By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR5275-FABCAR-028 - Postdoc en chimie et physique des matériaux (H/F)

Postdoc in material physics and chemistry (F/M)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5275-FABCAR-028
Workplace : GRENOBLE
Date of publication : Monday, November 25, 2019
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 12 months
Expected date of employment : 1 February 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2617€ gross salary
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : Indifferent

Missions

Among the essential micronutrients, selenium has one of the narrowest ranges between dietary deficiency and toxic levels (one order of magnitude difference in daily intake), and is hence often described as 'double‐edged sword' (Levander and Burk, 2006). Since both Se toxicity and deficiency have dramatic effects on the health of people, understanding Se bioavailability is of paramount importance for society. However, it is not an easy task to decipher the physico‐chemical and biological processes that govern selenium bioavailability. In the environment, a variety of redox states and associated chemical forms, and their interaction with organic and inorganic natural phases, result in a complex behavior, with different species being present at the same time in one environment. Furthermore the radioisotope 79Se poses a substantial risk for the safe disposal of nuclear waste due to its long half life (~1.1 Mio a) and suspected high mobility. At corroding waste canisters, the surrounding compacted clay liners and in deep anoxic aquifers, however, complex redox reactions may initiate the precipitation of selenium nanoparticles from seleniae, which are challenging predictive geochemical models (Breynaert et al., 2008; Charlet et al., 2007; Scheinost and Charlet, 2008; Scheinost et al., 2008). The safety assessment of advanced radwaste programs must demonstrate a detailed understanding of the physical–chemical phenomena governing the effects of RN speciation and diffusion-driven transport within the geological barrier system. (Charlet et al., 2017). Among critical points to such performance assessment are, as pointed out by Altmann (2008), the poor ability of certain highly to moderately mobile, long half-life radionuclides (e.g. 79Tc, 79Se) to be sorbed in their more oxidized form and to be reductively precipitated by Fe(II) containing clay or oxides. In fact increasing the Kd value from 0 to only 1 mg/L was shown to have a great effect (orders of magnitude) on the total fluxes (mol/year) of 129I, 36Cl and 79Se potentially released after 103 to 106 years from a geological barrier system such as the Callovo- Oxfordien formation (Altmann, 2008). In a variety of previous studies we have investigated chemically and spectroscopically the reduction of selenite by a variety of Fe(II) containing minerals (pyrite, mackinawite, magnetite, Fe(II) containing calcite and clay).
- In the present project, our goal is to quantify the reductive precipitation of selenate (Se(VI)) and perrhenate (Re(VII), another recalcitrant Tc-model oxyanion, by Fe(II) containing minerals, and to évaluate the stability of this process in case of pH or composition change perturbations via break through curves (BTCs)
- We will compared these static and dynamic sorption studies to spectroscopic investigations and possibly molecular dynamics, in order to quantify and understand Se & Re reduction mechnaisms in micro and nanoporous model claystone systems.

Activities

1. The postdoc researcher will measure selenate(Se(VI))and perrhenate (Re(VII) anion adsorption by nano-magnetite, either in « barch » or in microfluidic dynamic experiments, the device being coupled to a liquid chromatography with measurements performed in 50 µL samples. This will be compared to the reactivity of goethite suspended in H2-rich water. In previous work we have studied the sorption of H2 on clays (Mondelli et al., 2015, Didier et al., 2014; Bardelli, 2014) and shown that the reduction of selenite ions (Se (IV)) at the surface of clay in presence of Fe2+ was going through an hypothetic sorbed H2 intermediate (Charlet et al., 2007). Recent studies from our Institute have shown that clayrock can also contain up to 500 ppm H2 in water saturated conditions (Truche et al., 2018). One of the co-advisors, F. Brunet, is presently conducting H2 sorption experiments onto goethite and mercury reductive volatilisation (as Hg°(g)) by goethite in presence of H2(g). The effect of competitive redox inactive anion, and of pH varations will also be investigated.
2. Based on the large experience of our team in synchrotron based spectroscopy, the postdoc will perform XAFS measurements, and interpret the data, possibly with the help of computational molecular dynamics, in order to study the reductive precipitation mecanisms in claystone systems. Kinetic macroscopic models will also be applied to macroscopic batch data and BTCs.

Skills

Techniques to be used include: wet heterogeneous chemical kinetics (and modeling) ; use of glovebox (N2 atmosphere) ; microfluidic BTCs ; Ion chromatograhy and ICP-AES ; XRD/SEM/TEM/TEM/FTIR measurements, XAFS spectroscopy, and computational chemistry.

