By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR8626-LEOMAZ-001 - Post-doctorant H/F en physique théorique

Postdoc (M/F) in theoretical physics

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8626-LEOMAZ-001
Workplace : ORSAY
Date of publication : Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 12 months
Expected date of employment : 31 December 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : between 2600 et 3600 € (gross) per month
Desired level of education : 5-year university degree
Experience required : 1 to 4 years

Missions

The postdoc will work within the framework of a project funded by LABEX PALM and called « Quantum Simulation of Many-Body Dynamics with Rydberg Atoms and Collective Light Scattering » and that requires a collaboration between the IPHT (CEA) in Saclay, the Colllège de France in Paris and the LPTMS in Orsay.

The aim of this project is the theoretical study of the dynamics of open quantum systems in a strongly correlated regime where inter-particle interactions cannot be neglected. Recent experiments have developed many quantum simulators for the experimental study of the out-of-equilibrium dynamics of these systems. The goal is to study quantum spin models with long-range interactions and non-local losses with a motivation originating from the physics of Rydberg arrays and dense atomic clouds.

Activities

The postdoc will contribute to the development of a code for the numerical study of different aspects of the problem, as for instance :
1. Dissipative systems with long-range interactions ;
2. The collective diffusion of light by ordered atomic structures.

Skills

The candidate will have a Ph.D. before the enrollement day. She/he will have experience and a solid research dossier in many-body quantum physics in the presence of an environment (the so-called open systems), with an excellence expertise in the most recent numerical techniques for the study of these systems (for instance, matrix-product states and/or machine learning). A good knowledge of written and spoken English is mandatory.

Work Context

The activity will be performed at the Laboratory of Theoretical Physics and Statistical Models (LPTMS), which is a mixed unit of CNRS and of Université Paris-Saclay. Located in Orsay, the LPTMS is at 50 minutes from the center of Paris along the RER B line. A detailed description of the activities of the lab is available on the website http://lptms.u-psud.fr/en. The succesfull candidate will work under the supervision of L. Mazza, in close connection with M. Schirò (CEA- IPhT and Collège de France)

Additional Information

Candidates will have to send :
- a CV, a list of publications and the email addresses of two scientists who will want to send their assessment of the candidate ;
- a concise motivation letter describing the interest of the candidate towards the research project.
Incomplete applications will not be considered.

The salary will follow the standard rules of CNRS and will depend on experience.
The succesfull candidate will be employed in Fall 2020 ; the precise starting date will be agreed with the supervisor and it won't be later than January 1, 2021.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR8626-LEOMAZ-001 - Post-doctorant H/F en physique théorique

Post-doctorant H/F en physique théorique

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8626-LEOMAZ-001
Lieu de travail : ORSAY
Date de publication : mardi 23 juin 2020
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 12 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 31 décembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : entre 2600 et 3600 € bruts mensuels selon expérience
Niveau d'études souhaité : Bac+5
Expérience souhaitée : 1 à 4 années

Missions

La/le post-doctorant.e travaillera dans le cadre d'un projet financé par le LABEX PALM intitulé « Quantum Simulation of Many-Body Dynamics with Rydberg Atoms and Collective Light Scattering », et qui implique une collaboration entre le IPHT (CEA) à Saclay, le Collège de France à Paris et le LPTMS à Orsay.

Ce projet vise à étudier théoriquement la dynamique des systèmes quantiques ouverts dans un régime fortement corrélé où les interactions entre les particules ne peuvent pas être négligées. Des expériences récentes ont développé plusieurs simulateurs quantiques pour l'étude expérimentale de la dynamique hors-équilibre de ces systèmes. Le but sera d'étudier des modèles de spins quantiques avec des interactions à longue portée et des pertes non locales, avec une motivation issue de la physique des arrays d'atomes de Rydberg et des nouages atomiques denses.

Activités

La/le post-doctorant contribuera au développement et à l'utilisation d'un code pour l'étude numérique de différents aspects, tels que
1. des systèmes dissipatifs avec interactions à longue portée ;
2. la diffusion collective de la lumière par des structures ordonnées d'atomes piégés.

Compétences

Le/la candidat(e) retenu(e) sera titulaire d'un doctorat d'ici à la date de prise de fonctions. Elle ou il aura une expérience et un solide dossier de recherche en physique quantique des systèmes à plusieurs corps en présence d'un environnement (systèmes dits ouverts), avec une excellente maîtrise des plus récentes techniques numériques pour l'étude de ces systèmes (par exemple matrix-product states et/ou machine-learning). Une bonne maîtrise de l'anglais parlé et écrit est requise.

Contexte de travail

Les travaux seront conduits au Laboratoire de Physique Théorique et Modèles Statistiques (LPTMS), unité mixte du CNRS et de l'Université Paris-Saclay. Situé à Orsay, le LPTMS se trouve à environ 50 minutes du centre de Paris via le RER B. Une présentation détaillée des activités du laboratoire est disponible sur le site http://lptms.u-psud.fr/fr. Le/la candidat(e) retenu(e) travaillera sous la supervision de L. Mazza, en lien étroit avec M. Schirò (CEA-IPhT et Collège de France).

Informations complémentaires

Les candidatures devront obligatoirement comporter :
- un curriculum vitae, une liste des publications, et les coordonnées de deux personnes qui pourront livrer leur appréciation de la/du candidat.e
- une lettre concise de motivation décrivant l'intérêt du candidat pour le projet de recherche.
Toute candidature incomplète ne sera pas examinée.

Le salaire suivra les règles standard du CNRS et dépendra de l'expérience.
Le/la candidat(e) retenu(e) devrait prendre ses fonctions à l'automne 2020 ; la date précise sera fixée d'un commun accord, au plus tard le 1er janvier 2021.

On en parle sur Twitter !