By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Novel approaches for sensitive detection of doping substances in athletes

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8612-MYRTAV-001
Workplace : CHATENAY MALABRY
Date of publication : Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Myriam Taverna, Duc Mai et Thuy Tran
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 4 November 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Currently, the screening of a large number of doping substances (DS) in urine of athletes is carried out after non-selective dilution of the sample. This approach is mainly used to screen compounds with limited metabolism and present at relatively high concentration in urine (10-100 ng/mL). In the case of traces of DS, immuno-purification or solid phase extraction (SPE) methods are required, but they are limited due to the possible loss of sample and the risk of cross-contamination. We have recently developed several electrokinetic preconcentration approaches that can be performed by capillary electrophoresis. These preconcentration strategies developed in our group allowed the quantification of biological molecules at extremely low concentrations (Mai TD 2016, C. Crosnier 2018) and open up possibilities for infinite preconcentration of analytes.
Thus, the PhD will develop methods based on these approaches to quantify metabolites or illicit hormonal peptides in urine. To further improve detection limits, these approaches can be combined online with solid phase extraction, using monolith for the enrichment of molecules (Araya-Farias 2017). In this project, we willl use these new approaches to preconcentrate small growth hormone secreatogogue peptides and other molecules found in urine that will be chosen in agreement with the « Agence Française de Lutte contre le Dopage ». The PhD will establish collaborations with this agency to enrich his/her thesis topic and meet the current challenges in anti-doping purposes. Finally, in addition to enrichment and preconcentration methods, the PhD will also develop separation methods based on UHPLC or capillary electrophoresis, possibly coupled to mass spectrometry, for the detection and quantification of these molecules.

References:
Araya-Farias at al., Analyst, 2017, 142, 485, DOI : 10.1039 / c6an02324j
Crosnier et al., Anal Chem 2018, 90, 2555, doi : 10.1021/acs.analchem.7b03843
Mai et al., J Chromatogr A 2016, 1453, 116, DOI : 10.1016/j.chroma.2016.05.048

Work Context

This work will be carried out in one team of the Institut Galien Paris Sud, entitled "Proteins and Nanotechnologies in Analytical Science", specialized in analytical chemistry of biomarkers.

The research unit is composed of 7 common services offering a wide range of advanced analytical and characterization techniques (isothermal calorimetric titration, surface plasma resonance, HPLC...).
http://www.umr-cnrs8612.u-psud.fr/servicescommuns.php

The team has many analytical equipments such as capillary electrophoresis, UHPLC, nanoLC, mass spectrometry, photo- and fluori-meters.
The PhD will be supervised by two persons: Myriam Taverna (Professor in Pharmaceutical Biotechnology) and Thuy Tran (Associate Professor in Analytical Chemistry).
http://www.umr-cnrs8612.u-psud.fr/pres_eq4.php

Additional Information

Required profile:
This topic is intended for students who are motivated by analytical science, particularly separation techniques and mass spectrometry, but also the field of bioanalysis.
The candidate must hold an engineering degree and/or a master's degree. The candidate must have good theoretical knowledge (at least) in analytical chemistry, including separation techniques. An experience in capillary electrophoresis, particularly mass spectrometry, would be an asset.
The candidate must have both oral and written English proficiency. We are looking for motivated candidates who have excellent communication skills, teamworking ability, critical and open mind.

Documents required for application:
Applications must include a detailed CV; at least two references (persons likely to be contacted); a letter of motivation; Master 1 or 2 or engineering mark and possibly a letter of recommendation from a previous training supervisor

