En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR7501-DELSCH-005 - Chercheur post-doctoral en science des données H/F

Post-doctoral researcher in data science M / F

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Date Limite Candidature : jeudi 28 janvier 2021

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7501-DELSCH-005
Workplace : STRASBOURG
Date of publication : Thursday, December 17, 2020
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 12 months
Expected date of employment : 1 March 2021
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : from 2675.28 euros gross monthly according to experience
Desired level of education : 5-year university degree
Experience required : Indifferent

Missions

As an intern at IRMA, UMR university of Strasbourg et CNRS 7501, the post-doctoral researcher will carry out research work on the theme of artificial intelligence and data science. This research project is part of a research collaboration between the innovative young company Your Data Consulting (YDC) and two professors and researchers, Frédéric Bertrand (European university of technology) and Myriam Maumy-Bertrand (European university of technology, internship at IRMA).

Activities

Main activities:
Your Data Consulting is the owner of the LiveJourney SaaS platform, which can be found at https://www.livejourney.com. This platform enables mail order companies, manufacturing or delivery companies to dynamically view and analyze the journeys of their customers, products and packages. In addition, it allows companies to anticipate events that could slow down the process and detect bottlenecks. Several research themes have been selected for post-doctoral research.

ROOT CAUSE ANALYSIS (RCA) :
In software engineering, RCA is a problem-solving method used to identify the root causes of process failures [1]. It is widely used in computer operations, telecommunications, industrial process control, accident analysis (e.g. in aviation, rail transport or nuclear power plants), medicine (for medical diagnosis), the health sector (e.g. in epidemiology), etc. [2]. RCA clearly links to theoretical studies in causality, a new and promising area in statistical research, whose number of publications has been growing steadily since the 2010's [5, 2].
PROCESS PREDICTION
Process mining is a research discipline that uses artificial intelligence and data mining techniques on the one hand, and process modelling and analysis on the other. It facilitates the analysis of business processes on the basis of event logs extracted from computer systems, see the article in [7]. This is somewhat comparable to data mining, but the focus is mainly on the acquisition of process knowledge, see the article in [6]. Existing approaches allow to discover the process model, to detect changes in the initially designed model, to find correlations between process data and different variants of the model (see the article in [3]), to analyze and predict inefficient aspects (see the article in [4]).

CAUSALITY AND AI
Causality is a well-known problem in statistics and plays an important role in explanation, prediction and automated decision making [8]. Recently, with the rapid accumulation of massive data, it has become increasingly desirable to extract causal relationships from these data.

Valorization of results through scientific publications in the form of patents, papers in world leading conferences or articles in world leading journals.


References

[1] A. Abubakar, P. B. Zadeh, H. Janicke, and R. Howley. Root cause analysis (rca) as a preliminary tool into the investigation of identity theft. In 2016 International Conference On Cyber Security And Protection Of Digital Services (Cyber Security), pages 1–5, June 2016.

[2] Léon Bottou, Jonas Peters, Joaquin Qui nonero Candela, Denis X. Charles, D. Max Chickering, Elon Portugaly, Dipankar Ray, Patrice Simard, and Ed Snelson. Counterfactual reasoning and learning systems: The example of computational advertising. Journal of Machine Learning Research, 14:3207–3260, 2013.

[3] Pavlos Delias, Daniela Grigori, Mohamed Lamine Mouhoub, and Alexis Tsoukias. Discovering characteristics that affect process control flow. In Lecture Notes in Business Information Processing, volume 221, pages 51–63. Springer, Cham, 2015.

[4] Daniela Grigori, Fabio Casati, Malu Castellanos, Umeshwar Dayal, Mehmet Sayal, and Ming Chien Shan. Business Process Intelligence. Computers in Industry, 53(3):321–343, apr 2004.

[5] Judea Pearl and Dana Mackenzie. The Book of Why: The New Science of Cause and Effect. Basic Books, Inc., New York, NY, USA, 1st edition, 2018.

[6] Wil M.P. van der Aalst, Wei Zhe Low, Moe T. Wynn, and Arthur H.M. ter Hofstede. Change your history: Learning from event logs to improve processes. In 2015 IEEE 19th International Conference on Computer Supported Cooperative Work in Design (CSCWD), pages 7–12. IEEE, may 2015.