Work Context

The research is part of an ISTerre (Grenoble, France) research programme, done in collaboration with synchrotron ROBL beamline at ESRF (Grenoble, France). The two teams will share their experience to study the adsorption of Se(VI) or Re(VII) on nano magnetite or on goethite H2-rich suspension.
This position is part of a European research program on Radioactive wate disposal (https://cordis.europa.eu/project/rcn/223662/factsheet/en), the EURAD project, funded by the EU (H2020).
General informations on ISTerre and ROBL are available http://isterre.fr and http://www-robl.ec). ISTerre is ranked 4th worldwide in Geochemistry/Geophysics according to CWUR World University Ranking 2018-2019 (https://cwur.org/2017/subjects.php#Geochemistry%20&%20Geophysics).

Additional Information

The candidate must have completed his/her PhD by October 2019.
We are looking for a highly motivated scientist, interested in material physics and chemistry, Fe(II) mineralogy and redox chemistry, wet chemistry and analytical lab work.
The candidate must furthermore have a strong background in spectroscopy (XAFS, FTIR).
Knowledge of French language is not required. An excellent level in English is required (both written and oral) .
The choice of the candidate will be based on his academic record and demonstrated skills during the interviews.
Candidates must provide a detailed CV with academic diploms, skills, research and personnal interests, employment history, and a complete list of publications / abstracts / conferences, as well as name, position, email and phone of 2 referents.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR5275-FABCAR-028 - Postdoc en chimie et physique des matériaux (H/F)

Postdoc en chimie et physique des matériaux (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5275-FABCAR-028
Lieu de travail : GRENOBLE
Date de publication : lundi 25 novembre 2019
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 12 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 février 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2617 brut
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : Indifférent

Missions

Parmi les micro-éléments essentiels, le sélénium a l'une des plus petites fenêtre entre déficit alimentaire et niveau toxique (un ordre de grandeur de différence entre les doses journalières correspondantes) et il est donc décrit comme étant « à double tranchant » (Levander and Burk, 2006). Etant donné que tant un déficit qu'un excès en sélénium peuvent avoir des effets dramatiques sur la santé humaine, il est essentiel pour notre société de comprendre sa biodisponibilité. Cependant il n'est pas aisé de comprendre l'ensemble des phénomènes physico-chimiques qui gouvernent cette biodisponibilité. Un grand nombre de degrés d'oxydation et de formes chimiques associées, et leur interaction avec des phases organiques et inorganiques naturelles, conduisent à avoir plusieurs espèces présentes simultanément dans un environnement donné. De plus un des isotopes du sélénium, 79Se crée un risque potentiel dans le stockage des déchets nucléaires de par sa longue demi vie (~1.1 million d'années) et sa grande mobilité. Au niveau de l'interface entre l'argile compactée et le containeur corrodé dans des conditions anoxiques, des réactions complexes peuvent conduire à la précipitation de nanoparticules à partir de l'ion sélénate, qui sont un défi à la prédiction par les modèles géochimiques (Breynaert et al., 2008; Charlet et al., 2007; Scheinost and Charlet, 2008; Scheinost et al., 2008). L'estimation du risque associé au stockage de tels déchets doit inclure une compréhension détaillée des processus physico chimiques et de diffusion qui gouvernent le devenir des radioéléments dans les systèmes de barrière géologique (Charlet et al., 2017). Parmi les points critiques à une telle estimation de risque , la faible capacité d'ions formés par des éléments à longue vie (e.g. 79Tc, 79Se) à s'adsorber sous leur forme la plus oxydée et à être réduits par les phases minérales riches en Fe(II) et donc à diminuer leur forte mobilité, joue un rôle central. Altmann (2008) a montré qu'une augmentation de la valeur du Kd de ces ions, de 0 à seulement 1 mg/L, diminuait après 103 à 106 d'années et par plusieurs ordres de grandeur (en mol/year) le flux sortant de la barrière géologique telle que la formation du Callovo-Oxfordien pour 129I, 36Cl et 79Se. Dans diverses études précédentes nous avons étudié chimiquement et spectroscopiquement la réduction du sélénite (Se(IV)) par divers minéraux riches en Fe(II) (pyrite, mackinawite, magnetite, argiles et calcite à Fe(II)).
- Dans le présent projet notre but est de quantifier la précipitation par réduction des ions selenate (Se(VI)) et perrhenate (Re(VII), un autre oxyanion récalcitrant modèle du pertechnetate, par des minéraux riches en Fe(II) et d'évaluer la stabilité de ce processus par rapport à plusieurs perturbations (anion concurrent, changement de pH) au moyen de courbes de percée.
- Nous combinerons ces expériences statiques et dynamiques de sorption avec des mesures spectroscopiques et de simulation informatique pour quantifier et comprendre les mécanismes de réduction du Se et du Re dans les systèmes argileux micro et nanoporeux.

