En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre FR550-MAGTOR-018 - Post-doctorat dans le domaine de l'étude de la photosynthèse et de sa régulation chez les diatomées (H/F)

Post-doctorate in the field of the study of photosynthesis and its regulation in diatoms (M/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Date Limite Candidature : samedi 15 octobre 2022

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

General information

Reference : FR550-MAGTOR-018
Workplace : PARIS 05
Date of publication : Wednesday, September 14, 2022
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 24 months
Expected date of employment : 1 January 2023
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : Starting from 3106 EUR gross depending on experience
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : Indifferent

Missions

Diatoms, a group of more than 100 000 different phytoplanktonic species, are among the most successful photosynthetic eukaryotic microalgae and colonize all aquatic zones (oceans, intertidal zones, freshwater bodies, soil, and ice zones). They are responsible for about 20% of the global carbon fixation and oxygen production on earth. They arose from a secondary endosymbiosis between a heterotrophic protist and, at least, one other photosynthetic eukaryote from the red lineage that itself arose from a primary endosymbiosis between a heterotrophic protist and a cyanobacterium. However, despite their ecological importance as primary producers and growing biotechnological interest, our current understanding of the regulation of diatom photosynthesis is still limited and even the most basic questions about plastid biogenesis remain unanswered. Furthermore, genetic approaches to study plastid functions in diatoms remain so far limited because the most studied diatom models are obligate phototrophs, in which photosynthesis and plastid biogenesis are essential for survival.
To fill this important knowledge gap, the laboratory has selected the centric diatom Cyclotella cryptica as a novel model system for the study of diatoms plastid biology, since it is the only diatom that combines the availability of genomic and genetic resources with the ability to grow heterotrophically in the dark, using glucose as a source of reduced carbon, thus potentially allowing the isolation of photosynthetic mutants. So far the mutagenesis of nuclear genes using the CRISPR/cas9 strategy has been successfully implemented in this alga and the first mutants of photosynthesis have been obtained, paving the way for an in-depth characterization of plastid biogenesis and regulation of photosynthesis. Transformation of the plastid genome has also been achieved but needs to be further optimized. The recruited post-doctoral fellow will use these tools already developed in the laboratory to characterize the photosynthetic apparatus of diatoms and the biogenesis of the plastid.


Recent references from the lab related to the project:


Lepetit B, Campbell D A, Lavaud J, Büchel C, Goss R & Bailleul B (2022) Photosynthetic Light Reactions in Diatoms. II. The Dynamic Regulation of the Various Light Reactions. pp 423-464, In Comprehensive overview on diatom molecular biology, 1st Edition 2022, A. Falciatore and T Mock Eds, Springer International Publishing 978-3-030-92499-7 (ISBN)

Jaubert M, Duchêne C, Kroth P G, Rogato A, Bouly J-P & Falciatore A (2022) Sensing and Signalling in Diatom Responses to Abiotic Cues. pp 607-639, In Comprehensive overview on diatom molecular biology, 1st Edition 2022, A. Falciatore and T Mock Eds, Springer International Publishing 978-3-030-92499-7 (ISBN)

Blommaert L, Chafai L, Bailleul B. The fine-tuning of NPQ in diatoms relies on the regulation of both xanthophyll cycle enzymes - 2021 - Sci Rep. 11(1):12750 - https://doi.org/10.1038/s41598-021-91483-x

Falciatore A, Jaubert M, Bouly J-P, Bailleul B, Mock T. Diatom Molecular Research Comes of Age: Model Species for Studying Phytoplankton Biology and Diversity - 2020 - Plant Cell, 32(3):547-572 - https://doi.org/10.1105/tpc.19.00158

Annunziata R, Ritter A, Fortunato AE, Manzotti A, Cheminant-Navarro S, Agier N, Huysman M, Wing P, Bones A, Bouget F-Y, Cosentino Lagomarsino M, Bouly JP and Falciatore A (2019) bHLH-PAS protein RITMO1 regulates diel biological rhythms in the marine diatom Phaeodactylum tricornutum, PNAS, 116(26): 13137-13142 - doi 10.1073/pnas.1819660116

Choquet Y. and Wollman F.-A. (2022) The Assembly of Photosynthetic Proteins, In: The Chlamydomonas Sourcebook: Introduction to Chlamydomonas and Its Laboratory Use 3rd Edition, Vol. 2: Organellar and metabolic processes, F.-A. Wollman and A R Grossman Eds., Elsevier (Amsterdam), in press.

