By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR5175-PATNOS-001 - H/F post-doct en dynamiques Eco-Evolutives

Post-doctoral Position in The Dynamics of Eco-evolutionary Systems

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5175-PATNOS-001
Workplace : MONTPELLIER
Date of publication : Thursday, September 05, 2019
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 24 months
Expected date of employment : 1 December 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 643,22€ BRUT depending on experience
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : 1 to 4 years

Missions

Key responsibilities will depend on the applicant's expertise. Applicants with stronger experience in functional genomics will be expected to develop and implement transgenic manipulations that target candidate genes for cryptic coloration in insects. Applicants with stronger experience in modeling will be expected to bridge the development of evolutionary models based in population genetics with ecological models based in population dynamics and community ecology. In either case, the applicant will be required to integrate with the current research team and occasionally aid with basic data collection and administrative matters that pertain to research (e.g., getting quotes for sequencing projects).

Activities

Key responsibilities will depend on the applicant's expertise. Applicants with stronger experience in functional genomics will be expected to develop and implement transgenic manipulations that target candidate genes for cryptic coloration in insects. Applicants with stronger experience in modeling will be expected to bridge the development of evolutionary models based in population genetics with ecological models based in population dynamics and community ecology. In either case, the applicant will be required to integrate with the current research team and occasionally aid with basic data collection and administrative matters that pertain to research (e.g., getting quotes for sequencing projects).

Skills

The applicant should hold a Ph.D. degree or equivalent. We are looking for a highly motivated post-doctoral fellow with a solid conceptual and formal background in either: (1) functional genomics (slightly preferred) or (2) theoretical modeling. Excellent written, verbal, and interpersonal skills, a strong work ethic, and the ability to think creatively are required.

Work Context

Evolutionary and ecological processes can affect one another. For example, evolutionary adaptation within species can affect population dynamics or species interactions in communities, and thus ecosystem functioning. This position is part of a larger research project funded by the European Research Council (Consolidator Grant to P. Nosil, 2 million Euros) to investigate the community and ecosystem level consequences of evolution within species, in this case the stick-insect Timema cristinae. The project will specifically test for reciprocal interactions and feedback loops between ecological and evolutionary processes. Key publications pertaining to the project are Farkas et al. 2013 Current Biology and Nosil et al. 2018 Science

Constraints and risks

N/A

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR5175-PATNOS-001 - H/F post-doct en dynamiques Eco-Evolutives

H/F post-doct en dynamiques Eco-Evolutives

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5175-PATNOS-001
Lieu de travail : MONTPELLIER
Date de publication : jeudi 5 septembre 2019
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 24 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 décembre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 643,22€ BRUT selon expérience
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : 1 à 4 années

Missions

Les missions du candidat dépendront de son profil. Les candidats avec un profil en génomique fonctionnelle devront developper et mettre en place des manipulations transgénétiques sur les gènes candidats associé à la variation de couleur chez Timema. Les candidats avec un profil en modélisation théorique devront developper un modèle evolutif associant génétique des populations, écologie et fonctionnement des communautés. Dans les deux cas, le candidat s'intégrera dans l'équipe de recherche et aidera à la recolte de données et d'éventuelles taches administratives associés au projet (obtention de devis, etc...).

Activités

Les missions du candidat dépendront de son profil. Les candidats avec un profil en génomique fonctionnelle devront developper et mettre en place des manipulations transgénétiques sur les gènes candidats associé à la variation de couleur chez Timema. Les candidats avec un profil en modélisation théorique devront developper un modèle evolutif associant génétique des populations, écologie et fonctionnement des communautés. Dans les deux cas, le candidat s'intégrera dans l'équipe de recherche et aidera à la recolte de données et d'éventuelles taches administratives associés au projet (obtention de devis, etc...).

Compétences

Le candidat doit avoir obtenu un doctorat ou tout diplôme équivalent. Nous recherchons une personne très motivée avec des connaissances conceptuelles et pratiques, soit : (1) en génomique fonctionelle (profil préféré) ou (2) en modélisation théorique. Une excellent communication orale et écrite en anglais est demandée, ainsi qu'une bonne capacité à travailler en équipe, une forte éthique de travail et la capacité d'être créatif.

Contexte de travail

Les processus évolutifs et écologiques peuvent s'affecter mutuellement. Par exemple, l'adaption chez une espèce peut avoir des conséquences sur la dynamique populationelle de cette espèce, ou peut affecter les interations de cette espèce avec d'autres espèces, entrainant un changement de fonctionnement de l'écosystème dans son entier. Ce poste s'inscript dans un projet plus large, financé par le Conseil Européen de Recherche (ERC - Consolidator Grant - P. Nosil, 2 millions d'euros). Ce projet ERC a pour but d'étudier les conséquences à l'échelle de la communauté et de l'écosystème, de l'adaption de l'espèce de phasme Timema cristinae. Le projet testera specifiquement si des interactions réciproques ainsi que des boucle de rétroaction existent entre processus écologiques et évolutifs de ce système. Les publications clefs associées aux problématiques de ce projet sont Farkas et al. 2013 Current Biology et Nosil et al. 2018 Science.

Contraintes et risques

P/A.

On en parle sur Twitter !