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Nouvelles approches pour une Détection Extrême de Substances dopantes Illicites chez les Sportifs (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8612-MYRTAV-001
Lieu de travail : CHATENAY MALABRY
Date de publication : mardi 23 juillet 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Myriam Taverna et Thuy Tran
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 4 novembre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Actuellement, le dépistage d'un grand nombre de substances illicites (SI) dans l'urine des sportifs est effectué après une dilution non sélective de l'échantillon. Cette approche est principalement utilisée pour cribler des composés ayant un métabolisme limité et pour lesquels les niveaux de détection minimaux requis dans l'urine sont relativement élevés (10-100 ng/mL). Lorsqu'il s'agit de traces de SI, des méthodes d'immuno-purification ou d'extraction sur support solide (SPE) sont nécessaires mais elles présentent des limitations liées à la perte possible d'échantillon et au risque de contamination croisée. Nous avons récemment développé plusieurs approches de préconcentration électrocinétiques réalisables par électrophorèse capillaire qui ont permis d'obtenir la quantification de molécules biologiques à des concentrations extrêmement faibles (Mai TD 2016, C. Crosnier 2018). Ces approches nouvelles développées par notre laboratoire ouvrent des perspectives de préconcentration infinie des analytes.
Ainsi le doctorant mettra au point des approches reposant sur ces concepts pour doser des métabolites ou des peptides hormonaux illicites dans l'urine. Pour améliorer encore davantage les limites de détection, ces approches pourront être combinées en ligne à de l'extraction sur support solide, par la synthèse de monolithes pour l'enrichissement des molécules (Araya-Farias 2017). Dans ce projet, nous exploiterons ces nouvelles approches pour préconcentrer des petits peptides sécréatogogues de l'hormone de croissance et certaines autres molécules retrouvées dans les urines que nous choisirons de façon éclairée avec l'Agence Française de Lutte contre le Dopage. Le doctorant mettra en place des collaborations avec les instances liées au contrôle du dopage afin d'enrichir son sujet de thèse et relever les défis actuels de l'antidopage. Enfin outre l'enrichissement et la préconcentration, le doctorant exploitera aussi des méthodes séparatives telles que l'UHPLC ou électrophorèse capillaire éventuellement en couplage avec la spectrométrie de masse pour la détection et quantification de ces molécules.

Références:
Araya-Farias at al., Analyst, 2017, 142, 485, DOI : 10.1039 / c6an02324j
Crosnier et al., Anal Chem 2018, 90, 2555, doi : 10.1021/acs.analchem.7b03843
Mai et al., J Chromatogr A 2016, 1453, 116, DOI : 10.1016/j.chroma.2016.05.048

Contexte de travail

Ce travail sera réalisé dans l'une des équipes de l'Institut Galien Paris Sud, intitulée "Protéines et Nanotechnology en Science Analytique", spécialisée en chimie analytique des biomarqueurs.

L'institut Galien dispose de 7 Plateaux de services communs offrant des techniques d'analyse et de caractérisation très variées et de pointe (titration calorimétrique isotherme, résonance plasmonique de surface, HPLC...).
http://www.umr-cnrs8612.u-psud.fr/servicescommuns.php

L'équipe quant à elle dispose de nombreux équipements analytiques tels que électrophorèse capillaire, UHPLC, nanoLC, spectromètre de masse, spectro- photo- et fluori-mètres.
Le doctorant sera encadré par trois personnes: Myriam Taverna (Professeur en Biotechnologie Pharmaceutique) Duc Mai et Thuy Tran (Maîtres de conférence en chimie analytique).
http://www.umr-cnrs8612.u-psud.fr/pres_eq4.php

Informations complémentaires

Profil recherché :
Ce sujets'adresse aux étudiants(es) motivé(e)s par les sciences analytiques et notamment les techniques séparatives et la spectrométrie de masse mais aussi par le domaine de l'analyse en milieu biologique. Le/la candidate devra être titulaire d'un diplôme d'ingénieur et/ou d'un master.
Le/la candidat(e) doit avoir reçu une une formation en chimie analytique et notamment en techniques séparatives.
Une expérience en électrophorèse capillaire et notamment en spectrométrie de masse serait un atout.
Le candidat doit maîtriser l'anglais oral et écrit. Nous recherchons des candidats qui ont d'excellentes aptitudes à la communication, capables de travailler en équipe, motivés et dotés d'un esprit critique et ouvert.
Documents nécessaires pour postuler :
Les candidatures devront inclure un CV détaillé; au moins deux références (personnes susceptibles d'être contactées); une lettre de motivation; les notes de Master 1 ou 2 ou d'école d'ingénieur et éventuellement une lettre de recommandation par un maître de stage précédent.

On en parle sur Twitter !