avec l'industrie, un exemple marquant étant la création en 2011 de la société dérivée muQuans. L'équipe a de solides collaborations internationales et est intégrée au réseau SIRTEQ de technologie quantique de la région parisienne.

On en parle sur Twitter !