By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR5216-LUCBOU-008 - Post-Doctorat : Modèles de trafic des réseaux urbains à grande échelle (H/F)

(H/F) Post Doc Subject : Traffic models in large-scale urban network

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5216-LUCBOU-008
Workplace : ST MARTIN D HERES
Date of publication : Wednesday, October 09, 2019
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 12 months
Expected date of employment : 1 December 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : Between 2617€ et 3729€ bruts and monthly according to experience
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : Indifferent

Missions

This research proposal deals with the problem of modeling and validating urban traffic network at an aggregated level. In this framework a field of research concentrates on two dimensional PDE models while another group of works concentrates on the notion of Macroscopic Fundamental Diagram (MFD). Starting with some empirical observation of traffic in a city, "Existence of urban-scale macroscopic fundamental diagram" show that it is possible to exhibit a relation between the average density and the average flow over a whole network. This result enables the introduction of accumulation models —also called reservoir models — which consist of representing the traffic state of a network with a single scalar field variable representing the total number of vehicles in the network. These models are practical because they are understandable, with few parameters to tune and a low computational cost. However, they contain little information about the traffic states. For example, they are not able to describe precisely where vehicles are located over the reservoir. This problem was later on addressed in some papers in which the authors separated different areas of the city with different reservoirs. Other models show that traffic in urban areas can be modeled with two-dimensional continuous and dynamic models. These models represent the traffic density as a variable over a 2D-plane. Such models are based on a two-dimensional conservation law and a review of some of these model have been done by "Dynamic traffic assignment using the macroscopic fundamental diagram: a review of vehicular and pedestrian flow models" . As 2D models are recent, there is little validation or calibration of these models. A first challenge in testing 2D models is to obtain a two-dimensional density function from real traffic data. In particular, the reconstruction of a density in the 2D-plane from vehicle data on the road network needs to be defined properly.
In the project we developed 2D-LWR model (which includes 2D wave propagations. This model can be seen as a natural extension to 2D of the well-known CTM. This was the first 2D model with a geometry-dependent flux where the magnitude depends on the density and the direction depends on space. However, at the current stage, the model is able to represent only monodirectional flow. The main goal of this post-doc is to extend this model to multidirectional flow (probably using a multi-layer approach) and to validate the model using synthetic and real data.

Activities

Several specific task will be expected:
- Extend our previous model to a 2-D multilayer PDE model for a large-scale urban traffic systems based on the 2D-LWR model ideas
- Starting from real data, recover the function in the PDE that models the flux function and the interaction between cars using inverse problems.
- Validate the model using a microscopic simulator
- Perform experiments in our micro-simulator to verify the aggregation process, and the validity of the detailed model.

Field tests and other realistic simulations to validate the theory will be performed using the equipment available at the Grenoble Traffic Lab center (see GTL), that is currently being extended at the level of city-center of Grenoble (GTL-Ville project) where we are collecting traffic related data and constructing a real-time data-collection systems. The algorithms developed in this work, will be integrated into the GTL-Ville project. Experiments that cannot be realized in vivo, will be tested on a microscopic traffic simulator replicating the full complexity of the Grenoble urban network.

Skills

- PDE required,
- Data science and control science appreciated,
- Background on traffic modelling will be a plus.

Work Context

Gipsa-lab is a CNRS research unit joint with Grenoble-INP (Grenoble Institute of Technology), and Université Grenoble Alpes (Grenoble Alpes University). It has agreements with INRIA, Observatoire des Sciences de l'Univers de Grenoble. With 350 people, including about 150 doctoral students, Gipsa-lab is a multidisciplinary research unit developing both basic and applied researches on complex signals and systems. Gipsa-lab is internationally recognized for the research achieved in Automatic Control, Signal and Images processing, Speech and Cognition. The research unit develops projects in the strategic areas of energy, environment, communication, intelligent systems, Life and Health and language engineering. Thanks to the research activities, Gipsa-lab maintains a constant link with the economic environment through a strong partnership with companies. Gipsa-lab staff is involved in teaching and training in the various universities and engineering schools of the Grenoble academic area (Grenoble Alpes University).
Research is achieved in Gipsa-lab thanks to 12 research teams organized in 3 departments : Automatic control, Images-signal, Speech-cognition.
Gipsa-lab regroups 150 permanent staff and around 250 no-permanent staff (Phd, post-dotoral students, visiting scholars, trainees in master…)

Scale-FreeBack is an ERC hosted by the CNRS. The project will be conducted within the NeCS group ( a joint CNRS (GIPSA-Lab)-INRIA team), at Grenoble France. Scale-FreeBack is a project with the overall aim of developing holistic scale-free control methods of controlling complex network systems in the widest sense, and to set the foundations for a new control theory dealing with complex physical networks with an arbitrary size, see scale-freeback.eu

Constraints and risks

Applied mathematics, data science, traffic modeling, control science.
English speaking.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR5216-LUCBOU-008 - Post-Doctorat : Modèles de trafic des réseaux urbains à grande échelle (H/F)

Post-Doctorat : Modèles de trafic des réseaux urbains à grande échelle (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5216-LUCBOU-008
Lieu de travail : ST MARTIN D HERES
Date de publication : mercredi 9 octobre 2019
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 12 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 décembre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : Entre 2617€ et 3729€ bruts mensuels selon expérience
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : Indifférent