[7] W.M. Van Der Aalst, Arya Adriansyah, Ana Karla Alves De Medeiros, Franco Arcieri, Thomas Baier, Tobias Blickle, Jagadeesh Chandra Bose, Peter Van Den Brand, Ronald Brandtjen, Joos Buijs, and Others. Process mining manifesto. In International Conference on Business Process Management, pages 169–194. Springer, 2011.
[8] Kun Zhang, Bernhard Schölkopf, Peter Spirtes, and Clark Glymour. Learning causality and causality related learning: some recent progress. National Science Review, 5(1):26–29, 11 2017.

Occasional activities:

Participate in the integration of research results into the LiveJourney platform hosted on AWS.

Participate in the analysis of real data sets in collaboration with the experts at Your Data consulting.

Skills

Position level:
Research Engineer in charge of post-doctoral research. A Ph.D. in a discipline related to data sciences is required.

Professional skills:

- General, theoretical or disciplinary knowledge
Knowledge of statistical or machine learning is essential. A good aptitude and appetence for programming is required. Knowledge of stochastic models and time series analysis would be appreciated. Experience with Petri nets will be valued.

- Knowledge about the work environment
A desire to be part of a research team at the frontier between academic research and applied research in companies.

- Operational know-how
Strong programming experience in one of the major languages of data science: R or Python. Experience in C, C++ or fortran, as well as in Pytorch, will be appreciated.

- Language skills
English: read, written and spoken.

Work Context

The position is located at the Institute for Research in Advanced Mathematics IRMA UMR7501 which is under the joint supervision of the CNRS and the University of Strasbourg.

Constraints and risks

Frequent meetings with YourData Consulting, a company located in Paris, are required. Visiting Your Data on a regular basis will be scheduled (2 times by month).

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR7501-DELSCH-005 - Chercheur post-doctoral en science des données H/F

Chercheur post-doctoral en science des données H/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Date Limite Candidature : mercredi 17 février 2021

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7501-DELSCH-005
Lieu de travail : STRASBOURG
Date de publication : jeudi 17 décembre 2020
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 12 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 mars 2021
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : à partir de 2675,28 euros brut mensuel selon expérience
Niveau d'études souhaité : Bac+5
Expérience souhaitée : Indifférent

Missions

Au sein de l'IRMA, UMR université de Strasbourg et CNRS 7501, le/la chercheur post-doctorant-e réalisera des travaux de recherche sur les thématiques de l'intelligence artificielle et de la science des données. Cette mission s'inscrit dans le cadre d'une collaboration de recherche entre la jeune entreprise innovante Your Data Consulting (YDC) et deux enseignants-chercheurs, Frédéric Bertrand (université européenne de technologie) et Myriam Maumy-Bertrand (université européenne de technologie, détachement à l'IRMA).

Activités

Activités principales :
Your Data Consulting est propriétaire de la plateforme SaaS LiveJourney qui est présentée à l'adresse suivante : https://www.livejourney.com. Cette plateforme permet aux entreprises de vente par correspondance, aux entreprises de production ou aux entreprises de livraison de visualiser et d'analyser de façon dynamique les parcours de leurs clients, de leurs produits et de leurs colis. De plus, elle permet aux entreprises d'anticiper des événements qui pourraient ralentir le processus et de détecter les goulots d'étranglement. Plusieurs thématiques ont été sélectionnées pour faire l'objet d'un travail de recherche post-doctoral.

ROOT CAUSE ANALYSIS (RCA) :
En génie logiciel, la RCA est une méthode de résolution de problèmes utilisée pour identifier les causes profondes des défaillances dans un processus [1]. Elle est largement utilisée dans les opérations informatiques, les télécommunications, le contrôle des processus industriels, l'analyse des accidents (par exemple, dans l'aviation, le transport ferroviaire ou les centrales nucléaires), la médecine (pour le diagnostic médical), le secteur sanitaire (par exemple, dans l'épidémiologie), etc. Le RCA fait clairement un lien avec les études théoriques en causalité, domaine nouveau et prometteur en recherche statistique, et dont le nombre de publication de cesse de croître depuis les années 2010 [5, 2].

PRÉDICTION DES PROCESSUS
La fouille de processus est une discipline de recherche qui se sert, d'une part, des techniques de l'intelligence artificielle et de la fouille de données et, d'autre part, de la modélisation et de l'analyse des processus. Elle facilite ainsi l'analyse des processus d'entreprises sur la base des journaux d'événements, extraits des systèmes informatiques, voir l'article de [7]. C'est en quelque sorte comparable au Data Mining, mais l'objectif est surtout axé sur l'acquisition de la connaissance des processus, voir l'article de [6]. Les approches existantes permettent de découvrir le modèle de processus, de détecter des modifications du modèle initialement conçu, de trouver des corrélations entre les données du processus et les différentes variantes du modèles (voir l'article de [3]), d'analyser et de prédire des aspects inefficaces (voir l'article de [4]).

