By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Doctoral student in Physical Chemistry – Conducting polymer aerogels for thermoelectric applications

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UPR22-LAUBIN-001
Workplace : STRASBOURG
Date of publication : Monday, September 09, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Laure Biniek
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 January 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

With rising energy costs and our growing arsenal of touch pads, smartphones and portable medical monitors, we are always on the lookout for new ways to power our devices. There is also a huge market for sportswear to optimize human performance. What if we could power our mobile devices, connected watches and medical devices with our simple body heat through light, inexpensive and flexible thermoelectric devices? Organic thermoelectricity is a booming field. We have recently demonstrated that it is possible to achieve electrical charge conductivities within polymeric materials as large as Copper, thanks in particular to the control of both the structure and the doping of semiconducting polymers in thin films.[1,2]
This project focuses on bulk polymeric materials of high void fraction (polymeric aerogels). In particular, the low thermal conductivity of aerogels should be used to increase the thermoelectric performance of polymers.

The BODYTEG project thus proposes to develop conductive polymer aerogels (CPA). To meet this challenge, the project is based on four main objectives that will have to be addressed by the doctoral student: i) develop new CPAs of controlled morphology, ii) take advantage of the porosity of the network to reduce thermal conductivity, iii) maintain good mechanical and electrical properties, iv) correlate the structure of these new CPAs with their electrical and thermal properties.

References
1) V. Vijayakumar et al., ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces, 2019, 11, 4942–4953. 2) Y. Zhong et al., Adv. Energy. Mater 2019, 1900266.

Work Context

This thesis work will be carried out at the Charles Sadron Institute, whose research activities focus on polymer materials and self-assembled systems. The laboratory's website can be consulted for details on its activity: https://www-ics.u-strasbg.fr/#&panel1-1&panel1-1

The doctoral student will be attached to the ED182 doctoral school: Physics and Chemistry- Physics at the University of Strasbourg: http://edpcp.u-strasbg.fr

He/she will work within the SYCOMMOR team (Molecular and Organized Macromolecular Complex Systems).

This thesis work will be carried out within the framework of Laure Biniek's ANR JCJC BODYTEG.

Constraints and risks

No particular risks.

Additional Information

A young chemist/physico-chemist who is highly motivated by an innovative subject with a solid background in polymer science is actively sought. Skills or an internship in organic electronics (photovoltaics, thermoelectricity, charge transport), or structural studies would be appreciated. He/she must be open-minded and curious, able to work in a team, rigorous and have strong laboratory skills.

Please provide with your application a full CV (with one or two reference contacts), a cover letter and the transcript of marks from the last year of the Master's degree course.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorant-e en Chimie-Physique (H/F) – Aerogels de polymères conducteurs pour des applications en thermoélectricité

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UPR22-LAUBIN-001
Lieu de travail : STRASBOURG
Date de publication : lundi 9 septembre 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Laure Biniek
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 janvier 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Avec l'augmentation des coûts d'énergie et notre arsenal croissant de tablettes tactiles, de téléphones intelligents et de moniteurs médicaux portables, nous sommes toujours à l'affût de nouvelles façons d'alimenter nos appareils. Il existe également un énorme marché pour les vêtements de sport afin d'optimiser les performances humaines. Et si on pouvait alimenter nos appareils mobiles, nos montres connectées et nos dispositifs médicaux par notre simple chaleur corporelle grâce à des dispositifs thermoélectriques légers, peu coûteux et flexibles? La thermoélectricité organique est un domaine en plein boom. Nous avons récemment démontré qu'il était possible d'atteindre des conductivités électriques au sein de matériaux polymères aussi grandes que celle de certains métaux, comme l'argent, grâce notamment au contrôle de la structure et du dopage des polymères semi-conducteurs en films minces. [1,2]
Ce projet s'intéresse à des matériaux polymères en volume. Il s'agit en particulier de tirer parti de la structure poreuse des aérogels pour obtenir de faibles conductivités thermiques et donc augmenter les performances thermoélectriques des polymères.

Le projet BODYTEG propose ainsi d'élaborer des aérogels de polymères conducteurs (APCs). Pour répondre à ce challenge, le projet est basé sur quatre objectifs principaux qui devront être abordés par le/la doctorant-e : i) élaborer des APCs de morphologie contrôlée, ii) tirer parti de la porosité du réseau pour diminuer la conductivité thermique iii) maintenir de bonnes propriétés mécaniques et électriques, iv) corréler la structure de ces nouveaux APCs avec leurs propriétés électriques et thermiques.

Références :
1) V. Vijayakumar et al., ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces, 2019, 11, 4942–4953. 2) Y. Zhong et al., Adv. Energy. Mater 2019, 1900266.

Contexte de travail

Ce travail de thèse sera réalisé à l'Institut Charles Sadron, dont les activités de recherche sont centrées sur les matériaux polymères et les systèmes auto-assemblés. Le site web du laboratoire est consultable pour avoir des détails sur son activité : https://www-ics.u-strasbg.fr/#&panel1-1

Le/la doctorante sera rattaché-e à l'école doctorale ED182 : Physique et chimie- Physique de l'Université de Strasbourg : http://edpcp.u-strasbg.fr.

Il/ elle travaillera au sein de l'équipe SYCOMMOR (Systèmes Complexes Moléculaires et Macromoléculaires Organisés).

Ce travail de thèse s'effectuera dans le cadre de l'ANR JCJC BODYTEG de Laure Biniek.

Contraintes et risques

Pas de risque particulier.

Informations complémentaires

Un(e) jeune chimiste/ physico-chimiste très motivé(e) par un sujet innovant avec une solide formation en science des polymères est activement recherché(e). Des compétences ou un stage en électronique organique (photovoltaïque, thermoéléctricité, transport de charges), ou en études structurales par microscopie électronique seraient appréciées. Il/elle doit être ouvert(e) d'esprit et curieux(se), capable de travailler en équipe, rigoureux(se) et avoir de solides compétences en laboratoire.

Documents à fournir : CV complet (avec une ou deux références), lettre de motivation et relevé de notes de la dernière année d'études diplômantes (Master).

On en parle sur Twitter !