By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR8630-AURHEE-001 - post-doctorat: Apprentissage par renforcement pour optimiser le "Time Delay Interferometry" H/F

post-doctoral position: Reinforcement Learning for Time Delay Interferometry Ranging H/F

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8630-AURHEE-001
Workplace : PARIS 14
Date of publication : Monday, July 27, 2020
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 12 months
Expected date of employment : 1 January 2021
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : Between 2728.25€ et 4307.86€ bruts per month depending on past experience
Desired level of education : 5-year university degree
Experience required : Indifferent

Missions

LISA is a space mission that will detect low frequency gravitational waves. The LISA mission consists in performing interferometric measurements between laser links exchanged between three spacecraft in heliocentric orbits. The signatures from gravitational waves will be imprinted in those interferometric measurements and will have to be extracted from various instrumental noises. In particular, it will be crucial to reduce the frequency laser noise by ~ 8 orders of magnitude in order to reach the sensitivity required to detect gravitational waves. This will be realized by a technique names “Time Delay Interferometry” (TDI) which combines the various interferometric measurements by applying some temporal delays. Two methods are currently known to perform TDI: 1) to estimate these TDI delays by using additional pseudo-range measurements and 2) to estimate these delays directly using some optimization methods (this is known as “TDI-ranging”). In this project, we will explore the second option.

Activities

In this project, we will develop an innovative method based on reinforcement learning to estimate the TDI delays with no knowledge a priori about the spacecraft trajectory. In this project, we will therefore simulate LISA data and explore various machine learning algorithms that would allow to estimate the TDI delays that minimize the residual laser noise. In a second step, we will explore algorithms that would allow to estimate these delays simultaneously with the parameters characterizing the gravitational wave sources. This will allow to study the correlations between the TDI delays and these scientific parameters and to explore the impact of a misestimation of these delays on LISA scientific results.

Skills

Strong skills in software development, data analysis, numerical calculations are required. In addition, a good knowledge of TDI algorithm will be necessary. Notions of machine learning and of reinforcement learning will be favored.

Work Context

This project will be conducted within the « Theory and metrology” group from SYRTE. This group is largely involved in the development of the LISA preprocessing pipeline. SYRTE is therefore a full member of the LISA consortium and is part of the simulation working group and of the “initial noise reduction pipeline” working group. Currently, 5 researchers are working actively on these topics and the group has developed various collaborations around these topics.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR8630-AURHEE-001 - post-doctorat: Apprentissage par renforcement pour optimiser le "Time Delay Interferometry" H/F

post-doctorat: Apprentissage par renforcement pour optimiser le "Time Delay Interferometry" H/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8630-AURHEE-001
Lieu de travail : PARIS 14
Date de publication : lundi 27 juillet 2020
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 12 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 janvier 2021
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : Entre 2728.25€ et 4307.86€ bruts mensuels selon expérience
Niveau d'études souhaité : Bac+5
Expérience souhaitée : Indifférent

Missions

LISA est une mission spatiale qui permettra la détection d'ondes gravitationnelles à basses fréquences. Le principe de cette mission spatiale consiste à mesurer l'interférence entre des liens laser échangés entre 3 satellites en orbite héliocentrique. Les signatures des ondes gravitationnelles se retrouvent imprimées dans ces mesures interférométriques et doivent être extraites des bruits instrumentaux. En particulier, il est indispensable de réduire le bruit laser de ~ 8 ordres de grandeur pour permettre de détecter les ondes gravitationnelles. Ceci est réalisé par une technique nommée « Time Delay Interferometry » (TDI) qui combine astucieusement les diverses mesures interférométriques en leur appliquant un délai temporel, ce qui permet de réduire significativement le bruit de fréquence des lasers. Deux méthodes sont connues pour implémenter le TDI : 1) déterminer les délais à appliquer aux mesures interférométriques par une mesure de pseudo-range et 2) estimer ces délais sans mesure additionnelle en les ajustant par des méthodes d'optimisation (cette méthode est connue sous le nom de « TDI-Ranging »). Ce projet s'inscrit dans ce deuxième cadre.

Activités

Dans ce projet, nous proposons de développer une méthode innovante basée sur l'apprentissage par renforcement pour estimer les délais TDI sans connaissance a priori du modèle de trajectoires des satellites. Ce projet consistera donc à simuler des données LISA et à explorer divers algorithmes d'intelligence artificielle qui permettent d'estimer les délais TDI qui minimisent les bruits résiduels des lasers. Dans un second temps, il sera intéressant d'explorer des méthodes qui permettront d'estimer les délais TDI en même temps que les paramètres qui caractérisent les sources des ondes gravitationnelles. Cela permettra d'étudier les corrélations entre ces paramètres et l'impact d'une mauvaise estimation des délais sur les objectifs scientifiques de LISA.

Compétences

Des solides compétences en programmation, analyse de données et calcul numérique sont requises. D'autre part, une bonne connaissance des algorithmes de TDI est nécessaire. Des notions d'apprentissage par renforcement sera privilégiée.

Contexte de travail

Ce projet sera mené dans l'équipe « Théorie et Métrologie » du SYRTE. Ce groupe est largement impliqué dans le développement des logiciels de préprocessing des données de LISA. SYRTE est donc membre du consortium LISA et impliqué dans les groupes de travail lié à la simulation des instruments et lié au développement des logiciels de preprocessing. Actuellement, 5 chercheurs travaillent activement sur ces thématiques et le groupe possède de nombreuses collaborations sur ces thématiques.

On en parle sur Twitter !