By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR5263-ANNCAM-024 - Etude de l'optimisation de la communication entre véhicules autonomes et usagers de la route H/F

Study of optimization of communication between autonomous vehicles and road users F/M

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5263-ANNCAM-024
Workplace : TOULOUSE
Date of publication : Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 16 months
Expected date of employment : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : between 2620 and 3730 € (gross wage) per month according to his/her experience, as well as having health insurance covered.
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : 1 to 4 years

Missions

The post-doctoral researcher will study the optimization of communication between autonomous vehicles, supervising driver, and other road users. The aim will be to identify the nature of information that autonomous vehicle must communicate to other road users to allow the most efficient, effective, satisfactory and secure interactions as possible for each of concerned users. The researcher will also identify in which modality the information should be communicated. From these results, a second objective will be to study on a driving simulator different scenarios implementing principles of interaction and innovative means of communication between drivers of semi-autonomous, autonomous, traditional vehicles, pedestrians, and other fragile users present simultaneously in the road environment.

Activities

-The postdoctoral researcher will carry out a literature review on accidentology involving the various road users in order to identify information not communicated or poorly communicated at the origin of the accidents. Likewise, a literature review will be done on the modes of communication between road users in order to identify what information is used to communicate intentions (cross the road, give way, etc.), and identify how this information is communicated (bodily, verbal communication, etc.).
-From these information, it will be necessary to identify which will primarily be provided by autonomous vehicles and which principles of interaction must be design in order to effectively, efficiently and satisfactorily inform other users of its movements.
- The postdoctoral researcher will study in which sensory and temporal modalities these information will have to be communicated in order to optimize the communication between the different actors of the road.


-He or she will also select the most relevant methodological tools for investigating these questions and implementing them
- The researcher will design and conduct experiments on a driving simulator to test different scenarios varying on the information given by the autonomous vehicle and the modalities in which it will be communicated. The objective will be to study the effects of these information on the perception, understanding and decision-making of other road users.
-He or she will coordinate the development of the studies, conduct the data analysis, and participate in the writing of scientific articles and reports.

Skills

- The candidate must have a PhD in cognitive psychology or cognitive ergonomics/human factors
- A good knowledge of the areas of driving, decision making process, Information processing, attentional process, and notions about the field of driving.
- A first experience on simulator as well as knowledge in the field of human-machine interactions will be appreciated
- Excellent level of experimental research methods
- Excellent statistical analysis skills
- The publication of international level scientific papers will have to be attested by the list of publications of the candidate
- The candidate must have a professional level of English
- If the circumstances require teleworking, demonstrate strong autonomy in work

Work Context

As a partner of the interdisciplinary C2C project: Cooperation between connected Cars and Human Acceptability funded by the Occitanie Region for 3 years (2019-2021), the CLLE Laboratory is looking for a postdoctoral researcher.
The C2C project involves 3 French laboratories, the CLLE, the Toulouse Institute of Computer Science Research (IRIT), the Laboratory of Computer Science, Robotics and Microelectronics of Montpellier (LIRMM), and an industrial partner OKTAL provider of transport simulations for training and research & development.
The project concerns level 4 autonomous car in which the driver supervises the driving without having to do it permanently. The C2C project aims to study the innovative problem of autonomous and connected vehicles, but also the acceptability and appropriation from human user of these vehicles, and from human who move in an environment populated by autonomous and connected vehicles.
Currently, many behaviors and decisions of road users (drivers, pedestrians ...) are determined by the messages sent by other users on their own mobility intentions. These body, facial, visual messages indicate for example an intention to cross the street, an intention to let the passage ... However, partially-autonomous and autonomous vehicles will not provide such indices. Other road users will be prevented from predicting the future state of the autonomous vehicle with which they interact, and thus prevented them from adopting a suitable behavior.

Constraints and risks

Insofar as the circumstances would require teleworking, the recruited person must be equipped with suitable computer equipment allowing him to work remotely.

Additional Information

Interested candidates must submit their application on this CNRS job portal
Please provide a detailed CV and a letter of motivation containing a summary of the themes of research. The candidate will have to provide, if auditioned, a letter of recommendation. For more information contact Elodie Labeye: elodie.labeye@univ-tlse2.fr
Postdoctoral environment
The postdoctoral position will take place at the Laboratory Cognition, Languages, Language, Ergonomics at Toulouse (France). CLLE is a CNRS UMR with an experimental platform CCU.
Toulouse is the capital city of the Occitanie region, the fourth-largest city in France and the centre of the European aerospace industry. Toulouse is a thrilling place to live, often ranked among the most dynamic french cities.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR5263-ANNCAM-024 - Etude de l'optimisation de la communication entre véhicules autonomes et usagers de la route H/F

Etude de l'optimisation de la communication entre véhicules autonomes et usagers de la route H/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5263-ANNCAM-024
Lieu de travail : TOULOUSE
Date de publication : mercredi 22 juillet 2020
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 16 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : entre 2620 et 3730 € brut mensuel selon expérience
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : 1 à 4 années

Missions

Le.la chercheur.e sera chargé.e d'étudier l'optimisation de la communication entre véhicules autonomes, conducteur-superviseur et autres usagers de la route. Sa mission visera à identifier la nature des informations que le véhicule autonome doit communiquer aux autres usagers de la route pour permettre des interactions les plus efficaces, efficientes, satisfaisantes et sécurisées possibles pour chacun des usagers concernés. Le.la chercheur.e identifiera également sous quelles modalités ces informations devront être communiquées. A partir de ces résultats, un second objectif sera d'étudier sur simulateur de conduite différents scénarios mettant en œuvre des principes d'interaction et des moyens de communication innovants entre les conducteurs de véhicules semi-autonomes, autonomes ou traditionnels, ainsi que les piétons et les autres usagers fragiles présents simultanément dans l'environnement routier.

