En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

biochemical and structural study of actin-activated bacterial toxins

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR9198-LOUREN-001
Workplace : GIF SUR YVETTE
Date of publication : Thursday, January 10, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Louis RENAULT
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 April 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 1 768,55 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Biochemical and structural study of the functional specificities of a new family of bacterial nucleotidyl cyclase toxins activated by actin in host cells.

Abstract:

Many pathogens manipulate inside infected eukaryotic cells the intracellular signaling of the secondary messenger cAMP to promote their survival and proliferation in hosts. The doctoral project aims to characterize at the molecular level a new atypical subfamily of nucleotidyl cyclase (NC) toxins called ExoY-like NC toxins. Nucleotidyl cyclases are enzymes synthetizing cyclic nucleotide monophosphates.

Exoenzyme Y (ExoY) was first identified as a toxin secreted via a type 3 secretion system (T3SS) by Pseudomonas aeruginosa, a major opportunistic and nosocomial human pathogen. P. aeruginosa is also responsible of progressive and severe chronic lung infections in patients with cystic fibrosis. ExoY is present in 90-98% of clinical isolates of P. aeruginosa, which suggests an important role in bacterial pathogenicity. Poorly characterized ExoY-related enzymatic modules or effector proteins (with 35 to 95% protein sequence similarity) have also been found recently in several toxins produced by various Gram-negative proteobacteria representing emerging human or animal pathogens [1, 2]. Some of these enzymes were shown to be essential for bacterial virulence [1].

We have recently shown that ExoY-like NC toxins are potently activated within the host target cells by using an atypical eukaryotic cofactor that is actin [2]. Yet, our new preliminary data suggest that they may differ significantly, for example in their substrate selectivity or interaction and activation mechanism with actin [3, 4]. In addition, since the actin cytoskeleton is hijacked by many pathogen effectors, it is also essential to analyze the potential impact of ExoY-like NC toxins on actin cytoskeleton dynamics during their interaction and activation with actin.

We thus aim here to characterize at the molecular and structural level and, in collaboration in cellular infection models, the functional specificities, precise role and virulence mechanisms of this novel class of actin-activated NC toxins in bacterial infections by P. aeruginosa and various other pathogenic proteobacteria. To decipher their structure-function relationships we will analyze several representative members of this subfamily of actin-activated NC toxins. Our main goals are to characterize in vitro and in cells their functional specificities and impact on actin self-assembly dynamics. We will study the structural bases for their activation mechanisms and enzymatic specificities, and search for inhibitors in high-throughput screening. On a longer term, we will finally consider the possible interplays between ExoY/ExoY-like virulence factors and other bacterial virulence factors that directly target and manipulate the actin cytoskeleton dynamics.

REFERENCES :
[1] Ziolo, K. J., et al. (2014) Vibrio vulnificus biotype 3 multifunctional autoprocessing RTX toxin is an adenylate cyclase toxin essential for virulence in mice. Infect Immun 82, 2148-57. doi: 10.1128/IAI.00017-14.
[2] Belyy A, et al. (2016) Actin activates Pseudomonas aeruginosa ExoY nucleotidyl cyclase toxin and ExoY-like effector domains from MARTX toxins. Nature Communications 2016 Dec 5; 7:13582. doi: 10.1038/ncomms13582. (Team publication on the research project)
[3] Raoux-Barbot D, et al. (2018) Differential regulation of actin-activated nucleotidyl cyclase virulence factors by filamentous and globular actin. PLoS One. 13(11):e0206133. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0206133. (Team publication on the research project)
[4] Belyy A, et al. (2018) The extreme C terminus of the Pseudomonas aeruginosa effector ExoY is crucial for binding to its eukaryotic activator, F-actin. J. Biol Chem. 293(51):19785-19796. doi: 10.1074/jbc.RA118.003784. (Team publication on the research project)

Work Context

The work will be carried out at the Institut de Biologie Intgrative de la Cellule (I2BC), UMR9198, CEA, CNRS, University Paris-Sud, Univ. Paris-Saclay, in Gif-sur-Yvette, France. The laboratory is 45 minutes away from Paris (southwest) by the local train RER B.
The team is currently composed of 4 researchers (CNRS, INSERM, CEA) and 2 doctoral students.
team website:
https://www.i2bc.paris-saclay.fr/spip.php?article958&lang=en

Constraints and risks

none

Additional Information

To apply via employ.cnrs.fr.