Activities

- Construct and characterize photosynthetic mutants of the diatom C. cryptica by mutagenesis of selected nuclear genes and molecular, biochemical and functional characterization of the resulting mutants.
- Optimization of chloroplast transformation in C. cryptica and molecular, biochemical and functional characterization of the obtained mutants
- Molecular biology (cloning, plasmid mutagenesis, preparation and analysis of nucleic acids, PCR)
- Molecular genetics of diatoms (mutagenesis, transformation, gene expression studies)

Skills

Applicants should be qualified in molecular biology and microbiology and have a strong interest in organelle biology and the regulation of gene expression. Previous experience with diatoms or studies of photosynthesis would be an asset but is not mandatory. The candidate must be innovative, rigorous, have good communication skills, and be willing to work in a team.

Competencies
Knowledge/Knowledge:
- Good knowledge of biology and microbiology techniques.
- In-depth knowledge of molecular biology
- Mastery of protein biochemistry
- Knowledge of organelle biology
- Proficiency in scientific English (reading and writing)
- Basic knowledge of digital data processing

Know-How:
- Design and implement experimental protocols
- Ability to analyze and report information (keeping a laboratory notebook, preparing tables summarizing results, preparing oral presentations).
- Prepare articles for publication in international peer-reviewed journals

Know-how
- Innovation, rigor, and reliability in the execution of the work.
- Sense of organization, and autonomy.
- Ability to work in a team

Work Context

The work will be carried out in the UMR7141 laboratory "Chloroplast Biology and Light Perception in Microalgae", directed by Dr. Angela Falciatore, and by the co-director Dr. Yves Choquet, at the Institut de Biologie-Physico-chimique in Paris (http://www.ibpc.fr/UMR7141/en/home/). This laboratory, located in the heart of the Latin Quarter, gathers a little more than 30 people including 18 statutory members. The project will be carried out under the direction of Angela Falciatore and Yves Choquet.
The project is part of the COFUND FP-DYNAMO-PARIS program, an initiative for basic research, which offers an interdisciplinary environment in the center of Paris to train tomorrow's scientists in the field of physical-chemical biology. The goal of this research program is to integrate knowledge of gene expression, membrane and structural biology, and bioenergetics in bacteria, chloroplasts, and mitochondria in the general context of improving our understanding of energy-transducing membrane biogenesis. These studies involve the use of cutting-edge technologies including structural biology (NMR, X-ray crystallography and CryoEM), transcriptomics, mass spectrometry, synthetic biology, microfluidics, computational modeling and visualization). Post-doctoral researchers will have the opportunity to develop their research projects in a dynamic scientific environment covering three main research themes: i) RNA biology from bacteria to chloroplasts, ii) Dynamics of membrane systems and iii) Computational modeling of molecular assemblies.
Post-doctoral fellows will have the opportunity to develop their research projects in a dynamic scientific environment covering three main research themes: i) RNA biology from bacteria to chloroplasts, ii) dynamics of membrane systems and iii) computational modeling of molecular assemblies. They will benefit from the supervision of internationally recognized experts in their fields, a worldwide network of renowned institutions, research infrastructures and state-of-the-art technical know-how that will allow them to improve their scientific skills, gain recognition and increase their competitiveness on the job market. Specific training will be offered to postdocs through participation in the EMBO course on "Laboratory Leadership for Postdocs" at a retreat in Padova, and through their participation in complementary training events dedicated to soft skills.

Constraints and risks

- This research project may involve the use of radioisotopes
- You must not have resided or carried out your main activity (for example work or studies) in France for more than 12 months during the 3 years preceding the date of recruitment.

Additional Information

The application should be written in English and submitted to https://emploi.cnrs.fr/. It must include a detailed CV, a minimum of two letters of reference, a cover letter describing your short and long-term career objectives, and a signed declaration that you comply with the mobility rule which stipulates that you have not resided or carried out your main activity (work or studies) in France for more than 12 months during the three years preceding the date of recruitment. The complete file must also be sent to Bruno MIROUX & Magdalena TORTYNA, respectively director and manager of the project at DYNAMOcofund@ibpc.fr. See details on the website http://labexdynamo.ibpc.fr/fp-dynamo-paris/