Missions

Ce sujet de recherche traite du problème de modélisation, et de sa validation, d'un réseau urbain à un niveau agrégé. Dans ce contexte, un domaine de recherche s'intéressa à des modèles basés sur des EDP en 2D tandis que d'autres groupes se concentrèrent sur la notion de Macroscopic Fundamental Diagram (MFD). A partir d'observations empiriques du trafic routier dans une ville, "Existence of urban-scale macroscopic fundamental diagram" montra qu'il est possible d'exprimer une relation entre la densité moyenne et le flux moyen dans l'ensemble du réseau. Ce résultat permis d'introduire des modèles d'accumulation -aussi appelé modèle à réservoir- qui consistent à représenter l'état des conditions de trafic d'un réseau par une variable scalaire représentant le nombre total véhicule. Ces modèles sont utiles car ils sont facilement compréhensibles, avec peu de paramètres à ajuster et un coût de calcul moindre. Cependant, ils contiennent peu d'informations sur les conditions de trafic. Par exemple, ils ne peuvent pas décrire précisément où les véhicules sont situés dans le réservoir. Ce problème a été considéré par la suite dans d'autres articles dans lesquels les auteurs séparent la ville en différentes zones avec plusieurs réservoirs. D'autres travaux montrent que le trafic routier dans une zone urbaine peut être représenté par un modèle continu et en deux dimensions. Ces modèles représentent la densité de trafic comme une variable en deux dimensions dans le plan. Ces modèles sont basés sur une loi de conservation en 2D et une analyse de certains de ces modèles a été fait dans " Dynamic traffic assignment using the macroscopic fundamental diagram: a review of vehicular and pedestrian flow models".
Comme les modèles 2D sont récents, il y a peu de validation de ce type de modèle. Un premier challenge pour parvenir à les tester est d'obtenir une fonction de densité en deux dimensions à partir de données réelles. Notamment, la reconstruction d'une densité dans le plan 2D à partir de données des véhicules sur les routes doit être définie convenablement.
Dans le projet, nous avons développé un modèle 2D-LWR (qui inclut la propagation d'onde en 2D). Ce modèle peut être vu comme une extension naturelle du bien connu CTM. C'est le premier modèle 2D avec une magnitude et une direction de flux dépendant de la géométrie et donc dépendant de l'espace. Cependant, en l'état actuel, le modèle est seulement capable de représenter des directions uniques du flux. L'objectif principal de ce post-doc est d'étendre ce modèle à de multiples directions de flux (probablement en utilisant une approche multicouche) et de valider le modèle en utilisant des données réelles.

Activités

Plusieurs tâches spécifiques sont attendues:

- étendre notre ancien modèle à un modèle basé sur une EDP en 2D composé de plusieurs couches
- à partir des données réelles, retrouver la fonction de flux dans l'EDP qui pourrait expliquer les interactions entre les voitures à partir du problème inverse
- valider le modèle en utilisant un micro-simulateur
- réaliser des expériences sur notre micro-simulateur pour vérifier le processus agrégation et la validité du modèle.

Les expériences et simulations pour valider la théorie seront réalisées en utilisant l'équipement disponible au Grenoble Traffic Lab center, (voir GTL), qui est en train d'être étendu au niveau de la ville de Grenoble (projet GTL-Ville) dans lequel nous collectons des données de trafic et construisant un système de collecte en temps réel. Les algorithmes développés dans ce travail seront intégrés dans le projet du GTL-Ville. Les expériences qui ne pourront pas être testées dans la réalité seront testées sur un micro-simulateur reproduisant l'entière complexité du réseau routier d'une ville comme Grenoble.

Compétences

- Equation aux dérivées partielles exigé (EDP),
- Connaissainces en Data Science et Control science appréciées,
- Expérience en modélisation de trafic de préférence.

Contexte de travail

Gipsa-lab est une unité de recherche mixte du CNRS, de Grenoble INP, et de l'Université de Grenoble Alpes ; elle est conventionnée avec Inria et l'Observatoire des Sciences de l'Univers de Grenoble.
Fort de 350 personnes dont environ 150 doctorants, Gipsa-lab est un laboratoire pluridisciplinaire développant des recherches fondamentales et finalisées sur les signaux et systèmes complexes. Il est reconnu internationalement pour ses recherches en Automatique, Signal et Images, Parole et Cognition et développe des projets dans les domaines stratégiques de l'énergie, de l'environnement, de la communication, des systèmes intelligents, du vivant et de la santé et de l'ingénierie linguistique.
De par la nature de ses recherches, Gipsa-lab maintient un lien constant avec le milieu économique via un partenariat industriel fort.
Son potentiel d'enseignants-chercheurs et chercheurs est investi dans la formation au niveau des universités et écoles d'ingénieurs du site grenoblois (Université Grenoble Alpes).
Gipsa-lab développe ses recherches au travers de 12 équipes organisées en 3 départements : Automatique, Images-signal et Parole-cognition.
Elle compte 150 permanents et environ 250 non-permanents (doctorants, post-doctorants, chercheurs invités, étudiants stagiaires de master…).

Scale-FreeBack est une ERC gérée par le CNRS. Le projet sera mené au sein du groupe NeCS (qui est une équipe commune CNRS (GIPSA-Lab)-INRIA), à Grenoble France en collaboration avec l'Université de Grenoble. Scale-FreeBack est un projet avec des objectifs théoriques ambitieux et innovants, qui ont été adoptés compte tenu des nouvelles opportunités présentées par les dernières technologies de détection à grande échelle. L'objectif global est de développer des méthodes holistiques de contrôle sans échelle des systèmes complexes en réseaux au sens le plus large et de proposer les bases d'une nouvelle théorie de contrôle traitant les réseaux physiques complexes avec une taille arbitraire.

Contraintes et risques

- Mathématiques appliquées, science des données, modèles de trafic, automatique
- Anglais maîtrisé.

On en parle sur Twitter !