Application requirements:
Master's degree in biochemistry, structural biology, biophysics, biology, or microbiology with excellent academic records. You should have as well excellent collaborative skills and strong interests for the studies of structure-function relationships of proteins.

Any additional research experience in areas relevant to the research project will be an advantage. This may be practical experience in bioinformatics analysis, biochemical, biophysical, molecular, structural or cellular biology methods... Such additional experience should be demonstrated and included in your application.

Names and contact details of at least two scientists that have offered to act as references for you must also be included, with a clear indication of their address and relationship to you.

Main technical approaches:
- Bioinformatic and structural analysis
- Expression and purification of recombinant proteins, protein labeling for biophysical studies
- Functionnal biochemical and biophysical analyses (kinetics of actin polymerization, functional assays in actin self-assembly, affinity measurements, hydrodynamic characterizations and modeling, single actin filament dynamics observed by epifluorescence TIRF microscopy, ...)
- Protein crystallization, structural determination and analysis by X-ray crystallography and maybe small angle X-ray scattering (SAXS) in solution
- Possible participation in cell biology studies and the search for inhibitors of ExoY-like toxins in high-thoughput screenings through collaborations


Keywords:
Life science, biochemistry, structural biology, host-pathogen interactions, bacterial toxins, actin cytoskeleton, enzymatic mechanisms, structure-function relationship

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

étude biochimique et structurale de toxines bactériennes activées par l'actine (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR9198-LOUREN-001
Lieu de travail : GIF SUR YVETTE
Date de publication : jeudi 10 janvier 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Louis RENAULT
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 avril 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 1 768,55 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Etudes biochimique et structurale des spécificités fonctionnelles d'une nouvelle famille de toxines bactériennes à activité nucléotidyl cyclase activées par l'actine dans les cellules hôtes.

Résumé :

De nombreux microorganismes pathogènes manipulent à l'intérieur des cellules eucaryotes infectées les voies de signalisation dépendantes du messager secondaire AMP cyclique pour favoriser leur survie et leur prolifération chez l'hôte. Le projet doctoral vise à caractériser au niveau moléculaire une sous-famille atypique de facteurs de virulence bactériens à activité nucléotidylcyclase (NC), c'est-à-dire catalysant la synthèse d'un ou plusieurs nucleotides monophosphates cycliques, et appelés toxines NC de type ExoY.

L'Exoenzyme Y (ExoY) a d'abord été identifié comme une toxine sécrétée par le système de sécrétion de type 3 (T3SS) de Pseudomonas aeruginosa, un pathogène opportuniste responsable d'infections nosocomiales. P. aeruginosa (P. a.) est aussi responsable d'infections respiratoires chroniques sévères chez les patients atteints de mucoviscidose. ExoY est présent dans 90 à 98 % des isolats cliniques de P. a., ce qui suggère un rôle important dans la pathogénicité de ces isolats. Plus récemment, des modules enzymatiques ou protéines effectrices apparentés à ExoY (35 à 95% de similarité de séquence) ont également été identifiés dans des toxines produites par diverses protéobactéries à Gram-négatif dont certaines sont des agents pathogènes émergents dans le règne animal [1, 2]. Le rôle et les spécificités fonctionnelles de ces modules effecteurs de type ExoY restent très largement à déterminer. Certains se sont révélés essentiels pour la virulence bactérienne [1].

Nous avons récemment montré que les toxines NC de type ExoY sont fortement activées dans la cellule hôte en interagissant avec un cofacteur eucaryote atypique qui est l'actine [2]. Pourtant, nos résultats préliminaires suggèrent que ces toxines peuvent présenter différents mécanismes d'activation (avec l'actine) et sélectivités de substrats [3, 4]. De plus, comme le cytosquelette d'actine est manipulés par de nombreux agents pathogènes, il est aussi essentiel de bien comprendre l'impact de ces toxines NC sur la dynamique de ce cytosquelette lors de leur interaction et activation par l'actine.