Evaluation
The position is designed as a first step in a research career, and the evaluation of candidates will be based primarily on their research qualifications and skills that can complement and strengthen ongoing research at the partner institutions.
Step 1. The applications of each eligible candidate will be evaluated by independent international experts within the relevant research theme. Eligible candidates will be evaluated based on merit, motivation for the program, academic excellence, and personal qualifications such as collaboration and communication skills.
Step 2. Up to three candidates will be selected for a video interview with the independent experts for each open position (November 2021). After the interview, short-listed candidates will be invited to a remote conference with the project director and a DYNAMO board member to define the general scope of the project, training, and research environment. Applicants will be asked to write a 3-page project proposal, contributing their original ideas, and will have 2 weeks to submit it.
Step 3. Each project proposal will be evaluated by one of the independent experts and the DYNAMO board member who evaluated the applicant in the previous steps. Final selection will be made based on the scores obtained in Steps 1, 2, and 3. The minimum score must be above 20/40. The best candidate will be offered the postdoctoral position with a start date of January 1 to April 30, 2023.

The CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique) is an equal opportunity employer. In addition, FP-DYNAMO-PARIS is committed to promoting the role of women in science and thus explicitly encourages them to apply.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre FR550-MAGTOR-018 - Post-doctorat dans le domaine de l'étude de la photosynthèse et de sa régulation chez les diatomées (H/F)

Post-doctorat dans le domaine de l'étude de la photosynthèse et de sa régulation chez les diatomées (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Date Limite Candidature : samedi 15 octobre 2022

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Informations générales

Référence : FR550-MAGTOR-018
Lieu de travail : PARIS 05
Date de publication : mercredi 14 septembre 2022
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 24 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 janvier 2023
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : à partir de 3106 euros brut mensuel selon expérience.
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : Indifférent

Missions

Les diatomées, un groupe de plus de 100 000 espèces phytoplanctoniques différentes, comptent parmi les microalgues eucaryotes photosynthétiques les plus performantes et colonisent toutes les zones aquatiques (océans, zones intertidales, eaux douces, sols et zones glacées). Elles sont responsables d'environ 20 % de la fixation du carbone et de la production d'oxygène sur terre. Elles sont issues d'une endosymbiose secondaire entre un protiste hétérotrophe et, au moins, un autre eucaryote photosynthétique de la lignée rouge, lui-même issu d'une endosymbiose primaire entre un protiste hétérotrophe et une cyanobactérie. Cependant, malgré leur importance écologique en tant que producteurs primaires et un intérêt croissant pour leur potentiel biotechnologique, notre compréhension actuelle de la régulation de la photosynthèse des diatomées est toujours limitée à ce jour et même les questions les plus fondamentales sur la biogenèse des plastes restent sans réponse. De plus, les approches génétiques pour étudier les fonctions des plastes chez les diatomées sont pour l'instant limitées car les diatomées modèles les plus étudiées sont des phototrophes obligatoires, pour lesquels la photosynthèse est essentielle à la survie.
Pour combler cette importante lacune, notre laboratoire a choisi la diatomée centrique Cyclotella cryptica comme nouveau système modèle pour l'étude de la biologie des plastes des diatomées, car c'est la seule diatomée qui combine la disponibilité de ressources génomiques et génétiques avec la capacité de croître de façon hétérotrophe à l'obscurité, en utilisant le glucose comme source de carbone réduit, ce qui autorise l'isolement de mutants photosynthétiques. La mutagenèse de gènes nucléaires utilisant la stratégie Crispr/cas9, mise en œuvre avec succès chez cette algue a permis d'obtenir les tous premiers mutants de photosynthèse de diatomées, ouvrant la voie à une caractérisation approfondie de la régulation de la photosynthèse et de la biogenèse des plastes. La transformation du génome du plaste a également été réalisée mais doit encore être optimisée. Le post-doctorant recruté utilisera ces outils déjà développés dans le laboratoire pour construire d'autres mutants de photosynthèse, caractériser l'appareil photosynthétique des diatomées et ses régulations en fonction des variations des conditions environnementales, et la biogenèse du plaste.

Références récentes du laboratoire liées au projet:

Lepetit B, Campbell D A, Lavaud J, Büchel C, Goss R & Bailleul B (2022) Photosynthetic Light Reactions in Diatoms. II. The Dynamic Regulation of the Various Light Reactions. pp 423-464, In: Comprehensive overview on diatom molecular biology, 1st Edition 2022, A. Falciatore and T Mock Eds, Springer International Publishing 978-3-030-92499-7 (ISBN)

Jaubert M, Duchêne C, Kroth P G, Rogato A, Bouly J-P & Falciatore A (2022) Sensing and Signalling in Diatom Responses to Abiotic Cues. pp 607-639, In: Comprehensive overview on diatom molecular biology, 1st Edition 2022, A. Falciatore and T Mock Eds, Springer International Publishing 978-3-030-92499-7 (ISBN)