Activités

-Réaliser une revue de littérature sur l'accidentologie impliquant les différents usagers de la route afin d'identifier les informations non communiquées ou mal communiquées à l'origine des accidents. De la même façon, une revue de littérature sera réalisée sur les modes de communication entre usagers de la route afin d'identifier quelles informations sont utilisées pour communiquer des intentions (traverser la route, céder le passage, etc…), et d'identifier sous quelles modalités ces informations sont communiquées (communication corporelle, verbale, etc…).
-Questionner parmi ces informations, lesquelles devront être prioritairement communiquées par les véhicules autonomes et quels principes d'interaction concevoir afin d'informer de manière efficace, efficiente et satisfaisante les autres usagers de ses déplacements.
-Etudier dans quelles modalités sensorielles et temporelles ces informations devront être communiquées pour optimiser la communication entre les différents acteurs de la route.
-Sélectionner les outils méthodologiques les plus pertinents pour investiguer ces questions et les mettre en œuvre.
-Concevoir et mener des expérimentations sur simulateur de conduite permettant de tester différents scénarios variant sur les informations données par le véhicule autonome et les modalités dans lesquelles elles seront communiquées. L'objectif sera d'étudier les effets de ces informations sur la perception, la compréhension et les prises de décision des autres usagers de la route.
- Il.elle coordonnera l'élaboration des études, effectuera les analyse de données, participera à la rédaction d'articles et de rapports scientifiques.

Compétences

- Doctorat en psychologie cognitive, ergonomie cognitive ou sciences cognitives
- Bonnes connaissances des processus de prise de décision, de traitement de l'information, des processus attentionnels, et des notions sur le domaine de la conduite
- Une première expérience sur simulateur, ainsi que des connaissances dans le domaine des interactions humain-machine seront appréciées.
- Excellent niveau en méthodes de recherche expérimentale
- Excellentes aptitudes en matière d'analyses statistiques
- La publication d'articles scientifiques de niveau international devra être attestée par la liste des publications du/de la candidat.e
- Le/La candidat.e doit maîtriser l'anglais professionnel
- Si les circonstances imposent un travail à distance, faire preuve d'une forte autonomie dans le travail

Contexte de travail

Le Laboratoire CLLE : Cognition, Langues, Langage, Ergonomie (Unité Mixte de Recherche du CNRS N°5263, Université de Toulouse), est localisé à la Maison de la Recherche de l'Université Jean Jaurès de Toulouse, France. Le laboratoire dispose de la plateforme expérimentale CCU.
Le Laboratoire CLLE est partenaire du projet interdisciplinaire C2C : Cooperation between connected Car-Cars and Human acceptability financé par la région Occitanie pour 3 ans (2019-2021).
Le projet C2C implique 3 laboratoires français, le CLLE, l'Institut de Recherche en Informatique de Toulouse (IRIT), le Laboratoire d'Informatique, de Robotique et de Microélectronique de Montpellier (LIRMM), et un partenaire industriel OKTAL fournisseur de simulations de transport à destination de la formation et de la recherche & développement.
Le projet concerne le véhicule de niveau 4 d'autonomie dans lequel le conducteur supervise la conduite sans être obligé de le faire en permanence. Le projet C2C vise à étudier la problématique innovante des collectifs de véhicules autonomes et connectés, mais aussi l'acceptabilité et l'appropriation de l'humain utilisateur de ces véhicules et de l'humain se déplaçant dans un environnement peuplé de véhicules autonomes et connectés.
Actuellement, de nombreux comportements et décisions des usagers de la route (conducteurs, piétons…) sont déterminés par les informations que leur envoient les autres usagers sur leurs propres intentions de déplacement. Ces informations sont d'ordres corporels, faciaux, visuels… Elles indiquent par exemple une intention de laisser le passage matérialisé par un geste de la main, une intention de traverser la rue matérialisée par un mouvement des épaules … Concernant les véhicules autonome, ceux-ci n'offriront pas de tels indices empêchant les autres usagers de la route de prédire l'état à venir du véhicule autonome avec lequel ils interagissent, et donc les empêchant d'adopter un comportement adapté.

Contraintes et risques

Néant

Informations complémentaires

Les candidats intéressés doivent fournir un CV détaillé, une lettre de motivation contenant un résumé des thématiques de recherche. Le/La candidat.e devra fournir s'il.elle est auditionné.e une lettre de recommandation. Les candidatures peuvent être soumises en anglais ou en français. Pour toute information sur le poste, contacter Elodie Labeye : elodie.labeye@univ-tlse2.fr

Dans la mesure où les circonstances imposeraient un travail à distance, la personne recrutée devra être équipée d'un matériel informatique convenable lui permettant de travailler à distance.

On en parle sur Twitter !