CAUSALITÉ ET IA
La causalité est un problème bien connu en statistique et joue un rôle important dans l'explication, la prédiction et la prise de décision automatisée [8]. Récemment, avec l'accumulation rapide données massives, il devient de plus en plus souhaitable d'extraire des relations causales de ces données.

Valorisation des résultats par des publications scientifiques sous forme de brevets, de communications dans des conférences de premier plan ou d'articles dans des journaux de premier plan.

Quelques références.

[1] A. Abubakar, P. B. Zadeh, H. Janicke, and R. Howley. Root cause analysis (rca) as a preliminary tool into the investigation of identity theft. In 2016 International Conference On Cyber Security And Protection Of Digital Services (Cyber Security), pages 1–5, June 2016.

[2] Léon Bottou, Jonas Peters, Joaquin Qui nonero Candela, Denis X. Charles, D. Max Chickering, Elon Portugaly, Dipankar Ray, Patrice Simard, and Ed Snelson. Counterfactual reasoning and learning systems: The example of computational advertising. Journal of Machine Learning Research, 14:3207–3260, 2013.

[3] Pavlos Delias, Daniela Grigori, Mohamed Lamine Mouhoub, and Alexis Tsoukias. Discovering characteristics that affect process control flow. In Lecture Notes in Business Information Processing, volume 221, pages 51–63. Springer, Cham, 2015.

[4] Daniela Grigori, Fabio Casati, Malu Castellanos, Umeshwar Dayal, Mehmet Sayal, and Ming Chien Shan. Business Process Intelligence. Computers in Industry, 53(3):321–343, apr 2004.

[5] Judea Pearl and Dana Mackenzie. The Book of Why: The New Science of Cause and Effect. Basic Books, Inc., New York, NY, USA, 1st edition, 2018.
[6] Wil M.P. van der Aalst, Wei Zhe Low, Moe T. Wynn, and Arthur H.M. ter Hofstede. Change your history: Learning from event logs to improve processes. In 2015 IEEE 19th International Conference on Computer Supported Cooperative Work in Design (CSCWD), pages 7–12. IEEE, may 2015.

[7] W.M. Van Der Aalst, Arya Adriansyah, Ana Karla Alves De Medeiros, Franco Arcieri, Thomas Baier, Tobias Blickle, Jagadeesh Chandra Bose, Peter Van Den Brand, Ronald Brandtjen, Joos Buijs, and Others. Process mining manifesto. In International Conference on Business Process Management, pages 169–194. Springer, 2011.

[8] Kun Zhang, Bernhard Schölkopf, Peter Spirtes, and Clark Glymour. Learning causality and causality related learning: some recent progress. National Science Review, 5(1):26–29, 11 2017.

Activités occasionnelles :

Participer à l'intégration des résultats des travaux de recherche à la plateforme LiveJourney hébergée sur AWS.

Participer à l'analyse des jeux de données réels en collaboration avec les experts de Your Data consulting.

Compétences

Niveau de poste :
Ingénieur-e de recherche chargé-e de travaux de recherche post-doctoraux. Un doctorat dans une discipline connexe aux sciences des données est requis.


Aptitudes professionnelles :

- Savoirs généraux, théoriques ou disciplinaires
Des connaissances en apprentissage statistique ou automatique sont essentielles. Une bonne aptitude et appétence pour la programmation est requise. Des connaissances dans le domaine du stochastique et des séries temporelles seraient appréciées. Une expérience avec les réseaux de Petri sera valorisée.

- Savoirs sur l'environnement professionnel
Avoir envie de s'intégrer à une équipe de recherche à la frontière entre la recherche académique et la recherche appliquée en entreprise.

- Savoir-faire opérationnels
Forte expérience en programmation dans l'un des langages majeurs de la science des données : R ou Python. Une expérience en C, C++ ou fortran sera appréciée ainsi qu'une expérience de Pytorch.

- Compétences linguistiques
Anglais : lu, écrit et parlé (niveau B1)

Contexte de travail

Le poste se situe à l'Institut de Recherche en Mathématiques Avancée IRMA UMR7501 qui est sous la cotutelle du CNRS et de l'Université de Strasbourg.

Contraintes et risques

Échanges réguliers et fréquents avec l'entreprise YourData. Des visites en présentiel à l'entreprise située à Paris, si les circonstances le permettent, seront à envisager (2 fois par mois).

On en parle sur Twitter !