Activités

Le/la candidat(e) retenu(e)

- mesurera la sorption des anions sélénate (Se(VI)) et perrhenate (Re(VII) par des minéraux riches en Fe(II) (nanomagnétite), soit en « batch » soit sur dans des systèmes de microfluidique, couplés à une chromatographie liquide. Ces mesures seront comparées à la réactivité vis à vis des mêmes oxyanions de la goethite suspendue dans l'eau saturée en H2. Nous avons étudié précédemment l'adsorption de H2 sur des argiles (Mondelli et al., 2015, Didier et al., 2014; Bardelli, 2014) et montré que la réduction de Se(IV) faisait intervenir H2 adsorbé (Charlet et al., 2007). Des études récentes ont démontré que les roches riches en argile et saturées d'eau naturelle pouvaient contenir jusqu'à 500 ppm de H2 (Truche et al., 2018). L'un des co-encadrants conduit des expériences de volatilisation du mercure par réduction dans des suspensions de goethite saturées en H2. La compétition pour l'adsoprption d'autres oxyanions et l'effet du pH sera évaluée.

- En se basant sur la vaste expérience de notre équipe en matière de recherche spectroscopique sur synchrotron, le/la postdoc effectuera des mesures XAFS, interprétera les données, et éventuellement fera des études de dynamique moléculaire, pour comprendre les mécanismes de précipitation par réduction. Des modèles cinétiques macroscopiques seront utilisés pour modéliser les courbes de percées et autres données cinétiques.

Compétences

Techniques utilisées : suivi de cinétiques de réactions en réacteurs fermés en présence de H2 ; suivi de cinétique en boite à gant(atmosphère N2) ; Courbes de percée en microfluidique ; Analyse par chromatographie ionique et ICP-AES ; caractérisations minéralogiques XRD/SEM/TEM/TEM/FTIR, spectroscopie XAFS, et modélisation atomistique computationnelle.

Contexte de travail

Il s'agit d'un programme de recherche du laboratoire ISTerre (Grenoble, France), en collaboration avec la ligne de lumière synchrotron ROBL à l'ESRF (Grenoble, France). Les deux équipes de recherche partageront leurs compétences et leurs connaissances pour étudier l'adsorption du Se(VI) et Re(VII) à la surface de magnétite ou de goethite en suspension dans une eau riche H2-rich.
Ce poste fait partie du programme européen commun sur la gestion des déchets radioactifs (https://cordis.europa.eu/project/rcn/223662/factsheet/en), Projet EURAD, soutenu financièrement par la Commission Européenne (H2020).
Des informations générales sur les laboratoires ISTerre et ROBL sont disponibles sur : http://isterre.fr et http://www-robl.ec. ISTerre (via l'Université Grenoble Alpes) a été classé 4ème centre en Géochimie/Géophysique au niveau mondial par le classement CWUR des Universités 2018-2019. (https://cwur.org/2017/subjects.php#Geochemistry%20&%20Geophysics)

Informations complémentaires

Les candidats doivent être titulaires d'un doctorat (ou équivalent) en géologie, chimie, physique ou science des matériaux d'ici octobre 2019.
Nous recherchons une personne très motivée, particulièrement intéressée par la chimie et la physique des matériaux, la minéralogie des sulfures et oxydes de Fe(II) et le travail expérimental et analytique en laboratoire.
Le candidat doit, en outre, avoir une solide formation en spectroscopie.
La connaissance du français n'est pas obligatoire mais le candidat doit parfaitement maîtriser et écrire l'anglais.
Cette bourse postdoctorale est principalement assujettie au dossier scolaire et à la qualité du candidat pendant l'entretien.
Les candidats doivent soumettre un énoncé d'expérience de recherche et d'intérêts, un CV détaillé incluant la liste complète des publications / résumés / conférences, ainsi que les noms et coordonnées de deux référents potentiels.

On en parle sur Twitter !