By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR7550-MARALL-003 - CDS-ESCAPE Science Support Researcher H/F

CDS-ESCAPE Science Support Researcher M/F

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7550-MARALL-003
Workplace : STRASBOURG
Date of publication : Friday, July 17, 2020
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 24 months
Expected date of employment : 5 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2675 to 3805 euros gross monthly salary depending on experience
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : Indifferent

Missions

Astrophysics researcher to provide scientific support to the operation of the ESCAPE project.

Activities

Work within the CDS team on scientific interoperability of astronomical data and services, and will contribute to the development and presentation of science tutorials to support ESCAPE training events. The work will involve interactions with technical and scientific staff at the CDS and within the ESCAPE partners. The position includes opportunities for collaboration with members of the ESCAPE project on topics including time domain astronomy, radio/mm astronomy, multi-messenger astrophysics, data science and exploitation of large astronomical surveys.

Skills

- Ph.D. in astrophysics or a related discipline
- Expertise in analysis of astronomy data
- Expertise with multi-wavelength or multi-messenger astronomy
- Experience with Virtual Observatory tools
- Experience with python language tools and notebooks
- Interest to contribute to the development of data sharing techniques and practices.

Work Context

The Centre de Données astronomiques de Strasbourg (CDS) is dedicated to the collection and distribution of astronomical data and information, and the development of innovative techniques for scientific exploitation of very large data sets. The CDS provides the SIMBAD reference database; the VizieR service for astronomical catalogues and tables published in academic journals; the Aladin interactive sky atlas and the CDS portal. The CDS also contributes to the Virtual Observatory. (For more information see http://cds.unistra.fr)

The CDS is participating in the 'European Science Cluster of Astronomy & Particle physics ESFRI research infrastructures' — ESCAPE project funded by the European Commission. ESCAPE aims to address the Open Science challenges shared by ESFRI facilities (CTA, ELT, EST, FAIR, HL-LHC, KM3NeT, SKA) as well as other pan-European research infrastructures (CERN, ESO, JIVE, EGO-Virgo) in astronomy and particle physics research domains.(For more information see — https://www.projectescape.eu).

Constraints and risks

Respect of the regulations of the Observatoire astronomique de Strasbourg.

Additional Information

To apply you must provide :
- CV
- Letter of motivation
- The names of two people who could be asked to write a reference letter

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR7550-MARALL-003 - CDS-ESCAPE Science Support Researcher H/F

CDS-ESCAPE Science Support Researcher H/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7550-MARALL-003
Lieu de travail : STRASBOURG
Date de publication : vendredi 17 juillet 2020
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 24 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 5 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : De 2675 à 3805 euros bruts mensuels, selon expérience
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : Indifférent

Missions

Le chercheur apportera un soutien scientifique au fonctionnement du projet ESCAPE.

Activités

Travaillera au sein de l'équipe CDS sur l'interopérabilité scientifique des données et services astronomiques, et contribuera au développement et à la présentation de tutoriels scientifiques pour soutenir les événements de formation ESCAPE. Le travail impliquera des interactions avec le personnel technique et scientifique du CDS et des partenaires ESCAPE. Le poste comprend des possibilités de collaboration avec les membres du projet ESCAPE sur des sujets tels que l'astronomie temporelle, l'astronomie radio/mm, l'astrophysique multi-messagers, la science des données et l'exploitation de grandes enquêtes astronomiques.

Compétences

- Doctorat en astrophysique ou dans une thématique voisine. 

- Expertise en matière d'analyse des données astronomiques ou data science
- Expertise en matière d'astronomie multi-longueurs d'onde ou multi-messagers
- Expérience avec les outils de l'Observatoire Virtuel
- Expérience avec les outils et les notebooks du langage python
- Intérêt à contribuer au développement des techniques et pratiques de partage des données.

Contexte de travail

Le Centre de Données astronomiques de Strasbourg (CDS) est consacré à la collecte et à la diffusion de données et d'informations astronomiques, ainsi qu'au développement de techniques innovantes pour l'exploitation scientifique de très grands ensembles de données. Le CDS fournit la base de données de référence SIMBAD, le service VizieR pour les catalogues astronomiques et les tables publiées dans les journaux scientifiques d'astronomie, l'atlas interactif du ciel d'Aladin et le portail du CDS. Le CDS contribue également au développement de l'Observatoire Virtuel astronomique. (Pour plus d'informations, voir http://cds.unistra.fr)

Le CDS participe au projet ESCAPE "European Science Cluster of Astronomy & Particle physics ESFRI research infrastructures" financé par la Commission européenne. ESCAPE relève les défis de la science ouverte que partagent les infrastructures de l'ESFRI dans les domaines de l'astronomie et de la physique des particules (CTA, ELT, EST, FAIR, HL-LHC, KM3NeT, SKA) ainsi que d'autres infrastructures de recherche pan européennes (CERN, ESO, JIVE, EGO-Virgo). (pour plus d'informations, voir - https://www.projectescape.eu)

Contraintes et risques

Respect du règlement intérieur de l'Observatoire astronomique de Strasbourg.

Informations complémentaires

Pour candidater vous devez fournir :
- CV
- Lettre de motivation
- Les noms de deux personnes susceptibles d'écrire une lettre de référence

On en parle sur Twitter !