Blommaert L, Chafai L, Bailleul B. The fine-tuning of NPQ in diatoms relies on the regulation of both xanthophyll cycle enzymes - 2021 - Sci Rep. 11(1):12750 - https://doi.org/10.1038/s41598-021-91483-x

Falciatore A, Jaubert M, Bouly J-P, Bailleul B, Mock T. Diatom Molecular Research Comes of Age: Model Species for Studying Phytoplankton Biology and Diversity - 2020 - Plant Cell, 32(3):547-572 - https://doi.org/10.1105/tpc.19.00158

Annunziata R, Ritter A, Fortunato AE, Manzotti A, Cheminant-Navarro S, Agier N, Huysman M, Wing P, Bones A, Bouget F-Y, Cosentino Lagomarsino M, Bouly JP and Falciatore A (2019) bHLH-PAS protein RITMO1 regulates diel biological rhythms in the marine diatom Phaeodactylum tricornutum, PNAS, 116(26): 13137-13142 - doi 10.1073/pnas.1819660116

Choquet Y. and Wollman F.-A. (2022) The Assembly of Photosynthetic Proteins, In: The Chlamydomonas Sourcebook: Introduction to Chlamydomonas and Its Laboratory Use 3rd Edition, Vol. 2: Organellar and metabolic processes, F.-A. Wollman and A R Grossman Eds., Elsevier (Amsterdam), in press.

Activités

- Construire et caractériser des mutants de photosynthèse de la diatomée C. cryptica par mutagénèse de gènes nucléaires choisis et caractérisation biochimique moléculaire et fonctionnelle des mutants otenus.
- Optimisation de la transformation chloroplastique chez C. cryptica et caractérisation biochimique moléculaire et fonctionnelle des mutants obtenus
- Biologie moléculaire (clonage, mutagénèse de plasmides, préparation et analyse d'acides nucléiques, PCR)
- Génétique moléculaire des diatomées (mutagénèse, transformation, étude de l'expression génétique)

Compétences

Les candidats doivent avoir des compétences en biologie moléculaire et en microbiologie et avoir un intérêt marqué pour la biologie des organelles et la régulation de l'expression des gènes. Une expérience préalable avec les diatomées ou l'étude de la photosynthèse serait un atout, mais n'est pas obligatoire. Le candidat doit être innovant, rigoureux, avoir de bonnes capacités de communication et être prêt à travailler en équipe.

Savoirs/Connaissances :
- Bonne connaissance de la biologie et des techniques de microbiologie.
- Connaissance approfondie de la biologie des organites
- Connaissances approfondies en biologie moléculaire
- Maîtrise de la biochimie des protéines
- Maitrise de l'anglais scientifique (lecture et rédaction)
- Connaissance de base en traitement de données numériques

Savoir-faire :
- Concevoir et mettre en œuvre les protocoles expérimentaux
- Capacités d'analyse et de restitution des informations (tenue d'un cahier de laboratoire, préparation de tableaux de synthèse des résultats, préparation de présentations orales).
- Préparer des articles pour publication dans des revues internationales à comité de lecture

Savoir-être
- Innovation, rigueur et fiabilité dans l'exécution du travail.
- Sens de l'organisation, autonomie.
- Aptitude à travailler en équipe

