By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR8234-JONSOT-002 - Caractérisation synchrotron avancée batteries à électrolyte solide - chercheur postdoctoral (H/F)

Advanced Synchrotron Characterization of All Solid State Batteries - Postdoc Position (M/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8234-JONSOT-002
Workplace : PARIS 05
Date of publication : Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 12 months
Expected date of employment : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : The monthly salary is about € 2 960,00 gross.
Desired level of education : 5-year university degree
Experience required : Indifferent

Missions

All-solid-state batteries (ASSBs) have the potential to outperform current lithium ion battery technology in terms of safety and energy density. ASSBs are therefore particularly attractive for electric mobility. Their favourable properties are enabled by the use of an inorganic solid electrolyte (instead of a flammable organic liquid) which further permits the use of the high energy density lithium metal anode. Despite the fact that several SEs with high enough ionic conductivity exist, ASSBs with long operational life are still scarce. Several challenging stability issues at the interfaces due to either chemical, electrochemical, or mechanical problems limiting the energy density and battery lifetime must still be addressed before successful commercialization of ASSB technology. Preventing the failure mechanisms in ASSBs and thereby contributing to the advancement of this technology requires that we understand how the various components of the battery interact with each other at the solid/solid interfaces.

Activities

The characterization of these interfaces is a challenging task, especially when performed in situ during battery assembly or operation and requires advanced methods. In this perspective, the PostDoc will contribute to the design and commissioning of apparatus at SOLEIL synchrotron that can be used to study interfacial (in)stability in ASSBs using X-ray spectroscopic techniques (Photoelectron Spectroscopy, XPS, in particular). Such in situ/operando studies will reveal key information for the understanding of the reactivity (chemical, electrochemical) and dynamics (formation and evolution of interphases) at these hardly mastered interfaces and thereby allow for technological progress.
Model systems will further be characterized by electrochemical methods (galvanostatic cycling, cyclic voltammetry and electrochemical impedance spectroscopy) in symmetric cells in order to correlate the chemistry at interfaces with electrochemical behaviour.

Skills

The Postdoctoral Research Fellow will be in charge of designing/testing the electrochemical cells or sample environments for spectroscopy characterization (XPS in particular), planning/realizing experiments and analyzing sets of data. Therefore, we are looking for a materials scientist and/or (electro-)chemist who is highly motivated by instrumental design and advanced characterization techniques at large scale facilities. Previous working experience in electrochemical energy storage research, surface science and/or spectroscopic measurements would be a strong asset. A good command - written and oral - of English is required. The knowledge of the French language is an advantage.
We are seeking a highly motivated, enthusiastic and hard-working candidate with the ambition to gain new insights and to present the results in leading, international journals. The applicant must show good interpersonal skills and be willing to work in close collaboration with the hosting team and other partners, as well as have the ability to work independently.

Work Context

The Postdoc will be hosted at SOLEIL synchrotron (Paris-Saclay Campus, Gif-sur-Yvette, www.synchrotron-soleil.fr) and strongly interact with a team of researchers and engineers at PHENIX laboratory at Sorbonne University (Paris, www.phenix.cnrs.fr) and CSE laboratory at Collège de France (Paris, www.solid-state-chemistry-energy-lab.org). The travelling time between SOLEIL and the laboratories in Paris is about 1h20min by public transportation. The applicant will further interact with other members of the RS2E (www.energie-rs2e.com), in particular researchers from IPREM laboratory at Pau University (https://iprem.univ-pau.fr) which is renowned for XPS analysis of electrochemical systems. The Postdoctoral Research Fellow will thus evolve in a multidisciplinary collaborative research environment and benefit from the available expertise in electrochemistry, materials science, synchrotron research and operando characterization of batteries.

Constraints and risks

The successful candidate is expected to spend approximately one day per week in one of the laboratories in Paris. Synchrotron experiments will take place during allocated beam time which may require up to seven days of presence at the synchrotron together with the team of researchers and may involve work during night hours. At least one week of synchrotron experiments is foreseen in the framework of the current project. The candidate may have the opportunity to spend longer research stays in RS2E partner laboratories (e.g. IPREM), to participate in schools and to present research results in conferences. National and international travels should thus be expected.

Additional Information

Please include the following document in your application:

- Cover letter including a description of scientific interests and the motivation for applying for the position (max. 2 pages)
- CV (summarizing education, positions and academic work - scientific publications)
- Copies of the original PhD diploma in physics, chemistry or materials science and letters of recommendation
- Names and contact details of 2-3 references (name, relation to candidate, e-mail and telephone number)

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR8234-JONSOT-002 - Caractérisation synchrotron avancée batteries à électrolyte solide - chercheur postdoctoral (H/F)

Caractérisation synchrotron avancée batteries à électrolyte solide - chercheur postdoctoral (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8234-JONSOT-002
Lieu de travail : PARIS 05
Date de publication : mardi 30 juin 2020
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 12 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : Le salaire mensuel est d'environ 2 960,00 € brut
Niveau d'études souhaité : Bac+5
Expérience souhaitée : Indifférent