Notre objectif est donc ici de caractériser, au niveau moléculaire et structural et en collaboration dans des modèles d'infection cellulaires pertinents, les spécificités fonctionnelles, le rôle précis et les mécanismes de virulence de cette nouvelle classe de toxines NC activées par l'actine. Pour déchiffrer leurs relations structure-fonction, nous analyserons plusieurs membres représentatifs de cette sous-famille de toxines NC activées par l'actine. Nos principaux objectifs sont de caractériser in vitro et dans les cellules leurs spécificités fonctionnelles et leur impact sur la dynamique d'auto-assemblage de l'actine. Nous étudierons les bases structurales de leurs mécanismes d'activation et de leurs spécificités enzymatiques, chercherons à identifier des inhibiteurs de l'activité nucléotidyl cyclase. A plus long terme, nous pourrons aussi analyser l'interaction entre les facteurs de virulence de type ExoY et d'autres facteurs bactériens de virulence qui manipulent directement le cytosquelette d'actine.


REFERENCES :

[1] Ziolo, K. J., et al. (2014) Vibrio vulnificus biotype 3 multifunctional autoprocessing RTX toxin is an adenylate cyclase toxin essential for virulence in mice. Infect Immun 82, 2148-57. doi: 10.1128/IAI.00017-14.

[2] Belyy A, et al. (2016) Actin activates Pseudomonas aeruginosa ExoY nucleotidyl cyclase toxin and ExoY-like effector domains from MARTX toxins. Nature Communications 2016 Dec 5; 7:13582. doi: 10.1038/ncomms13582. (Team publication on the research project)

[3] Raoux-Barbot D, et al. (2018) Differential regulation of actin-activated nucleotidyl cyclase virulence factors by filamentous and globular actin. PLoS One. 13(11):e0206133. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0206133. (Team publication on the research project)

[4] Belyy A, et al. (2018) The extreme C terminus of the Pseudomonas aeruginosa effector ExoY is crucial for binding to its eukaryotic activator, F-actin. J. Biol Chem. 293(51):19785-19796. doi: 10.1074/jbc.RA118.003784. (Team publication on the research project)

Contexte de travail

Le travail s'effectuera à l'Institut de Biologie Intgrative de la Cellule (I2BC),UMR9198, CEA, CNRS, University Paris-Sud, Univ. Paris-Saclay, a Gif-sur-Yvette, France. Le laboratoire est à 45 min de Paris (au sud-ouest) par RER B.

L'équipe est actuellement constituée de 4 chercheurs (CNRS, INSERM, CEA) et 2 doctorants.
site de l'equipe :
https://www.i2bc.paris-saclay.fr/spip.php?article958

Contraintes et risques

aucune

Informations complémentaires

déposer sa candidature via le site emploi.cnrs.fr

Critères pour candidater :

master en biochimie, biologie-structurale, biophysique, biologie, ou microbiologie avec d'excellents résultats scolaires. Vous devez également avoir d'excellentes capacités de collaboration et un intérêt marqué pour l'étude des relations structure-fonction des protéines.

Toutes expériences supplémentaires de recherche dans des domaines pertinents pour le projet de recherche sera un avantage. Cela peut être de l'expérience pratique dans l'analyse bioinformatique, les méthodes biochimiques, biophysiques, de biologie moléculaire, structurale ou cellulaire.. Cette expérience supplémentaire doit être démontrée et incluse dans votre demande.

Les noms et coordonnées d'au moins deux scientifiques qui ont proposé de vous servir de références doivent également être indiqués, avec une indication claire de leur adresse et relation avec vous.

Main technical approaches:

- Bioinformatic and structural analysis
- Expression and purification of recombinant proteins, protein labeling for biophysical studies
- Functionnal biochemical and biophysical analyses (kinetics of actin polymerization, functional assays in actin self-assembly, affinity measurements, hydrodynamic characterizations and modeling, single actin filament dynamics observed by epifluorescence TIRF microscopy, ...)
- Protein crystallization, structural determination and analysis by X-ray crystallography and maybe small angle X-ray scattering (SAXS) in solution
- Possible participation in cell biology studies and the search for inhibitors of ExoY-like toxins in high-thoughput screenings through collaborations

Mots clés / Keywords :

Science de la vie, biochimie, biologie structurale, interactions hôte-pathogène, toxines bactériennes, cytosquelette d'actine, mécanismes enzymatiques, relation structure-fonction

On en parle sur Twitter !