Contexte de travail

Le travail sera mené au sein du laboratoire d'accueil UMR7141 “Biologie du Chloroplaste et Perception de la lumière chez les microalgues”, dirigé par Dr. Angela Falciatore, et par le co-directeur Dr. Yves Choquet, à l'Institut de Biologie-Physico-chimique à Paris (http://www.ibpc.fr/UMR7141/en/home/). Ce laboratoire, situé au cœur du quartier latin regroupe un peu plus de 30 personnes dont 19 membres statutaires. Le projet se fera sous la direction d'Angela Falciatore et Yves Choquet.
Le projet s'inscrit dans le programme COFUND FP-DYNAMO-PARIS, initiative pour la recherche fondamentale, qui offre un environnement interdisciplinaire dans le centre de Paris afin de former les scientifiques de demain dans le domaine de la biologie physico-chimique. Le but de ce programme de recherche est d'intégrer les connaissances sur l'expression génétique, la biologie membranaire et structurale, et la bioénergétique chez les bactéries, les chloroplastes et les mitochondries dans le contexte général d'améliorer notre compréhension de la biogenèse des membranes transductrices d'énergie. Ces études impliquent l'utilisation de technologies de pointes incluant la biologie structurale (NMR, cristallographie aux rayons X et CryoEM), la transcriptomique, la spectrométrie de masse, la biologie synthétique, la microfluidique, la modélisation computationnelle et la visualisation. Les chercheurs post-doctoraux auront l'opportunité de développer leurs projets de recherche dans un environnement scientifique dynamique couvrant trois thèmes de recherche principaux: i) La biologie de l'ARN des bactéries aux chloroplastes, ii) La dynamique des systèmes membranaires et iii) la modélisation computationnelle des assemblages moléculaires.
Les chercheurs post-doctoraux auront l'opportunité de développer leurs projets de recherche dans un environnement scientifique dynamique couvrant trois thèmes de recherche principaux: i) La biologie de l'ARN des bactéries aux chloroplastes, ii) La dynamique des systèmes membranaires et iii) la modélisation computationnelle des assemblages moléculaires. Ils bénéficieront de l'encadrement d'experts reconnus internationalement dans leurs domaines, d'un réseau mondial d'institutions de renom, d'infrastructures de recherche et d'un savoir-faire technique de pointe qui leur permettront de perfectionner leurs compétences scientifiques, de se faire connaître et d'accroître leur compétitivité sur le marché du travail. Une formation spécifique sera proposée aux post-doctorants à travers la participation au cours EMBO sur « Le leadership de laboratoire pour les postdoctorants » lors d'une retraite à Padoue, et par leur participation à des événements de formation complémentaires dédiés aux compétences non techniques.

Contraintes et risques

- Ce projet de recherche peut impliquer l'utilisation de radio-isotopes.

- Vous ne devez pas avoir résidé ou exercé votre activité principale (par exemple travail ou études) en France pendant plus de 12 mois au cours des 3 années précédant la date de recrutement.

Informations complémentaires

Modalités de candidature
Le dossier de candidature est à rédiger en anglais et à déposer sur le site https://emploi.cnrs.fr/. Il doit comporter un CV détaillé, un minimum de deux lettres de référence, une lettre de motivation décrivant vos objectifs de carrière à court et long terme, ainsi qu'une déclaration signée spécifiant que vous êtes en conformité avec la règle de mobilité qui stipule que vous n'avez pas résidé ou exercé votre activité principale (travail ou études) en France pendant plus de 12 mois au cours des trois années précédant la date du recrutement. Le dossier complet doit aussi être envoyé à Bruno MIROUX & Magdalena TORTYNA, respectivement directeur et manager du projet à l'adresse mail DYNAMOcofund@ibpc.fr. Voir détails sur le site http://labexdynamo.ibpc.fr/fp-dynamo-paris/

Evaluation
Le poste est conçu comme une première étape dans une carrière de chercheur, et l'évaluation des candidats sera principalement basée sur leurs qualifications en recherche et leurs compétences pouvant compléter et renforcer la recherche en cours au sein des institutions partenaires.
Étape 1. Les candidatures de chaque candidat éligible seront évaluées par des experts internationaux indépendants au sein du thème de recherche concerné. Les candidats éligibles seront évalués en fonction de leur mérite, de leur motivation pour le programme, de leur excellence académique et de leurs qualifications personnelles telles que leur aptitude à collaborer et communiquer.
Étape 2. Un maximum de trois candidats sera retenu pour un entretien vidéo avec les experts indépendants pour chaque poste ouvert (novembre 2021). Après l'entretien, les candidats de la liste restreinte seront invités à une conférence à distance avec le directeur de projet et un membre du conseil d'administration de DYNAMO pour définir le périmètre général du projet, de la formation et de l'environnement de recherche. Les candidats devront rédiger une proposition de projet de 3 pages, apportant leurs propres idées originales, et disposeront de 2 semaines pour la soumettre.
Étape 3. Chaque proposition de projet sera évaluée par l'un des experts indépendants et le membre du conseil d'administration de DYNAMO qui aura évalué le candidat lors des étapes précédentes. La sélection finale sera faite sur la base des notes obtenues aux étapes 1, 2 et 3. La note minimale doit être supérieure à 20/40. Le meilleur candidat se verra offrir le poste de postdoctorant avec une date de début allant du 1er janvier au 30 avril 2023.

Le CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique) est un employeur souscrivant au principe de l'égalité d'accès à l'emploi. Par ailleurs, FP-DYNAMO-PARIS s'engage à promouvoir le rôle des femmes dans la science et ainsi encourage explicitement celles-ci à se porter candidates.

On en parle sur Twitter !