Missions

Les batteries tout solide (ASSB) ont le potentiel de surpasser la technologie actuelle des batteries lithium-ion en termes de sécurité et de densité énergétique. Les ASSB sont donc particulièrement intéressantes pour la mobilité électrique. Leurs propriétés favorables sont rendues possibles par l'utilisation d'un électrolyte solide inorganique (au lieu d'un liquide organique inflammable) qui permet en outre l'utilisation de l'anode lithium-métal à haute densité énergétique. Malgré le fait qu'il existe plusieurs SE ayant une conductivité ionique suffisamment élevée, les ASSB ayant une longue durée de vie opérationnelle sont encore rares. Plusieurs problèmes de stabilité aux interfaces dus à des problèmes chimiques, électrochimiques ou mécaniques limitant la densité d'énergie et la durée de vie des batteries doivent encore être résolus avant de pouvoir commercialiser avec succès la technologie ASSB. Pour prévenir les mécanismes de défaillance des ASSB et contribuer ainsi à l'avancement de cette technologie, il faut comprendre comment les différents composants de la batterie interagissent les uns avec les autres aux interfaces solide/solide.

Activités

La caractérisation de ces interfaces est une tâche difficile, surtout lorsqu'elle est effectuée in situ pendant l'assemblage ou le fonctionnement des batteries et nécessite des méthodes avancées. Dans cette perspective, le PostDoc contribuera à la conception et à la mise en service d'appareils au synchrotron SOLEIL qui pourront être utilisés pour étudier l'(in)stabilité interfaciale dans les ASSB en utilisant des techniques de spectroscopie utilisant les rayons X (spectroscopie photoélectronique, XPS, en particulier). De telles études in situ/operando révéleront des informations essentielles pour la compréhension de la réactivité (chimique, électrochimique) et de la dynamique (formation et évolution des interphases) de ces interfaces à peine maîtrisées et permettront ainsi de réaliser des progrès technologiques.
Les systèmes modèles seront en outre caractérisés par des méthodes électrochimiques (cycle galvanostatique, voltampérométrie cyclique et spectroscopie d'impédance électrochimique) dans des cellules symétriques afin de corréler la chimie aux interfaces avec le comportement électrochimique.

Compétences

Le chercheur postdoctoral sera chargé de concevoir et de tester des cellules électrochimiques ou des environnements échantillons pour la caractérisation par spectroscopie (en particulier XPS), de planifier et de réaliser des expériences et d'analyser des ensembles de données. Nous recherchons donc un physicien et/ou un (électro-)chimiste spécialisé dans les matériaux, très motivé par la conception d'instruments et les techniques de caractérisation avancées dans des installations à grande échelle. Une expérience professionnelle antérieure dans la recherche sur le stockage d'énergie électrochimique, la science des surfaces et/ou les mesures spectroscopiques serait un atout important. Une bonne maîtrise - écrite et orale - de l'anglais est requise. La connaissance de la langue française est un avantage.
Nous recherchons un candidat très motivé, enthousiaste et travailleur, ayant l'ambition d'acquérir de nouvelles connaissances et de présenter les résultats dans des revues internationales de premier plan. Le candidat doit faire preuve d'un bon sens des relations humaines et être disposé à travailler en étroite collaboration avec l'équipe d'accueil et les autres partenaires, tout en étant capable de travailler de manière indépendante.

Contexte de travail

Le postdoc sera basé au synchrotron SOLEIL (Campus Paris-Saclay, Gif-sur-Yvette, www.synchrotron-soleil.fr) et interagira fortement avec une équipe de chercheurs et d'ingénieurs du laboratoire PHENIX de Sorbonne Université (Paris, www.phenix.cnrs.fr) et du laboratoire CSE du Collège de France (Paris, www.solid-state-chemistry-energy-lab.org). Le temps de trajet entre SOLEIL et les laboratoires de Paris est d'environ 1h20min en transport public. Le candidat interagira en outre avec d'autres membres du RS2E (www.energie-rs2e.com), en particulier avec des chercheurs du laboratoire IPREM de l'université de Pau (https://iprem.univ-pau.fr), qui est réputé pour l'analyse XPS des systèmes électrochimiques. Le chercheur postdoctoral évoluera donc dans un environnement de recherche collaborative multidisciplinaire et bénéficiera de l'expertise disponible en électrochimie, en science des matériaux, en recherche synchrotron et en caractérisation des batteries.

Contraintes et risques

Le candidat retenu devrait passer environ un jour par semaine dans l'un des laboratoires de Paris. Les expériences au synchrotron auront lieu pendant le temps de faisceau alloué, ce qui peut nécessiter jusqu'à sept jours de présence au synchrotron avec l'équipe de chercheurs et peut impliquer un travail pendant les heures de nuit. Au moins une semaine d'expériences synchrotron est prévue dans le cadre du projet actuel. Le candidat peut avoir la possibilité de passer des séjours de recherche plus longs dans les laboratoires partenaires du RS2E (par exemple à l'IPREM), de participer à des écoles et de présenter les résultats de ses recherches lors de conférences. Des voyages nationaux et internationaux sont donc à prévoir.

Informations complémentaires

Veuillez inclure les document suivant dans votre candidature:

- Lettre de motivation comprenant une description des intérêts scientifiques et de la motivation à postuler pour le poste (max. 2 pages)
- CV (résumant les études, les postes et les travaux universitaires - publications scientifiques)
- Copies de l'original du diplôme de doctorat en physique, chimie ou science des matériaux et des lettres de recommandation
- Noms et coordonnées de 2 ou 3 références (nom, relation avec le candidat, e-mail et numéro de téléphone)

On en parle sur Twitter !