By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

CDD PhD student (M/W) social environment and tumor progression

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR9198-JACMON-001
Workplace : GIF SUR YVETTE
Date of publication : Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Jacques Montagne
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

How the environment modulates tumor progression:
The social environment is known to affect behavior and fitness of individuals. In humans, physicists often consider that psychological well-being contributes to health recovery, although the underlying physiological mechanisms remain mysterious. Unbiased studies using animal models have often shed light on these types of complex phenomenon. We have shown (Dawson et al 2018) a link between social environment and progression of a genetically induced intestinal tumor in Drosophila. We plan to decipher the physiological cascade induced by the social context. The working hypothesis is that a chemical signal (pheromone, microbiota ...) acts on the social behavior of sick flies, activating a neurological relay, which in turn modulates a physiological response (immunity, hormones, homeostatis ...) to control tumor progression. The doctoral project will focus on the study of the physiological functions linking social behavior to tumor growth based on differences in transcriptome (in progress).

Work Context

This doctoral project is a collaboration between the team Growth and Metabolism in Drosophila (I2BC-UMR9198, INSB) and the pole Behavior pole (EGCE-UMR9191, INEE). The candidate must have a sense of teamwork and bases in genetics and cell physiology. Knowledge of the Drosophila model and / or of behavioral analyzes will be positively considered.
References :
Dawson E, Bailly T, Dos Santos J, Moreno C, Devilliers M, Maroni B, Sueur C ,Casali, A, Ujvari B, Thomas F, Montagne J, Mery F 2018. Social environment mediates cancer progression in Drosophila. Nat Comm, 9, doi: 10.1038/s41467-018-05737-w.
Sueur C, Mery F 2017 . Social Interaction in Animals: Linking Experimental Approach and Social Network Analysis. Frontiers in psychology 8, 35
Garrido D, Rubin T, Poidevin M, Maroni B, LeRouzic A, Parvy JP, Montagne J 2015. Fatty Acid Synthase Cooperates with Glyoxalase 1 to Protect Against Sugar Toxicity. PLoS Genet: 11(2): e1004995.
French AS, Sellier M-J, Ali Agha M, Guigue AMA, Chabaud M-A, Reeb PD, Mitra A, Grau Y, Soustelle L, Marion-Poll F 2015. Dual mechanism for bitter avoidance in Drosophila. J Neurosci 35, 3990-4004.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

CDD doctorant (H/F) environnement social et progression tumorale

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR9198-JACMON-001
Lieu de travail : GIF SUR YVETTE
Date de publication : mardi 23 juin 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Jacques Montagne
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Comment l'environnement peut moduler la progression tumorale:
Dans la nature, l'environnement social est reconnu comme ayant de nombreuses conséquences sur le comportement et la fitness des individus. Chez l'homme, les praticiens considèrent souvent que le bien-être psychologique contribue à la guérison des malades, mais les mécanismes physiologiques sous-jacents restent mystérieux. Les études non biaisées utilisant des modèles animaux ont souvent permis d'élucider ce type de phénomènes complexes. Nous avons montré (Dawson et al 2018) un lien entre environnement social et progression d'une tumeur intestinale génétiquement induite chez la drosophile. Nous projetons de décrypter la cascade physiologique induite par le contexte social. L'hypothèse de travail est la suivante : un signal chimique (phéromone, microbiote...) agit sur le comportement social des mouches malades, activant un relais neurologique qui agit sur une(des) réponse(s) physiologiques(s) (immune, hormonale, homéostatique...) pour contrôler la progression tumorale. Le projet doctoral se focalisera sur l'étude des fonctions physiologiques liant le comportement social à la croissance tumorale basés sur des différences de transcriptome (en cours de réalisation).

Contexte de travail

Ce projet doctoral est issu d'une collaboration entre l'équipe Croissance et Métabolisme chez la drosophile (I2BC-UMR9198, INSB) et le pole Comportement (EGCE-UMR9191, INEE). Le(a) candidat(e) doit avoir le sens du travail en équipe et des bases de génétique et de physiologie cellulaire. La connaissance du modèle drosophile et/ou des analyses comportementales n'est pas obligatoire mais sera positivement considérée.
Références :
Dawson E, Bailly T, Dos Santos J, Moreno C, Devilliers M, Maroni B, Sueur C ,Casali, A, Ujvari B, Thomas F, Montagne J, Mery F 2018. Social environment mediates cancer progression in Drosophila. Nat Comm, 9, doi: 10.1038/s41467-018-05737-w.
Sueur C, Mery F 2017 . Social Interaction in Animals: Linking Experimental Approach and Social Network Analysis. Frontiers in psychology 8, 35
Garrido D, Rubin T, Poidevin M, Maroni B, LeRouzic A, Parvy JP, Montagne J 2015. Fatty Acid Synthase Cooperates with Glyoxalase 1 to Protect Against Sugar Toxicity. PLoS Genet: 11(2): e1004995.
French AS, Sellier M-J, Ali Agha M, Guigue AMA, Chabaud M-A, Reeb PD, Mitra A, Grau Y, Soustelle L, Marion-Poll F 2015. Dual mechanism for bitter avoidance in Drosophila. J Neurosci 35, 3990-4004.

On en parle sur Twitter !