By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR7585-MARCAR-016 - Position postdoctorale (H/F) ANR dans l'expérience T2K au LPNHE Paris

Postdoctoral Position in the T2K experiment at LPNHE Paris

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7585-MARCAR-016
Workplace : PARIS 05
Date of publication : Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 24 months
Expected date of employment : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : between 2728 to 3145 € gross monthly
Desired level of education : 5-year university degree
Experience required : Indifferent

Missions

The T2K experiment in a long-baseline neutrino oscillation experiment, taking data in Japan. T2K has been the first experiment to detect the appearance of electron neutrinos in a muon neutrino beam and is currently searching for CP violation in the leptonic sector by precisely measuring appearance probabilities of neutrinos and antineutrinos.
Such measurement requires both, larger statistics and a better understanding of systematics uncertainties.
For these purposes, an upgrade of the T2K Near Detector, ND280, is being conducted and is expected to significantly reduce the impact of systematics uncertainties on T2K oscillation analyses. The ND280 upgraded detector, which is expected to start commissioning in 2022, will include two new Time Projection Chambers (TPCs) and a fully active target for neutrino interactions (Super-FGD).

Activities

The position is funded by the ANR (Agence National de la Recherche) for two years and the successful candidate is expected to work on the upgrade of the T2K Near Detector, on developing the reconstruction software for the new detectors and on investigating the physics capabilities of the upgrade in constraining neutrino cross-section models. He/She will also participate to the assembly and the commissioning of the new detectors at CERN and J-PARC.
Funding needed to cover travel costs to Japan and participation in relevant international scientific conferences/workshops has been allocated in the project budget. To ensure full consideration, applications should be submitted before July 15th 2020.

Skills

The candidate should have a PhD in Particle Physics, Astrophysics or Cosmology.
Previous experience in neutrino oscillations is desirable although not mandatory.

The position is funded by ANR for two years. The starting date is October 1st , 2020.

Applications should include a CV with a summary of previous research activities and a statement of interest. Three reference letters should be sent to Claudio Giganti (cgiganti@lpnhe.in2p3.fr) and Boris Popov (boris.popov@lpnhe.in2p3.fr)
For further information, contact Claudio Giganti.

Work Context

LPNHE (Laboratoire de Physique Nucléaire et de Hautes Energies, https://lpnhe.in2p3.fr/) is a laboratory of the IN2P3 (Institut National de Physique Nucléaire et de Physique de Particules), a CNRS institute, and of the universities « Sorbonne Université » and « Université de Paris ». The laboratory is located in Paris (France). It is involved in major particle physics, astroparticle physics and cosmology international collaborations. 90 permanent agents work in LPNHE.

The Neutrino group at LPNHE is currently involved in the analysis of the T2K data, in the upgrade of the T2K Near Detector and in the preparation for the next generation of long-baseline experiment, Hyper-Kamiokande. The T2K group is composed of 4 permanent researchers: three CNRS researchers (J. Dumarchez, C. Giganti, B. Popov), an assistant professor (M. Guigue), one postdoc and two PhD students.

Constraints and risks

No specific risks are foreseen for this position.

Additional Information

The position is funded by ANR for two years. The starting date is October 1st , 2020. An experience of less than two years after the PhD is required

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR7585-MARCAR-016 - Position postdoctorale (H/F) ANR dans l'expérience T2K au LPNHE Paris

Position postdoctorale (H/F) ANR dans l'expérience T2K au LPNHE Paris

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7585-MARCAR-016
Lieu de travail : PARIS 05
Date de publication : mercredi 24 juin 2020
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 24 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : entre 2728 à 3145 € bruts mensuels
Niveau d'études souhaité : Bac+5
Expérience souhaitée : Indifférent

Missions

L'expérience T2K est une expérience d'oscillations de neutrinos à longue ligne de base, en prise des données au Japon. T2K a été la première expérience à détecter l'apparition de neutrinos électroniques dans un faisceau de neutrinos muoniques et recherche actuellement la violation de CP (Charge-Parité) dans le secteur leptonique en mesurant précisément les probabilités d'apparition des neutrinos et antineutrinos.
Une telle mesure exige à la fois des statistiques plus grandes et une meilleure compréhension des incertitudes systématiques.
À ces fins, une mise à niveau du détecteur proche de T2K, ND280, est en cours et devrait réduire considérablement l'impact des incertitudes systématiques sur les analyses d'oscillations. La mise à niveau du détecteur ND280 sera installée à J-PARC en 2022 et elle inclus deux nouvelles Chambre à Projection Temporelle (TPCs) et une cible active pour les interactions des neutrinos (Super-FGD).

Activités

Le postdoc est financé par l'ANR (Agence Nationale de la Recherche) pour deux ans et le candidat retenu devrait travailler sur la mise à niveau de ND280, sur le développement du logiciel de reconstruction pour les nouveaux détecteurs et sur l'assemblage des détecteurs au CERN d'abord et au Japon ensuite.
Les fonds nécessaires pour couvrir les frais de voyage au Japon et au CERN et la participation à des conférences internationales ont été alloués dans le budget du projet. Pour pouvoir être retenues dans le processus de sélection, les demandes doivent être soumises avant le 15 Juillet 2020.

Compétences

Le candidat ou la candidate doit avoir un diplôme de doctorat (ou équivalent) en physique des particules, astrophysique ou cosmologie. Une expérience précédente dans les analyses des oscillations des neutrinos est fortement souhaitée mais pas obligatoire.

Le contrat postdoctoral est financé par l'ANR pour deux ans. Le démarrage du contrat est le 1er Octobre 2020.
Les candidatures, comprenant un CV avec un résumé des activités scientifiques précédentes, une lettre de motivation et trois lettres de référence sont à envoyer à Claudio Giganti (cgiganti@lpnhe.in2p3.fr) et à Boris Popov (boris.popov@lpnhe.in2p3.fr).
Pour plus d'informations, veuillez contacter Claudio Giganti.

Contexte de travail

Le LPNHE (Laboratoire de Physique Nucléaire et de Hautes Énergies, https://lpnhe.in2p3.fr/) est un laboratoire de l'IN2P3 (Institut National de Physique Nucléaire et de Physique de Particules), un institut du CNRS et des universités « Sorbonne Université » et « Université de Paris ». Le laboratoire se situe à Paris (France). Il est impliqué dans des collaborations internationales majeures dans les domaines de la physique des particules, des astroparticules et de la cosmologie. Il compte 90 chercheurs, enseignants-chercheurs et agents administratifs, techniques et ingénieurs permanents.

Actuellement, le groupe Neutrinos du LPNHE est impliqué dans l'analyse des données des expériences T2K, dans l'upgrade du détecteur proche et dans la préparation de l'expérience de prochaine génération, Hyper-Kamiokande. Le groupe T2K est composé de 4 permanents : trois chercheurs CNRS (J. Dumarchez, C. Giganti, B. Popov), un maître de conférence (M. Guigue), un postdoc et deux doctorants.

Contraintes et risques

Aucun risque particulier pour cette position postdoctorale.

Informations complémentaires

Le contrat postdoctoral est financé par l'ANR sur le projet SUNCORE pour deux ans. Le démarrage du contrat est le 1er Octobre 2020. Une expérience de moins des deux ans après la thèse est demandée.

On en parle sur Twitter !